Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BXD comes to College Green 3rd June.

• 28-05-2014 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭

News reaches us of some interesting minor alterations to College Green Traffic Flow from Tues 3rd June.

Nothing major,you see,except for the stretch between Church Lane and Westmoreland St becoming a single-lane for TEN WEEKS :eek:

The notice refers to various Signposting,Traffic Management and enhanced Garda enforcement of the Bus Gate,which sounds very reassuring and will,doubtless,ensure a relaxed and trouble free TEN WEEKS for all those Motorists and Public Transport users who make use of College Green EVERY DAY.

At a guess I would suggest we will see more of the hugely successful Traffic Management Initiatives which have been a "feature" of the Stephens Green,Dawson and Nassau Street locations.

No specific mention of the Taxi Rank situation,but I'm confident there is a seperate comprehensive "Management Plan" for SPSV's of course....;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

AlekSmart wrote: »
    ...enhanced Garda enforcement of the Bus Gate...

Is there much enforcement at all? Any time I pass that way I see plenty of prohibited vehicles merrily driving on through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

00112984 wrote: »
    Is there much enforcement at all? Any time I pass that way I see plenty of prohibited vehicles merrily driving on through.

It's an Undercover operation ! ;)

But you raise a pertinent point,the noticable lack of ANY real enforcement of RTA regulations in the City.

Clearways,Parking,Banned Turns,questionable manouvere's in fact,all of the stuff which requires at least some enforcement is left to self-regulate in Dublin.

But,guess what and quelle surprise,it doesnt regulate itself.

What happens instead is that drivers become convinced of their own "entitlement" to ignore such rules and regs...No enforcement = No Law.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Church Lane itself will continue to be two 1.75 lanes will it? Would be quite a mess if this was reduced to just 1 but don't see any reason why it would be.
    As for the rest, if its just a case that they are re-opening a stretch that they've completed, and commencing on this new stretch, then in theory it should all balance out to be no worse than what we have now?

Church Lane itself will continue to be two 1.75 lanes will it? Would be quite a mess if this was reduced to just 1 but don't see any reason why it would be.
    As for the rest, if its just a case that they are re-opening a stretch that they've completed, and commencing on this new stretch, then in theory it should all balance out to be no worse than what we have now?

In Theory,yes You're probably kinda correct....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,959 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Well at least the bus gate will actually be enforced. It doesn't even need to be enforced by the gardaí, there is enough cctv coverage of College Green so a simple license plate recognition system and a €100 fine would remove the non compliance issue within a week or so.

OP, what's your source? nothing on the luascrosscity website about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

I'd imagine as a Dublin Bus driver he's received a notice in the garage.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

cgcsb wrote: »
    OP, what's your source? nothing on the luascrosscity website about it.

The item is not on the homepage but it's here: https://www.luascrosscity.ie/articles/news/
    College Green Traffic Restrictions- 3rd June 2014

Utility works associated with Luas Cross City will commence in the College Green area on Tuesday 3rd June 2014.

To facilitate these works, one northbound traffic lane will be closed for a number of months, commencing on 3rd June. However, it is intended that two lanes will remain open in the South bound direction.

The work is being carried out during the Summer months when traffic volumes are lower in order to minimise delays. It is important to note that motorists wishing to access car parks and businesses in the area can continue to do so. Traffic that is currently travelling THROUGH this area should access the city centre via other approaches or use the alternative route shown – see link below, College Green Route Map.

All traffic should continue to observe the bus corridor regulation times currently in place – from Monday to Friday, 7am to 10am and from 4pm to 7pm.

Map attached or here: https://1f19be030965d7aa9cd5-0ea8ebfb2bc7a6161d6ab1bbbbe2306e.ssl.cf3.rackcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/College-Green-Route-Map1.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Cinephille1888

A good few weeks ago I saw the O'C street works taking place en mass and very loudly at 9pm on a Weekend. Diggers, lots of busy work. All for the stretches around the Lower O'C street stop outside Easons/Penny's/ Near GPO.

