Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Around the World in 3 years - Epic Selfie Video

• 15-05-2014 12:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭

Would love to do something like this. Not brave enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

You're not brave enough to take a selfie? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd love to do it but I'm not rich enough

Well for some that they can just decide to feck off for 3 years without a care in the world :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Stanlex

You're not brave enough to take a selfie? :eek:

Haha. That wouldn't be an issue.

I'd love to do it but I'm not rich enough

Well for some that they can just decide to feck off for 3 years without a care in the world :pac:

Exactly that. Imagine leaving everything and going away for three years, presumably alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Stanlex wrote: »
    Nothing brave about it imho. Doing that is all about having the money to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Exactly that. Imagine leaving everything and going away for three years, presumably alone.

I would 100% do it if I could afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I would do it if i could stay in 4/5 star hotels around the world too old to do it tramp style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭BearBanjer

600 days = 3 years :confused:

Cool video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Haha. That wouldn't be an issue.
    No camera?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Duff wrote: »
    I would 100% do it if I could afford it.

Um, loads of people do this. Ive done it myself, you dont need much money.

ScumLord wrote: »
    No camera?

At the moment, only a Galaxy S4 camera. Haha

drumswan wrote: »

What about people that own a house here and need to continue paying bills while away?

It'd be grand if you were still living with your parents and didn't have many commitments, but for the majority of people it's not as straight forward as just saving a few grand and heading off on your merry way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'm starting my masters next year so any money I have is going towards that and I'll be stone broke after it so I wouldn't be able to afford it in the foreseeable future anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I couldn't be arsed doing it tbh.

What about people that own a house here and need to continue paying bills while away?

It'd be grand if you were still living with your parents and didn't have many commitments, but for the majority of people it's not as straight forward as just saving a few grand and heading off on your merry way!

Plenty of people made choices that didnt make them a wage slave tied to a 35 year mortgage and a couple of horrible snotty children. I havent lived with my parents for 15 years and could head off with my partner again tomorrow if I so wished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

He doesn't look that old, Daddy must be loaded.

Sheepy99 wrote: »

That is an extremely prejudiced thing to say. Maybe he made his own money? Why judge him before knowing what he's all about?

Perhaps he worked as he traveled to fund his trip, like millions of people do annually. This is apparently news to the boys and girls on boards, who I suspect have only ever "travelled" to Benidorm

Exactly. Some people see that others are enjoying themselves or have something nice, and straightaway think it's the parents funding them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Sheepy99 wrote: »

I finished my degree. I worked for 2 years. I travelled the world for 15 months with a girl I was together with for almost 4 years. I'm nearly 3 years into my current relationship. I'm currently building my own house. I'm only 28.

You should get out more.

Plenty of people made choices that didnt make them a wage slave tied to a 35 year mortgage and a couple of horrible snotty children. I havent lived with my parents for 15 years and could head off with my partner again tomorrow if I so wished.

Good for you.. all that travelling sure seems to have made you a rounded person that doesn't jump to asinine conclusions about others because they simply asked a question :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Motivator wrote: »
    I finished my degree. I worked for 2 years. I travelled the world for 15 months with a girl I was together with for almost 4 years. I'm nearly 3 years into my current relationship. I'm currently building my own house. I'm only 28.

You should get out more.

How the fcuk did you manage to do that? well did you completely luck out on the graduate jobs market because that indicates you were probably saving about 6 to 8k a year in your first proper job which is bloody hard to do unless your living at home not paying rent or got extremely lucky with the job you got?

Good for you.. all that travelling sure seems to have made you a rounded person that doesn't jump to asinine conclusions about others because they simply asked a question :rolleyes:
    Asinine like saying people who travel probably live with their parents?

Anyway, theres nothing wrong with working every day to pay bills and pile on the commitments until you die, it just isnt for everyone.

If travelling gave me an attitude like yours I'd rather stay at home. And if you think the trip yer man did wasn't that expensive, you're living in cloud cuckoo land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

How the fcuk did you manage to do that? well did you completely luck out on the graduate jobs market because that indicates you were probably saving about 6 to 8k a year in your first proper job which is bloody hard to do unless your living at home not paying rent or got extremely lucky with the job you got?

