Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do the Gardaí bother with stoned drivers?

• 16-05-2014 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭

I was so high last night driving back from MacyDs with my girlfriend and we drove through a Garda checkpoint. He definitely knew I was baked when he asked for my licence but didn't bother doing anything. Do they really care? I was also driving very slow too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Fair play for not panicking and putting the boot down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

nails1 wrote: »
    I was so high last night driving back from MacyDs with my girlfriend and we drove through a Garda checkpoint. He definitely knew I was baked when he asked for my licence but didn't bother doing anything. Do they really care? I was also driving very slow too.

You just answered your own question there. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I was so high last night driving back from MacyDs with my girlfriend and we drove through a Garda checkpoint. He definitely knew I was baked

Well he definitely knows now. And so does everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

What you get in McDonald's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I don't know.

Hope they do, and I hope you're caught the next time you get a dose of the munchies and drive a vehicle impaired. You could have killed someone.

Scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The guards will have to get them selves stoned meters to measure the level of stoneness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Next time drive straight through the checkpoint doing 90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

There is nothing in law about this... they can't use anything in court unless they searched you and found some cannabis.

Driving while high on something like weed is just as dangerous as doing it while drunk. I can't move from my couch when high I have no clue how you could drive.

Try not to do that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

Nib wrote: »

Pretty much everything bar the salads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

He's probably getting a warrant for your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

No, but they bother drivers who throw stones from cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Begs a joke about getting reefed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Bacon and Cabbage

Why is there generally such a flippant attitude to driving high while drunk drivers are crucified?
    Not condoning ether ofc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Fair play for not panicking and putting the boot down
    Yeh. If it happened at all like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If that was me behind the wheel I'd be a nervous wreck driving up to a checkpoint while stoned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

If I was the Garda I would of riddled you with lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

If that was me behind the wheel I'd be a nervous wreck driving up to a checkpoint while stoned!

I know what you mean but I had already taken some Xanax too so I was fine like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Anyone else picturing the OP & his gf as Cheech & Chong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Tokarev

You're a TD'S son/daughter.?... maybe.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sounds like stoner's paranoia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Ah sure, grand!

Obvious troll is obvious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Holsten wrote: »
    There is nothing in law about this... they can't use anything in court unless they searched you and found some cannabis.

Driving while high on something like weed is just as dangerous as doing it while drunk. I can't move from my couch when high I have no clue how you could drive.

I'm not condoning smoking and driving because it is dangerous but its not nearly as dangerous as drinking and driving. Source here. What I would be curious about is how being baked compares to having one or two and being over the limit but able to function fairly normally

do those figures account for how much more common I imagine drink driving must be compared to driving while stoned though?
    Surely the ideal statistic would be (people who died as a result of cannabis/drinking) / (total number of times people drove after smoking cannabis/drinking)

do those figures account for how much more common I imagine drink driving must be compared to driving while stoned though?
    Surely the ideal statistic would be (people who died as a result of cannabis/drinking) / (total number of times people drove after smoking cannabis/drinking)

yeah its only the new scientist article I linked to but it was 7% of fatalities in the study had cannabis present vs 21% for alcohol. Both have a fairly similar rate of use among drivers 2.7-2.9% so basically cannabis double the risk of fatal crashes but alcohol is much worse. (there is probably causation correlation issues at work there too but I am not sure how you would remove that from the study apart from the factors they taken into account like age etc)

Ah yeah didn't see that bit in the article at first I see it now though! Pretty surprising that cannabis is actually more common among drivers than alcohol, I can't imagine that being the case over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Holsten wrote: »

They always can do you for dangerous driving

Ah yeah didn't see that bit in the article at first I see it now though! Pretty surprising that cannabis is actually more common among drivers than alcohol, I can't imagine that being the case over here

Hmmm I don't know I have knowingly been driven around by stoned people but I have never knowingly been in a car driven by somebody over the limit, I would say stoned driving is pretty common really but I would say there is a vast difference in terms of ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

There is more of a problem with people on prescription pharmaceutical drugs while driving and this is completely ignored. But, there is a new test system in the works but not sure if it covers for people on strong prescription drugs, but it might.

