Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longest commute

• 23-05-2014 12:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭

what is the farthest you, or someone you know, has to drive to get to work every day? I am lucky so far, as over the years I have rarely had to drive for more than an hour one way.

I know of a guy that drives from Letterkenny to Dundalk and back every day to get to his work.

*I know there are people that travel on the train from Limerick to Dublin, and Belfast to Dublin every day which is a long commute, but they are not driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I know him too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I worked with a bloke in dun laoghaire that traveled up from Fermoy every morning 5 days a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

I know him too

I know of him, haven't met him though.. small world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I will be doing southside of cork city to south of limerick city daily for most of the upcoming summer. Reckon it will be about the hour or so mark if there are no unexpected delays. I think its about 100km each way.

That will be my longest commute but its just for 12 weeks or so this summer, if it was permanent i dont think i would fancy it too much especially in the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I know of him, haven't met him though.. small world.

I'm him and so is my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

I saw a guy on winning streak once who commuted from Athenry to Liexlip 4 days a week. I think he was working in Intel, this was before the motorway west of the Shannon was open, he was saying how it was much better now that Moate had been bypassed. Both place are less than 20 km from the coast, so it's practically coast to coast. I guess if he's still doing it its now less than 2 hours each way, must cost a fortune in petrol and tools though.

Not sure why he was doing it, he seemed to be from Athenry and had a site in Athenry where he was planning to build a home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

I know a girl who lives in Derry and travels down to Dublin, Monday to Friday for work :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

I travel 45 kms to work, can do it in just over an hour and that includes dropping the sprog off.

Friend works with a guy who travels from Longford to Dublin city centre 5 days for a wage of 12 euros per hour. He has to though as bought out in Longford during boom and has to pay the mortgage I guess.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    I know a girl who lives in Derry and travels down to Dublin, Monday to Friday for work :eek:

Jesus, that must easily be 3 hours down :eek: You would wonder/ worry about the state of these people's ability to drive five days in.

Jesus, that must easily be 3 hours down :eek:

Yeah something like that for each way and by the time she gets home, she's in bed and up at 4 the next morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭black & white

I will be doing southside of cork city to south of limerick city daily for most of the upcoming summer. Reckon it will be about the hour or so mark if there are no unexpected delays. I think its about 100km each way.

That will be my longest commute but its just for 12 weeks or so this summer, if it was permanent i dont think i would fancy it too much especially in the winter.

You'll do well to do that in journey an hour, if you're heading to Raheen Industrial Estate you may have a chance but if it's into the city you will struggle. I suppose it depends on what time you are starting as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Good few people used to do Letterkenny to Dublin daily, usually contract work but would be for 6 months or a year at a time.
    Don't know of anyone doing that run now.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I travelled Westport to Baldonnel for 12 months before I got it reduced to work from home for 3 days a weeks so only 2 up there.
    I did Westport to Naas then for 3 months.

Senna wrote: »
    Good few people used to do Letterkenny to Dublin daily, usually contract work but would be for 6 months or a year at a time.
    Don't know of anyone doing that run now.

I know a guy in Letterkenny that got an IT contract in Sandyford, and after the first week of trying to commute he ended up getting a weekly deal in a hotel in Dublin, which worked out less than what he would have spent on petrol if he continued to commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The worst daily commute I've ever had personally was Stamullen to Deansgrange - so pretty much the entire length of the M50. Might not be too bad these days but I was doing it during the M50 upgrade works. Regularly took 90 minutes and on a bad day (or a Friday) it could take as long as 2 1/2 hours. We rented a new place fairly quickly.

The worst of people I know personally would be some friends of a cousin of mine who drive from Tullow to Dublin City Centre 5 days a week. Nasty.

yop wrote: »
    I travelled Westport to Baldonnel for 12 months before I got it reduced to work from home for 3 days a weeks so only 2 up there.

did you drive it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

You'll do well to do that in journey an hour, if you're heading to Raheen Industrial Estate you may have a chance but if it's into the city you will struggle. I suppose it depends on what time you are starting as well.
    It is Raheen Industrial Estate actually. The start is 9 in limerick but i may leave cork at 7.30 or so to escape before the real traffic builds up in cork and give me time to spare if im caught anywhere.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/art-and-design/ncad-lecturer-turns-daily-commute-into-creative-opportunity-1.1734208
    At least four times a week he drives 100 miles from near Boyle to Dublin, a journey that takes 2½ hours door to door and must make him one of Ireland’s longest-distance commuters. He does the return journey in the late afternoon, bringing his time in the car to about five hours a day.

