Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Child

• 10-05-2014 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭

Has anyone been in contact with one? I feel I have.

I live with a 28 year old man who has the self awareness of a five year old. This is his background....

He has flooded and damaged in the space of 5 months our flat (and downstairs flat) twice by leaving the tap on in the morning before work in the kitchen. I wondered into the kitchen last night to find once again the tap running unattended.

He has this knack for leaving lights on constantly, never throws out his gone off food from the fridge. He has an uncanny ability to smear all surfaces in cooking oil whilst whipping up any dish. He also washes up but has an amazing ability to make things dirtier than when he set out.

This evening I found a burning smell wafting into my room I ventured out to find the hall/kitchen full of smoke and a pot of food burnt to a crisp. I had to clean up after him and he managed to jar the window in the kitchen too so it is stuck open now. I may get my DIY kit out as he simply will not do it himself.

I feel like I have a kid of my own to look after and it's all a little bizarre as what I live with is definitely a fully grown man.

Has anyone else experienced such a person before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Loads (male and female) and far older than 28! The generations born from about the mid '70s on have a lot of very infantilised members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

HazDanz wrote: »
    Has anyone been in contact with one? I feel I have.

I live with a 28 year old man who has the self awareness of a five year old. This is his background....

He has flooded and damaged in the space of 5 months our flat (and downstairs flat) twice by leaving the tap on in the morning before work in the kitchen. I wondered into the kitchen last night to find once again the tap running unattended.

He has this knack for leaving lights on constantly, never throws out his gone off food from the fridge. He has an uncanny ability to smear all surfaces in cooking oil whilst whipping up any dish. He also washes up but has an amazing ability to make things dirtier than when he set out.

This evening I found a burning smell wafting into my room I ventured out to find the hall/kitchen full of smoke and a pot of food burnt to a crisp. I had to clean up after him and he managed to jar the window in the kitchen too so it is stuck open now. I may get my DIY kit out as he simply will not do it himself.

I feel like I have a kid of my own to look after and it's all a little bizarre as what I live with is definitely a fully grown man.

Has anyone else experienced such a person before?

Im married to one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

What ever happened to in sickness or in health, for richer or poorer or if an incompetent buffoon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Sounds like he must be man bear pigs offspring

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Maybe he actually a clever assassin and is trying to kill you op. Making it look like a tragic household accident, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

If it is your flat mate: move, boyfriend: move, husband: train or move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Neyite wrote: »
    Maybe he actually a clever assassin and is trying to kill you op. Making it look like a tragic household accident, like.

His gone off yoghurts nearly got me last week in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Have you tried hitting him hard after he cocks-up? In severe cases, pain can be the only stimulus that cuts through all barriers. Tap still running? WHACK! Pot burnt to a crisp? WHACK! Six days or so, should be grand.

lynski wrote: »

Aye lease is up next month. Moving out then. Nice lad just shocking to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Have you, at any point, tried telling him to cop the fúck on, grow the fúck up, and sort himself the fúck out?

Have you tried hitting him hard after he cocks-up? In severe cases, pain can be the only stimulus that cuts through all barriers. Tap still running? WHACK! Pot burnt to a crisp? WHACK! Six days or so, should be grand.

I might get carried away with that idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

To be honest calling him a man child is an insult to children. Children learn from this mistakes which isn't the case with this guy. He's just a plonker who has spent his entire life having people clean up after him and bail him out.

kylith wrote: »
    Have you, at any point, tried telling him to cop the fúck on, grow the fúck up, and sort himself the fúck out?

Yep. I'm straight with him on this stuff but he just gets stroppy and to be frank childish. Hence a man child.

bee06 wrote: »
    To be honest calling him a man child is an insult to children. Children learn from this mistakes which isn't the case with this guy. He's just a plonker who has spent his entire life having people clean up after him and bail him out.

Good point! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Sounds like one of my workmates,he's made up of a mixture of stupidity,laziness and a complete lack of common sense and manners.

What ever happened to in sickness or in health, for richer or poorer or if an incompetent buffoon?
    It's "In richness and in poorness."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Magaggie wrote: »
    It's "In richness and in poorness."
    Poorness is underlined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Loads (male and female) and far older than 28! The generations born from about the mid '70s on have a lot of very infantilised members.

This is very true - the generation born from mid-70's to mid-80's unfortunately have a sizeable group of what are known as "partial adults".

They refuse to take responsibility for their life and forever don't mind being under the wing of someone else.

An absolutely sickening slice of society that I hold beneath contempt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

This is very true - the generation born from mid-70's to mid-80's unfortunately have a sizeable group of what are known as "partial adults".

They refuse to take responsibility for their life and forever don't mind being under the wing of someone else.

Jaysus.

Did you ever think you'd reach the day when you'd talk like this?

