Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The insane rising rental rates around Ireland, in particular Dublin

• 12-05-2014 9:13pm
    Site Banned Posts: 433 ✭✭

Im planning to permanently move down to the Big Shmoke around July and I think I might need a few vodkas after what Ive just read on Daft.

I have a budget of €800 a month and thought that would be enough for a one bed in the city centre. Far from it! I remember looking at Daft a year ago and €800-900 was enough for somewhere decent. Now you'd be lucky to get a nice shared apartment in town for less than €700!

So whats going on? I know these things are supply and demand and all that but arent the banks lending money for mortgages again?

Anyone else feeling frustrated with the apartment and house rental markets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Well of course you can get a share for less than that, a good bit less. But yeah apartment prices are gone up. Have been doing so for about a year now. Wish very very desperately I could afford my own place.

By the way, a place for 800 by yourself is still possible, not even that hard to come by, just won't get the quality you would've before. I've just seen a small studio out past Phibsboro for 700 a month!! Crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What's the square metre rate in a decent part of Dublin going at right now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Dublin is the center of the Irish economy. Other than a few companies in Galway and Cork. All major companies are head quarter in Dublin. Its the center of Government, Dublin also has a majority of colleges and english language schools(a massive and rapidly growing industry). A majority of job growth will be in Dublin for the foreseeable future. Plus Dublins population is still growing quite quickly.

A rent cap will destroy any potential supply. It has never worked in any city before. But yet a few politicians think its the solution. The solution is high rise. Although its unpopular in Ireland as Ballymun was a disaster. Plus it will destroy our non-existent skyline. But unless Dublin starts going upward, it wont be possible for everyone to have housing that is affordable on an average wage. In NYC, their city authority wants to build high-rise for middle income families. Most people would love to live in the city if it was affordable. There be less traffic if everyone didnt have to commute.

• Site Banned Posts: 433 ✭✭Donegal Dan

jester77 wrote: »
    What's the square metre rate in a decent part of Dublin going at right now?

Im not sure what it is for the apartment/house market but I think read somewhere that Grafton Street still has the highest square metre rates in Europe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Prices in Galway are stinking at the moment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Property tax is the main reason been used as some poor LL's need to add extra to rent to recoup but then ends up getting a little extra e.g. €300 property tax add €50 to rent this over 12 months equals €600.

Also this word they love to use is high demand and shortage of housing.

I find that excuse amazing with all the empty properties and even council properties boarded up.

How can Social Welfare/State keep paying huge rents to private LL's there has to be a cap put in place to stop this rental bubble which imho is seriously out of control just like the property bubble which is well on it's way from what I have seen.

I fully understand to a lot it is a business but also a lot of LL's that have become due to recession.

With the prices they are looking for has pushed me and the girlfriend out of Dublin.
    Last year are rent was put up over €200 out of the blue and we both work full time and was just not possible.

I do hear people going on about why buy and just rent long term, Ireland is just not up to scratch like the rest of Europe as people keep saying.
    The rents in other countries are not at the extremes as they are here and you don't have to worry about the LL taking back the property for themselves/family or putting up for sale.

It is sad to see hard working people been forced out and then the expectation of what others entitlements are as they have never worked a day in their life but have no worries about housing.

I also understand there are situations with RA and that been capped and rents rising but isn't it about time the Government says no to these huge rent bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

you will find somewhere for E800 as mentioned before though, a year or two you could have probably got a relatively decent one bed for it, now you are looking at a studio or moving a bit further out or taking somewhere crummy enough in the city centre...

aidoh wrote: »
    Prices in Galway are stinking at the moment too.

What would €800 a month get you in Galway city these days? If the rates in Dublin keep going like this I might consider it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

What would €800 a month get you in Galway city these days? If the rates in Dublin keep going like this I might consider it!

A ****ty 'studio' attached to someones living room probably.
    It's not as bad as Dublin, there are some nice places for around 700-800 a month but they seem to get snapped up fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I recently put my apartment in Dublin up for rent on Daft and wow, the demand was extreme.
    Within 2 minutes(no exaggeration at all) I had 6 messages requesting a viewing. At the end of the day I had about 50. Found a person to take it that evening. By the end of day 2 I had 50 more - not including 2 people were too persistent and kept harassing me. I couldn't wait to take the listing off. It was scary to see how desperate the market was.

