Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you survive?

• 12-05-2014 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

I was just watching the new reality show on Channel 4 called The Island and it got me thinking that I couldn't survive on an island with limited tools to get food and even start a fire by rubbing sticks together. I'd wimp out at killing an animal to feed myself too. So AH could you survive under those conditions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

KKkitty wrote: »
    I was just watching the new reality show on Channel 4 called The Island and it got me thinking that I couldn't survive on an island with limited tools to get food and even start a fire by rubbing sticks together. I'd wimp out at killing an animal to feed myself too. So AH could you survive under those conditions?

I could survive. I've watched Castaway .... and Gilligan's Island. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I could survive. I've watched Castaway .... and Gilligan's Island. :D

I've watched I'm a "celebrity" so I'm sure I could cope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

So you would curl up into a ball and die instead :( If you were faced with that situation I think you would quickly adapt to survive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I live in Carlow, of course I could survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I would call my best friend on the island "O'Neill"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Used to be in the scouts. No bother :)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    So you would curl up into a ball and die instead :( If you were faced with that situation I think you would quickly adapt to survive :)

Maybe when I lost all sense and sensibility after almost starving I could survive after all. That is of course if I didn't give myself food poisoning :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Pfffft I'm from the middle of the Burren, give us a real challenge :pac:

Super-Rush wrote: »

I live in Carlow too but I love my home comforts too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

as long as I know how to love i'd know i'd stay alive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I live in Carlow too but I love my home comforts too much.

Indoor toilets aren't that big a deal.

anncoates wrote: »

Well that, running water, heating, food and the old roof over my head is a big plus too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

anncoates wrote: »

I should have changed those stupid locks and make you leave the key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

WILSON !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I don't think I could. The electricity went out for about two hours during the big storms earlier on in the year and I was partially-clothed,uncouth,bearded,quivering wreck by the time order was restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Well that, running water, heating, food and the old roof over my head is a big plus too.

All you would need is a river, a fire, some fish and coconuts and a cave and there ya go. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

As long as you have some Mirukuru you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I'd be grand as long as I could Google how to survive on an island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

No alcohol. No women. Just a shower of Englishmen. I reckon the will to live would be the major hurdle. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I wouldn't actually choose to go on a show and be put in a situation where I had to kill animals.

But if I somehow ended up in that situation then I think I'd survive. At least as well as any of the lads on it so far, they're not the best lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Did anyone hear of the Dutch Survivor show in the 2009 season, male island vs female island, the show was a disaster and the concept was changed midway because of the events that occured, but it was a telling social experiment that has never been repeated

This very interesting article, below, was originally posted on Reddit. However, I came across it on another forum I frequent. Would have loved to credit the OP.

Enjoy:

"Quite a few years ago, I had the pleasure of watching the Dutch version of Survivor with my feminist roommate. That particular series of Dutch Survivor would have two islands, one populated by men and one populated by women.

The feminist roommate had been promoting that particular series to me and the other students in the house for weeks because it would show us, according to her, what a society run by women - free from the evils of Patriarchy – would be like.

And it did. Oh it did.

Here is what happened: Initially both groups were dropped on their respective islands, given some supplies to get started and left to fend for themselves. In both groups there was some initial squabbling as people tried to figure out a local hierarchy.

The men pretty much did whatever they felt was necessary – there was no leader giving orders. Men who felt like hunting, foraging or fishing did so. Another guy decided he was fed up with sitting on sand and started making benches. Others built a hut that gradually grew and evolved. Another guy cooked every night. Within days a neat little civilization was thriving, each day being slightly more prosperous than the previous one.

The women settled into a routine as well. The hung up a clothesline to dry their towels, then proceeded to sunbathe and squabble. Because unlike men, women were unable to do anything without consensus of the whole group. And because it was a group of at least a dozen women, consensus was never reached.

During the next few episodes, the women ate all their initial supplies, got drenched by tropical storms several times, were eaten alive by sand fleas and were generally miserable. The men on the other hand, were quite content. There were disagreements of course, but they were generally resolved.

Watching this with my feminist roommate was wonderful. Initially she tried to rationalize the differences, but her arguments became weaker and weaker. Eventually, the people running the program decided something had to change. In order to help the women out, three men would be selected to go to their island. In return, three women would take their place at the men’s island.

The look on my feminist roommates face during this episode was priceless.

Initially, the three men selected for the women’s island were ecstatic, for obvious reason. But then they arrived at the island and were greeted by the women. ‘Where is your hut?’,they asked. ‘We have no hut’ ‘Where are your supplies?’ they asked, dismayed ‘We ate all the rice’ And so on.

The three men ended up working like dogs, using all the skills developed by trial and error in their first few weeks – building a hut, fish, trying to get the women to forage. The women continued to dam and sunbathe.

The three women who were sent to the men’s island were delighted – food, shelter and plenty of male attention was freely available.They too continued to sunbathe.

And that my friends, is what Patriarchy is. My former roommate is no longer a feminist."

I laughed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,979 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's the poor stingray I felt sorry for, after one of those taepots stabbed it with the spear and the ray swam off with the point stuck in it.

lalala I'm not reading that. Was it worth watching though? coz I might watch it, love survivor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,979 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They did a poor mans version of it here in Ireland back in the 1980s, Gerry Ryan killed a lamb and there was outcry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

A spade, swiss army knife, saw, loppers, secateurs and a sharpening stone and wd 40 is enough tools to survive on an Island.
    I have caught flatfish by using a spear and it's easy to make fish and crustacean traps, as I can weave wicker baskets etc
    You'd just need to know about watercraft, seaweeds and
    You'd need a few changes of clothes alright.