I'm a long term cannabis smoker, but I never smoke it and drive, If I'm going to smoke a Joint I'll smoke it when relaxed when my driving day is over-with. It also does affect your timing/reaction if stoned I don't care what any-one says, it does, simple as that.

New measures for the future... Source: http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/roadside-device-will-test-drivers-for-drugs-1.1638765

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

the offence is section 4 of the road traffic act http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2010/en/act/pub/0025/sec0004.html

subsection 1 states under the influence of an intoxicant Xanax or hash is an intoxicant.

if suspected you should be arrested under section 4, brought to the station and made provide a sample to a doctor of your blood or urine. if you fail/refuse to do so that's an offence and you face the maximum penalty if convicted. (4 year driving ban). This samples sent for analysis and your released pending the results and a possible summons.

For hash in your system, it lasts 6-7 days. Once there is any there at all, its enough for a conviction. The penalty for an intoxicant (not alcohol) is the same as for the maximum amount of alcohol. if convicted you will be put off the road for several years.

Guards may not have any roadside kits to detect people on drugs, but if its suspected then there is a legal right to arrest, detain and take a sample.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Nib wrote: »

Hash Browns. Perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Mr. Z

anncoates wrote: »
    Begs a joke about getting reefed.

Why did the "getting reefed" cross the road?

To get to the "getting reefed"!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I got stoned when driving once, in Limerick. Little rascals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

I don't know.

Hope they do, and I hope you're caught the next time you get a dose of the munchies and drive a vehicle impaired. You could have killed someone.

Scumbag.

Funny that, I was stoned doing my driving test and passed..;)

Driving on a good/mellow stone is grand as you tend to focus more on the road. I personally wouldn't go driving after something very strong though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Hash Browns. Perhaps?
    And coke :)

Driving on a good/mellow stone is grand as you tend to focus more on the road. I personally wouldn't go driving after something very strong though..

A friend of mine passed his driving test seriously hung-over and over the limit, crazy indeed. The strong cannabis will definitely affect a persons driving for sure.

@ audidiesel
    For hash in your system, it lasts 6-7 days

As far as I know, cannabis or hash is detected up to 6 weeks in the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

My brother was stopped randomly while high the guard shined his flashlight in his eyes and seen that his eyes were very bloodshot and said he smelled cannibis so he arrested him and he was brought to the garda station where a doctor was called and blood was taken.

He got a very good solicitor that cost in excess of 2700euro if I remember correctly my brother got off due to cannabis stays in the blood for up to 35 days and it was argued my brother could of smoked cannabis weeks ago and not on the night In question but still fail the blood test.
    And that only one blood sample was taken and was tested twice first for alcohol then a second seperate occasion for cannabis and the judge didnt like that.

My brother was extremely lucky to get off and it carries a harsh mandatory 4 years off the road so its not worth it. Ive done it myself not to long ago being honest but it is stupid and irresponsible. I will say it is safer than drink driving but still a hell of a lot more dangerous than driving sober.

Educational words from the master of cannabis... Even some gardai smoke it on their day off ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

As far as I know, cannabis or hash is detected up to 6 weeks in the system.

The marijuana metabolites are actually stored in your bodies fat cells unlike most other drugs. That means there isn't any hard and fast timescale. Research also suggests that the amount you smoke plays a big part.

As a rough guide, if you smoke the occasional joint, it'll stay in your system for up to 10 days. If you smoke regularly, about a month and a half and if you smoke constantly, about three months.

There are a few studies out there referenced with the nhs site, drugs.com etc. But they all ballpark it around those figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Pretty much everything bar the salads.

So you are a salad dodger as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Tokarev

audidiesel wrote: »
    The marijuana metabolites are actually stored in your bodies fat cells unlike most other drugs. That means there isn't any hard and fast timescale. Research also suggests that the amount you smoke plays a big part.

