Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ferris forced to retire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Ah, bollix.

Even on the basis of his limited game time, he'll go down as a great player, but he had the potential to be one of Ireland's best ever.

Hard luck Stephen.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

unfortunately this had an air of inevitability about it :(

great player, absolute dog......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Sadly Stephen Ferris has had to retire from rugby due to injury. It's a sad day for Ulster and Irish rugby. The guy was a huge talent and made up part of a "dream team" style back row in the 2011 RWC.

http://www.ulsterrugby.com/News/LatestNews/TabId/149/ArtMID/793/ArticleID/1547/Stephen-Ferris-to-retire-from-rugby-.aspx

Best of luck to you Fez. You'll be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

God dammit,

A real giant of the game, in every sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

To the surprise of nobody really. Poor auld Fez, his body couldn't handle the intensity his mind demanded. He'll be sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Midnight64

That sucks! Really bad news. Hope the damage will not affect his new future. SUFTUM!

• These kind of retirements (injured out of the game, like O'Malley / McKinley / Barry Murphy) are tough to take.

Ferris lit the game up plenty of times, but nowhere near as many as we would have hoped to see.

Devastating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Stan27

My opinion when playing one of our greatest players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭crashplan

A huge loss to rugby. A giant of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Gutted for him.

This was on the cards for a good while but still gutted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Very sad news, even though there seems to have been a certain inevitability about it. A wonderful player and a huge loss to Irish and Ulster rugby. I just hope he can pick up from here and have a happy and fruitful life. He deserves some luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

All I'll say is that in 20 years they will still be replaying that Ferris v Genia clip. It's a crying shame that injury has removed a genuine world class 6 from the Ulster & Irish ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Favourite player outside of the Leinster ranks. Gutted for him. Glad he has a 6 Nations medal and Lions recognition to look back on but even still there is an enormous amount of what could have been.

All the best Fez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Devastated...my favourite Ireland player even as a Leinster fan...all the best to big guy in his future endeavors

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Gutted for the lad. Best of luck to him in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Bugger!

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Sad news.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There's only one f in ferris!

Will never get to sing that again. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭LostArt

Inevitable but I'm still gutted for the lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

On my "things to look forward to", this was up there at the top. When he came back for Ulster I was delighted, especially when he carried their FB halfway down the pitch.

I personally have the big man down as my favorite rugby player.
    A sad day for me, and a sad day for Ulster and Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Sinbad_NI

Sad sad news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

We hoped and hoped for a miracle but it was inevitable unfortunately.

A rare talent and a rare physical specimen. Hope he goes from strength to stregnth in his career outside rugby. Hope to see him commentating or in the studio for some Ireland or Ulster games.

Stand up for Fez!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Gutted, too many good players forced to retire early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

The writings been on the wall for a while, but its still a hugely bitter pill to smallow. He was a genuinely world class talent, and has been my favourite back row ever since Wally was similarly forced to hang up his boots early.

A phenominal athlete with unbelievable power and pace. He'll be a huge loss to the sport in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

A shame but utterly predictable. A tough but right decision made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Ballyv24

Feck!! He was my second favorite player (after David Wallace).. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭dtpc191991

Gutted for him. At his best he was World Class and definitely one of the top five sixes in the world. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Sorry Steve. How lucky we were to have seen you but it makes saying goodbye really hard.

600400p793EDNMain1547P12_140314_SF1.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Depressing news, IMO was the best athlete in world rugby on his day and it's hard to envisage us producing another like him. Had the strength to shunt a maul 5 metres back on his own and the pace to score breakaway tries like the one against the Golden Lions in 09.

