Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labour vs Ming

• 09-05-2014 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Hot on the heels of Ming criticising labours euro candidate senator Lorraine Higgins, who he accused of only wanting to get into Europe to look good, labour appear to have come out all guns blazing!

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/labour-go-on-offensive-against-luke-ming-flanagan-1.1788869

Amongst the retaliation is the claim by sinead ahern of labour women that the comment is mysoginistic and sexist., even though Ming makes no reference to gender and its a charge that in a political context could be levelled at a candidate of either sex (looking good in an enhanced profile rather than an eye candy way)

Now I'm no fan of Ming, but labours faux outrage seems like a mix of shameless opportunism and stirring the pot. What do you think AH'ers? Is Ming a backward sexist pig or are labour playing the sexist card to support a frankly fairly poor candidate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

He should whip is mickey out, scream '420 blaze it' and swim to Europe himself.

All's fair in love and war politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the people are sharpening their knives in preparation for the Labour slaughter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

She was telling people recently "not to waste their vote on a stoner"... Desperation coming from their camp tbh. Well down in the polls, she has yet to receive any kind of public mandate despite running numerous times.

Fu(king Labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I am no particular fan of Ming but this kind of personalised attack is pretty poor form

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The photoshop comparing Ming to Dustin the Turkey was pretty classless

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/might-i-compare-thee-to-a-turkey-30255894.html

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I await the day when the Mingmeister whips out his todger in the Dáil and sprays the whole lot of them with hot, beery piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

The photoshop comparing Ming to Dustin the Turkey was pretty classless

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/might-i-compare-thee-to-a-turkey-30255894.html

I hadn't seen that! Sounds like senator Higgins started a fight and when she couldn't win it played the 'poor little helpless me' card with the help of her party

Classy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I wonder why, let's see what else has Ming said lately....?

if this is all Labour has too worry about, they don't do much ,

maybe they're wacked out on the heroin because Ming outed their supplier? just a guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Labour are just embarassing themselves at this point really. I sincerely hope they come at the bottom of the polls. Did Ming even say anything in the first place? Do they have nothing better to do than pick on Independent TD's who are contesting their spot? So petty

ming said they wanted to go to Europe to 'look good',

they replied with a well thought out rebuttal of how their policies and the work they do overshadows their looks as follows:

higgins:- “Manipulating media and ideological buzz words, this group, of which Ming Flanagan is the personification, stand for nothing more than the promotion of apathy and cynicism and will deliver zero for this country,” she said.

if ming is promoting apathy, what are you doing higgins, any scandals? i've never heard of you or your policies before?

Followed by
    Chairwoman of Labour Women Sinéad Ahern labelled the comment “misogynistic and sexist”.
    Ms Ahern said: “Unlike men, women in politics face unnecessary close scrutiny on how they look and what they wear . . . Would he make a similar comment about a man? I very much doubt it.”

now Sinead if a man has just made the above comment you just made, you would not be happy, infact we'd still be spouting misogynistic, sexism

what are the policies and the politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Boombastic wrote: »
    ming said they wanted to go to Europe to 'look good',

they replied with a well thought out rebuttal of how their policies and the work they do overshadows their looks as follows:

higgins:- “Manipulating media and ideological buzz words, this group, of which Ming Flanagan is the personification, stand for nothing more than the promotion of apathy and cynicism and will deliver zero for this country,” she said.

if ming is promoting apathy, what are you doing higgins, any scandals? i've never heard of you or your policies before?

Followed by
    Chairwoman of Labour Women Sinéad Ahern labelled the comment “misogynistic and sexist”.
    Ms Ahern said: “Unlike men, women in politics face unnecessary close scrutiny on how they look and what they wear . . . Would he make a similar comment about a man? I very much doubt it.”

now Sinead if a man has just made the above comment you just made, you would not be happy, infact we'd still be spouting misogynistic, sexism

what are the policies and the politics?

Nail....head....

tritium wrote: »
    Nail....head....

funnier still gilmore then turned around and said 'we won't be sending entertainers to Europe' in relation to mings appearance.

So doesn't that mean we should be going mad a gilmore because he made a comment about a man's appearance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Min make me want to vote for Higgins
    Labour makes me want to vote for Ming

Be voting for neither

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Stick a nickname on him, wear very casual clothing to the Dail. He must be good. What has he done but be a gob****e at our expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Even though I am not voting for any of those two in the Euro elections, this negative campaign tripe is really off-putting.

