Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

food banks?

• 03-06-2014 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

Hey guys, is there any food banks in the Meath area or emergency help for food shopping? Asking on behalf of a friend that is struggling financially and has lost some serious weight she literally eats once a day... I invite her over to mine for dinner and I have also gave her a few pound to go shopping for food, she says she's been to the social welfare and svp but is not receiving any help... once her rent and few bills are paid she is left with noting! I was over in hers about 2weeks ago and had a look in her presses and fridge and freezer it was shocking completely empty ... tonight iam bringing her to aldi to do a little shop haven't loads to spare but this girl is really down on her luck and seems to be getting no help? Any advice appreciated as she doesn't deserve this and I want to point her In the right direction. Thanks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Strange.
    Why won't Social Welfare help ?
    And, what about the Community Welfare Officer ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Strange.

I assume the OP means that she is in receipt of SW but after paying rent/bills etc there isnt much left. And there is no further assistance available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ring Vincent de Paul they will give her vouchers for dunnes stores to get her out of her tight situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭thebomb

She is in receipt of social welfare she get 178 per week and out of that she has rent and bills and often left with literally 5 euro to her name.. she has been to st Vincent de paul in many occasions and just keep telling her they get back to her that's 6 weeks ago now! And she doesn't ever have credit to ring just free texts so has went down on a weekly basis and don't the same we get back to you! And this girl has worked for many years and lost her job over a year ago and is really trying to find work genuinely is.. she asks me for very basic things no one should go with out! As I said iam bringing her to aldi tonight I can spend 30euro on her but iam not sure how much I can help next week as I have to keep on top of my own affairs

She originally went down 6 weeks ago and is going down to them constantly and all she's getting is they be in touch!

Ring Vincent de Paul they will give her vouchers for dunnes stores to get her out of her tight situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

thebomb wrote: »
    She is in receipt of social welfare she get 178 per week and out of that she has rent and bills and often left with literally 5 euro to her name.. she has been to st Vincent de paul in many occasions and just keep telling her they get back to her that's 6 weeks ago now! And she doesn't ever have credit to ring just free texts so has went down on a weekly basis and don't the same we get back to you! And this girl has worked for many years and lost her job over a year ago and is really trying to find work genuinely is.. she asks me for very basic things no one should go with out! As I said iam bringing her to aldi tonight I can spend 30euro on her but iam not sure how much I can help next week as I have to keep on top of my own affairs

You sound like a good friend OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

If she could get to Dublin the capuchin friars give free meals and food parcels. The capuchin friars here in Kilkenny are to start handing out food parcels with no questions asked from next month, about €25 worth of food.

There does appear to be a growing need for similar services across the country.

She is in receipt of job seekers allowance... and after rent and bills she literally doesn't have any spare cash I see the girl struggle for basic things they told her she is receiving the maximum amount 188.00 I think and she should be able time make that stretch!

BBJBIG wrote: »
    Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

OP I'm not rich by any means but if you have a paypal account I'll happily send €100 your way to give to your friend. We all need help from time to time and at the moment I can afford it :)

Thanks Robert, she doesn't have transport but I do drive and off work on Friday so I might get her to ring them and try arrange something and I could drive her up... there forsure is a bigger demand than we think some people to proud to ask for help, thanks for the reply and I'll look into that :)

RobertKK wrote: »
    If she could get to Dublin the capuchin friars give free meals and food parcels. The capuchin friars here in Kilkenny are to start handing out food parcels with no questions asked from next month, about €25 worth of food.

There does appear to be a growing need for similar services across the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

After rent, food and services, most people are left with nothing in this country. Shít needs to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

After rent, food and services, most people are left with nothing in this country. Shít needs to change.

If that was the case it wouldn't be too bad(if it was solely off of welfare) however the case is some people can barely afford food. That is absolutely horrible.