This was a marvel, how considerate, how sensible, sure when else would they do it?

Then a week or so later I was in the Upper O'C Mcd's in the round window looking at the traffic.

Along came a Construction company flat bed to collect the fencing from finished work in the area.

It sat in the traffic lane for 10-15 minutes as workers picked up fencing.

Buses were stopping only a few meters away in the bus lane. Every few minutes.

Taxis and the odd normal traffic had to undertake the flatbed during this time...

I can't imagine what College Green would be like with 1 lane, Bus Gate operations, and disgruntled and determined taxis going where they like.

Does anyone live on college green in Summer? Not many I take it. Wider construction hours sound very necessary here.

We all know Dame Street doesn't get it, and it's a mess.

At the end of the day, when is a good time for works such as these?

Unfortunately you cannot make an omelette without breaking eggs.

There is no way that you can build something such as the on-street LUAS through the city centre without causing disruption.

A good few weeks ago I saw the O'C street works taking place en mass and very loudly at 9pm on a Weekend. Diggers, lots of busy work. All for the stretches around the Lower O'C street stop outside Easons/Penny's/ Near GPO.

This was a marvel, how considerate, how sensible, sure when else would they do it?

Then a week or so later I was in the Upper O'C Mcd's in the round window looking at the traffic.

Along came a Construction company flat bed to collect the fencing from finished work in the area.

It sat in the traffic lane for 10-15 minutes as workers picked up fencing.

Buses were stopping only a few meters away in the bus lane. Every few minutes.

Taxis and the odd normal traffic had to undertake the flatbed during this time...

I can't imagine what College Green would be like with 1 lane, Bus Gate operations, and disgruntled and determined taxis going where they like.

Does anyone live on college green in Summer? Not many I take it. Wider construction hours sound very necessary here.

We all know Dame Street doesn't get it, and it's a mess.

Cinephile,you are 100% correct..."WE all know"....however WE are the lower-orders,the "sans-culottes",the hewers of wood and drawers of water,who simply cannot EVER hold a candle to those who have been elevated to the top floor of The Civic Offices...You see,THEY know also,but THEY know better !

I am very happy that at least one other person has picked up on the issue of how the BXD works are being progressed,or to be more precise how the "stakeholders" are adapting (or not) their services to cater for the totally changed/changing situations.

For three weekends in a row,O Connell st Northbound was closed at it's junction with Parnell St,with additional overspill work impinging upon the diverted Westbound traffic flow from Parnell St.

Assuming that the BXD contractors did'nt simply wake up each morning and randomly stick a pin in a map to decide their work location,I would imagine that some form of interaction/consultation/planning had to occur between the likes of major Bus&Coach Operators,Taxi representatives as to devising and implimenting a Safe Strategy for coping with the disruption.

What we actually got was a total,dangerous and amateur shambles,with NO active on-site Traffic Management or Garda involvement at all.

The location of this diversion,to a layperson,screamed out for hands-on Traffic Management as large numbers of Buses,Coaches,Taxi's Trucks,and the rest all attempted to force themselves into Cathal Brugha Street to make a convoluted and dangerous path back around to Parnell St/Square West...

In the meantime Luke Gardiners OTHER street...(his name gives a hint) sat,yet again,largely unused when It could,and should have been,an integral part of the Bus Diversionary Route.

Instead,we appear to have a Conspiracy whereby a cabal of back-scratching City Council?RPA/NTA "professionals" battle to prove the likes of Einstein,Newton and Archimedes wrong,and instead prove to a bewildered populace that "YES,We CAN build a Tramway without anybody really being disturbed-or even noticing".