More so from Labour's point of view. They will get burnt in these euro elections no doubt and in the locals.

Just wait and you will see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Higgins:- “Manipulating media and ideological buzz words, this group, of which Ming Flanagan is the personification, stand for nothing more than the promotion of apathy and cynicism and will deliver zero for this country,” she said.

Very well put. Ming is just another parish pump politician with a sleeveen attitude. He's the ideological poster boy for a generation of people who mutter, rant and splutter about things; filled with impotent rage, and focusing their bile on anyone who doesn't have their own bleak and barren worldview. He offers very little at a parliamentary level, only cheap soundbites and hectoring language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Higgins:- “Manipulating media and ideological buzz words, this group, of which Ming Flanagan is the personification, stand for nothing more than the promotion of apathy and cynicism and will deliver zero for this country,” she said.

Very well put. Ming is just another parish pump politician with a sleeveen attitude. He's the ideological poster boy for a generation of people who mutter, rant and splutter about things; filled with impotent rage, and focusing their bile on anyone who doesn't have their own bleak and barren worldview. He offers very little at a parliamentary level, only cheap soundbites and hectoring language.
    At least Mings diatribe is his own. The major parties are so accustomed to hiding behind their PR department they probably don't know how to have a personal opinion anymore.

For any politician to berate another for trying to manipulate the media is the height of hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

You are clearly blind if you don't see Mings attributes.
    He speaks his own mind, is quite smart and clearly cares for the lives and lifestyle of the people he represents.

This is the type of politican we need - one who knows is on the ground and cares. One who doesn't hide behind committees, troika or double speak.

When he was mayor of roscommon he demanded accountablilty for monies spent - he was forever at odd with the established parties on this. This is a good thing. Other parties had no interest in this accountability.

It's not surprise that the whistleblowing gardai went to him as a TD of intergrity rather than their local blueshirt.

I can't vote for ming but he is the type of politican who represents me and my vision for the society I'd like to live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You are clearly blind if you don't see Mings attributes.
    He speaks his own mind, is quite smart and clearly cares for the lives and lifestyle of the people he represents.

This is the type of politican we need - one who knows is on the ground and cares. One who doesn't hide behind committees, troika or double speak.

When he was mayor of roscommon he demanded accountablilty for monies spent - he was forever at odd with the established parties on this. This is a good thing. Other parties had no interest in this accountability.

It's not surprise that the whistleblowing gardai went to him as a TD of intergrity rather than their local blueshirt.

I can't vote for ming but he is the type of politican who represents me and my vision for the society I'd like to live in.

One who brings down a jar of piss across the floor of the Dáil as a cheap stunt? One standing in the middle of a bog with a sod of turf in his hand as the photographers snap at him? He's the archetypical gombeen politican. A Healy-Rae in a wool jumper instead of a wool cap.

mikom wrote: »

Oh boy........... that awkard moment when the amount of negative comment outweighs the likes on the post............ https://www.facebook.com/lorhiggins/photos/a.123661761152015.1073741826.123657334485791/254996634685193/?type=1&theater

I think she is holed below the waterline.

Oh boy........... that awkard moment when the amount of negative comment outweighs the likes on the post............ https://www.facebook.com/lorhiggins/photos/a.123661761152015.1073741826.123657334485791/254996634685193/?type=1&theater

Which would you consider more useful to Ireland's interests in Europe. A member of Europe's second largest grouping within parliment, or a lad from Roscommon who is capturing the zeitgeist by being anti-Europe and intends to sit down with cranks and weirdos like UKIP?

As for the picture, it's politics. Plenty of faux-outrage. If Flanagan had pulled the same stunt it would be lauded as a political masterstroke by a man who refuses to conform to the standards set by 'the squares'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Not that much bothered about Ming either way but pretty pathetic cheap shots from Labour & Higgins.
    The Dustin the Turkey thing particularly makes her look like a total feckin' eejit in fairness. Girls' school playground bully stuff.

Pathetic is the only word for it.

You can criticise the man if you want, they're all fair game for that, but he's still an elected TD with the mandate of the people behind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Took a look at the recent polls, she's less popular than Ronan Mullen for first preferences.

And ha! Ben Gilroy is running?! First I've heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Which would you consider more useful to Ireland's interests in Europe. A member of Europe's second largest grouping within parliment, or a lad from Roscommon who is capturing the zeitgeist by being anti-Europe and intends to sit down with cranks and weirdos like UKIP?

