Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amazing documentary about Adolf Hitler

• 05-05-2014 4:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭

At first when I came across this documentary, I took it with a pinch of salt. But by the time I finished watching all of it, I was completely stunned. I now consider it one the greatest documentaries I've ever seen.

We live in a world where we are highly influenced by everything we hear, and see from Hollywood, History Textbooks etc.

I'd be interested in hearing what people think of this documentary, if you've ever seen it. It shows the other side, from the German prospective, and the truth about Hitler, and what he was trying to achieve. It's called 'Adolf Hitler the Greatest Story never told'

I really think Roosevelt, Churchill, and Stalin, made huge mistakes, and were guilty of some horrendous crimes; Stalin worst of all.

It's a real eye opener. There's a link to a website below the you tube video, where you can watch the documentary in different parts. I love History myself, but I never looked at it from the other side. Like most people, we go on what we're told. Which we shouldn't, because we can be easily duped.

http://thegreateststorynevertold.tv/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm probably not going to watch a 6 hour documentary about Hitler before the first comment is posted so....... is it a Nazi sympathising doc or wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I didn't watch it but I don't really have a problem with Hitler. Germany was booming under his control. Economy was great etc...
    BUT this is a big BUT, he really should not have done that to the jews. I don't know what he had against the jews so if somebody here knows please enlighten me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Conas wrote: »
    At first when I came across this documentary, I took it with a pinch of salt. But by the time I finished watching all of it, I was completely stunned. I now consider it one the greatest documentaries I've ever seen.

We live in a world where we are highly influenced by everything we hear, and see from Hollywood, History Textbooks etc.

I'd be interested in hearing what people think of this documentary, if you've ever seen it. It shows the other side, from the German prospective, and the truth about Hitler, and what he was trying to achieve. It's called 'Adolf Hitler the Greatest Story never told'

I really think Roosevelt, Churchill, and Stalin, made huge mistakes, and were guilty of some horrendous crimes; Stalin worst of all.

It's a real eye opener. There's a link to a website below the you tube video, where you can watch the documentary in different parts. I love History myself, but I never looked at it from the other side. Like most people, we go on what we're told. Which we shouldn't, because we can be easily duped.

Ah, gotcha now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Ah heyor leave it out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Look, it doesn't matter what this documentary says, whether other world leaders made mistakes (Hitler's policy was just "making a mistake"?), whether figures are distorted, whether we only get one perspective etc.

He still organised a system of killing many, many people - end of. What difference would opening our minds to alternative perspectives make in the face of this big overwhelming fact? Even if the anti-semitic Holocaust denying types come up with loads of figures that show he didn't kill as many as six million... he still killed lots of people, so... that's that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Not another 'the Nazi's were just misunderstood' threads.
    Save it for the Ukraine threads.

Right so it's a four hour film.

Bullet points on the the bits we need to know please, otherwise the thread gets it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Hitler; Not just there for the Nazi things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

Right so it's a four hour film.

Bullet points on the the bits we need to know please, otherwise the thread gets it.

On this website: http://thegreateststorynevertold.tv/

Go to the 'videos' section, and you'll have bullet points from the movie. In 15min sections.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Magaggie wrote: »
    He still organised a system of killing many, many people - end of. What difference would opening our minds to alternative perspectives make in the face of this big overwhelming fact? Even if the anti-semitic Holocaust denying types come up with loads of figures that show he didn't kill as many as six million... he still killed lots of people, so... that's that.
    Well mao killed ten fold the amount than hitler did and now we have his face on tshirts and restaurants named after him.

Hitler was a very bold man though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Well mao killed ten fold the amount that hitler did and now we have his face on tshirts and restaurants named after him.
    Oh I know. That commie-fashion stuff is a load of sh-tness too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

I didn't watch it but I don't really have a problem with Hitler. Germany was booming under his control. Economy was great etc...
    BUT this is a big BUT, he really should not have done that to the jews. I don't know what he had against the jews so if somebody here knows please enlighten me.

As I understand it though a lot of the economic boom was down to the mobilisation of the economy for war and the seizure of Jewish assets and such.

Then again, he did fix the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Please. He was an all-round asshole, a facist dictator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Not just jews either.

snausages wrote: »
    As I understand it though a lot of the economic boom was down to the mobilisation of the economy for war and the seizure of Jewish assets and such.

Then again, he did fix the roads.

Wrong, it was the American economy that boomed because of war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Yes but you could also add the slavs, the gypsies, the handicapped, the mentally handicapped. He had quite a long list of people he regarded as sub human.

Apart from that of course he was a lovely chap.

BTW - not sure when I'll have 6 hours spare to watch a docu.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Ah Hitler was sound to give him his jew

Go to the 'videos' section, and you'll have bullet points from the movie. In 15min sections.

