Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you able to dance?

• 25-05-2014 2:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I never learned, I have never gone out dancing at a wedding and even in my nightclub going days rarely went out on the dancfloor.

I was at a wedding recently and noticed for the early part of it it was just women dancing, the men seemed to shy away from it until the later part of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

I'm a fantastic dancer, after 10pints of beer mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

I never learned, I have never gone out dancing at a wedding and even in my nightclub going days rarely went out on the dancfloor.

I was at a wedding recently and noticed for the early part of it it was just women dancing, the men seemed to shy away from it until the later part of the night.

Yeah, us men like to do the "dutch courage disco" it can only be done at the nights end & when we are past caring how stupid we look.
    "Now I gotta cut loose, footloose, kick off the Sunday shoes, please, Louise, " yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

I wish I could dance, or at least look less retarded when I do. At the same time I'm unlikely to ever take lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I was dancing when I was 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Like Napoleon Dynamite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Depends if I'm tripping balls or not. Back in my youth I used to hit the dancefloor like a tonne of broken glass, moonwalk into the robot then attempt to shift all 'round me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

No, it would be no from me although when i was younger i didnt mind making a fool of myself as much, I was such a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I take two different dance classes a week, I love it! Never gonna be a professional but it's fun :)

If I had no job but lots of money I would just take different style dance classes all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I feel bad for lads that have such high/low opinions of themselves that they're afraid of looking like a complete **** on a night out. I relish it, personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I took ballroom lessons years ago for a wedding. Great fun and great to have in the locker for weddings, but that's the only place I dance, elsewhere I am a wallflower when the dancing starts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I can dance, but I don't. I just don't get any pleasure or enjoyment from it. Don't really get the appeal. And I will savagely mutilate anyone that tries to drag me onto the dance floor on a night out. What the fvck is with some people? Its the equivalent of trying to stuff a food someone doesn't like into thier mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Nope - but I wouldn't mind learning to do it propery. I wasn't around when Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers were doing their thing on film, but that kind of thing is what "dancing" means to me. When you just get on the floor and shake your body around, you have no idea how stupid you look. :pac:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

I feel bad for lads that have such high/low opinions of themselves that they're afraid of looking like a complete **** on a night out. I relish it, personally.

Chatty gym guy, is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

i aint about that life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

I don't know what constitutes being 'able to dance' but yeah, I have rhythm if that's what ya mean and it's always good on a night out. Feel sorry for the guys standing there staring at the dance floor because they think people might be staring at them or even care what they're going to look like on the dance floor :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

No and I hate it. Fiercely uncoordinated.

If I end up on a dancefloor its a sure sign that it's hometime :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I don't dance, never have. Occasionally, I stumble across something like this

which makes me think I'd like to be able to dance - it looks like it can be great craic - but if I were going to actually put effort into learning something, I'd learn to play the piano.

I ended up in a nightclub for the first time ever last Friday, at the ripe old age of 27 and completely sober, and I don't know if I'd call the shapes people were throwing on the floor "dancing". Sure, the DJ took the piss out of us for just sitting in the corner playing chess, but I enjoyed the evening nonetheless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Give me a proper tune and a proper dance and I'll be out there no bother (usually am every weekend in the summer) but I can't stand the epileptic shuffle that features at most weddings and other "dinner dance" events, so I'll usually sit those ones out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

If by dance you mean move elegantly to the rhythm of music and glide tastefully around the room then no. I do however enjoy moving myself quite clumsily around a dancefloor once there's a beat. Would I win any competitions? maybe worst dancer.. Do I have great laugh? most definetly... Do I care what I look like or people think? not in the slightest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I'm a 20 year old white boy.

Of course I can't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

bnt wrote: »
    Nope - but I wouldn't mind learning to do it propery. I wasn't around when Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers were doing their thing on film, but that kind of thing is what "dancing" means to me. When you just get on the floor and shake your body around, you have no idea how stupid you look. :pac:

Em I am one of those shaking the body round. Didn't realise I looked stupid but if I am enjoying myself and it's not hurting anyone else I couldn't give a f**k.

Bit of waltzing and swing yea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I love dancing. :)
    Whether I'm good at it or not is another thing! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I can shake a tail feather when the occasion requires it. I'm great at that wedding type shake it all about and do the actions stuff. In a club or disco however, when drink takes over, this strange beast inside me starts amalgamating all those MTV clips into a mutant style - I think I'm Beyoncé, everyone around me is probably thinking Bejayyysus. I've stopped going to clubs, it's best for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fecking love dancing, old skool Acid House, Techno, D&B, Funk, Soul or Disco. Full floor or empty floor, if the tune is good I'm out on it. All my brothers & sisters are the same, some serious moves when we get together. I think we all got it from my late Father, he was a fantastic dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Yes actually! Trained in several different forms until I had to retire post injury In 2007.
    Still love it and miss it so much - so the best part of my night is hitting the dance floor for a wee boogie!

