Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punchestown Day 4

• 01-05-2014 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭

Really fancy On The Fringe for the hunter chase in the last tomorrow. Horse is a real Punchestown specialist and has won 2 from 3 here (it really should be 3 for 3 but if fell on the other occasion when travelling great). Is proven over the ground and distance and has beaten the co-favourite, Warne at Punchestown 2 years ago. Don't understand why Warne is the co- favourite, imagine punters are being swayed by its Aintree exploits. Unfortunately for it, this time out surely the track and the trip just will not suit it. Can't see anything else in the field that approaches the class of the top two in the betting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Got very excited when I saw Mullaghnoe River at 14s but is the trip a tad on the sharp side??
    Thought his fall in the national was more down to being hampered than being his own fault.
    An even more prominent ride be the trick perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Sizing Gold could be very well treated off his mark of 137& his jumping could turn him into a smart handicapper

Blue on Oddschecker so I was thinking he might be Pricewise. I'll wait til 8.30am to see if there's any 8/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Moon Dice

Followmeuptocarlow in the 4.20 and on the fringe in the last are ones i like tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

only1stevo wrote: »
    Got very excited when I saw Mullaghnoe River at 14s but is the trip a tad on the sharp side??
    Thought his fall in the national was more down to being hampered than being his own fault.
    An even more prominent ride be the trick perhaps?
    Was looking at this myself, out of curiousity, what are peoples thoughts on this; PP have him priced tomorrow at 9's and offering 4 places, whereas William Hill are 12s but only 3 places. Would ye be more inclined to take the bigger price or the extra place??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Three points bigger for one place I'd definitely take the 12s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Mullaghanoe River is talented but his jumping has been awful over fences.

15 runners, 4 places with Powers a special?

Johner wrote: »
    Mullaghanoe River is talented but his jumping has been awful over fences.

Very much so but the 14s worth the risk for me.
    100% record at the track too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Fancy 2 in this race tomorrow

Operating and Romford pele.

Harrington plotting horses in this race each year. Burn and turn and operating were entered during the week and burn and turn takes her chance in the mares chase after.

Can also see apache stronghold running well tomorrow. Can be got at 4-1 w/o vautour. Crazy price given lac Fontana is more than likely over the top and reckon on real form he would have lieutenant colonel...

Roll on tomorrow

ste2010 wrote: »

Can also see apache stronghold running well tomorrow. Can be got at 4-1 w/o vautour. Crazy price given lac Fontana is more than likely over the top and reckon on real form he would have lieutenant colonel...

Yes yes yes!

Lol the two I fancy ste, but Operating hasn't been seeing out his races I'd lie to see him dropped 1/4 a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

4:20 Punchestown

One look at the form of The Romford Pele is all it takes here to see that 16/1 is a silly price in this handicap of the mark he runs of tomorrow. His form over this trip on good ground reads well to say the least; he has been competing at the highest level in novice chases and hasn’t been at all disgraced with his runs behind the likes of Balder Success and Tarquin de Seuil. 128 looks hugely fair and it warrants a decent bet as it looks tough to knock him out of the places here

2 Points EW 16/1 The Romford Pele Ladbrokes Bet365

I’m also going with a saver bet on Shamiran who to my eye jumps particularly well and should be better over fences than he was over hurdles which will give him a decent chance here even 2lbs out of the handicap. It’s possible he would prefer softer ground but he has a very good flat run on good ground in the past and he should be there or thereabouts at a very big looking 29 on Betfair

1 Point win Shamiran 29 Betfair 1 Point Place 5.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Some Tikket will be just that after it wins tomorrow!!

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Lol the two I fancy ste, but Operating hasn't been seeing out his races I'd lie to see him dropped 1/4 a mile

If Jessie has been plotting operating to a similar nature as chasing cars and Madame bovery when they won it (I think it may have been more of an after thought for operating though) I think he will be in the thick of it coming around the final bend..