EyeSight wrote: »
    I recently put my apartment in Dublin up for rent on Daft and wow, the demand was extreme.

As a matter of interest, what part of Dublin is it located?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

Jaysus that is some rise. I was considering moving back but I may not now...pure insanity!

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Find someone to live with. If you're happy to live with someone else you'd get a good 2 bed and you'd be spending less than 800 on your portion of the rent.

I know some people like their solitude but for 800 you are looking at a dingy studio whereas you could get something good if you were willing to share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

as if living in Dublin wasn't an unattractive enough proposition already!

As a matter of interest, what part of Dublin is it located?

Georges Street. 800 a month for a 1 bedroom. It was nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

It's mad to think there are people who live in council flats paying stupidly low/zero rent in places that are 10 second walks from Harcourt/Stephens green. Meanwhile people working hard and paying all sorts of taxes are struggling to find a decent place that's within an hours commute to work or city centre that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

Whose idea was it to build 'social' housing in the best locations of the city!?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

KungPao wrote: »
    It's mad to think there are people who live in council flats paying stupidly low/zero rent in places that are 10 second walks from Harcourt/Stephens green. Meanwhile people working hard and paying all sorts of taxes are struggling to find a decent place that's within an hours commute to work or city centre that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

Try paying stupid amounts of rent to live IN a social housing block...that's what it's like in much of London! :/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Touchy-feely types who thought society would benefit from having people in social housing living beside people who are working 40+ hours a week to afford a mortgage that could get them evicted for non-payment.

That won't cause resentment and friction between people at all.

Not everyone should be able to get what other people have just because. The word "entitled" is one of the biggest problems this country has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

For that I was living in a nice 2 bed place in the city center of Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Touchy-feely types who thought society would benefit from having people in social housing living beside people who are working 40+ hours a week to afford a mortgage that could get them evicted for non-payment.

Not everyone should be able to get what other people have just because. The word "entitled" is one of the biggest problems this country has.

I hate to point it out but the people in the "social housing" were probably living there waaaayyy before the places that the folks who are paying the mortgages ever were. And their families for generations before them. And a lot of them had their homes knocked down in order to build the homes of the mortgage payers and then were "re-housed" in flats etc.
    It wasn't always desirable to live in the city centre but hey, now that it is lets turf all of those scrounging, entitled feckers out of their homes.
    It'll make more space for "decent folk".

You are kidding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

EyeSight wrote: »
    Georges Street. 800 a month for a 1 bedroom. It was nice

No wonder you had so many enquiries, that's a bargain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

So whats going on? I know these things are supply and demand and all that but arent the banks lending money for mortgages again?

Just about everyone in the world is devaluing their currency.

When they print more money, the value of the money decreases. Hence, it takes more of it, to purchase goods.

Usually, the last thing to go up is wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

hfallada wrote: »
    Dublin is the center of the Irish economy. Other than a few companies in Galway and Cork. All major companies are head quarter in Dublin. Its the center of Government, Dublin also has a majority of colleges and english language schools(a massive and rapidly growing industry). A majority of job growth will be in Dublin for the foreseeable future. Plus Dublins population is still growing quite quickly.

A rent cap will destroy any potential supply. It has never worked in any city before. But yet a few politicians think its the solution. The solution is high rise. Although its unpopular in Ireland as Ballymun was a disaster. Plus it will destroy our non-existent skyline. But unless Dublin starts going upward, it wont be possible for everyone to have housing that is affordable on an average wage. In NYC, their city authority wants to build high-rise for middle income families. Most people would love to live in the city if it was affordable. There be less traffic if everyone didnt have to commute.

This +Infinity. What is really needed in Dublin is another Grand Canal Dock type development (this time with less shoeboxes with walls made of papier mache mind). Several well designed 6-7 story blocks of 3 bed apartments with decent balconies and facilities.

Smidge wrote: »
    I hate to point it out but the people in the "social housing" were probably living there waaaayyy before the places that the folks who are paying the mortgages ever were. And their families for generations before them. And a lot of them had their homes knocked down in order to build the homes of the mortgage payers and then were "re-housed" in flats etc.

Quite possible but personally I know that in both of the green field newly built estates that me and my sister have moved into in the past few years we both have people in social housing living beside us as well as having 4 or 5 other social houses dotted throughout the estates.

These people basically got handed a house that the rest of us hand to go out and get a mortgage for. I'm sure that's fair in some peoples minds but it isn't in mine.