NO human involvement in Traffic Management at all...NOTHING..Not one Garda,Not one Traffic Warden,nobody with any authority in place at all...instead it was left to drivers and labourers to find some form of half-compromise whhich would allow a laden tri-axle bus/coach to make a acute 90 deg right turn whilst attempting to dodge through the Taxi Traffic generated by the Taxi Rank left magnificently 100% operational throughout the surrounding chaos...It's almost as if the City Council/RPA/BXD et al, are drawing on Wartime London during the Blitz,for their inspiration..."WE NEVER CLOSED" :mad:

For what it's worth,my take on the upcoming College Green development is equally downbeat,there are VAST safety compromises which will have to be made here,particularly in the area of Bus/Cyclist interaction as there will be NO margin for error.....:(

The underlying ethos of BXD construction,as all too obviously demonstrated at St Stephens Green-Dawson Street,appears to involve doing the bare-minimum of pre-planning combined with NOTHING which will actively address the heightened levels of Road & Public Safety RISKS inherent in these works.

Instead,the mantra appears to be "It's going grand,sure'n nobody's been killed or injured YET".....:(

lxflyer wrote: »
    At the end of the day, when is a good time for works such as these?

Unfortunately you cannot make an omelette without breaking eggs.

There is no way that you can build something such as the on-street LUAS through the city centre without causing disruption.

EXACTLY. But in the case of the pre-existing Public Transport situation,how can anybody find it acceptable to blithely continue to run ALL of the "Normal",via OC St Bus Routes when the Street is physically CLOSED.

EVERY single Full Sized Vehicle,along with the Coaches and Taxis stupidly stuffed along the street until,at the very end they have no option except ro engage in a war of attrition to make the required and largely totally avoidable "Diversion"...yet,all the while the saner,sensible and SAFER option of a Gardiner Street routing apparently presents a huge challenge to our merry Professional Crue ?

Split the routes to cater for the TOTALLY altered battleground....send some across Butt Bridge,send others Westward along Aston Quay-Wellington Quay and a contra-flow right hand diversion across Capel St Bridge to access Jervis Street then directly up to Parnell Street/Square .

YES,there would be noses out of joint,YES there would be WALKING involved,but this is the City Centre,and part of the Omlette Making involves actually breaking those eggs you speak of,rather than sit watching them becoming increasingly hard-boiled as the temperature rises to emergency levels !

Options,Options,Options...there are more than a few,but the recieved wisdom of those who do not actually work at the coal-face,is that if we close our eyes,it will all turn out ok....:(

In relation to the College Green proposal,I would immediately enquire as to whether Bus Atha Cliath propose to continue with "Business as Usual",ie: send all of the current Routes through here as if nothing has changed,OR whether they might revert to the old motto "Changing WITH The City" and take pro-active action to AVOID the significant constriction which will be in place for the summer.

Far too many agencies,all with their own patch to protect and reputations to foster,yet none of them having any overall responsibility or power...T,bloody,fL it aint,that's for sure !! :confused:

Interesting to note this somewhat complimentary thread here...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057219603

The common denominator being the now VERY obvious reluctance/inability of the Gardai to perform Traffic Management & Control duties.
    The garda traffic management plan seemed to be to block off the Malahide Rd at Griffith Ave and stick up diversion signs.

There was no sign of any gardai further upstream, where traffic was getting fairly chaotic. I spent close to 20 minutes standing at a bus stop at Donnycarney Church, 15 of those looking at buses coming down the road sitting at the lights on the far side of the junction. Each time the lights changed, they were blocked from moving by cars westbound on Collins Ave turning left onto the Malahide Rd getting stuck crossing the bus lane trying to get into the main flow. Apart from the cars trying to cross it, the bus lane was empty the entire time.
    The situation wasn’t helped by cars coming out of Donncarney Rd turning right onto Malahide road inbound forcing their way into every gap, which prevented the traffic moving and left the bus lane blocked.
    I’m not blaming any of the drivers –the situation was chaotic. I’m honestly amazed there wasn’t another collision during the time I was standing there.

A SINGLE garda at that junction could have both kept the buses moving and made the whole situation a lot safer for all concerned.