As for the picture, it's politics. Plenty of faux-outrage. If Flanagan had pulled the same stunt it would be lauded as a political masterstroke by a man who refuses to conform to the standards set by 'the squares'.

It's precisely the same sort of gombeen politics that you're hypocritically attacking Ming over.

Higgins has destroyed whatever little chance she had of getting elected. Labour are toast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't consider either of them particularly useful to be perfectly straight with you, but I'd rather give young Flanagan a shot than anyone involved with the peculiar centre-Right oligarchy that calls itself "Labour" around here.

It's precisely the same sort of gombeen politics that you're hypocritically attacking Ming over.

Higgins has destroyed whatever little chance she had of getting elected. Labour are toast

Gombeen politics is standing on an anti-Europe platform in an area that has benefited so much from our membership of the EU. It's reactionary, self-serving and utterly without principal. It's typical of the man, indeed of many of the independents who were elected to the last Dáil. Empty vessels make most noise has never held so true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

One who brings down a jar of piss across the floor of the Dáil as a cheap stunt? One standing in the middle of a bog with a sod of turf in his hand as the photographers snap at him? He's the archetypical gombeen politican. A Healy-Rae in a wool jumper instead of a wool cap.

it was water not piss.
    and it was far from cheap considering his constituents are going be to paying for said water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Gombeen politics is standing on an anti-Europe platform in an area that has benefited so much from our membership of the EU.

Oh I see. Be a good little European and move on. Sure look at all they have done for us.

That's the definition of Gombeen

a man who refuses to conform to the standards set by 'the squares'.

Long may he continue.

There are enough yes men and clockwork oranges around.
    According to the latest European Election opinion polls, Deputy Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (IND) has taken the lead in the Midlands-North-West constituency.

The Independent Deputy who has been controversially in the headlines over the past few months currently has 12% of the votes in the constituency, the polls show. This indicates that he is ahead of stalwarts Marian Harkin (Ind) and Pat ‘the Cope’ Gallagher (FG) both of whom have represented the large constituency for the past 10 years or more at European level.

Meanwhile, it has also emerged the Deputy Flanagan has chosen garda whistleblower John Wilson as his substitute candidate for the European elections.

Under the European Parliament election rules, candidates must nominate a replacement to take their seat should they resign or pass away during their tenure.

http://www.longfordleader.ie/news/local-news/ming-leading-the-way-in-the-european-elections-polls-1-6044631

Not bad for an "unmotivated stoner".

D1stant wrote: »
    Oh I see. Be a good little European and move on. Sure look at all they have done for us.

That's the definition of Gombeen

No. It's entirely reasonable to be skeptical of some of European policy and direction. Ming's campaign amounts to little more than appealing to a position that will see him go to Europe with a begging basket in one hand, while his other hand holds a stick to beat them with. If his contributions to the European Parliament are the same as they are to the Dáil then they will amount to little more than jaundiced soundbites and mucksavage populism delivered in a foghorn voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gombeen politics is standing on an anti-Europe platform in an area that has benefited so much from our membership of the EU. It's reactionary, self-serving and utterly without principal. It's typical of the man, indeed of many of the independents who were elected to the last Dáil. Empty vessels make most noise has never held so true.

He's standing on an 'anti-EU' platform because it's the position that many people have expressed a preference towards to him. That's what democratic representation is all about. I don't agree with his views on Europe and won't be voting for him, but to say that he's a gombeen and not others, is just ridiculous.

Higgins is a serial failure when it comes to representation.. nobody wants her, yet she has been selected to run for a seat in the EU. That's gombeenism at its finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Followed by

With her bleating about sexism the irony is lost on her that Ming has faced the most scrutiny on how he looks and what he wears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

He said that she was one of these people that just wants to look good. There is a reverse-sexism coming from Labour trying to suggest that he was being misogynistic because the person he happened to be talking to was a woman.

20 mins in:-
    Mary Wilson (stopping Lorraine Higgins & Ronan Mullen debt burden): On that whole issue of debt burden your a Eurosceptic what can you do in Europe?
    Luke M. Flanagan: well what I can do in Europe if I am elect is to find common cause with other new MEPs who I expect to be elected who will call for an end for the never ending deeping of Europe.
    MW interjects: Like UKIP?
    LF: But sadly we have people like Lorraine Higgins that wants too look good rather than do good in Europe
    Lorraine Higgins: That is an outrageous comment
    LF: You've never been elected ....
    LH: that is correct i stand on my own two feet in relation to ... (lists her achievements)... All you can do in Europe is jump up and down and have no influence.