A report in the IT about a guy who does a very significant commute every week. All in an old VW Polo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Yeah something like that for each way and by the time she gets home, she's in bed and up at 4 the next morning!

When does she fit in time for ridin'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

A guy working in the same building as me was doing killorglin, kerry to Midleton in Cork five days a week. How, i do not know. A brutal drive.

Come on c_man, he sais she goes straight to bed ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

did you drive it?

I did ya, Love driving me :D

When the weather was cat bad back in 2010 for the "big snow" I was getting the 5.15am train up.

Leave house at 5.40am, be at work desk for circa 8am, out in the car at 5-5.15, home around 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I wouldn't travel anymore than 30 minutes, my life is worth more than to be spent on transport.

c_man wrote: »
    When does she fit in time for ridin'?

Weekends? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

Tabnabs wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/art-and-design/ncad-lecturer-turns-daily-commute-into-creative-opportunity-1.1734208

A report in the IT about a guy who does a very significant commute every week. All in an old VW Polo.

I can't believe they're still using miles in that article. Didn't the Irishtimes realise we switched to kilometers in 2005?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I regularly leave manchester at 4am, drive to london for 7, work all day, leave at say 7pm and drive home…. Then i could be off to edinburgh the next day. I once slept for 6 hours in back seat of the car after pulling in for 10 mins… had 19 missed calls when i woke up

thats brutal. I think I would find it harder to do longer commutes in England as their motorways are monotonous. At least you have to keep your wits about you on some of our twisty roads.
    I nodded off one night behind the wheel and drifted across into the opposite lane. I woke up as I was going into the hedge on the opposite side of the road. I always pull over now for a nap if I feel it coming on.. and I sleep for how ever long it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭KT10

Longest I've ever seen personally was Galway to Dublin 4 days a week, by a contractor working on a custom system in my old job. Dude was up before 5am, drive to station (30 min) got a train at 6am I think, into Hueston, bus to our office on the Grand Canal for 9am-ish, worked till 6pm, bus back to the train station, train at 7pm, Galway for 9:30, 30 min drive home, reheated his dinner, kissed his young kids (who were already asleep) goodnight, went to bed.

No way to live your life. Was chatting to him over a coffee (he, understandibly, lived on coffee) and seemed happy enough to keep doing it, wife and kids loved where they lived, money he earned meant a comfortable lifestyle and a couple nice holidays a year.

Still, madness.

I commute by motorbike and even then traffic annoys me (despite it having little effect on me) but anything above 30 mins each way is unusual. As for Letterkenny to Dublin, I can't even fathom spending that much time in a car.

Every day.

I'd do the math but I already know its going to shocking, I mean, 6 hours driving, 8 hours working, means little or no time for anything else outside of having a bite to eat and sleeping, meaning everything gets pushed back to your weekend, so you now spend your weekend doing household sh!te like washing,cleaning, shopping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

thats brutal. I think I would find it harder to do longer commutes in England as their motorways are monotonous. At least you have to keep your wits about you on some of our twisty roads.
    I nodded off one night behind the wheel and drifted across into the opposite lane. I woke up as I was going into the hedge on the opposite side of the road. I always pull over now for a nap if I feel it coming on.. and I sleep for how ever long it takes.

80k on the car and its not 2 yrs old until december… I also drive vans and jeeps the odd time too

I have 42k on mine since I got it April 2013 and I only drive 190km round trip 3-4 days a week. Its depressing. I think the bus leaves at 9am from my town to Galway, I could be there for lunch :D

KT10 wrote: »
    Longest I've ever seen personally was Galway to Dublin 4 days a week, by a contractor working on a custom system in my old job. Dude was up before 5am, drive to station (30 min) got a train at 6am I think, into Hueston, bus to our office on the Grand Canal for 9am-ish, worked till 6pm, bus back to the train station, train at 7pm, Galway for 9:30, 30 min drive home, reheated his dinner, kissed his young kids (who were already asleep) goodnight, went to bed.
    Why on earth was he commuting by train?! If he'd driven he'd have been able to leave the house at 6 and be back by 9 with time to spare...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

My father-in-law, now retired, used to commute from Castlebar to Carlow 4 days a week. He did this for 3.5 years.

plys wrote: »
    My father-in-law, now retired, used to commute from Castlebar to Carlow 4 days a week. He did this for 3.5 years.

that would take you an hour in a helicopter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭plys

that would take you an hour in a helicopter..