Why has this arisen...? at a guess I'd suggest Politics,at a very high level,with Garda Management all keen to portray a gung-ho,can-do approach whilst the rank & file roll their eyes heavenward in the full knowledge of the situation "On the Ground".

Added to this,is the City Council's desire to be On-Message as a modern,focused Civic Authority overseeing a best-practice approach to Traffic Management.

The common denominator in much of this remains MANPOWER...the physical authoritative presence of a Garda or suitably empowered Traffic Warden,of the type so often seen in functional UK and European Citys.

Whilst DCC will refer us,with pride,to it's SCATS Traffic Signal Control system,the reality is that SCATS has reached it's limit,whilst all around it the Streetscape has radically altered.

The Luas BXD experience is showing that On-The-Ground Manpower is the ingredient which we lack,and as a result are paying a high price for.

EXACTLY. But in the case of the pre-existing Public Transport situation,how can anybody find it acceptable to blithely continue to run ALL of the "Normal",via OC St Bus Routes when the Street is physically CLOSED.

EVERY single Full Sized Vehicle,along with the Coaches and Taxis stupidly stuffed along the street until,at the very end they have no option except ro engage in a war of attrition to make the required and largely totally avoidable "Diversion"...yet,all the while the saner,sensible and SAFER option of a Gardiner Street routing apparently presents a huge challenge to our merry Professional Crue ?

Split the routes to cater for the TOTALLY altered battleground....send some across Butt Bridge,send others Westward along Aston Quay-Wellington Quay and a contra-flow right hand diversion across Capel St Bridge to access Jervis Street then directly up to Parnell Street/Square .

YES,there would be noses out of joint,YES there would be WALKING involved,but this is the City Centre,and part of the Omlette Making involves actually breaking those eggs you speak of,rather than sit watching them becoming increasingly hard-boiled as the temperature rises to emergency levels !

Options,Options,Options...there are more than a few,but the recieved wisdom of those who do not actually work at the coal-face,is that if we close our eyes,it will all turn out ok....:(

In relation to the College Green proposal,I would immediately enquire as to whether Bus Atha Cliath propose to continue with "Business as Usual",ie: send all of the current Routes through here as if nothing has changed,OR whether they might revert to the old motto "Changing WITH The City" and take pro-active action to AVOID the significant constriction which will be in place for the summer.

Far too many agencies,all with their own patch to protect and reputations to foster,yet none of them having any overall responsibility or power...T,bloody,fL it aint,that's for sure !! :confused:

I suspect Alek there is a certain amount of politics going on here between the two main agencies concerned, one suggesting there is little impact on bus travel times etc., the other trying to point out that there is. Can you figure out which is which?

Have you been taking this up with your management/unions, and if so what has been the response?

I'd certainly agree with you that there ought to be an on-street garda traffic corps presence at each of the major work locations to ensure safe passage. Have you brought your concerns to the attention of AGS?

It's not much comfort for those such as yourself at the coalface, but I suspect that at the very least when Kildare Street becomes two-way that you will see a split of Dublin Bus routes between Georges Street and Westland Row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

They should have grabbed the opportunity of these works and close College Green for all traffic permanently.

It will be bus/luas only eventually, I see no reason to delay that any further.

bigar wrote: »
    They should have grabbed the opportunity of these works and close College Green for all traffic permanently.

And where would all of the buses that carry the majority of public transport users into/out of Central Dublin then go?

The plan is certainly that buses will share the lower half of Grafton Street and Nassau Street with the trams once construction is completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭rgfuller

On Twitter just now @Livedrive tweeted that:

"College Green Bus corridor is being enforced by @GardaTraffic on Tuesday drivers will receive on the spot fines! Luas works start Tue"

rgfuller wrote: »

"College Green Bus corridor is being enforced by @GardaTraffic on Tuesday drivers will receive on the spot fines! Luas works start Tue"

Yes,quite...and all that good stuff...However,the most appropriate "Bus-Gate" to recieve this new-found level of enforcement is the DAWSON STREET/NASSAU STREET Bus-Only Left Turn,which oddly enough gets nary a mention..Hmmmm.