As a rough guide, if you smoke the occasional joint, it'll stay in your system for up to 10 days. If you smoke regularly, about a month and a half and if you smoke constantly, about three months.

There are a few studies out there referenced with the nhs site, drugs.com etc. But they all ballpark it around those figures.

Top post.

And alcohol is one of the worst drugs in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Wow. I smoke a fair bit and wouldn't even get on a bike high. What were you thinking? You thick or something? Think it's funny that you're giddy and dodged the gardai. Yeah man, you are well cool. I hope someone gives you a very very hardtime for doing something so utterly pea brained and ingnorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I used to think that too and have driven in the past an hour or so after a joint but now that I'm a bit older and more responsible I realise that I was only lucky that nothing unexpected happened in those drives. Sure you might feel focused on the road but in an emergency your reactions are always going to be that little bit slower, which can mean the difference between life and death. I have never and would never drive drunk, I think that's a message that seems to have gotten across in my generation compared to that of my parents. As far as I can see drunk driving is a taboo where as stoned driving is less so. I wonder if it's to do with the fact that you're breaking the law purely by being stoned where as it's not illegal to drink, just to drive under the influence?

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    I used to think that too and have driven in the past an hour or so after a joint but now that I'm a bit older and more responsible I realise that I was only lucky that nothing unexpected happened in those drives. Sure you might feel focused on the road but in an emergency your reactions are always going to be that little bit slower, which can mean the difference between life and death. I have never and would never drive drunk, I think that's a message that seems to have gotten across in my generation compared to that of my parents. As far as I can see drunk driving is a taboo where as stoned driving is less so. I wonder if it's to do with the fact that you're breaking the law purely by being stoned where as it's not illegal to drink, just to drive under the influence?

Well, when a person has a nice few beers on them they feel more in control while driving, but this is a falsity. The alcohol gives the false impression of mind-power in the feeling of "I can drive better than anyone" and a person in this state drives along with the sounds on thinking all is fine, but not in the complete frame of mind of concentration. You're in a light/strong trip as your brain is impaired but you think you are 100% when you are not.

Stoned driving from cannabis as you are laid back melted into the seat "chilled" like a cucumber with the feeling of total relaxation is as bad as the drink as your reaction timing is not going to be as fast as being straight in the head, especially in an emergency situation.
    You might think you will be ok if something happened, but this is not the case when something happens so fast out of the blue, you cannot react quick enough to deal with it because you are stoned and relaxed and laid back.

I myself notice the feeling of drunk and stoned, and I know that if I drove in any one of these states, I know that my reaction time would be decreased dramatically, so I don't bother, I just drive when my head is properly clear. With the weed, I can see folk being more cautious, but alcohol, some folk think they can drive to the moon.

Enjoy the weed and beer on free time, but leave the car, it's never worth the risk, and don't forget, you might think you are fine, but some other arsehole driving along pissed or stoned could mess up and you will have to be ready to use your fast reaction to avoid a problem. It's the other folk you need to be looking out for as well. If you're baked or pissed as well then it's a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Touchee

Where do you all buy your stuff? Every time I read a thread like this I feel like going out and looking for a dealer or something, but where do I start? Any tips? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Touchee wrote: »
    Where do you all buy your stuff? Every time I read a thread like this I feel like going out and looking for a dealer or something, but where do I start? Any tips? :)

Nice try narc.don't commit your hate crimes here.
    HATE CRIMES

Touchee wrote: »

Yanky Alpha 1 to control ?
    Go ahead Yanky Alpha 1,
    we have a few stoners on an Irish forum, and need back-up,
    Roger Yanky Alpha 1, back-up on the way.

Amsterdamgood smoke is your best bet. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

They tried to do my friend for it and he was stoned, very much so. But in the station they only took two urine samples, one for alcohol and one for drugs, this made the test invalid as legally they are required to have two samples for each test, i.e. four samples in total.