All you would need is a river, a fire, some fish and coconuts and a cave and there ya go. :)

I'm a bit clumsy at the best of times so I'd fall into the river, burn myself on the fire, in a pathetic attempt at whacking coconuts out of a tree I'd end up with concussion after one hits me on the head, get an awful dose of the runs after the fish and last but not least the cave caves in on top of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

Adamantium wrote: »
    Did anyone hear of the Dutch Survivor show in the 2009 season, male island vs female island, the show was a disaster and the concept was changed midway because of the events that occured, but it was a telling social experiment that has never been repeated

The three women who were sent to the men’s island were delighted – food, shelter and plenty of male attention was freely available.They too continued to sunbathe.

And that my friends, is what Patriarchy is. My former roommate is no longer a feminist."

I laughed

What's the name of this show? My feminist housemate said while watching this earlier "pffft, women would be so much better on that island than men" then shíted on about patriarchy for a while (I'll be honest I tuned out a little bit).

Anyway, to cut a long story short - when I asked her why this would be the case, she made excuses and left the room as she wasn't able to give a reason. I would love to get her to sit down and watch it.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I wouldn't actually choose to go on a show and be put in a situation where I had to kill animals.

But if I somehow ended up in that situation then I think I'd survive. At least as well as any of the lads on it so far, they're not the best lol

I left the sitting room for a bit tonight purely because they had trapped a crocodile and I knew what was happening next. I'm wondering will this show get some backlash from animal rights groups for showing what these men are doing though?

I wouldn't have a hope I am too use to instant electricity and supermarkets. What is interesting is my mother who is now dead grew up on a farm where they grew most of the veg they ate and they keep pigs which they killed themselves for meat, they cut turf for fuel and had cows for milk and butter the only food they got in the shops was flour and porridge...now I am sure if my mother was alive she and her generation would have a much better chance of surviving than I ever would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

full_irish wrote: »
    What's the name of this show? My feminist housemate said while watching this earlier "pffft, women would be so much better on that island than men" then shíted on about patriarchy for a while (I'll be honest I tuned out a little bit).

Anyway, to cut a long story short - when I asked her why this would be the case, she made excuses and left the room as she wasn't able to give a reason. I would love to get her to sit down and watch it.

It's simply the Dutch Version of Survivior and it is was either the 2009 or 2011 season (it was the 24th season of that country's version)

I've no link I'm afraid, but I'm sure youtube or a torrent site out there can help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Love that show !
    Watched it with the man in the house and it's pretty handy as he knows how to do everything they are doing. Knew how make fire, dress a wound, kill a crocodile! So if he ever get stuck he's sorted!
    Me, jaybus, I'd be eaten by the crocodile the minute I hopped off the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

TheZohan wrote: »

Thanks.

Now just to learn Dutch.

And convince her to learn Dutch too. This may be more effort than its worth...

I left the sitting room for a bit tonight purely because they had trapped a crocodile and I knew what was happening next. I'm wondering will this show get some backlash from animal rights groups for showing what these men are doing though?

oh I didn't see the second one yet. It possibly will, I don't like shows that are just an excuse to kill animals, it's not like they're filming someone that is in a life or death scenario without choice and they're doing it for necessity, it's just purely for entertainment :/

mariaalice wrote: »
    I wouldn't have a hope I am too use to instant electricity and supermarkets. What is interesting is my mother who is now dead grew up on a farm where they grew most of the veg they ate and they keep pigs which they killed themselves for meat, they cut turf for fuel and had cows for milk and butter the only food they got in the shops was flour and porridge...now I am sure if my mother was alive she and her generation would have a much better chance of surviving than I ever would.

That's the thing with some people though. Some people couldn't live without their creature comforts. During the bad weather with the blackouts I couldn't believe how much I took for granted.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    oh I didn't see the second one yet. It possibly will, I don't like shows that are just an excuse to kill animals, it's not like they're filming someone that is in a life or death scenario without choice and they're doing it for necessity, it's just purely for entertainment :/

I felt uneasy watching it tonight I have to say. I know they have to eat but it's not like they're fighting for survival really. Maybe reality t.v. and it's voyeuristic nature is becoming a bit much at times I don't know.

I just saw it now and it was sickening to say the least, they were so disrespectful leaving it tied up so long and taunting it. Then after they kill it they try to convince themselves, it was 'humane', 'quick and painless'. But their actual reaction, sadness, was very telling. And that's the contradiction of eating meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭peewee_44

No way I turn into the biggest bitch during. Mild hunger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

If it's a tropical area I'd survive easily (I was born in the Amazon Basin) but in a temperate/cold environment I wouldn't rate my chances very highly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Super-Rush wrote: »

I live in Carlow too, in Graigue, why can we survive? I'm lost... :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Thanks.

Now just to learn Dutch.

And convince her to learn Dutch too. This may be more effort than its worth...

Kwak, ik ben een pinda :)

I know some Dutch! :pac:

I actually forgot that I can't swim!

So I think I might be screwed...