Its another example in a long list of bad fortune for Ulster with players they've produced, Ferris, Pollock and Spence been the most obvious. Ryan Caldwell had the potential to be an outstanding 2nd row but his career has misfired for a combination of reasons. Add to that guys like Macklin, McCallister, Farrell and Olding who have all had season ending injuries very early in their career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭UnitedWeStand

dtpc191991 wrote: »
    Gutted for him. At his best he was World Class and definitely one of the top five sixes in the world. :(

Hmm I'd go a bit further than that even. One his day I reckon Fez was the best Six in the world. Not only is his physique freakish and quite rare, but he also had the brains too. He could just smash players, but instead has the brains to choke them and drive them back and assist the team in turnover ball to name one. Not many Six's can match for pace a hell of a lot of outside backs, at least at club level.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

dtpc191991 wrote: »

At his best he was the top 6 in the world.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Hmm I'd go a bit further than that even. One his day I reckon Fez was the best Six in the world. Not only is his physique freakish and quite rare, but he also had the brains too. He could just smash players, but instead has the brains to choke them and drive them back and assist the team in turnover ball to name one. Not many Six's can match for pace a hell of a lot of outside backs, at least at club level.

He didn't just match backs for pace - he beat them. He was the fastest man in the Ulster squad over 100m (I think it was 100).

For a big unit he had some engine in him.

I think I read somewhere that he was at one point the fastest in the Ireland squad over 40m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Very sad. Great player...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

sad sad news, great player, was destined to start at 6 in SA for the lions until he got a cruel training ground injury. Great player, EOS identified him very early and had him involved with the Irish squad while just out of his teens which for a 6 was incredible.

Will Genia is probably still having sleepless nights over him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭postitnote

Well I guess we've found Plumtree's replacement as forwards coach.

Otherwise put him out to stud and we'll reap the rewards at the 2035 world cup.

In all seriousness though, all the best to Stevie. He'll be sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Pauric89

Sad news, but it was expected... The Genia clip was one of the best moments of the last world cup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Terrible news, was a beast of a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Very sad news, absolute beast of a player. He's still only 28 and we've barely seen him for 2 years, so much potential unrealised, you really have to feel for the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Probably up there with the death of my granny as bad news goes.

The man was unreal. He had that fast muscle twitch which isn't prevalent in NH players at all. The speed he had was something else and the strength of the man was unhuman.

Too many favourite moments but when he scored a try (against a welsh side??) in the rabo in a back line move...and he flattened the oncoming defender and then side stepped the last man and scored....you wouldn't have seen Campese in his pomp do it.

So so sad to hear this today....the very best of luck to him in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

One of the few players in the Ireland set up that was loved by fans everywhere...says it all really.

Even with only 35 caps still argueably the best backrow to ever wear the green jersey.

....beast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Hide behind the post

mfceiling wrote: »
    Probably up there with the death of my granny as bad news goes.

The man was unreal. He had that fast muscle twitch which isn't prevalent in NH players at all. The speed he had was something else and the strength of the man was unhuman.

Too many favourite moments but when he scored a try (against a welsh side??) in the rabo in a back line move...and he flattened the oncoming defender and then side stepped the last man and scored....you wouldn't have seen Campese in his pomp do it.

So so sad to hear this today....the very best of luck to him in the future.

Scarlets....class try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Terrible news for all concerned and particularly Stevie himself. To work so hard over the last 18 months, for things to end like this, it is devastating for the lad. A special special rugby player who Irish rugby will never forget. I'm so happy he won a grand slam, toured with the Lions and also won a Celtic league title with his beloved Ulster. Nothing can take away these memories and moments of happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ShamFeen

As a Munster fan I am a big fan of Fez. So many memories but the one that sticks out was a H Cup game at the Rec against Bath around 2009. He just hit everything that moved, Barnes or Morris whoever was commentating would say that any player that needed treatment, "must have had a run in with Ferris", he was phenomenal even smashed a prop in defence. All the best Fez!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

One of my favourite Ferris moments was against England at Twickenham. They had a ruck pretty much secured and dealt with with two or three of them in it. Ferris piles in and proceeds to turn it over on his own. Unreal power. I think it was during that dismal defeat in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

The man is clearly a gent. It's such a shame his playing time was cut short. He's a beast always enjoyed watching him play. I wish him all the best and hope everything works out for him of the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It's devastating news for Irish Rugby. Ferris would be THE blindside in world rugby were it not for injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The noise in the crowd increasing, then going apesh*t when he smashes the poor scarlets 21!!