Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The price of a haircut

• 26-05-2014 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

I haven't paid for a haircut in almost two years. "Why not, you smelly ugly bastard?" you may ask. Alright, calm down. Well, where I live (Northern Europe) the price of a regular men's haircut can be anywhere between €20 and €25 or even €30 and I'll be bollocksed if I'll pay that. So I bought a €14 hair clipper two years ago and used that ever since. And now you know the rest of the story.

Bit enough about me, how much do you pay for a haircut? How much are you willing to spend? Do you cut your own hair? Have you ever? Dish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I think we had a thread on this recently but anyway....12 Max, usually 10 midweek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I cut my own.

€0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

I haven't paid for a haircut in almost two years. "Why not, you smelly ugly bastard?" you may ask. Alright, calm down. Well, where I live (Northern Europe) the price of a regular men's haircut can be anywhere between €20 and €25 or even €30 and I'll be bollocksed if I'll pay that. So I bought a €14 hair clipper two years ago and used that ever since. And now you know the rest of the story.

Bit enough about me, how much do you pay for a haircut? How much are you willing to spend? Do you cut your own hair? Have you ever? Dish.

Slippery slope.
    Start cutting your own hair today, tomorrow you'll be reduced to wiping your own arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Anywhere between €20 and €25 or even €30.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Usually €10.

I get it cut every 6-8 weeks. I cut it a little bit myself in between. Have to get a trimmer and a pair of thinning scissors soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

€6 here in Spain. For years I used to get my hair cut for $2 in South America.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

€40 i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Pics and we'll see if that was 14 quid well spent or if we have a sympathetic whipround to take the burst sofa look off your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I have one enormous dreadlock, so free.

If I ever decide to cut it, it'll cost whatever kango hammers cost to rent for half an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Buzzed by myself for €0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Anywhere between €20 and €25 or even €30.

Good heavens, you sound like a real impressive high roller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

€6 here in Spain. For years I used to get my hair cut for $2 in South America.

Hell of a journey for a haircut.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

28 I think.

Good heavens, you sound like a real impressive high roller.

Naah, I just know how shyte selfie haircuts with a €14 clippers look. I'd pay €50 a pop to avoid that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

It's a tennar here in the country side! ...great value, you only truly appreciate it when you go abroad and you get your hair clipped and you're expected to pay 50+ bucks for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Free. Done it myself for the past 10/12 years or so. Haven't seen the inside of a barbers since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

The girlfriends is €120 monthly

Fecking mental money

Naah, I just know how shyte selfie haircuts with a €14 clippers look. I'd pay €50 a pop to avoid that.

Obviously not very good with your hands or operating basic machinery.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

FearDark wrote: »
    It's a tennar here in the country side! ...great value, you only truly appreciate it when you go abroad and you get your hair clipped and you're expected to pay 50+ bucks for it!

You can get it for a tenner anywhere. It all depends on what you want and what sort of place you go to.

Someone just looking a buzzcut is obviously going to pay a lot less than someone who has a particular style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

The girlfriends is €120 monthly

Fecking mental money

She's getting more than a hair cut for that. Or did you think she was a natural blonde?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Most of the good barbers around Stephen's Green/Baggot Street etc tend to charge around €22 for a haircut. It's a fair price to pay I think, especially considering the professionalism that is involved.

Went to the Waldorf Barbers last month. It was €32 for the cut, but I rounded it up to €40. Just an extraordinary level of service. Talked about the style I wanted, and I left 40 minutes later feeling a million dollars.

Brutal tbh, but then I have a heavy head of hair and a onesie all over makes me look like a thug. I guess you have less to trim and don't mind looking a bit dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Maybe he's better with big machinery? ;)

My daughter took my grandson for his 1st haircut a few weeks ago.
    22euro!! He's 18 months old ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

awec wrote: »
    You can get it for a tenner anywhere. It all depends on what you want and what sort of place you go to.

Someone just looking a buzzcut is obviously going to pay a lot less than someone who has a particular style.

Cheapest I found in New Zealand was about 40 dollars... I went down the DIY route for a while and that looked like crap, ended up just paying lady with big boobs to do it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It used to be €18 in Grafton Barber but down to €15 now. They usually do a good job. I probably get my hair cut every 12 weeks.

Once I grew a massive beard. Grafton Barber shaved it off for me.

I went to another hairdresser once. They asked me what I would like. I told them that I didn't know and what would they recommend. The girl shrugged her shoulders and said "two back and sides?"

I used to go to another place. There were two stunning Romanian girls that used to work there. I would get them to wash my hair, even though it was completely unnecessary. I found it almost therapeutic. I would chat away to them too.

I have loads more crap hair-cut related anecdotes like these.

Chucken wrote: »
    Maybe he's better with big machinery? ;)

My daughter took my grandson for his 1st haircut a few weeks ago.
    22euro!! He's 18 months old ffs.

I always get caught with having to get it cut on a sunday in one of the city-center places - but it takes about 30 mins to cut my wire-rope hair, so that's about €30 an hour, which is alright I suppose. Mechanics charge more, and noones staring at their work for a few months..- I thinks it's €15 a pop - I just cut and pasted the OP's whinge about hairdressing for my original pricelist. He does sound pretty stingy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I had been a regular customer of knights for many years - 26euro in the boom but in recent years to be fair they brought the price down to 20.