Romford pele is a no brainer just hope the goods are produced finally..last chance saloon with RP tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Yeah TRP is one of those horses you know will win a big one eventually, it's just a case of if you have the patience to keep backing him til it happens,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭qc3

Friday Pricewise.
    Trust Henderson to have 10-1 Ericht back in form

THE Willie Mullins-Ruby Walsh juggernaut has shown no sign of stopping this week and there is every reason to believe it will keep rolling at Punchestown today.
    It could be a case of out with the old and in with the new for Mullins with Hurricane Fly attempting to win his fifth consecutive Racing Post Champion Hurdle, while there are loads of good judges who think Vautour, who goes in the Tatersalls Ireland Champion Novice Hurdle – will be the next Mullins-trained Champion Hurdler.
    Hurricane Fly was undeniably disappointing at Cheltenham and what was most disconcerting was that afterwards Ruby Walsh said it was the first time he felt the horse had stopped giving everything.
    He’s been virtually unbeatable on home turf in his career and Cheltenham is clearly not his track, but he is getting on now and in Jezki is taking on a horse who was brilliant at Cheltenham and when winning at this meeting 12 months ago. It’s basically a toss-up, although I would always go for the younger horse in situations like this.
    Vautour was so good at Cheltenham it’s hard to see him being beaten, despite the warnings Mullins gave about his wellbeing this week. He wouldn’t be running if he wasn’t in A1 condition and I can’t see the step up to 2m4f being an issue.
    Lac Fontana is much improved but endured hard races at both Cheltenham and Aintree, so a bigger danger could be Lieutenant Colonel, who easily beat Wednesday’s winner Le Vent D’Antan last time.
    Although both those Grade 1s are fascinating, they are not great for those trying to make a few quid, and the only real chance comes in the Grade A Aon Novice Handicap Chase (4.20).
    The problem with these end-of season jumps festivals is there is no way of telling if a horse remains in peak condition. However, it has been clear all week Nicky Henderson has targeted this meeting with some of his best horses. His two runners in handicaps this week have been Cool Mcacavity, who won on the opening day, and old boy Tanks For That, who excelled himself in a good race yesterday.
    Ericht is his runner in this race and he has absolutely no chance if he performs like he did at Cheltenham last time as he was pulled up after jumping shoddily. Prior to that, he jumped brilliantly when winning at Musselburgh and on that performance and his best hurdles form, he remains well handicapped over fences.
    Obviously he will have to bounce back to form, but Art Of Logistics ran no sort of race when well fancied in the same race at Cheltenham and he ran a blinder here yesterday.
    Given how selective the Henderson has been with his runners this week, we can expect Ericht to be well primed and anything Barry Geraghty rides at present seems to be winning.
    In the same race I can’t help but suggest also backing
    top-weight Road To Riches.
    Noel Meade’s gelding finished just behind Carlingford Lough in the Drinmore in December and last time he beat yesterday’s winner Mallowney at Fairyhouse. Mallowney might well have improved for a hood but that was still a good effort and today’s 2m5f trip should be perfect.
    The icing on the cake is the booking of Ger Fox. There surely isn’t a better 7lb claimer anywhere in the world and he was brilliant when winning the Le Touche Cup yesterday.

Road To Riches
    4.20 Punchestown
    1pt win at 12-1 with bet365 and Ladbrokes

Ericht
    4.20 Punchestown
    1pt win at 10-1 with Boylesports, Ladbrokes and Paddy Power

Backed Sizing Gold at 10/1 there, guessing bet365 had that price advertised in the RP so had to lay it briefly

Willie has a decent record in that race, could be significant that Balnaslow is his only runner. Looks to be the pick of the G'town runners too although they're claiming off the top weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

The baler,balnaslow,sugar bullet, plan man, cleevsteeple,vital plot. Need me some retribution today:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

4.55 Mares Races

Anyone got any views on She's Got Grit? The jockey scored a screamer in the Guinness Chase , She's got Grit bet Orpheus Valley in her last race, alas with weight advantage. The horse, seems reliable enough jumping and has chasing experience and is at a nice weight, she is not bad at coming back from a break either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

aidankkk wrote: »
    4:20 Punchestown
    2 Points EW 16/1 The Romford Pele Ladbrokes Bet365 [/b][/i]

I fancy him too but am going to go with Powers at SP. 4 places in a 15 runner event is a pretty rare special to see.