Going on today's dry-run,much of this Garda Enforcement appears to require the Garda devoting a substantial amount of time to 1 to 1 counselling for Drivers who are 1) Just off the Boat...2) Up from the Country....3) A person of some Importance....4) Optically Challenged.....5) A chancer...or any combination of those.

Very entertaining to watch the Jeepies tuck neatly in behind my bus in their attempts to sneak past the Gard....however all for naught as they had to stop behind me,just was they drew abreast of the peeler....:(...sad,but hey,there ye go...;)

Given that these works will last for at least 10 weeks,I would question the ability and willingness of the Garda Authorities to devote the amount of resources necessary to effectively police this VERY simple piece of Infrastructure.

Given that there are now a wide variety of mobile ANPR Camera systems on the market,surely a hi-visibility placement of one appropriately placed van accompanied by a BIG Sign reading...."Car Drivers - Bus Gate Open. €100 + 2 points each way, Get yours before they sell out !"

The reality of the proposed traffic situation around College Green is that there will NOT be enough road-space for the traditional Garda-Motorist,through the drivers window,plámas that usually accompanies the simplest of these stops.

"Well Gard,Nobody told ME anything about it" :P

Surely with major Infrastructural Projects such as this,the methodologies involved in managing them need to be at least brought into the 20th Century,instead of the "Tolka Row" era currently celebrated.

lxflyer wrote: »
    And where would all of the buses that carry the majority of public transport users into/out of Central Dublin then go?

The plan is certainly that buses will share the lower half of Grafton Street and Nassau Street with the trams once construction is completed.

The busses would stay out of the city centre except one bus line shuttling between some stops in the city centre and the three bus termini: Parnell Square for all Dublin busses on the North side, St Stephen's Green for South and Busaras. The Luas takes passengers too.

Was waiting for a friend at College Green and saw the Guard taking on the cars trying to get through. He has some cojones and stood his ground. A real pleasure to see :D

bigar wrote: »
    Was waiting for a friend at College Green and saw the Guard taking on the cars trying to get through. He has some cojones and stood his ground. A real pleasure to see :D

"Do you know who I AM"

"Have you no better things to be doing,like catching criminals"

Etc etc.....this is NOT effecient utilisation of scarce Garda resources,particularly when the technology currently exists to automate the entire process,and make it self financing,even profitable !...if it works for the West Link people it'll work for College Green !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Really crazy that M50 like camera enforcement hasn't been used here so far.It would undoubtedly please the Gardai to not have to waste manpower enforcing the bus gate, and surely would make DCC money via fines in the process.

Makes too much sense I suppose!

The BAC Website has the following in relation to the closure....

https://www.dublinbus.ie/en/News-Centre/General-News/Luas-Cross-City-Works-on-College-Green/

Over 30 Routes,some of them among the city's busiest (and Longest) are about to encounter this disruption,along with frequency adjustments for "Summer Schedules"....am I missing something here,or does anybody see the potential for SERIOUS disruption next week ?

I must add that I see NO reason whatever for this little addendum...
    Dublin Bus would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during this time.

If I were running the BAC show,the above line would read...
    "BAC advises Customers who suffer any inconvience as a result of these works,to contact Luas BXD or RPA Customer Service Departments for an appropriate response"

Highly unlikely however,as the PR line is that everything is grand,just grand..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

This might have been an opportunity for DCC, the NTA and DB to seize whereby a few lines could have been routed away from the hallowed land of College Green and O'Connell Bridge. Even if it were to be temporary for the duration of the works, it would have been a prime time for such an experiment, and under somewhat understandable conditions (i.e. not just for the fun of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Stevek101

Bus gate from 0630-2100?

Aard wrote: »
    This might have been an opportunity for DCC, the NTA and DB to seize whereby a few lines could have been routed away from the hallowed land of College Green and O'Connell Bridge. Even if it were to be temporary for the duration of the works, it would have been a prime time for such an experiment, and under somewhat understandable conditions (i.e. not just for the fun of it).