I can't remember how long he said it took him, but i do know he used to leave at about 7am and get home after 9pm. He put 180k miles up on a mondeo he had for 3 years, barely serviced it and was surprised when the engine gave out "out of nowhere"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Life's too short to be commuting. 30 min each way is more than enough, that's already nearly 1 whole day every month wasted travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

My old supervisor had a particulary awkward daily commute, where he got the 6.40am train from Limerick to Dublin (office based in Leeson St), but prior to this involved travelling 45 minutes in his car from his homeplace in Clare to the train station in Limerick and his return daily journey wasnt great either!!. The situation wasnt made any easier when his missus had twins at the time and were only a few months old, when he started the job. He worked from home once a week, but the remaining days involved the daily commute. He stuck with it for about 2 years, fair play to him, but you could see the strain taking hold of him. He left the job a few months back and took up new employment based in Limerick city, for family reasons but also i think for the sake of his sanity!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I work with a gentleman who commutes (by car) from Wexford to Dublin city center every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Woofstuff

Dangerous stuff these killer commutes, to save a few bob probably, they`ll burn you out eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

yop wrote: »

Jesus. I find it hard enough to get to Westport to visit my family a few times a year. Then again, i don't drive.

There's a guy i work with here in Dublin who commutes from Sligo. he told me there were 3-4 other others who do it so they each take a week of doing the driving whilst the rest sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There was a teacher in my secondary school (actually who left about a year before I started) who used to take a train from the midlands to Dublin every day. This was back in the 80s/90s, so you're talking 90 minutes to Heuston followed by a 20 minute walk then another 30 minutes on a Dublin bus getting to the school. Granted, you'd get a lot of paperwork and reading done, but still...

A colleague at the moment comes from Mullingar into Dublin city on the train. Seems like madness to me. Back in college I would occasionally do Lucan to UCD if I was going on the beer. There were express busses from Lucan to town and town to UCD but still door-to-door it was the guts of 90 minutes on a bad day. I hated it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

jameshayes wrote: »
    I wouldn't travel anymore than 30 minutes, my life is worth more than to be spent on transport.

Your circumstances might change, you never know. Even within Dublin city, it's very easy to rack up a one hour commute each way, and that's all in the same city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I worked with a guy in Dublin who did Limerick to Dublin on the train 5 days a week. He came to Dublin on promotion and got a pay rise. He did it for 2 years and got transferred back to Limerick. I'm not sure I could do it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

About an hour and 40 minutes each way and a distance of 90km. It's not so much the commute that bothers me but the people I have to share the bus with...public transport etiquette should be taught in schools. I enjoy the rare days I am in Cork, Limerick or Shelton despite the further distances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Jaysus.. People must really not like the idea of living in Dublin to come up every day from Letterkenny or Fermoy. Can't really say i blame them though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭black & white

It is Raheen Industrial Estate actually. The start is 9 in limerick but i may leave cork at 7.30 or so to escape before the real traffic builds up in cork and give me time to spare if im caught anywhere.

The road from Mallow to Croom can be a nightmare if anything happens, like rain. Best of luck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I know a guy who used to commute from Strandhill in Sligo to Dublin city centre. That is a terrible commute!

RoboRat wrote: »
    I know a guy who used to commute from Strandhill in Sligo to Dublin city centre. That is a terrible commute!

would be ok if you could fly down but the Strandhill airport closed a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I used to do Tramore to Naas 5 days a week.
    This was back in 07/08 when the motorway to Waterford wasn't ready and you had nothing but winding roads until more or less Carlow.
    Hated it so much but had no choice really.
    Would wake up at 6am to be at work by 9 and then home by around 9pm. Was completely wrecked and the relationship was suffering because of it.
    Packed it in a few months later and got a local job but for less money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

I drive from malin head to mizen head and back every day for work.