Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Hero 6 (Disney & Marvel)

• 22-05-2014 4:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭

I won't lie - this looks pretty cool to me.

Big_Hero_6_%28film%29_poster.jpg

Disney Animation Studios are bringing Marvel Comics' Big Hero 6 to the big screen. I don't know much about the comic series other than it follows a team of superheroes including Baymax, the synthetic behemoth from the trailer below, and his creator Hiro (13 year old genius).

Will be released in the US in November, but I'm guessing we'll have to wait longer. Anyway, first trailer;

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Yes please. I liked the little snippet of the Avengers theme thrown in there at the start.

Good to see them branching out a bit with the Marvel stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

jaysus now thats a blast from the past !

IIRC the original comic had sunfire in it with a team of japanese characters with a manga theme. havent a clue how much theyll stick with that but i gotta give em credit for going for obscure books.

first guardians of the galaxy now this.

way things are going i might actually see an alpha flight film yet !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

That trailer made me lol. Looks like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Looks like great fun!

Is this going to be part of the Marvel Universe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Looks like great fun!

Is this going to be part of the Marvel Universe?

No its seperate from the MCU and I'm wondering can Disney make an animated Spiderman or Xmen film as its only the live action cinema rights that other studios hold ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭brianregan09

That looks great a cross between Iron Man and monsters inc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

Not sure on the Irish release date for this, might be end of January '15 - but there is an advanced screening at the cork film festival on the 16th Nov, cant wait - ticket booked with the smallie already :)

http://www.corkfilmfest.org/2014/festival-events/big-hero-6/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Any European date yet?

So many American friends bragging about how good it is! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

Any European date yet?

So many American friends bragging about how good it is! :(

Jan/Feb 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

The date I've seen is Jan 30th. The US date was 7th Nov (same as Interstellar, which it has beaten in the charts, apparently). Seriously, whichever genius in Disney/Pixar keeps splitting the US/EU release dates by ~3 months needs to be fired (out of a cannon, into the sun). I know it's a kids film, so many of the target audience will still see it in the cinema, but such a gap has to hurt sales from piracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

That's an insane gap between releases, what is the reasoning behind it?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

crybaby wrote: »
    That's an insane gap between releases, what is the reasoning behind it?

Happens a lot with Disney releases for some reason, Pixar films in particular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I thought it was February 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

You would think it would get a cinema release nearer Xmas time over here when kids are on holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Saw this today as part of the Cork Film Festival. It's fantastic, make sure to see it when it's out in January. Disney have been really on a roll when it comes to animation.

Showing this sunday, I can't wait :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Watched this in the States about 2 months ago - fantastic. Really clever stuff and striking visuals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Just saw a preview screening of this this morning, thought it was excellent. Right in the feels!

Well that was incredible. Best movie I've seen so far In the 4 days of this year.

• Site Banned Posts: 433 ✭✭Donegal Dan

Why did Pixar dump this in the place where films are put out to die; January?

Its not Pixar :p And it was a november release in the states.

Disney Marvel isn't it ? Whens it out here ?

Aye, the Walt Disney Animation studio, it has also a neat little short at the start.
    The 30th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

That was fun. I wouldn't call it amazing or one of Disneys best, but I enjoyed it. It made me laugh, the action looked great and the voice acting was top notch.

My only issue was that it felt like it was trying to cram a lot of different things in, which hurt it more than enhanced it. If it was either a little bit longer or it dropped an element from the story I think it would have been frying on all fronts.

Plus the best scene for me came after the credits! :D

It did feel a wee bit short, but I'd rather it was too short than too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

Anyone else feel that Baymax's first flying scene was EXTREMELY similar to Hiccup and Toothless flying together for the first time in How to Train Your Dragon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

caught this on sunday myself.

i thought it was great craic. the relationship between baymax and hiro is the core of this with the other 6 members really superfluous.

but its fun, looks gorgeous - the city is a really nice blend of tokyo and san francisco , and its got a really nice heart to it. it gets fairly emotional at the end which may upset some of the really young viewers. in fact ive no prob saying i welled up at that mo a bit too. but it more than does its job as a slice of high tech action/entertainment.

baymax really is a great creation and he manages to emote very well for whats basically an anthropomorphic balloon . it was an inspired notion to basicaly have him locked when he runs low on power. :D and ironically of all the characters he's the one with the strongest moral core. mainly due to his original programming to be a medical aid.

its not the strongest film disney/marvel have put out. but there was sod all in the original comic it came from too so TBH im surprised how well formed its become.

all in all i give it a 7/10. not a BAD seven out of ten its just really good as opposed to great

on an aside i have to say i was surprised at the turnout for this at the showing i went to. it was literally packed which i wasnt expecting at all as i didnt see much of a push for this one beyond the odd trailer in the cinema. if thats any sign its gonna do great at the box office here as i didnt hear anyone complaining at the end and bearly anyone fecked off to the jax which is a miracle for kids.

oh and the short story "Feast" at the beggining was lovely. almost entirely silent too (if ya dont count dog barks :) ) have to say im a fan of these little animations. its like a little something for free.

