Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin - The skid mark of Ireland?

• 31-05-2014 11:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭

What an utter kip this place is.

Brought my nephew to Dublin Zoo today for his birthday and then to do a bit of shopping in the City.

On our travels we witnessed;

A junkie shooting up right outside McDonald's in broad daylight. The Gardaí on patrol didn't seem bothered. The streets were crawling with skangers roaring like animals and we even witnessed one lad kicking a 99 ice cream along the foothpath with bits of ice cream flying everywhere.

We brushed aside the above, but when we came across a middle aged woman defecating into a piece of tinfoil near Heuston Station we knew that was our cue to leave.

Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Nib wrote: »
    we even witnessed one lad kicking a 99 ice cream along the foothpath with bits of ice cream flying everywhere.

Disgraceful stuff altogether, where will the madness end.

Country has gone to fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So ye liked it apart from that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Should have went to Fota. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Into tin foil?
    So many questions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

So ye liked it apart from that?
    The Zoo was great, the staff there are a credit to themselves. It really is a great place for a day out. Other than that, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Dublin is a grand city. You get scum like that in any major city anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Not another one of these threads, yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

A guy kicking an ICE-CREAM?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Nobody cares.
    It's no wonder you have 5,500 posts in just over a year if this is what you're contributing.

Well done.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Not another one of these threads, yawn

A Town thread? Sure, Town is where it's at these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Magaggie wrote: »
    A guy kicking an ICE-CREAM?! :eek:

Have HB released a statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Only kicked an ice cream? Must have been no heads within reach.

It's no wonder you have 5,500 posts in just over a year if this is what you're contributing.

Well done.

Back away from our Spanish correspondent newbie. She's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Come down to Cork

And as someone suggested, come to Fota.

Couple of Tigers just arrived.

http://www.fotawildlife.ie/blog/tiger-is-coming-to-fota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

What flavour was the ice-cream?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Brought my nephew to Dublin Zoo today for his birthday and then to do a bit of shopping in the City.

A junkie shooting up right outside McDonald's in broad daylight.

What McDonald's and what time because I'm calling bullsh1t on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Never again.

Can we hold you to that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Well done.

No worries!

You lead a sheltered life if you find someone kicking an ice cream cone down the street shocking. God love you.

Edit: Obviously you're not a re-reg banned a million times for wasting your free time trolling. The irony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

wazky wrote: »
    Have HB released a statement?

Said the guy was a loop the loop, off his twister.

No worries!

You lead a sheltered life if you find someone kicking an ice cream cone down the street shocking. God love you.

The cone was in a Nuns mouth at the time.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Waterford is being treated like the skiddy ring of Ireland since the sh1t hit the fan.

We already have one ring-a-skiddy.,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

osarusan wrote: »
    What flavour was the ice-cream?

Neapolitan probably. How does one kick ice cream and not make a mess of whatever they are wearing???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

As someone who likes Dublin the behaviour that's tolerated by the Gardai and is becoming more and more widespread is depressing. And for what it's worth you don't see that in the city centre of most European cities; you might be able to find it but in Dublin it's simply unavoidable at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

A junkie shooting up right outside McDonald's in broad daylight. The Gardaí on patrol didn't seem bothered. The streets were crawling with skangers roaring like animals and we even witnessed one lad kicking a 99 ice cream along the foothpath with bits of ice cream flying everywhere.

We brushed aside the above, but when we came across a middle aged woman defecating into a piece of tinfoil near Heuston Station we knew that was our cue to leave.

Never again.

Well in a city of 1 million people, you were bound to run into all sorts simply by chance of setting out the door particularly on a good day.

Join the rest of humanity and don't be surprised.

Enough faux outrage threads here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

we even witnessed one lad kicking a 99 ice cream along the foothpath with bits of ice cream flying everywhere.

He deserves to be put a wafer a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Neapolitan probably. How does one kick ice cream and not make a mess of whatever they are wearing???
    a skanger girls underwear

Ruubot2 wrote: »

You dip your foot in warm water first - so's it doesn't stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Duff wrote: »
    Dublin is a grand city. You get scum like that in any major city anywhere.

In most cities' main street though you tend to see at least a fundamental attempt to police the problem.

It's as if the Gardaí (or more precisely, their management) have simply given up on the junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

So, a slow news day in Dublin.... weather was nice though...

humbert wrote: »
    As someone who likes Dublin the behaviour that's tolerated by the Gardai and is becoming more and more widespread is depressing. And for what it's worth you don't see that in the city centre of most European cities; you might be able to find it but in Dublin it's simply unavoidable at this stage.

