Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst public transport experience

• 30-05-2014 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

Just sat on a packed bus home from town beside an old man who kept spitting on the floor. I nearly got sick.

What's your worst public transport experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I thought you couldn't sit next to the driver anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

A guy sitting beside me on the DART sh*t himself. Luckily he had a nappy on so it didn't travel as far as me.

Unpleasant odour the the remainder of the journey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Two that spring to mind...

Luggage stolen off bus at Bus Arus.

5 hours on BE from Dublin to Letterkenny.

So glad I have a car now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

A trip to the Electric Picnic in Laois about 10 years ago.
    Hour and a half queue to get on the bus followed by a four hour drive with multiple traffic jams and constant 'piss-stops' en route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Bus masterbaters!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Public transport? :eek::eek:

Peasants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The guy who tried pissing out the window of the bus. Upstairs. The little he didn't get on himself went out the window and straight in on top of the people ten people behind. He was with a big bunch of his scrote mates which is the only reason he's alive today. Actually he's probably not still alive today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Public transport? :eek::eek:

Peasants!

Bus self pleasurers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yeah, you can beat this....

I got the train from mallow to heuston on easter monday having paid handsomely for a seat. I had the "pleasure" of a junkie who had 2 hospital bracelets on each arm, continually fall into my seat, He was so out of it that the girl who checked the tickets told him that he would have to get off the train - but of course it wasn't pursued and he was left standing (well more leaning into my chair). I was steadily digging him with my elbow to get him away, and i only paid €38 for that pleasure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Which town were you in again OP?

Bussed it from Dundalk-Dublin-Limerick-Tralee and back a few days later. I now always make sure to stand clear luggage doors operate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

What's public transport?

The bus that goes into town on Friday and comes back 3 hours later?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Witnessing a sexual assault on a british train in the early afternoon :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

A few years ago, I was on an 84 from town (Dublin, obviously) and the bus developed some kind of problem - the engine was running, but it was unable to get out of first gear. When we got to Donnybrook garage, we switched onto another bus. Then we were barely a mile down the road when that bus broke down (ran out of fuel). No more than a couple of minutes later, a replacement bus arrived - the same one that we had originally changed from. The mechanic (same guy who had just given us a bus with no diesel) insisted that it was fine now, so the driver reluctantly accepted it. And it was fine... for around ten minutes, before the exact same fault happened again. Rather than stopping and waiting for another bus to be sent out, the driver was told to continue as far as Bray train station, where there would be another replacement bus waiting.

When we got to Bray, there was no sign of any other bus. The driver's shift was finished, but he assured us (in a less-than-confident tone of voice) that another driver and bus would be along in a minute. He then left, very quickly. After around fifteen minutes, an inspector came along, wondering why there around 20 people sitting on an empty bus. It turned out that the other driver had just taken the replacement bus without realising that he was supposed to wait for us. Everyone was a bit impatient and annoyed at this stage, so the inspector decided to drive us home.

Perhaps not a particularly bad experience, but a very annoying one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Red Alert wrote: »
    Witnessing a sexual assault on a british train in the early afternoon :eek:

I'm assuming it was a man, did anyone stop or arrest him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Packed bus on the way home from an All-Ireland final. Heading down to Galway after a draw against KK in the hurling and the bus is packed. On the bus with 4 other friends so I get the seat with a stranger option. Young lad walks on with a look on his face as if he murdered the Pope. As he walked down the aisle heads turned so I knew it was bad. He sits down and the waft of incontinence was unbearable. Thank **** he got off in Moate. The hurlers weren't the only ones to shíte themselves that day.

Beats getting stabbed I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

thelad95 wrote: »
    Just sat on a packed bus home from town beside an old man who kept spitting on the floor. I nearly got sick.
    Nearly? Give it a few hours, the viruses need a little time for incubation. :(

In Ireland, I've still to see anything to match the experience of taking the Night Bus in London. I used to go to late movies then catch the N20 to Muswell Hill. It was always incredibly crowded, so I would find myself halfway up the stairs, hanging on as drunkards staggered around me.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Waiting for the 75.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Bussed it from Dundalk-Dublin-Limerick-Tralee and back a few days later. I now always make sure to stand clear luggage doors operate.