Saw this last night...I think this is the best animated superhero movie since the incredibles Baymax really is an incredible character (pardon the pun)

It has everything really , I literally had tears in my eyes at the end fantastic movie would definitely watch it again

When is this out proper? My local had advanced screening last weekend so I assumed it was today but there's no sign of it on the program for this week...

Not till the 30th.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Not till the 30th.

Cheers, very strange to have the advanced screenings so soon before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I liked it, it had it's moments but I thought a lot of the humour felt disjointed and fell flat a lot when Baymax wasn't around, the film is at it's best with him in the scenes.

It also moved at a grease lightning pace, never staying long enough for any scene with emotive weight to sink in before you're onto the next one, which suddenly could be a comedic scene, making the film feel tonally a bit all over the place.

It does get better as it goes along and the visuals and art design are gorgeous, I really liked the San Francisco / Tokyo mash-up of a universe they created. Also, the lack of a romantic sub-plot of any kind was refreshing which allowed female characters to be more than just the gap to fill for when our character wants to kiss something at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

There's an after credits scene too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Bah - La - La - La

I want to see it again already. Two whole weeks :(

Its out on general release :D this and inherent vice on the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Catchphrases not spoilers below but you're better off not knowing about them until the moments you hear them.
    WEEEEEEE JUMPED OUT A WIN-DOWWWWWWWW!!!!!!
    That low battery scene was inspired.

i am not fast

The selotape in the police station.

BA-LA-LA-LA LALALA
    :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Baymax had me in stiches. I laughed more at his antics than I did at every other supposed comedy this year (Except What we do in the Shadows). Disney did a fantastic job bringing him alive. Best animated character since Dug or Wall-e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Enjoyed it all but found the second half way inferior to the first. Turned into a Marvel movie in miniature with the film devolving into the same old "villain wants to open another dimension and heroes must stop him!" climax (really when are we going to bury this plot device?). At least it was visually coherent and didn't take up 130 minutes of my time though and the first half of the movie is really fresh, funny and interesting.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,287 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Throw the standard formulae of a Marvel film and of a modern family film in a blender and you have Big Hero 6. The same hyperactive setpieces and heavy handed moralising fitting together to create a film that isn't just familiar, but is doubly familiar. That I was thinking
    "when's the brother going to die already?"
    from almost the first scene he was in summed that sense of déjà vu up for me. Even San Fransokyo felt like a strangely half-hearted, disjointed place, living up to the awkward portmanteau assigned to it.

The one thing that doesn't feel trite here is Baymax, who certainly is a creation of some technical ingenuity and full of character. It's the latest in a long line of boy's best robot/alien/dragon etc... friend, but the film shines the brightest in the middle act when they embrace the visual and comedic potential of a comic sidekick. They're the definite bright spots in a film that all too often feels like it's running on autopilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Watched it last night, doesn't live up to the hype. The tragic element of the movie feels very contrived and never really worked for me. i never bought into the relationship between the brothers nor the group of nerd friends. The comedy then... There was a section of about 15 minutes where I was in stitches, all down to Baymax but aside from that the most it got from me was the odd chuckle. Some of the visuals were impressive but this nowhere near the level of Toy Story, Nemo, Incredibles etc.

A very average kids movie with one wonderful character (Baymax) that brings heart and laughs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Rather than very average, I'd say a slightly better than average with one stand out character. We all enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Caught this yesterday and really enjoyed it. Liked the visual mixing of Tokyo & San Francisco and thought the movie packed a surprisingly strong emotional punch with a lot of laughs throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Wasn't overly gone on the character design but that was a personal opinion: It was nice to see a different Disney character design. The voice acting was, in general, fine but not outstanding (didn't like the brother's voice at all). Thought the city design had some nice touches.
    Thought it "Borrowed" too much from others without acknowledging: The character design looked like a cross between Dreamworks and Otomo and Osamu Tezuka; Flying was straight from How to train your dragon (Especially the riding position); and The Iron Giant
    The bit with them stretching their legs on the tower after their flight, Baymax copying the kid's movements
    . One thing to pay homage to something, another to rip it off.