That's shocking kind of you but I would feel dreadful even tho it be much appreciated, we all have our bills to pay, I don't have a pay pal and won't except we all have are struggles I just want this girl up off her feet cause she is a gem! Picking her up in a bit to go to aldi and her tv has been cut off so going give her my dvd player and some dvds! She doesn't smoke drink or take drugs she's just down on her luck and it sucks

kingtut wrote: »
    OP I'm not rich by any means but if you have a paypal account I'll happily send €100 your way to give to your friend. We all need help from time to time and at the moment I can afford it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

That's shocking kind of you but I would feel dreadful even tho it be much appreciated, we all have our bills to pay, I don't have a pay pal and won't except we all have are struggles I just want this girl up off her feet cause she is a gem! Picking her up in a bit to go to aldi and her tv has been cut off so going give her my dvd player and some dvds! She doesn't smoke drink or take drugs she's just down on her luck and it sucks

I respect your decision but the offer still stands if you change your mind.
    The way I see it, I would hope that if I was ever in your friends situation that people would also help me out. What goes around comes around and all that jazz!

Fingers crossed your friend gets sorted soon and fair play to you for being so supportive! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

OP,if you put the pressure on,VdeP should definetly be able to help her out.

Sadly foodbanks are on the up.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/food-banks-to-tackle-600000-people-in-food-poverty-1398058-Apr2014/

Another one here in Dublin for you.
    http://www.crosscarefoodbank.ie/

Ironically,there is a fair amount of food wastage that goes on in this country aswell but thats for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Yes If you or herself could go to brother Kevin in the Capuchin day centre on 29 Bow Street. They do fantastic work there and will give out food no questions asked. I'm not religious but Br.Kevin is a saint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Surely the CWO could/should offer some help?maybe not monetarily,but they at least might know of a charity local to your friend that could help her out with vouchers or food parcels etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,750 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Not trying to be a dick here....what bills does she have? Could she move to cheaper accommodation? Scrap TV, internet if she is paying for these?

Thanks iam trying she hasn't much support and weather she is rich or poor is not revelent to me she's a good person and I won't turn my back on her! :)

Smidge wrote: »
    You sound like a good friend OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Is becoming cynical an age thing. I feel so sorry for her if it's true but afraid to send money incase it's someone just trying to get money under false pretences. Then someone offers money and I feel so guilty now. If it's true I really hope she can get sorted and she is very blessed to have you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

All I can offer is some advice on how to eat cheaply, a bag of wholegrain rice or porridge oats can go a long way, it's not ideal nutritionally, but until your friend can get back on her feet, it's something to consider. It's terrible how some people can live in pretty much luxury with 5 kids on the welfare, when someone who's a little down on their luck is left to starve. People like you are what make the world great, and I hope your friend can get back on her feet soon.

Thanks kingtut, I really do appreciate the kind offer and hope this doesn't come across wrong but iam not willing to take other peoples money I'll help her the best I can iam sure if I cut one or two things out of my budget I can do it I just hope with advice and research I can get her the help she needs... and it's nice too see there's some genuinely nice people left out there like yourself so thank you very much :) and same as she wasn't always down on her luck and I know ever needed her the be there

I respect your decision but the offer still stands if you change your mind.
    The way I see it, I would hope that if I was ever in your friends situation that people would also help me out. What goes around comes around and all that jazz!

Fingers crossed your friend gets sorted soon and fair play to you for being so supportive! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

She originally went down 6 weeks ago and is going down to them constantly and all she's getting is they be in touch!

That sounds odd because from what I have seen they give help with few questions asked

That's very true, understand completely but not here to get money off people just advice that might help me help her...and she will get help it might not happen over night but as the saying goes good things come to those who wait :)

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Is becoming cynical an age thing. I feel so sorry for her if it's true but afraid to send money incase it's someone just trying to get money under false pretences. Then someone offers money and I feel so guilty now. If it's true I really hope she can get sorted and she is very blessed to have you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

She is in receipt of social welfare she get 178 per week and out of that she has rent and bills and often left with literally 5 euro to her name.. she has been to st Vincent de paul in many occasions and just keep telling her they get back to her that's 6 weeks ago now!

I volunteer with the SVP and this doesn't sound right to me. The only case I know of someone being completely ignored is where they were abusive or threatening to a volunteer. Perhaps contact the North East regional office (which covers Meath), details are here:

http://www.svp.ie/contact-us/north-east.aspx

I'm afraid I'm not aware of any services in Meath but I would say that if your friend is having problems keeping up with utility bills then she should contact MABS as quickly as possible. It'll greatly help to avoid the risk of being disconnected. The number of their national helpline is 0761 07 2000 and details of their Meath office are here:

https://www.mabs.ie/contact-mabs/meath/

It's great that you are helping out, and I hope that things get better for your friend soon.