No no, it's pronounced "luggage doors operaaish!" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

A mentally impaired man with no legs thought I'd stolen his phone once on an overnight bus from London to Dublin. I was only the target because I was in the seat behind him, and being legless he couldn't really expand his search much further. Myself and the driver tried to help him look for it, then the driver said we'd have to carry on, at which point the man became even more furious. As we drove along the motorway he launched himself off his seat into the aisle, shrieking abuse, then pulled himself to where I was sitting and began punching me with one hand while trying to drag himself onto the seat with the other!

I was bloody mortified- torn between shock, pity at the state he was in, and increasing anger at the repeated punching. Because I was wedged in by my bags I couldn't get out and there was no way to get him off without physically fighting back, which I was reluctant to do because he was clearly not all there. No-one else knew what to do either- there was a general air of shock and nervous giggling. The driver was roaring away at him till he got a chance to pull in, come down the bus and lift the guy back onto his seat, where he bitched and moaned away for the next 9 hours!

I fly home now, regardless of the cost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Semele wrote: »
    A mentally impaired man with no legs thought I'd stolen his phone once on an overnight bus from London to Dublin. I was only the target because I was in the seat behind him, and being legless he couldn't really expand his search much further. Myself and the driver tried to help him look for it, then the driver said we'd have to carry on, at which point the man became even more furious. As we drove along the motorway he launched himself off his seat into the aisle, shrieking abuse, then pulled himself to where I was sitting and began punching me with one hand while trying to drag himself onto the seat with the other!

I was bloody mortified- torn between shock, pity at the state he was in, and increasing anger at the repeated punching. Because I was wedged in by my bags I couldn't get out and there was no way to get him off without physically fighting back, which I was reluctant to do because he was clearly not all there. No-one else knew what to do either- there was a general air of shock and nervous giggling. The driver was roaring away at him till he got a chance to pull in, come down the bus and lift the guy back onto his seat, where he bitched and moaned away for the next 9 hours.

That is possibly the greatest thing i have ever read on the internet in my entire life!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Myself and the now husband were travelling years ago we got on a bus from kuala lumpar destined for Singapore

No where to sit bar the back seats.
    The fumes were unbelievable overpowering along with the humidity.
    Both of us passed out from the fumes somewhere along the journey . We came to when the bus had to be unloaded at many a border crossing.

At this particular border crossing we were taken into a room with a customs official who was heavily armed.
    When he went through our passports then he let us off.

Out we went bags on back and not a bus to to seen
    the bastard drove off and left us. !!
    Not a sinner spoke english
    We hadn't a clue where we were it was like we were dropped from the sky into this place

Definitely the worst memory ever as we were fair dopey from whatever fumes that potentially could have killed us !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

My worst travel story was picking up some salmonella poisoning on an island in the Philippines, I couldn't eat, had a fever and had a serious case of the "runs".

Getting home involved several nightmarish legs. Back of a pick up truck to to the dock. Water taxi to an Asian sized bus. 4 hours of bus over land to an internal flight. 3 hours to manilla. The rush hour manilla traffic across the capital to pick up bags, and back again to the international terminal. Which was packed. And had several queues. Two 8 hour flights and 6 hour layover. Home, aircoach and a 25 minute walk with all my bags. Awful. Sick for a month.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 SwettyBalls

On a bus from Limerick to Cork. Some mentally disturbed lad sitting behind me was coughing and spluttering into the air for the whole journey. Between each cough and splutter he would swing is head from right to left constantly, look out the window, look into the bus, look out the window, into the bus, like clockwork. While swinging his head around he had a really daft smile as if he was sedated. Then more coughing and spluttering into the air, really loudly that sounded half puke half cough. Some guy asked him to cover his mouth, which he did, for about 2 seconds. Then back to coughing into the air. That lasted about two hours.

My second worst experience was when I was waiting at the bus station in Clonmel, and some guy in his 40s waddled out with a smell of shyte wafting behind him. He called somebody from the phone box and started screaming "I DID IT AGAIN! I DID IT AGAIN!" Only then I saw that there was shyte all over his pants. Pure scutthery shyte. 5 minutes later a lady came to pick him up in the car, and as he sat in he scraped his shytey arse all the way down the seat, from the headrest to the bottom. Then they drove off on their merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Obviously like anyone I've encountered lots of weirdos on Dublin bus, but probably the worst bus experience was over 3 hours from Meath to Dublin in the snow. A journey that should take less than an hour >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Two bus crashes in one week .

