Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looks like plenty of early silage this year

• 14-05-2014 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

Have been spotting a good few fields cut for silage this week. We will have a few fields ready in another 10-14 days. I know last year was late (we were still feeding silage bales this time last year), but looks like this is earliest I have seen silage been cut round here for a few years. Looks like most farms are about 2-3 weeks ahead of normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Don't know much about cutting silage but are some fellas cutting just to look good or wat have seen very light crops on the ground? I know quality over quantity but it just looks silly I think when you see a bare line of silage on the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭jj92

Don't know much about cutting silage but are some fellas cutting just to look good or wat have seen very light crops on the ground? I know quality over quantity but it just looks silly I think when you see a bare line of silage on the ground

Was over at a farm a few weeks ago, he had a few very light acres cut for bales even then. He reckoned it was just to clean up the paddocks as he had nothing to graze it and he had a market for the bales. I've seen people cut light pastures early elsewhere and often put it down to fellas getting some silage in and getting the paddocks back in the rotation for dairy cows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

I walked some of my own this evening. Very happy with the meadow. Some would definitely be fit for Silage. What I would be thinking of is the really bad summer of 2012. May was not a bad month that year. It turned bad just as farmers were preparing to cut in early June 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I've 60 acres on the ground of "light crop" about 4-5 bales per acre. It's grass that's gotten ahead if cows. Have to listen and laugh at the lads slagging me yet they're be lovely after grass in 3 weeks. At that stage they'll be cutting their crop "harvester on its knees, only way to get value" my cows will be doing >8% solids and they'll be complaining about poor solids cause they haven't managed their grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Silage fit to cut here if could get a decent few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Muckit wrote: »
    Silage fit to cut here if could get a decent few days.

Tempted to knock ten acres tomorrow. I'm not sure the ground is dry enough yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I've 60 acres on the ground of "light crop" about 4-5 bales per acre. It's grass that's gotten ahead if cows. Have to listen and laugh at the lads slagging me yet they're be lovely after grass in 3 weeks. At that stage they'll be cutting their crop "harvester on its knees, only way to get value" my cows will be doing >8% solids and they'll be complaining about poor solids cause they haven't managed their grass.

First cut mowed here. Area increased by two thirds since it was stopped. Paddocks taken out as late as yesterday. They should have gone for bales but weather was against us. Grass still flying. There'll be more paddocks as the aftergrass comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

15 acres of strong paddocks mowed this afternoon, 1st bit of silage ever done in this area as early.... girlfriend said she may go to the pub this weekend as I be the talk of it :P, more bales when aftergrass back in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

case 956 wrote: »
    15 acres of strong paddocks mowed this afternoon, 1st bit of silage ever done in this area as early.... girlfriend said she may go to the pub this weekend as I be the talk of it :P, more bales when aftergrass back in :)

Knocked 92 acres today and the auld man is still tedding like mad- god he will be missed when he's not around

Would of liked to have cut 2 weeks ago

20 odd acres already pitted since april

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Here today.
    Pit tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

stanflt wrote: »
    Knocked 92 acres today and the auld man is still tedding like mad- god he will be missed when he's not around

Would of liked to have cut 2 weeks ago

20 odd acres already pitted since april

92 acres??? Sounds like you need more cows :)

There isn't a buff of breeze and temps not hectic. How are ye all knocking the sap out of grass?? Also heavy dew at night

Hardly any dew here. My dad was knocking grass up to 10 last night and he got out to see if the grass had any dew on it but he said it was as dry as a bone. (As he bent down the phone fell outta his top pocket. It'll be in the pit tomorrow)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I'm teddibg mine out.24 acres knocked of surplus paddocks,baling Friday.think I may knock main crop tomorrow and pit Saturday as weather looks like breaking down again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

92 acres??? Sounds like you need more cows :)

120 cows for 6 month winter will require 260 tonne of silage in dm terms for my feeding regime

Which is approximately 130 acres of silage

Then there's all those replacements 160 plus bulls

120 cows for 6 month winter will require 260 tonne of silage in dm terms for my feeding regime

Ah. The bulls...... I think I see where your coming from now

Great way to wilt grass and increase dm content

Do you ever use the 6mth silage or us it just so you don't get caught with a bad spring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Clutch Pack

All very well to sneer about managing grass from a dry farm,i've 15 acres which went ahead of the cows which should be baled tomorrow.....if i could get in to cut it.

Do you ever use the 6mth silage or us it just so you don't get caught with a bad spring?

Every farm should have a buffer of good quality silage could be invaluable especially when u have to buy someone else's muck

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Every farm should have a buffer of good quality silage could be invaluable especially when u have to buy someone else's muck

I never said they shouldn't. I hope to have it this year. But very rarely do most farms need the 6 mth feed is all I'm saying.

I'll have to disagree with you GG. Your farm is in one of the dryest parts or the country and your soil type seems to be free draining. MOST farms need 5 months and need to budget for 6 month winters

All very well to sneer about managing grass from a dry farm,i've 15 acres which went ahead of the cows which should be baled tomorrow.....if i could get in to cut it.