As I said iam bringing her to aldi tonight I can spend 30euro on her but iam not sure how much I can help next week as I have to keep on top of my own affairs

If only everyone was lucky enough to have a friend like you. :)

You sir, are an absolute gem. :)

Let us all know if you change your mind about financial help OP. Maybe check see if your friend has PayPal herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭yr one

Fair play to you for helping her, too many people turn their backs on others in need, one thing I would say though is, it's all well and good helping out short term, but if you could help her find a job and some stability that will totally change her life

I say that from experience, out of my family of 12 adults 3 are working, one is breaking her back for her husband and 2 kids, the other has two grown up kids and no mortgage and myself no mortgage and no kids

the woman with the 2 young kids has mid month had in the fridge fish fingers and jam!!! They've had no heating in the winter also, and she's had no way to get to work on several occasions.

I loan them money when I know they're struggling (the reason I say loan also is because no matter how much I try, the insist on paying me back when she gets paid) I hate taking the money back and have often hid it in the house for them

The biggest issue they face is a continuously rising mortgage, it's crippling them

In the past few weeks though I've looked everywhere and contacted everyone I knew who may have work and got the husband work, he's over the moon!! He was unemployed builder for over 6 years. So now they're making something to look forward to :)

the issue I find hard to deal with is the third member of the family, he is easily going on 2 holidays a year and sends his mid 20s kids on a holiday each also, my mind goes into overload thinking of how much of a d!ck he is.

All I can offer is some advice on how to eat cheaply, a bag of wholegrain rice or porridge oats can go a long way, it's not ideal nutritionally, but until your friend can get back on her feet, it's something to consider. It's terrible how some people can live in pretty much luxury with 5 kids on the welfare, when someone who's a little down on their luck is left to starve. People like you are what make the world great, and I hope your friend can get back on her feet soon.

This I have seen people do very well on welfare and some living in abject poverty.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Can she apply for rent supplement to help her with the rent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭mezuzaj

Smidge wrote: »
    I assume the OP means that she is in receipt of SW but after paying rent/bills etc there isnt much left. And there is no further assistance available.

Can you PM me email and I will pass to Cappunchin's who have a food bank available.

There is no shame in asking for help. lot of people out there hurting. At least there are honest enough to look for help.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/many-new-poor-among-1540-seeking-food-aid-from-capuchins-in-a-single-day-29179127.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

May I suggest to go down to your parish priest (regardless of your religion) - he will help. I often bring unwanted bits and pieces (unwanted gifts and he always knows somebody in need) - he will know how best to help you and I'm sure he has a direct line to the SVP or maybe he would muster up some food hampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

what bills has she got to pay ?
    is she paying back loans ?

food should come first before the bills and loans.

how much is she paying for rent ? is she living on her own or sharing ? can she not get rent supplement ?
    maybe she should move to somewhere cheaper ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

OP if you do make it to Dublin, Crosscare have a number of community cafes where people can come to get a good meal. All they ask is people who can afford to pay something, so that those who can't can also eat there

http://http://www.crosscare.ie/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=187&Itemid=207

I have been in one of them and they are lovely places with real community feel and all the staff are friendly and welcoming.
    I hope things work out for your friend, she's lucky to have a friend like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

OP this is your excuse to set up a paypal, everyone should have paypal :P

Of course you're not here to beg for money but if someone's offering, don't be too proud to accept, they wouldn't have said it in the first place if they didn't want to help. Of course you should exchange any personal details via pm. Maybe they could post a tesco giftcard or something if you don't have paypal or aren't comfortable using bank details.

He is a gem thanks guys but don't want to resort to that but it's really nice known years are there if it come to that

Candie wrote: »
    If only everyone was lucky enough to have a friend like you. :)

You sir, are an absolute gem. :)

Let us all know if you change your mind about financial help OP. Maybe check see if your friend has PayPal herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭seano12

time for her to get rid of the upc

What bills does any 1 person have ? She has rent which is only 70 per week take that from her 178 or 188 that she getting she has esb heating and a bank of Ireland student loan which is 30 a week and that the min payment they will take, and saying her bills shouldn't be priority but with the interest if she doesn't keep up with repayments it well set her even more back !!

green123 wrote: »
    what bills has she got to pay ?
    is she paying back loans ?

food should come first before the bills and loans.

how much is she paying for rent ? is she living on her own or sharing ? can she not get rent supplement ?
    maybe she should move to somewhere cheaper ?