This comment was in reference to Lorraine's view that she would be a member of the biggest grouping in Europe.

This is totally a political move it has nothing to do with sexism.

http://www.rte.ie/radio/utils/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=9%3A20572121%3A83%3A30%2D04%2D2014%3A&type=radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Ive been following the 2 in recent media posts.

Higgins spent the last weekend at Punchestown swannign around Galway Tent style

Ming went turf cutting on a bog and campaigning up and down the country.

Theres a reason one of these people was elected Democratically and the other was given a favour to get any power. Hard work and speaking for the people.

He gets a bonus point for not polluting Athlone with electoral signs liek Higgins (and others) have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Ming's campaign amounts to little more than appealing to a position that will see him go to Europe with a begging basket in one hand, while his other hand holds a stick to beat them with.

I would say that he was well equipped then. Your position seems to be we need to elect someone who is grateful for all that Europe has done for us and bow their head as we get shat on again. My position is the combination of our auld faithful party polithickians and Europe have fvcked up my country and I have equal contempt for both.

I would actually rather see Dustin elected than Lorraine Higgins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Ming is just another parish pump politician with a sleeveen attitude.
    He's the archetypical gombeen politican. A Healy-Rae
    Gombeen politics
    mucksavage populism

The main issues that Flanagan has taken up since his election are policing, turfcutting and drug reform. I can't see why you'd use all these phrases like gombeen and parish pump politics when the man has very clearly been working on national issues for the duration of his Dail term. It's really the opposite of Healy Rae.

I think you just like throwing these labels around because he's from a rural constinuency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The main issues that Flanagan has taken up since his election are policing, turfcutting and drug reform. I can't see why you'd use all these phrases like gombeen and parish pump politics when the man has very clearly been working on national issues for the duration of his Dail term. It's really the opposite of Healy Rae.

I think you just like throwing these labels around because he's from a rural constinuency.

Some buckos dont care for the likes of el mingo doing well in politics. Smacks of ordinary people getting notions about themselves. Status quo only please, saves them from having to think a bit

I saw someone pointing out that higgins wanted online bullying outlawed and then she goes photoshopping turkeys onto mings face. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Lorraine was elected to the Seanaid btw, I think however I may be voting for Ming!

efb wrote: »
    Lorraine was elected to the Seanaid btw, I think however I may be voting for Ming!

was that where she learned her photoshopping and hypocrisy skills?

I'm sure Party Leader had shown her the ropes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Lorraine was elected to the Seanaid btw,

WRONG! From her wiki page

In May 2011, she was nominated by the Taoiseach Enda Kenny to the 24th Seanad.

That's not an election in my book. Not 1 citizen outside the Taoiseachs office voted her in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Very well put. ******* is just another parish pump politician with a sleeveen attitude. He's the ideological poster boy for a generation of people who mutter, rant and splutter about things; filled with impotent rage, and focusing their bile on anyone who doesn't have their own bleak and barren worldview. He offers very little at a parliamentary level, only cheap soundbites and hectoring language.
    Where the "*******" is, you could insert a lot of "main party" Irish politicians...!
    D1stant wrote: »
    My position is the combination of our auld faithful party polithickians and Europe have fvcked up my country and I have equal contempt for both.
    I take it you don't drive?
    Actually, I'm pretty sure she failed to get elected tot he Seanad, and only got in when she was nominated by Enda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Empty vessels make most noise has never held so true.

Making a fair bit of noise in this thread yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

This type of gutter politics coming from Labour would make people in rural Ireland and beyond not to go near them with a barge pole *cough**cough*.

Or is that a bog hole I wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

Fu(k Labour, Fu(k Fine Gael, Fu(k Fine Fail, Fu(k Sinn Fein.

Ming for Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Say what you like about Ming, at least you know he has honestly held opinions and are left in no dount as to what those opinions are.
    The vast majority of career politicians are faceless soulless goons who believe in nothing, will say anything to get elected and hide behind their party PR machine armed with nauseating slogans and vague platitudes.

I swear, I'm not cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Labour are desperate. They fully deserve their impending fate.

I wouldn't be rushing out to vote for Ming either, but his submission on Gardai inconsistencies in the Dail last week indicates that he has a bit of substance to him imo.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Labour are desperate. They fully deserve their impending fate.

I wouldn't be rushing out to vote for Ming either, but his submission on Gardai inconsistencies in the Dail last week indicates that he has a bit of substance to him imo.

A big reason I'm giving Ming #1. If Claire Daly was running in my constituency she'd get it.