While I was an apprentice going to work one Monday morning the bus I was on skidded in Lucan village , knocked down a telegraph pole and crashed into a derelict building .I arrived into work an hour late with my foreman refusing to believe me because I was hungover.
    At ten he was listening to the news and heard about the crash .

That Friday , hungover again , another bus I was on skidded and crashed into a bus at a stop on near Hueston station , an hour late again .

Once,on the way back to my bedsit in Ballsbridge the chauffeur of my Mercedes-Benz S600 told me the climate control wouldnt go below 17C :O felt nauseous all the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I was on the Luas a few years back and it was fairly empty..a couple of people up near the front, and I was sitting near the back.
    A lad got on and sat on the seat directly opposite me.

I didn't make eye contact with him but from the corner of my eye I could see he had his hand down his tracksuit bottoms and he was....yknow...yeah.
    I felt so uncomfortable and very vulnerable so I stood up and moved to a seat near the front.

He followed me and sat down and did it again. Before I had the chance to do anything, two Luas security guards got on so I stood up and told them what the fella was doing.

He was promptly escorted off the Luas but it left me feeling violated all day.
    People might think it was funny but not when it's a girl on her own. I didn't know what he was going to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

fussyonion wrote: »
    I didn't know what he was going to do.

Have a **** would be my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

wazky wrote: »
    Have a **** would be my bet.

Well no he was doing that already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭onethreefive

In no particular order..

On the Dublin to Westport train being jammed on the inside seat between someone who was completely out of his mind drunk.

On the bus listening to 2 lads blaring their really bad music at full volume.

And the letterkenny to Dublin bus is pure torturous. I was contemplating flying to Dublin from Donegal Airport so I wouldn't have to sit on that bus for so long ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

There were 2.

1. A mid morning metro ride in Prague after a 48 hour session packed full of young families. The paranoia was overwhelming.

2. A Bus Eireann trip from Galway to Limerick. An elderly gentleman got on at Bunratty and proceeded to soil himself straight away. It just happened to be a sweltering summers day and the bus was like a sweatbox. The stench was overpowering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

A bus journey once from Galway to Dublin. Four hours of drunk knackers shouting and roaring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Ran out of foie gras in 1st class. Terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Merry_Hell

City Link, Dublin to Galway. Very strange eastern European couple, in their mid twenties sitting in the seat in front of me. I could hear/see them cuddling and kissing for a while before they started talking. I think the girl playfully slapped him and he slapped her playfully. So she spat in his face.

The next 5 minutes consisted of them light -heartedly spitting in each other's faces. Every now and then a spit would miss, hit the window and I'd get some splash back. I started looking around for a camera. but no. I remember him removing his glasses so that he wouldn't have to keep wiping them. It stopped when she hissed in annoyance and turned away from him. They didn't talk for the rest of the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Luas Red Line having to put up with 2 inbred skangers of about 14 or 15 shouting abuse at people, one couple in particular were the main target.

I felt really sorry for them having to put up with this, some people shouldn't be allowed to breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Umadbrah?

fussyonion wrote: »
    I was on the Luas a few years back and it was fairly empty..a couple of people up near the front, and I was sitting near the back.
    A lad got on and sat on the seat directly opposite me.

I didn't make eye contact with him but from the corner of my eye I could see he had his hand down his tracksuit bottoms and he was....yknow...yeah.
    I felt so uncomfortable and very vulnerable so I stood up and moved to a seat near the front.

He followed me and sat down and did it again. Before I had the chance to do anything, two Luas security guards got on so I stood up and told them what the fella was doing.

He was promptly escorted off the Luas but it left me feeling violated all day.
    People might think it was funny but not when it's a girl on her own. I didn't know what he was going to do.

Jesus can a man not have a **** these days without being disturbed

Merry_Hell wrote: »
    City Link, Dublin to Galway. Very strange eastern European couple, in their mid twenties sitting in the seat in front of me. I could hear/see them cuddling and kissing for a while before they started talking. I think the girl playfully slapped him and he slapped her playfully. So she spat in his face.