It's bizarre frankly.

Quite possible but personally I know that in both of the green field newly built estates that me and my sister have moved into in the past few years we both have people in social housing living beside us as well as having 4 or 5 other social houses dotted throughout the estates.

These people basically got handed a house that the rest of us hand to go out and get a mortgage for. I'm sure that's fair in some peoples minds but it isn't in mine.

It's bizarre frankly.

But we weren't talking about green field sites though.
    My comment was directly about the city centre of Dublin in response to Kungpao's comment that you then quoted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Property tax is the main reason been used as some poor LL's need to add extra to rent to recoup but then ends up getting a little extra e.g. €300 property tax add €50 to rent this over 12 months equals €600.

I find that excuse amazing with all the empty properties and even council properties boarded up.

How can Social Welfare/State keep paying huge rents to private LL's there has to be a cap put in place to stop this rental bubble which imho is seriously out of control just like the property bubble which is well on it's way from what I have seen.

I fully understand to a lot it is a business but also a lot of LL's that have become due to recession.

With the prices they are looking for has pushed me and the girlfriend out of Dublin.
    Last year are rent was put up over €200 out of the blue and we both work full time and was just not possible.

I do hear people going on about why buy and just rent long term, Ireland is just not up to scratch like the rest of Europe as people keep saying.
    The rents in other countries are not at the extremes as they are here and you don't have to worry about the LL taking back the property for themselves/family or putting up for sale.

It is sad to see hard working people been forced out and then the expectation of what others entitlements are as they have never worked a day in their life but have no worries about housing.

I also understand there are situations with RA and that been capped and rents rising but isn't it about time the Government says no to these huge rent bills.
    I was talking to someone who was telling me that a Landlords rent is counted as income and basically half of that increase will go in tax so 600 rent increase 300 goes to government in tax and then 300 goes to Government in property tax.

A simpler solution would be to do it like in England where the occupier pays the tax and that would be just 300 Anyone able to confirm that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Like most places, it depends on the part of town. You'll do well to get anything decent in the city centre or west of the Corrib for that. But you might find somewhere nice on the east side of town.

BTW. Flat hunting in Galway is a nightmare from mid July to the end of August as the annual student influx kicks in.

The Galway Advertiser is the best local paper for accommodation listings. It comes out every Thursday. However, they release the accommodation listings in their office in Eyre Square every Wednesday. I think they charge a euro for it but it's well worth getting it to keep one step ahead of the crowd.

smurgen wrote: »

Every bloody thread where Dublin is mentioned. :rolleyes:

This shít ceased being funny to most people a long time ago.

Give it a rest FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was talking to someone who was telling me that a Landlords rent is counted as income and basically half of that increase will go in tax so 600 rent increase 300 goes to government in tax and then 300 goes to Government in property tax.

A simpler solution would be to do it like in England where the occupier pays the tax and that would be just 300 Anyone able to confirm that?

Sounds like bollox to me. A 600 quid property tax is a feckin mansion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Several well designed 6-7 story blocks of 3 bed apartments with decent balconies and facilities.
    Developments that were shelved, I expect will become feasible again pretty quickly. There should be minimum densities in core areas with good transport links. The standard of whats been thrown up in the docklands and the quality of the architecture is very poor in my opinion, its so conservative and all 5-6 story bog standard sh**te! you'd find better in other British cities a fraction the size!

Rasmus wrote: »
    No wonder you had so many enquiries, that's a bargain.

It was ok. I was surprised the Landlady didn't want to put the rent up. She didn't seem that bothered. I didn't let on so many people inquired though. I just wanted it over quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Developments that were shelved, I expect will become feasible again pretty quickly. There should be minimum densities in core areas with good transport links. The standard of whats been thrown up in the docklands and the quality of the architecture is very poor in my opinion, its so conservative and all 5-6 story bog standard sh**te! you'd find better in other British cities a fraction the size!

Well that was the main piece of lunacy during the boom in my eyes. Most people work and want to live in or near the cities and big towns not in an estate in Bumfcuk, Co. Carlow. We really should have built much more mid to high density housing in the cities and big towns as opposed to the delightful ghost estates we currently have in places like Bumfcuk, Co Carlow. Of course even when we did manage to build some mid to high density housing we managed to build it in the wrong configuration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

hfallada wrote: »

The solution is high rise. Although its unpopular in Ireland as Ballymun was a disaster. Plus it will destroy our non-existent skyline. But unless Dublin starts going upward, it wont be possible for everyone to have housing that is affordable on an average wage. In NYC, their city authority wants to build high-rise for middle income families. Most people would love to live in the city if it was affordable. There be less traffic if everyone didnt have to commute.