Yes actually! Trained in several different forms until I had to retire post injury In 2007.
    Still love it and miss it so much - so the best part of my night is hitting the dance floor for a wee boogie!

I know where you're coming from. I had my fair share of sports injuries down the years and I hated going out when I couldn't dance. I could take it or leave it when it comes to drinking, but the prospect of not being to hit the dance floor, would ruin a night for me.

Do people who can't dance wish they could?!
    I always find it a bit sad to see people standing at the edge of a dancefloor looking on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭polydactyl

Yep my parents are fab old school dancers and Dad taught me. Then when I started going out with my now husband he got bored sitting down at all the weddings we were at while I danced away so suggested he learn too so we took some lessons and now both love hitting the dance floor at weddings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Larianne wrote: »
    I always find it a bit sad to see people standing at the edge of a dancefloor looking on.

Are you the type of **** who tries to drag people on to the dancefloor at wedding despite it being blatantly obvious they don't want to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭hjkl

As one of those people I can say yes, I wish I could dance. It is no fun standing at the side of the dancefloor looking on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

After a few pints, I dance a lot like this kid

It always feels good at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Yep. I'm often in the club and my mates are out on the floor, and I'm standing there thinking "hmm, to hell with this!", and I get out there on the floor with them even though I know it's gonna hurt like hell in the morning (gammy hip and knees), usually means I've to leave my crutch at home too, so I'm dosed up on painkillers, and they don't mix so well with drink :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Are ya askin? ;)

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Are you the type of **** who tries to drag people on to the dancefloor at wedding despite it being blatantly obvious they don't want to?

I don't bother anyone on or near the dancefloor.

Used to compete in ballroom dancesport, but got tired of spray gluing my underwear to my backside. :)

Can dance, a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

YES!

I took numerous forms of dance on and off from when I was a kid teens and adulthood. Classical, jazz , contemporary.

I did a drama course after university and that had a dance module.

I am not a gifted pro or anything but I can dance. Love it!

It's kind of nice to have something thats yours that is there for you when life is going to the tip and just to leave it behind. Something that's just yours and stress free.

Love dancing in clubs etc. Although I don't go clubbing much...dance floors are really crowded and people are usually in there for totally diff reasons from me ..i don't drink and don't like the cattle market pick up vibe that is there sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Candie wrote: »
    Used to compete in ballroom dancesport, but got tired of spray gluing my underwear to my backside. :)

Can dance, a bit.

I think you would have gotten quite a few offers from male boardsies to spray glue your underware to your bum!..........you are female right?! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Can dance, a bit.

At least you didn't have to wear a kilt for competitive Irish dancing, this was the time before Riverdance made Irish dancing look sexy!

I'd love to be able to waltz actually, like proper Viennese waltz, like so -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I bop along, which can resemble dancing if its vigorous enough

I remember being at my hospital Christmas party back in 2002 when I worked in London. About two hours in and us lads we getting awful stick from the girls because none of us were dancing. I got a particularly hard time, because the girls knew about my claims to love dancing and hitting the floor. But the DJ was crap and his music was crap and I was depressed. But then I noticed another lad taking over the DJ booth and the nurses who had slagged me off, were walking off the dance floor back to our table. And then everything changed when this came on.....

Quickly followed by this....

They never made it off the floor. because the DJ then proceeded to play a 1 hour set of Disco and Funk. And yes, those girls that mocked me earlier and said I was like the rest of the lads. Oh yes, they lived to regret it. Hips were grinded and they were spun and put into positions they probably never thought possible. And all in the name of the boogie of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Muise... wrote: »
    Are ya askin? ;)

Of course, fellow Galwegian.

Hmmm, your username and sign-up date indicate that we may have shared a sticky floor or two in Salthill, in a haze of smoke and sweat and hormones. :D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    At least you didn't have to wear a kilt for competitive Irish dancing, this was the time before Riverdance made Irish dancing look sexy!

I'd love to be able to waltz actually, like proper Viennese waltz, like so -

Waltzing is grand. I'm the follow though so I don't really have to do much apart from the stance/posture :D We did a bit of it in swing class once, my childhood ballroom days kicked in instantly apparently!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

I really wish I could, but I really can't. My boyfriend can, so if he's leading I can sort of follow, but I have absolutely zero rhythm. Can't clap along at concerts like. Dad's the same.

I think you would have gotten quite a few offers from male boardsies to spray glue your underware to your bum!..........you are female right?! :)

It's not as much fun as it sounds. :)

the spraying, or the offers from male boardsies? :D

Either/both!