These agencies do not really undertake any "seizing" of stuff,particularly opportunities.

Instead they ponder,deliberate and cogitate over the pressing issues of the day before coming up with something non-committal like this....

http://www.transportforireland.ie/luas-cross-city-college-green-utility-works/

The ability to say things whilst not actually saying anything at all is highly prized in these circles....
    One northbound traffic lane will be temporarily closed in the College Green area for the duration of the works, with the two existing southbound lanes remaining open throughout. There will be no changes to car park access in the area. .
    Gráinne Mackin, Director of Communications for the Luas Cross City scheme said, “While these works in College Green are significant, it’s important that everyone knows that the streets will remain open to all commuters and road users wishing to access car parks and shops in the area can continue to do so.”
    Dublin Bus services will continue to operate as normal during this stage of works.
    For additional information on bus corridor operation hours and access to car parks please visit:

A veritable tour de force by Gráinne Mackin,so much that one could be forgiven for assuming she was employed by the Car Parking Industry to further their interests.

The page,in it's entirety,is SO typically Irish Public Administration in it's ethos.....A main transport artery is reduced to a single-lane for the summer months...yet...it's also fully open for business as normal..:confused:...with the City's Bus Service apparently also working "as normal"....even if the company itself reluctantly admits to the possibility of "some delays"....

https://www.dublinbus.ie/en/Luas-Cross-City/
    Northbound traffic will be reduced to one lane and routes travelling northbound may experience delays.

Each "Dublin" entity has differing priorities,with no one goal shared between any of them...City Council,Gardai,RPA-Luas,Bus Atha Cliath,Bus Eireann and all of the various private operators for whom Westmoreland Street is the allocated terminus,all pay diferent pipers which results in a cacophony of noise but no identifiable tune.

Whether Luas BXD's remit extends to addressing the knock-on effects of the College Green restriction on Westmoreland Street's already crazed Bus & Coach situation remains unclear,and Gráinne steers well clear of that potential PR hazard.

Nobody willing to assume ownership of the Traffic Management situation....but I'm sure it'll all be grand,just grand...won't it ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

The page,in it's entirety,is SO typically Irish Public Administration in it's ethos.....A main transport artery is reduced to a single-lane for the summer months...yet...it's also fully open for business as normal..:confused:...with the City's Bus Service apparently also working "as normal"....even if the company itself reluctantly admits to the possibility of "some delays"....
    Thank god for DB's summer service -- less strain on College Green...

Nobody willing to assume ownership of the Traffic Management situation....but I'm sure it'll all be grand,just grand...won't it ? :rolleyes:

City Council has recently changed, so none of the new Councillors will have a notion what's going on. In the run-up to the elections, previous Councillors were too preoccupied with canvassing for re-election.

As far as the NTA goes -- national body, Dublin body in all but name, who knows?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

I am so confused, I need to park in fleet st car park tomorrow - does anyone know if can come from Christchurch go down the quays, back up d'olier st, onto college street and across to fleet st? There is oblique reference to being able to access businesses in the area, but the luas website has nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

Really crazy that M50 like camera enforcement hasn't been used here so far.It would undoubtedly please the Gardai to not have to waste manpower enforcing the bus gate, and surely would make DCC money via fines in the process.

Makes too much sense I suppose!

The eFlow/Sanef offices are chock full of people who's only job is to read the number plates that the ANPR cameras couldn't and verify the ones that it wasn't sure about. The volume of traffic through College Green wouldn't be a patch on the east link but it's still not a cheap option. The cameras and software aren't cheap, it's labour intensive to operate and you have to find a way to install the cameras at a height where they aren't susceptible to vandalism and are sympathetic to the historic nature of the area (which the current VMS is not!).