Really? I see similar almost daily here in Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

You think Dublin is bad ? just try the desolate wasteland of the midlands. 'Travellers' everywhere and accents that would make Ronald Mc Donald cry.

You think Dublin is bad ? just try the desolate wasteland of the midlands. 'Travelers' everywhere and accents that would make Ronald Mc Donald cry.

Very true - offaly bleak.

The more I read the ice-cream line, the funnier it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'll admit that I haven't been to Madrid but I have been to Copenhagen, Berlin, London, Paris, Stockholm, Valencia, Frankfurt (it's probably worse around the main station), Hanover, Edinburgh, Hamburg, Munich, Geneva and probably a few more and Dublin is the most conspicuously skanger infested. Even if all the rest are just as bad it doesn't actually diminish the problem that Dublin has.

Yeah, those 'Travelers' need to be kept on a Laoise

they should all be kept on a laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

OP, so did you say hi to your mam when you saw her outside heuston station?

Frankfurt is a bit of a kip too, in all honesty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭bbbaldy

Adamantium wrote: »
    Well in a city of 1 million people, you were bound to run into all sorts simply by chance of setting out the door particularly on a good day.

Join the rest of humanity and don't be surprised.

Enough faux outrage threads here.

Absolute rubbish, its not ok, its not a common sight in cities of over 1 million people. In a lot of European cities this is not acceptable, the police come down hard on this type of behaviour. I'm not saying its not there, but because its not acceptable its hidden and the general public does not have to put up with it. I find that In Dublin people find this behaviour to be a fact of life, for as long as they do this nothing will change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

No need to have a wibbly wobbly over that!. I mean, something like that will hardly cause a super split in the fabric of society. the guy was clearly a flake.
    I do agree with you on the policing side of things though.
    What we need is Magnum.

humbert wrote: »
    I'll admit that I haven't been to Madrid but I have been to Copenhagen, Berlin, London, Paris, Stockholm, Valencia, Frankfurt (it's probably worse around the main station), Hanover, Edinburgh, Hamburg, Munich, Geneva and probably a few more and Dublin is the most conspicuously skanger infested. Even if all the rest are just as bad it doesn't actually diminish the problem that Dublin has.

I've lived in Edinburgh and London and oh, believe me, you find similar. Edinburgh has massive problems with heroin. We had massive punch ups right outside our flat between Rangers and Celtic fans most weekend nights.

My parents witnessed a man get the **** beaten out of him by two bouncers in front of their hotel visiting me in 2007 in London. He was left there for dead and they had to call the ambulance. If you leave the very centre, you'll find trouble. Parts of my areas were often cordoned off after someone was murdered there.

Not to say Dublin hasn't got it's problems and it certainly does but painting it as some sort of hell hole is a little naive. It's not as bad as people make out it is on Boards.

Let's face it, the ice-cream incident is hardly worrying.

The streets were crawling with skangers roaring like animals and we even witnessed one lad kicking a 99 ice cream along the foothpath with bits of ice cream flying everywhere.

Did the Ice Scream?

Smidge wrote: »

No need to have a wibbly wobbly over that!. I mean, something like that will hardly cause a super split in the fabric of society. the guy was clearly a flake.
    I do agree with you on the policing side of things though.
    What we need is Magnum.
    Id say he had freaky feet afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Dublin is a great city, you get people like this in any major city in the country, Cork, Limerick, Galway. Especially in fine weather, seems to bring the skangers out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've lived in Edinburgh and London and oh, believe me, you find similar. Edinburgh has massive problems with heroin. We had massive punch ups right outside our flat between Rangers and Celtic fans most weekend nights.

My parents witnessed a man get the **** beaten out of him by two bouncers in front of their hotel visiting me in 2007 in London. He was left there for dead and they had to call the ambulance. If you leave the very centre, you'll find trouble. Parts of my areas were often cordoned off after someone was murdered there.

Not to say Dublin hasn't got it's problems and it certainly does but painting it as some sort of hell hole is a little naive. It's not as bad as people make out it is on Boards.

Let's face it, the ice-cream incident is hardly worrying.

I dunno legs, I'll never look at a cone the same way again.

I love Dublin tbh, never had an issue with skangers or whatever. I think you can be a wee timerous beastie and see junkies on every corner, or else see a City going about its business. I remember when walking down Sheriff st meant you got mugged and Moore st was rough as fcuk -literally. It's waay better these days. I don't get the hand wringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I think it has gotten so bad in the last few years, it has become an eyesore and a safety issue. I know there was always trouble but there seems to be so much more of it in public places now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

degsie wrote: »
    Did the Ice Scream?

Why didn't OP just desert the area ?

This is just whipping it up. No topping that.