Only bet so far today is Hurricane Fly at 6/5. I've always looked to take him on at Cheltenham but I can't see him being beat today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Does anyone know how much a taxi from Sallins/Naas train station is to Punchestown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    I fancy him too but am going to go with Powers at SP. 4 places in a 15 runner event is a pretty rare special to see.

is it really worth taking 11/1 instead of 16/1 to get the extra place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Mullaghanoe River was one of two I backed in the Irish Grand National and I thought he would have gone extremely close in that had he not come down 5 out (thought it was more him bumping into the back of the horse in front as opposed to an independent fall).

Blinkers seem to have really sweetened up the way he travels and although 2m5f may be slightly on the sharp side I think he has to be worth a bet at 12/1

Does anyone know how much a taxi from Sallins/Naas train station is to Punchestown?

About €20 - €25 I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Ian Whelan wrote: »

At 11s? Would much, much rather take the extra 5 points available with Ladbrokes then the extra place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

will be if he finishes 4th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

There is a bus during the festival to Naas.

http://www.punchestown.com/transport.asp

Backed Sizing Gold at 10/1 there, guessing bet365 had that price advertised in the RP so had to lay it briefly

Willie has a decent record in that race, could be significant that Balnaslow is his only runner. Looks to be the pick of the G'town runners too although they're claiming off the top weight
    Either they've got sizing golds rating wrong or mullanoghe rivers..they are certainly not a lb apart

There is a bus during the festival to Naas.

http://www.punchestown.com/transport.asp

15euro approx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

only1stevo wrote: »
    Yes yes yes!

11/2 now with Powers looks a nice price.

The way we were could sneak into the picture I think aswell. Watch for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Can't see Steps of Freedom out of the first 3 today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

kfallon wrote: »

Imagine if he actually won

Nuts102 wrote: »
    11/2 now with Powers looks a nice price.

That is a crazy price..Meade said before the fairyhouse race that he wasn't fully wound up but will be ready for punchestown before he ran...max bet for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

rossom wrote: »
    Mullaghanoe River was one of two I backed in the Irish Grand National and I thought he would have gone extremely close in that had he not come down 5 out (thought it was more him bumping into the back of the horse in front as opposed to an independent fall).

Blinkers seem to have really sweetened up the way he travels and although 2m5f may be slightly on the sharp side I think he has to be worth a bet at 12/1
    NR

kfallon wrote: »

There is no way Steps Of Freedom is getting in the first 3. :pac:

Steps To Freedom on the other hand has a great chance. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mighty magpie

Power Play from PP. Vatour/HF double at 9/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Power Play from PP. Vatour/HF double at 9/4

Max bet €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Moon Dice

Link to that offer please lads. Cant find it

Moon Dice wrote: »
    Link to that offer please lads. Cant find it

Get onto paddy power Twitter

The offer is gone fairly sick.

Anyone on here in the game know anything about the first race..?

The offer is gone fairly sick.

It's 2/1 now without the offer. HF out to 6/5

Sizing Gold very strong today even taking the NR into account

Took a chance on Romford I'd be raging if he won and I wasn't on. Did my nuts that day at Kempton

What's the story with the betting w/o market lads. I backed Apache Stronghold at 11/2 with the non runner he is now 7/2 is the 11/2 guaranteed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

What's the story with the betting w/o market lads. I backed Apache Stronghold at 11/2 with the non runner he is now 7/2 is the 11/2 guaranteed?
    No, your bet will be subject to a rule 4 deduction. Odds checker has the nr at 11/2 so you will lose 15c in the Euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

I said that I am going to go with Powers at SP. I am not taking the 11/1 early price. English horses generally drift a bit on course. I reckon he will go off around 12/1 which will be fine with me considering the non-runner. Will Powers still do the 4 places I wonder seeing as there are now only 14 runners?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

There was money overnight for Rosie Rebel in the first at Chepstow, but James Millman goes NAP about his dads horse in the same race, Modem with Atzeni booked.