I've gotten tired of the erroneous and often repeated meme that the solution is high rise, that solution is in place. Go half a mile down the Liffy from O' Connell St and you have the IFSC, a mile in the other direction and you have HSQ.

It's right an proper that the character of Dublin's Georgian city center be protected, but it's perfectly permissible to build high rise in designated areas, and we do. I don't know where people get the idea that the problem is not being able to build high rise in the single square mile of the city center in which it's not permitted.

As for the jump in rental prices over this last year. This government has made rental income subject. not just to income tax but PRSI and all the various levies. It also introduced a property tax. There are many properties that are rented as 'bills included' and that means new water charges and carbon taxes have driven up the cost of those included bills.
    All this aditional tax is now going onto the bill. That's why rents have gone up 20% in Dublin the past 18 months, because demand there means that landlords are in a position to pass on the additional costs. Of course the government is eager to make the focus of the debate about landlords and not the fact that they are the ones driving up the cost.
    As unpalatible as it may be to many, the only real fix I suspect will have to be for the government to offer tax incentives to developers to build appropriate rental only properties managed by investment funds that specialize in the rental market.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

smurgen wrote: »

The socially inadequate do find it difficult allright. The rest of us love it but we do miss the annual ICA cake sales.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    The socially inadequate do find it difficult allright. The rest of us love it but we do miss the annual ICA cake sales.

I do love how defensive people living in Dublin get about the utter kip that it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The rental market here needs to be regulated more. You clearly can't have a situation where landlords just raise rents arbitrarily within a short time period.

We rent out a house to a family in the West of Ireland.and the rent has been the same for for a long time as the tenant is a great one and the mortgage is easily covered so have no desire to screw them over.

That said, its not so long ago that the forums were full of renters revelling in the 'renters market' and boasting/encouraging others to hard ball their landlords to drop rents with the threat of cheaper options.

If you (rightly) hate the unregulated market so much, don't be a cheerleader for it when it suits you and start whinging when it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The general consensus seems to be that we should have more high-rise. Has anyone considered another solution: building apartments underground? We could dig into the ground and put in place comfortable and affordable subterranean accommodation for low and middle income families. These underground communities could be close to the Luas (Red Line), thus minimizing traffic congestion. A move back to the surface would be considered a step up on the property ladder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

The general consensus seems to be that we should have more high-rise. Has anyone considered another solution: building apartments underground? We could dig into the ground and put in place comfortable and affordable subterranean accommodation for low and middle income families. These underground communities could be close to the Luas (Red Line), thus minimizing traffic congestion. A move back to the surface would be considered a step up on the property ladder.

That would definitely be a huge hit with those who are averse to sunlight. The WoW/Airsoft/20,000+ postcount on Boards demographics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Good I'm glad for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

anncoates wrote: »
    The rental market here needs to be regulated more. You clearly can't have a situation where landlords just raise rents arbitrarily within a short time period.

As opposed to responding to demand?

We rent out a two bed bunglow near Blanchardstown, beautiful house and garden, ideal for couple or young families.

Back in 2005/6 we used to get enough interest (10-20 viewings within a week), and we were able to pick who we thought would be a good tenant. Rent was around €1250.

Over 2008 - 2010, the interest disappeared, quality of tenants who call was poor (welfare/allowance recipients as compared to salaried couple), and naturally rent went down as far low as €800.

It was let out again there a few months ago - phone ringing off the hook as soon as the ad was placed - and we had dozens of interested parties - and quality of the callers had improved too, but still a good few people who wanted to argue/insist/harass for various reasons. In the end it was let out for €1000 pm for another year.

We register each tenancy with PRTB, do all the paperwork, pay all the fees and taxes. And the rent moves up and down with the market demand, and in the end we are out of pocket anyway (all the new charges, mortgage interest rate going up, negative equity...) - we don't even think about it anymore - renting that just something that we do, without any rational explation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Im planning to permanently move down to the Big Shmoke around July and I think I might need a few vodkas after what Ive just read on Daft.