188 euro a week welfare.

sharing a house she could pay 50 or 60 a week rent, or less even less.
    20 or 30 to cover shared bills and again probably less.

food for the week shopping carefully 40 euro.

so she should have at least 60 left to pay loans or for whatever she wants

easy

Your shocking helpful...

seano12 wrote: »
    time for her to get rid of the upc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

188 euro a week welfare.

food the week shopping carefully 40 euro.

so she should have at least 60 left to pay loans or for whatever she want

easy

Wow you have it all figured out. You must have a degree in economics.

I hope your never in her situation... it's not that easy if it was we wouldn't have people struggling or growing poverty!!

188 euro a week welfare.

food the week shopping carefully 40 euro.

so she should have at least 60 left to pay loans or for whatever she want

easy

Thanks for the reply didn't think of mabs she forsure could do with going down to them the only bill she wasn't able to keep up with was the tv.. but is willing to do without for a while.. and she defently was rude or treating to staff she was in contact with I think head office in Drogheda ... and referred to a local office still no word from them

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    I volunteer with the SVP and this doesn't sound right to me. The only case I know of someone being completely ignored is where they were abusive or threatening to a volunteer. Perhaps contact the North East regional office (which covers Meath), details are here:

http://www.svp.ie/contact-us/north-east.aspx

I'm afraid I'm not aware of any services in Meath but I would say that if your friend is having problems keeping up with utility bills then she should contact MABS as quickly as possible. It'll greatly help to avoid the risk of being disconnected. The number of their national helpline is 0761 07 2000 and details of their Meath office are here:

https://www.mabs.ie/contact-mabs/meath/

It's great that you are helping out, and I hope that things get better for your friend soon.

Its not as hard as you think

There people living here on the welfare from former Soviet countries like Poland Romania/Bulgaria who'll spend about 20 euro a week on making up dinners and meals

relocate to a cheaper location and house share

get rid of any luxuries, motivate yourself

188 euro a week welfare.

food for the week shopping carefully 40 euro.

so she should have at least 60 left to pay loans or for whatever she wants

easy

I was going to highlight one or two bits but feck it the whole thing flawed. 50 or 60 a week rent??????

What bills does any 1 person have ? She has rent which is only 70 per week take that from her 178 or 188 that she getting she has esb heating and a bank of Ireland student loan which is 30 a week and that the min payment they will take, and saying her bills shouldn't be priority but with the interest if she doesn't keep up with repayments it well set her even more back !!

ok so even paying 70 rent and sharing the esb and heating say another 30 max, plus 30 for her student loans.
    she should still have about 60 euro left for food
    desultory wrote: »
    Wow you have it all figured out. You must have a degree in economics.

point out where i am wrong ?
    all the figures i gave are 100 % correct and very possible and easy to do

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If she got rent supplement she'd pay just 30 herself once she was under the limits, which would free up a fairly big chunk of cash for her

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I was going to highlight one or two bits but feck it the whole thing flawed. 50 or 60 a week rent??????

believe it or not rent is reasonably cheap outside the pale in rural areas :pac:

Lucky baxtards.

steddyeddy wrote: »

you dont believe that ?

well have a look on daft and you will find out that you are wrong.
    it is possible to find lots of places to rent in a houseshare for 50 or 60 per week and some for even less.

please highlight the other bits that you have a problem with.

And also working under the counter !!! Put are own first.... and if it's not as hard as I think why is so many people struggling to make ends meet and an obvious growth in poverty ??? This girl does not have any luxurys she went to collage and got in debt is trying to keep on top of that debt as the interest is a bit crazy and if not kept on top of things can easily get out of hand!

Its not as hard as you think

There people living here on the welfare from former Soviet countries like Poland Romania/Bulgaria who'll spend about 20 euro a week on making up dinners and meals

relocate to a cheaper location and house share

get rid of any luxuries, motivate yourself