I had no luck with a job actually, went straight from college into a summer job contract cleaning which I did 5 days a week. The plan was to spend the summer saving money & looking for better work. I was earning ridiculous money as I was working at all hours of the day/night. I was working 5 days a week & playing sport which took up my weekends. I had no time to spend the money I was earning. I was living at home & had a girlfriend who was living at home also. I got pissed off with the job & at the time I had just over €25,000 saved & so we packed in our jobs & headed away travelling with the idea that if we were together when we got home we'd get engaged, move in together & start a life here. Things with her didn't work out & we parted ways not long after we arrived home. I came home & landed a very good job almost straightaway.

Cienciano wrote: »
    If travelling gave me an attitude like yours I'd rather stay at home. And if you think the trip yer man did wasn't that expensive, you're living in cloud cuckoo land

Stay at home so, good man. You could earn enough to cover that trip by saving a year ahead and waiting tables as you go easily. I met countless numbers of people doing just that when I traveled, young people who had traveled for one, two or more years all around the world. Some people just want to begrudge people who do interesting things to justify their own poxy "safe" boring lives.

Asinine like saying people who travel probably live with their parents?

Anyway, theres nothing wrong with working every day to pay bills and pile on the commitments until you die, it just isnt for everyone.

A lot of people who do go off on repeated and extended journeys or travel around the world do live with their parents when at home. Doesn't mean it applies to everyone but it certainly does to a good many folk.

Likewise, not everyone that decides to buy a house is burdened with a 35 year mortgage or inundated with 'horrible snotty children' as you so eloquently put it :pac:

Travelling for years on end isn't for everyone either. If people need to do that in order to find themselves then they must be pretty damn lost to begin with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

What a self indulgent asshole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Rent your house out ,easy,

Stay at home so, good man. You could earn enough to cover that trip by saving a year ahead and waiting tables as you go easily. I met countless numbers of people doing just that when I traveled, young people who had traveled for one, two or more years all around the world. Some people just want to begrudge people who do interesting things to justify their own poxy "safe" boring lives.
    Wow, you know so much about everyone, the travelling must have broadened your mind so much you know how much some random person on the internet has travelled. You're so knowledgeable, if you have a blog which gives life lessons, post up the link here, we need more people like you that know everything and tell people how they should live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Motivator wrote: »
    I had no luck with a job actually, went straight from college into a summer job contract cleaning which I did 5 days a week. The plan was to spend the summer saving money & looking for better work. I was earning ridiculous money as I was working at all hours of the day/night. I was working 5 days a week & playing sport which took up my weekends. I had no time to spend the money I was earning. I was living at home & had a girlfriend who was living at home also. I got pissed off with the job & at the time I had just over €25,000 saved & so we packed in our jobs & headed away travelling with the idea that if we were together when we got home we'd get engaged, move in together & start a life here. Things with her didn't work out & we parted ways not long after we arrived home. I came home & landed a very good job almost straightaway.

Your sorting of proving my point and My Name is Url's point though about living at home though. Also is Contract Cleaning a euphemism for for being a hitman because thats still serious saving in a job that normally pays below 10 euro an hour once you take into account tax etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

UCDCritic wrote: »
    What a self indulgent asshole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Your sorting of proving my point and My Name is Url's point though about living at home though. Also is Contract Cleaning a euphemism for for being a hitman because thats still serious saving in a job that normally pays below 10 euro an hour once you take into account tax etc

He certainly did not get E25,000 by cleaning for a few months .Anyway does it matter .I admire his get up and go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I travel the world for 6 months of the year. The other 6 months I just holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Cienciano wrote: »
    Wow, you know so much about everyone, the travelling must have broadened your mind so much you know how much some random person on the internet has travelled. You're so knowledgeable, if you have a blog which gives life lessons, post up the link here, we need more people like you that know everything and tell people how they should live.