Yes, this site looks free of any problematic agendas.

Not just jews either.

The whole thing about the Jews, is in the film too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Aside from killing jews, gypsies, slavs, the disabled, homosexuals and invading all of his neighbouring countries causing the deaths of millions of people...he was sound enough, is that the gist here?

Get a grip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

So what you're saying is, and correct me if I'm wrong here, but Hitler is misunderstood by the modern world and was actually a great leader?

Er, yeah, gonna have to say good luck with that one Hier Conas.

That was entirely geographical though not political.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

You are taking at cross purposes. He is talking about the economics of nazi Germany before the war, you've decided to bring the US during the war into it.

As it happens naziism did create a Keynesian type bubble economy for a while but it wasn't sustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

The whole thing about the Jews, is in the film too.

So what did it say about the jews. I'm not gonna waste 6 hours watching a docu about how great Hitler is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Coming up next week.

Pol Pot - Hero of the Cambodian Housing Crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Waitsian

I didn't watch it but I don't really have a problem with Hitler. Germany was booming under his control. Economy was great etc...BUT this is a big BUT, he really should not have done that to the jews.....

....and the Slavs, and the Gypsies, and the disabled, and gay men and women, and Anarchists, and Socialists, and Communists, and Social Democrats, and Christian Democrats, and other religious, and innocents in every country the Nazis invaded, and partisans etc etc...

Hell the guy even initiated the mass killing of Nazi Brownshirts ffs.

There's no 'buts'.

Seaneh wrote: »
    So what you're saying is, and correct me if I'm wrong here, but Hitler is misunderstood by the modern world and was actually a great leader?

Er, yeah, gonna have to say good luck with that one Hier Conas.

Well I did post the links to video to see what others thought. But since you won't watch it, I can't debate the documentary with you.

mod9maple wrote: »
    ....and the Slavs, and the Gypsies, and the disabled, and gay men and women, and Anarchists, and Socialists, and Communists, and Social Democrats, and Christian Democrats, and other religious, and innocents in every country the Nazis invaded, and partisans etc etc...

Hell the guy even initiated the mass killing of Nazi Brownshirts ffs.

There's no 'buts'.
    But he was grand like, sure without hitler we wouldn't have german engineering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Coming up next week.

Pol Pot - Hero of the Cambodian Housing Crisis

Followed by
    Benito Mussollini. The father of the modern railway system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That lad was worse than Hitl....oh wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just to get things moving in here.....

What does the doc say about fluoride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Hitler,a great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Fair Jews to Hitler, he was a gas man after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

AnonoBoy wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

vorsprung durch technik FTW :D

The visual motif of Hitler's mustache as a barcode is cute, in fairness.

Or the volks wagen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I've seen this film - can be summed up thus:
    The nazi's, a great bunch of lads

Wouldn't call it a masterpiece now. The lads over at Stormfront probably love it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Followed by
    Benito Mussollini. The father of the modern railway system

With "Shirō Ishii and Unit 731 - Medical Pioneers" to round off the season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

My Granddad died in a concentration camp.

He Fell out of a machine gun tower.

Nope.

You need to put it in this thread. And make it snappy.

AnonoBoy wrote: »

What does the doc say?

whupdedo wrote: »
    Or the volks wagen

Actually forget what I said, if hitler didnt exist I wouldnt have to look at boring german cars pebble dashing Irish roads with bleakness.

http://thegreateststorynevertold.tv/community/documentary/
    More than a few important historians and scientists have been thrown into jail in Europe and very few people in academia or outside of academia complain about this and at the same time these self satisfied people talk about the importance of “freedom of speech” and its important role in a democracy.

The reason for the laws against holocaust 'revisionism' comes down to the fact that it espouses and gives credence to a very dangerous cultural myth, the same one that Hitler and his lads exploited to gain legitimacy in the first place. Which is why you see these pseudo-academic journals and documentaries leaning on the 'free-speech' argument to hide the fact that they are little more than neo-Nazi propaganda.

So kindly feck off OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Lovely. Jokes about jews and gas in a meaningless thread about Hitler.

Thats me out.

Lovely. Jokes about jews and gas in a meaningless thread about Hitler.

Thats me out.

Bye now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Nope.

You need to put it in this thread. And make it snappy.

Ok it's a 24 part mix of a documentary and a counterfactual 'what if' video by the looks of things that examines the childhood and early life of Adolf Hitler, the political and economic decisions made in Germany pre 1939 and the political, military and economic decisions made post 1939 that examine their context from a different angle.

The site does have some unfortunate use of certain symbols but I don't think that is reason to dismiss it entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I just saw the OP in a DeLorean drive past at 88 mph.

Probably going Back to the Führer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I just saw the OP in a DeLorean drive past at 88 mph.

Probably going Back to the Führer.
    Youre a gas man