"In my day people wore cornflakes boxes (Dunnes own brand) as clothes and carried a brick as a handbag they were so poor bla blah blah..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Can you hear him ****?

If so, I'd be worried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I like this guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I have one, born 1969, I think he got under the radar :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Chucken wrote: »
    I have one, born 1969, I think he got under the radar :(

I'll tell him what you said. Unless you keep sending me the Lyons Tea :D

may contain tealeaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The 'old country psyche' as they say in the States. The Irish lads had their mothers do all their household chores and then when they got married their wife took over, but she'd never be as good at it as the mammy, hence the disgruntled ape and the tutting mother in law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

We haven't heard the flat mates side of the story. For all we know the OP could be a clean freak obsessive compulsive.

How do we even know that it wasn't the OP that left the top running?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭singledad80

The problem now a days we have a generation of adults that grow up in the Celtic tiger year's, where mothers and fathers where out drinking living in the good times and forget to look after their kids teaching them how to cook clean and look after them self's it was easy to buy curry's easy to send them out for the day by giving them money and when your busy working and living you don't really pay attention to what kids where doing, now not saying all parents did it but most did. In my job I work a lot with young people coming into the job and they cant even tie laces and wearing tracksuits to interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

would you recommend the same if the lazy person was a woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You'll find that it's actually the mid 80's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

And yet strangely its the generation prior to them that have managed to fcuk up the country at least twice and now expect that generation to pay for the mistake....;)

You want a man child couple looking for others to blame for their mistakes- I offer you Sean dunne and Gayle kililea as prime examples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

All whilst shouting Hordor at him :P

Obviously. It would be sexist otherwise :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭olliesgirl55

I don't agree with the mid-70's because I know a fair amount of responsible adults from that era. I totally agree with the 80's and find the newer generation born in the 90's to be self entitled and without clue to how things really work. Most grew up with the tiger running and now that the tiger got tired and stopped they have no idea on how to cope.

This shíte always gets said about the newest generation when the previous gen gets older.

I was born the 90s. The Celtic tiger was dead and gone before I was even in second year, so I got no benefit from it. When I got to the age where I'd be looking for jobs, there were none, and it's still very competitive. My generation don't complain like a lot of you do because we really have no experience with what it was like in the boom, we were just kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

How good looking are we talking here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I lived with a man child. Couldn't even do something without you standing over him. He doesn't even get to look after the child on his own.
    _Redzer_ wrote: »
    This shíte always gets said about the newest generation when the previous gen gets older.

I was born the 90s. The Celtic tiger was dead and gone before I was even in second year, so I got no benefit from it. When I got to the age where I'd be looking for jobs, there were none, and it's still very competitive. My generation don't complain like a lot of you do because we really have no experience with what it was like in the boom, we were just kids.

Don't forget the fact the people doing the complaining this time are the ones who created the mess and and don't take responsibility for their actions. But yeah, we're the entitled ones with our large houses and new cars all bought through loans we can't pay back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I love the way that generalisations, if left untended, keep growing exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Used to live with a woman-child. Used to watch TV and spill her food all over herself, get food all over her hands and proceed to touch everything. Light switches, door handles etc were often sticky. Whenever her boyfriend cooked her food, she spent half an hour playing with the food before throwing it out or microwaving it cos it was too cold.

One time after getting her something from the shop, she handed me some coins. After I asked why they were sticky, she admitted that she kept them in the same pocket as her sweets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

lynski wrote: »

Alternatively, kill him and claim the insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If you are going to rag on certain generations... I don't think it's the aforementioned one despite it's perceived faults that has this country in a jocker....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We must remember that idiocy used to be diagnosed. Some people are idiots.

Strumms wrote: »
    If you are going to rag on certain generations... I don't think it's the aforementioned one despite it's perceived faults that has this country in a jocker....
    Is being man/womanchildren what has this country in the jocker?
    Not ragging on entire generations at all (seeing as I'm part of the generations I mentioned) just referring to a few people within them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Mr Magoo wouldn't have a look in with that CLOWN...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Lol, a little ageist isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Is being man/womanchildren what has this country in the jocker?
    Not ragging on entire generations at all (seeing as I'm part of the generations I mentioned) just referring to a few people within them.

That makes zero sense, bit thanks for your , erm contribution ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Needs to lay off the weed for a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Ideal candidate for the Irish banking sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Clankatron

Loving the attacks on the mid-80's generation by the generations who were responsible for our upbringing. The generations who destroyed the country through ignorance and greed that we now have to suffer for.

Thanks for that, geniuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Dont blame people.

Its normally the mammy. 3 brothers who are well able to do things for themselves but its the mother who thinks they cant do anything for themselves.

Like they use a frying pan with their cocks. They have hands and well able for it.