You should be more passive aggressive, that's my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I could probably do that now...couldn't do it when younger. My parents are broke. If I got into bother, there would have been no help. But I don't begrudge this lad for being able to do it....I guess some can do it while young and hopefully the others that can't, can do it in retirement

and as I type that out, I realize the parents angle sounds like the lyrics to Common People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You dont need much money for a 3 year round the world trip?
    Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Didn't see Swansea on the vid.

Round the world, my arse.

kippy wrote: »
    You dont need much money for a 3 year round the world trip?
    Nonsense.

I did it with less than 5k saved. A round the world ticket is about 1500 quid, your various Working Holiday Visas will cost about 500 altogether. The money you earn working in Oz, NZ, Canada etc goes a long, long way in SE Asia, South America and Africa. Lots of people do it.

Well thats just nonsense.
    You didnt do it on 5K and you didnt do a 3 year round the world trip.

Well thats just nonsense.
    You didnt do it on 5K and you didnt do a 3 year round the world trip.

Ive just explained how its done. I left people behind after my year in NZ who were on year 4, 5 and 6 of being away. Just because you couldnt do it doesnt mean others cant. The world is bigger than your narrow experience of it.

People are awful quick to jump to conclusions here.

You very plainly did not do a a 3 year round the world trip on 5K.

Your trip has absolutly zero in common with the video in the OP. His bike would have cost more than 5 grand, and he clearly spend the time travelling, not living in one country working for a year. His petrol price alone probably cost €15k. Border crossings probably cost him more than €5k, and shipping the bike probably not far off €5k.
    So, you see, you need a lot of money to do a trip like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Effort of it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

'Epic selfie'...That's about as cringeworthy as modern vernacular can get. Maybe stick a hashtag in there to complete the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

When ever I feel like an adventure like that I rest on the sofa until the feeling goes away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭NZ_2014

If you saved about 10 grand beforehand, and were semi careful with your money, worked say 30 - 40% of your time in Oz or whatever I don`t see why you couldn`t do a decent round the world trip, did it myself for a year and I wasn`t very careful with money at the start, the first two months were just a blowout on drinking, helicopter trips over the Grand Canyon, Hawaii, skydiving etc.

For someone to do it for 2 to 3 years is just extending the time. Some of the comments on here are hilarious :pac:

Look,
    A round the world trip to me is one where you don't work - whats the point?
    If you don't work when on one of these trips you need a significant amount of cash to do it, especially a three year one. If you do work then you need to take into account the amount of money you earned while on this "trip" to add to the total it cost you to fund the trip.

For example I have been on a round the world trip for the past 12 years,
    Spain, France, Austria, UK, Germany, Italy, Croatia, Switzerland, Holland, Malta New York, Connecticut, Pennyslavania, Ohio, Nevada, California, Vancouver, Alaska, Toronto, Hawaii, NZ, Australia, India, Japan to name but a few places I have been in.

Would any of you call that a round the world trip that lasted 12 years?
    Didnt work in any of them, I have been based in Ireland for the majority of those trips, that's where I work (Thats how I funed the trip)
    Would any of you call that a round the world trip?

People are awful quick to jump to conclusions here.

You very plainly did not do a a 3 year round the world trip on 5K.

I didnt say I did it on 5K, I said I saved less than 5K before I left. You appear to be struggling to comprehend.
    Your trip has absolutly zero in common with the video in the OP. His bike would have cost more than 5 grand, and he clearly spend the time travelling, not living in one country working for a year.
    Wtf? Where did I say my trip had something in common with the video? I replied to a post saying "imagine going away for three years" with "lots of people do".

Its perfectly doable if you stop to work for months at a time along the way to fund yourself. Lots of young people do it, some for a year, some for more. It would appear to be beyond comprehension to some here, truly mindbending stuff.

Look,
    A round the world trip to me is one where you don't work - whats the point?
    The point is to earn money to further your travel, meet people native to the place you stop in and to get a real sense of what its like to live there, instead of being a simple tourist. You really struggle with concepts outside your own experience, dont you? :P