Feu wrote: »
    I am so confused, I need to park in fleet st car park tomorrow - does anyone know if can come from Christchurch go down the quays, back up d'olier st, onto college street and across to fleet st? There is oblique reference to being able to access businesses in the area, but the luas website has nothing!

Your journey will not be affected directly however there may be knock on delays due to college green being reduced to one lane north bound.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

markpb wrote: »
    The eFlow/Sanef offices are chock full of people who's only job is to read the number plates that the ANPR cameras couldn't and verify the ones that it wasn't sure about. The volume of traffic through College Green wouldn't be a patch on the east link but it's still not a cheap option. The cameras and software aren't cheap, it's labour intensive to operate and you have to find a way to install the cameras at a height where they aren't susceptible to vandalism and are sympathetic to the historic nature of the area (which the current VMS is not!).

ANPR is to be used with planned red light cameras and maybe also average speed cameras, so a lot of the back end cost will come about regardless, and adding bus gate enforcement to that is likely not going to add that much volume of work, or is it?

After a quick Google: Bus lane / street enforcment camares seem to be more common that I had thought. Seems to be lots of indications that such schemes are or are close to self financing, at least the setup cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭dowlingm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭mydiscworld

For me, that is not clear really at all. I think a clear map with the restricted roads would be more helpful for more visual people.

There was a motorbike garda enforcing college street this morning - all non bus/taxi were funnelled back towards westmoreland st [no access to dame st from d'olier]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭stop

For me, that is not clear really at all. I think a clear map with the restricted roads would be more helpful for more visual people.

Also using Red on the map for the route likely to encounter delays, and Green for the route used as an alternate might have made more sense..

There was a motorbike garda enforcing college street this morning - all non bus/taxi were funnelled back towards westmoreland st [no access to dame st from d'olier]

Access from D'Olier street to college green has not changed.

There never is access for non-public transport traffic from College Street to Dame Street during the morning and evening rush hours, similarly no access from Dame Street to Westmoreland Street during the rush hours.

Nothing new about that at all. It just has not been enforced properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Yes for the first time since the busgate started there seemed to be enforcement this morning, the amount of cars/vans turning back at the last minute was substantial. Good to see, hopefully it won't be a one-week wonder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

Yes for the first time since the busgate started there seemed to be enforcement this morning, the amount of cars/vans turning back at the last minute was substantial. Good to see, hopefully it won't be a one-week wonder!

It has always been enforced sporadically, this is no different.

If it's enforced for the full 10 weeks of works, it may have a lasting impact, but the long term answer is camera enforcement.

apologies folks, i was not aware of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

markpb wrote: »

Labour is cheap, get jobbridge or worse, the council dole+20 euros staff to do the work.

Or alternatively, pay staff a decent wage to do the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

cgcsb wrote: »
    If it's enforced for the full 10 weeks of works, it may have a lasting impact, but the long term answer is camera enforcement.

Looks like the Gardai have stopped directing traffic away from the Bus Gate if this mornings evidence is anything to go by.

Several cars/vans lined up on Westmoreland St receiving fines. Hopefully this will continue

that's fantastic news offenders can't see around the corner onto westmoreland st and it's wide enough to pull people over. The fines should be extremely heavy imo given that how long bus gate has been in operation.

Well that lasted !...Gardai back directing traffic again this morning :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭rgfuller

From livedrive on twitter this morning:-
    "105 fixed penalty notices were issued to people driving through College Green bus gate yesterday."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

"105 fixed penalty notices were issued to people driving through College Green bus gate yesterday."

Funny, I was about to post the exact same thing. Pam read it out on Live Drive this morning.
    Nice chunk of cash!
    They've been constantly iterating that point the last two days and it's been very funny to hear them say " we have zero sympathy for you, folks. We've been warning you this was coming for ages now!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Is that 105 in one day? wow

AngryLips wrote: »
    Is that 105 in one day? wow

Considering I counted 8 vehicles pulled over on Westmoreland St yesterday morning at 8.30 a.m I can well believe a figure of 105