In the past 8 months I've been growing my hair a bit though and I as a result I decided to go to the grooming rooms. 35 there. Amazing service though and worth the extra if you are trying to achieve particular styles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Jagdtiger

Out of curiosity, which picture are we judging, your Avatar or your Signature?

Jagdtiger wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, which picture are we judging, your Avatar or your Signature?

Picture Jon Kenny from the d'unbelievables with a home-made haircut and you're half-way there. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

sugarman wrote: »
    €6, excellent polish barber shop.

Is that in Dublin? Where abouts?

By the way I forgot to add in the OP I used to pay €12 for a haircut in Ireland.
    Brutal tbh, but then I have a heavy head of hair and a onesie all over makes me look like a thug. I guess you have less to trim and don't mind looking a bit dodgy.

Bizarre outburst, claiming people who regularly trim their hair and tidy their appearance look dodgy. :confused: I can only presume you have the same attitude towards people who shower daily or brush their teeth.

keith16 wrote: »
    Is that in Dublin? Where abouts?

Krakow Roundabout.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

10 euro every 2months or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

€28 every three months, do my own colour for €6.99 per month which is grand and cut my own side fringe in-between cuts.

If I could avoid hairdressers forever, I would. Hate small talk.

By the way I forgot to add in the OP I used to pay €12 for a haircut in Ireland.

Bizarre outburst, claiming people who regularly trim their hair and tidy their appearance look dodgy. :confused: I can only presume you have the same attitude towards people who shower daily or brush their teeth.

Not at all - it's grand if you're going half-bald already and just need a tidy-up, sure a flymo would do the job. If you want an actual style, or a decent cut, not just a scalping, home-cut hair is a bit primary school, tbh. :) Do you use a bowl to cut around or go free-style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭dee_mc

€25 to €30 i think, only get a cut 3 or 4 times a year when I'm getting highlights anyway.. Hack away at it myself in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I can't remember it ever not costing me a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Was about a tenner 2-3 years ago. Usally do my own though as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I have long hair. Only get it cut about once (MAYBE twice) a year, and either do it myself or get my mam/friend to do it for me. It's not like I do anything fancy with it, just straight cut.

I'm getting a fringe type thing in the next week or so, so I'll be paying about 30 for that I think, then just maintaining it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

€9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Not at all - it's grand if you're going half-bald already and just need a tidy-up, sure a flymo would do the job. If you want an actual style, or a decent cut, not just a scalping, home-cut hair is a bit primary school, tbh. :) Do you use a bowl to cut around or go free-style?
    I think it's time you two got a room and just get it out of your systems. You could cut the sexual tension with a hair clippers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Uriel. wrote: »
    I had been a regular customer of knights for many years - 26euro in the boom but in recent years to be fair they brought the price down to 20.

In the past 8 months I've been growing my hair a bit though and I as a result I decided to go to the grooming rooms. 35 there. Amazing service though and worth the extra if you are trying to achieve particular styles

I booked into the Grooming Rooms last year. It was all a bit meh to be honest. A good cut and a decent experience, but it was almost like he decided I should get the same style again. Which is a conservative cut at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

€5 for clippers all over

When I've a beard (sometimes grow one when I get too lazy to shave) it's an extra €4 for the beard trim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

€7 in a Polish place in Swords. Women aren't the best, in fact I think you turn to stone if you look at them directly rather than in the mirror.

Went to a place in Rathmines years ago with a couple of stunning Eastern European types working there. Ended up getting two hair cuts, highlights, hot towel shave, eye brow sculpting, extensions and a perm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Paddytheman

€7 rounded up to €10 on Camden St, been going for years, have had to go elsewhere from time to time and paid a lot more but none have been as good as Hassan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Doylers

I pay 9, razor on sides(none stupid) and scissors on top. Its the same price though really no matter what I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Went to the Waldorf Barbers last month. It was €32 for the cut, but I rounded it up to €40. Just an extraordinary level of service. Talked about the style I wanted, and I left 40 minutes later feeling a million dollars.

This just baffles me as its a haircut your going for not a 3 course meal, I always pay €10, I once paid €20 in Ste green as I never asked the price beforehand, it was a rip off as their was no difference in quality to my €10 cut, €32 is taken the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I used to pay €12 up til 2 years ago when I bought a fancy clippers. I now give myself a 3 back and sides and a trim on top. After a few goes you get surprising good at it.
    That's now odd at all? Right lads? .............. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

€14 plus €2/3 tip every month. I've been going to the same place for years.

Greyfox wrote: »
    This just baffles me as its a haircut your going for not a 3 course meal, I always pay €10, I once paid €20 in Ste green as I never asked the price beforehand, it was a rip off as their was no difference in quality to my €10 cut, €32 is taken the piss

It's bizarre to me that anyone would pay so much money for a haircut. €20-€30 and we're in real more money than sense territory. I'd rather spend it on something worthwhile.