What sneer? Nothing to do with land quality. Read post again and the one that was quoted

I'd argue they do especially at high sr.silage should be budgeted for from mid October to early April and don't forget time of drought or crap weather.

Sorry I'll rephrase my comment to every farm. But I don't think I'm.alone when I say its only the last two yrs I've been tight for feed for a few months.
    Never before as bad as the last two

Sorry I'll rephrase my comment to every farm. But I don't think I'm.alone when I say its only the last two yrs I've been tight for feed for a few months.
    Never before as bad as the last two

1 in 5 has been as bad as the last 2 years.
    Silage in the pit is made money in the bank. It not going to devalue if it stays in a pit 3 or 4 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

How much would yous aim to carry over on a normal year?? 2months worth? With our old SR we use to carry over at least 2months silage every year (that was with keeping all the bulling heifers and late drycows in till June!), but last two years with a higher SR the stocks have dwindled. Only managed to hold over about 3weeks worth of fodder this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

it'll be the start of june here, i was a bit complacent here this year and currently way too much grazing and not enough closed for pit, so i'll be doing bit of mix and swap. I was walking the fields this evening and i'm in a desperate need for a high percentage of reseed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Here today.
    Pit tomorrow

Heard you were going at it did ye ted it after

keep going wrote: »
    Heard you were going at it did ye ted it after

You must have been talking to mr. grace.
    We don't ted it, and only use the swarth wilter if it gets wet.
    Just set the mower with the doors open as much as possible, it'll have between 30 and 48 hours wilt and the rake puts into 30ft swarths. Rake 2 hours before pick up to allow the raked swarth wilt a bit more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

You must have been talking to mr. grace.
    We don't ted it, and only use the swarth wilter if it gets wet.
    Just set the mower with the doors open as much as possible, it'll have between 30 and 48 hours wilt and the rake puts into 30ft swarths. Rake 2 hours before pick up to allow the raked swarth wilt a bit more

They re no home from kinsale yet but he ll be on in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Er hate to say it Mahoney but your wheel looks a bit wonky there....

Zr105 wrote: »
    Er hate to say it Mahoney but your wheel looks a bit wonky there....

That's why I stopped ,pun came out.all good again now!!

In combination with the right weather a win win.

But l doubt at the moment they're are many housewives shouting 'God there's great drying out' as they're taking the clothes in off the line. But sure what has that got to do with the price of turnips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

I should of mentioned that it wasn't on a milking block, and you would be lucky to get 4 bales/acre, of what I seen.. Cutting and baling must be very expensive for only getting 4bales/acre. That's all I was getting at I didn't mean to offend you or anyone that has cut silage early!!

Baling not too bad at 4 bales cause paying per bale any heavier use wagon per hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Anyone tell me how much per ton silage costs in the pit or bale ?

Answers per ton brute. OR per ton of DM please. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

How come your cutting the 60acres 'light' would you not cut 30acres now (so to get back in rotation)and leave the rest bulk up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

sheebadog wrote: »
    Anyone tell me how much per ton silage costs in the pit or bale ?

Answers per ton brute. OR per ton of DM please. :)

Can vary a lot, but €150 per ton dm is the figure usually quoted.

The guy with the rake arrived. My 5 year old nephew just exploded with the excitement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

You have a great day for it, serious heat and sun there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Many of ye test for nitrogen before cutting?

farmerjj wrote: »
    How come your cutting the 60acres 'light' would you not cut 30acres now (so to get back in rotation)and leave the rest bulk up??

I have main crop to do next week. This light stuff is part of the grazing area. As growth is past demand I rose SR and take out ground at same time as cows would've grazed it. This will ensure grass here in 26 days or so whereas if I wait it'll be much longer. If growth dropped I'd be goosed and feeding expensive meal to fix the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

I'll have to disagree with you GG. Your farm is in one of the dryest parts or the country and your soil type seems to be free draining. MOST farms need 5 months and need to budget for 6 month winters

Yeah we would be the same, would always look to have 6 months of silage made. You may not need for the whole winter but it may be needed for the summer whew you get a wet patch and need to re house or have a drought and need to supplement feeding. As him self says " better to be looking at it then for it".

Good point on if the land is dry enough. I would doubt all the place is dry enough yet to take a lot of travelling espically around gaps. There has been a lot of rain lately so the ground is still soft under foot in places. Another fortnight of dry weather would make a difference ( not looking good with the start of the next week). Was chatting to the lad that does the mowing and he reckons that it would be ok for bales but a lot of places are not quite ready for the big SP outfits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Milked out wrote: »

Ya tested 2 fields but it'll be early tomorrow am before I'll get results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Ah Lads!! 5 to 6 months worth of silage!
    Bit of a misrepresentation of the beef and milk supposedly produced off GRAZED grass. Now now.... Is there someone telling porky pies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Baling not too bad at 4 bales cause paying per bale any heavier use wagon per hour

How much does wagon work per hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Milked out wrote: »

Asked teagasc on Monday. Too busy filling SFP forms, come back next week. In the pit this morning nitrogen and all. Should be ok, Hybrids, 50 units first week of March and 70 units start of April. No slurry. Will get a good dose this evening tho.