Overall I thought it was an interesting departure for Disney. Not 100% successful but I hope it doesn't put them off taking more risks in the future.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Aka How to Train your Robot; a spunky smart-mouthed lead plus his young disparate team of friends fight against a forgettable enemy, all with the help of a cute and adorable mascot figure. OK, it's a surface comparison and a tad cynical, but Baymax notwithstanding it was hard to shake the feeling that I had watched this film already, and done with a little more rough-edged charm; a little less obviously manipulative too. The tragedy around which all the events come to pass was so formulaic, it coloured everything else.

All that said, Baymax was a triumph amid the disappointment and is likely to be peoples' biggest takeaway. He was that beautifully balanced piece of comedy, the loveable innocent, who generated laughs through a clumsy simplicity and frankly the scenes he wasn't involved in quickly became a chore. Seriously Marvel, I don't care about your cookie-cutter Hero's (Hiro? I get it!) journey, just give me more 'hair baby' moments :)

For me though, the biggest disappointment was San Fransokyo itself; it felt like a fantastic concept and original idea, full of visual potential yet the film did absolutely nothing with it, bar some token details that pushed their way to the foreground. It had no baring on the plot or the characters, the film could have been set anywhere in the actual US for all the difference it made. The script did nothing with the location but it was obvious a lot of attention was poured into making the place a 'reality', so it was a crying shame the film never slowed down for 30 seconds and let the audience soak in the environs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Asolutely loved it. The villain is really weak as is the development of the rest of the team but hopefully we'll have sequels to do that; this movie was all about Hiro and Baymax and that relationship was perfectly done for me.

Can someone tell me what the post-credit scene was

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Asolutely loved it. The villain is really weak as is the development of the rest of the team but hopefully we'll have sequels to do that; this movie was all about Hiro and Baymax and that relationship was perfectly done for me.

Can someone tell me what the post-credit scene was
    Stan Lee with Fred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Only seen the after credits scene yesterday, I thought the subtle visual nod in the film itself was much better than the full on scene.

Got invited to the cinema by a pal who got two free tickets to any movie. He suggested this and I said ''Yeah, that's cool'' as I was being brought for nothing. I didn't really know that what we were going to see was an out and out kids movie. I saw scores of babies and toddlers with their parents as well as pre-teen kids. Myself and my pal are both fellas in our late 20's.

The minute this thing started I felt like a kid myself. Got lost in it. The colours, textures and the visuals in general are great. The innocense and the humour of Baymax is ridiculously brilliant and endearing. At times, I was laughing at the kids laughing and at other times I was in hysterics for some of the multi-leveled humour
    low battery/drunk Baymax doing the whole Shhhhh! thing
    where I'm sure kids wouldn't get the full depth of the gag! Overall it's an inoffensive, delightful yet emotional journey and it's one I'm going to recommend to anyone with kids or a sense of adventure themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Omackeral wrote: »
    Got invited to the cinema by a pal who got two free tickets to any movie. He suggested this and I said ''Yeah, that's cool'' as I was being brought for nothing. I didn't really know that what we were going to see was an out and out kids movie. I saw scores of babies and toddlers with their parents as well as pre-teen kids. Myself and my pal are both fellas in our late 20's.

The minute this thing started I felt like a kid myself. Got lost in it. The colours, textures and the visuals in general are great. The innocense and the humour of Baymax is ridiculously brilliant and endearing. At times, I was laughing at the kids laughing and at other times I was in hysterics for some of the multi-leveled humour
    low battery/drunk Baymax doing the whole Shhhhh! thing
    where I'm sure kids wouldn't get the full depth of the gag! Overall it's an inoffensive, delightful yet emotional journey and it's one I'm going to recommend to anyone with kids or a sense of adventure themselves.
    Does that mean you've missed all the great animated kids movies in the last 15 years or so? There's a lot of great movies you should check out if so.

No,no. Just the first time I've gone with a mate in that fashion. Usually it would be to see a Taken or a Raid/Dredd y'know? I have 2 young nephews who I take out a good bit, e.g. we went to see Lego Movie last year. But while we're on it, I did see a couple of trailers before BH6 that looked great. That Pixar one called Inside Out (where the miniature humanised emotions are in people's heads making decisions etc) looks like good fun!

Also, did everyone see the short film called Feast before the main feature? The one with the little dog munching everything with his owner as they grow up. Adorable.