I have a budget of €800 a month and thought that would be enough for a one bed in the city centre. Far from it! I remember looking at Daft a year ago and €800-900 was enough for somewhere decent. Now you'd be lucky to get a nice shared apartment in town for less than €700!

Anyone else feeling frustrated with the apartment and house rental markets?

I have noticed that two bed apartments are about the same price as one bed.

• Site Banned Posts: 23 Baba P

Your math on the "little extra" is correct (despite yourself) when you factor in tax and PRSI paid on the extra rent.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

That would definitely be a huge hit with those who are averse to sunlight. The WoW/Airsoft/20,000+ postcount on Boards demographics.
    There is no escape from the Fortress of the Moles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

positron wrote: »
    As opposed to responding to demand?

We rent out a two bed bunglow near Blanchardstown, beautiful house and garden, ideal for couple or young families.

Back in 2005/6 we used to get enough interest (10-20 viewings within a week), and we were able to pick who we thought would be a good tenant. Rent was around €1250.

Over 2008 - 2010, the interest disappeared, quality of tenants who call was poor (welfare/allowance recipients as compared to salaried couple), and naturally rent went down as far low as €800.

It was let out again there a few months ago - phone ringing off the hook as soon as the ad was placed - and we had dozens of interested parties - and quality of the callers had improved too, but still a good few people who wanted to argue/insist/harass for various reasons. In the end it was let out for €1000 pm for another year.

We register each tenancy with PRTB, do all the paperwork, pay all the fees and taxes. And the rent moves up and down with the market demand, and in the end we are out of pocket anyway (all the new charges, mortgage interest rate going up, negative equity...) - we don't even think about it anymore - renting that just something that we do, without any rational explation.

Define "near blanch". I work in blanch and when i was looking I couldn't find anything like that for near that price.Especially with a garden. I can only assume you mean a cottage in the countryside a few mines from a bus stop or maybe somewhere at the back of corduff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Most of the social housing in Dublin city centre is 50+ years old. Typically these properties were tenements. They were rehousing people who lived in these areas back into where they were from. Some people chose to move out to other social housing areas like, Tallagh, Donnycareny , Cabra etc... with pressure from the catholic church. The church had some problem with shared doorways and halls.
    There was a community they were trying to keep when the housing was created. Unfortunately mismanagement and social issue made these areas turn to very deprived areas like they were to begin with.
    While some areas have been gentrified and now are considered nice areas such as Marino.
    Most of the people living in the inner city council housing are decedents of people who lived there.

I get called many names as a LL and anger over not accepting rent allowance. The reality is both sides of my family came from these deprived areas and were given council housing to live in. They later bought these properties. Their children took free education and were able to afford their own homes and also able to buy property to provide rental accommodation.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Most of the social housing in Dublin city centre is 50+ years old. Typically these properties were tenements. They were rehousing people who lived in these areas back into where they were from. Some people chose to move out to other social housing areas like, Tallagh, Donnycareny , Cabra etc... with pressure from the catholic church. The church had some problem with shared doorways and halls.
    There was a community they were trying to keep when the housing was created. Unfortunately mismanagement and social issue made these areas turn to very deprived areas like they were to begin with.
    While some areas have been gentrified and now are considered nice areas such as Marino.
    Most of the people living in the inner city council housing are decedents of people who lived there.

I get called many names as a LL and anger over not accepting rent allowance. The reality is both sides of my family came from these deprived areas and were given council housing to live in. They later bought these properties. Their children took free education and were able to afford their own homes and also able to buy property to provide rental accommodation.

Your family were in receipt of social housing but you don't like those on welfare? Forgetting your roots much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Your family were in receipt of social housing but you don't like those on welfare? Forgetting your roots much?

I get the impression that a lot of landlords don't think RA is worth it as the tenants sometimes take even less care of the property they rent then otherwise would be expected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

One thing I have noticed is that there is a large amount of brazilians looking for me to share a bed with them for 300 a month.

I guess thats when you know theres a problem with the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

syklops wrote: »
    Sounds like bollox to me. A 600 quid property tax is a feckin mansion.

learn to read. They didnt say that the property tax was 600. they said that the property tax was 300. But to earn 300 a landlord had to add 600 to the rent as they have to give half of that 600 to the government in income tax. they then use the other 300 to pay the property tax.

I get the impression that a lot of landlords don't think RA is worth it as the tenants sometimes take even less care of the property they rent then otherwise would be expected.

Discrimination against those who have fallen on tough times.