The next 5 minutes consisted of them light -heartedly spitting in each other's faces. Every now and then a spit would miss, hit the window and I'd get some splash back. I started looking around for a camera. but no. I remember him removing his glasses so that he wouldn't have to keep wiping them. It stopped when she hissed in annoyance and turned away from him. They didn't talk for the rest of the journey.

Ummmm that turned me on a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Dazza Mc kenna

A train journey back from Waterford to Dublin. the train got bricked causing the window to shatter all over me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

Why are there so many degenerates in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

I was at a bus stop once just waiting with one of my friends when a little ****ty yellow car drove past and some pigeon chest dude shouted "bus ****" out the window at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Two bus crashes in one week .

While I was an apprentice going to work one Monday morning the bus I was on skidded in Lucan village , knocked down a telegraph pole and crashed into ia derelict building .I arrived into work an hour late with my foreman refusing to believe me because I was hungover.
    At ten he was listening to the news and heard about the crash .

That Friday , hungover again , another bus I was on skidded and crashed into a bus at a stop on near Hueston station , an hour late again .

Don't drive the bus hungover in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Semele wrote: »

I was bloody mortified- torn between shock, pity at the state he was in, and increasing anger at the repeated punching. Because I was wedged in by my bags I couldn't get out and there was no way to get him off without physically fighting back, which I was reluctant to do because he was clearly not all there. No-one else knew what to do either- there was a general air of shock and nervous giggling. The driver was roaring away at him till he got a chance to pull in, come down the bus and lift the guy back onto his seat, where he bitched and moaned away for the next 9 hours!

I laughed so hard I went from crying to not being able to breathe, thanks I really needed a good laugh today:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Clearly what's need in Ireland is better toilet facilities at bus stations, it might save people ****ting themselves on the bus as frequently as this thread suggests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

There a few months ago was on the bus.

There started to be a strong smell from be hide me and i was like what the hell was that did a baby near me **** them selfs ?.

After another 10 mins the bus driver stopped the bus and called out load and said what is that smell ?.

Turns out a perfect looking normal girl sitting be hide me got sick all over the seat that was beside her and there was this this huge amount of sick on the seat with floating pieces of food and everything in it :eek:

The bus driver eat the head of the girl for not telling him to stop to get sick as everyone on the bus will have to smell it for the next 40 mins.

To this day i never smelled sick as bad as what was be hide me on the bus seat.

People are sick !!!

There a few months ago was on the bus.

There started to be a strong smell from be hide me and i was like what the hell was that did a baby near me **** them selfs ?.

After another 10 mins the bus driver stopped the bus and called out load and said what is that smell ?.

Turns out a perfect looking normal girl sitting be hide me got sick all over the seat that was beside her and there was this this huge amount of sick on the seat with floating pieces of food and everything in it :eek:

The bus driver eat the head of the girl for not telling him to stop to get sick as everyone on the bus will have to smell it for the next 40 mins.

To this day i never smelled sick as bad as what was be hide me on the bus seat.

People are sick !!!

In fairness if she got food poising or something it wan't her fault. It's not like you can hold vomit in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Very uncomfortable bus journey from Buttevant to Mallow once; a couple in their +/- late 60's got on, sat in the seat opposite me, and proceeded to maul each other. She actually mounted him at one stage :( (quite impressive agility at that age i suppose but nonetheless, nearly lost my lunch).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Tokyo's Chuo line when somebody committed suicide by jumping under the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I was stuck for over an hour on a broken-down train once. It was somewhere in Staffordshire in England, right beside a toilet factory. There was nothing to do except stare out the window at a massive yard full of Armitage Shanks toilet bowls.

Nothing but toilets, as far as the eye could see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I hate riding a bicycle. I mean, I really hate it. I have allergies and riding into work means a headache and sore throat. I hate dealing with the traffic, the wind, the rain....I also hate that I need to bring a change of clothes to work and, no matter what I do, I'll look like a guy who just spent 45 minutes cycling into work. I really hate that bicycle theft is rampant all over Dublin (and any major city) so not only do I need to carry (two) bicycle locks, I still have to worry about it being stolen (and I've had one lock cut - so it's a very real concern). I also hate the frequency at which I get flats and being late to work because I needed to spend 15 minutes changing a tube on the side of the road, and then inflating it with a hand pump.

But I ride my bicycle every singe day I go to work. Because it's still about fifty times better than riding the Dublin Bus. Seriously, I don't know how people put up with it.