Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

milk lorry driver acting the ****

• 01-05-2014 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

Final straw today.

If any of ye follow my posts you'll know the lad that drives the lorry for the haulier isn't pleasent.

He comes into my yard and beeps the whole way down the entrance and has no respect. He has bent numerous peers in the place and has knocked over gates and post and rail fencing has never been made pay.
    He has also written on the dairy wall which is in white PVC.

Now the last week he has started putting cow ****e on milk docket. WDF? He has no respect for any of the farmers he collects from.

I suspect it is because he has to collect milk every day but that is no excuse to rub ****e all over my milk docket
    Time to contact creamery me think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That just sounds weird, maybe he is mentally ill or just a bad person.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

The milk or mill driver? when I started reading I thought first the milk driver is trouble, now the feckin meal delivery driver is giving you grief:confused:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Don't see mine he's here at four in the morning. Understand your frustrated but I dunno whether I'd want to fall out with him or not. They are a vital link in the chain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

visatorro wrote: »
    Don't see mine he's here at four in the morning. Understand your frustrated but I dunno whether I'd want to fall out with him or not. They are a vital link in the chain

Sorry its the milk.
    He's only the driver. The owner of the lorry and his son are pure gents couldn't ask for nicer lads. Any of the farmers I've talked to said he's a very gruff lad and has never talked to any if them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

If you're going to complain, don't be on your own doing it. See if there's support from other farmers, proper support not just verbal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I can see how the likes of that would slightly bug ya, but to be bluntly honest and maybe harsh, you really shouldn't let it annoy ya, abit of sh&te on the docket isn't going to kill ya. Life is wayyy too short to let the minor details annoy ya. Instead look at the positives, at least your filling the tank enough to have it collected every day, and that the lorry is actually coming.

On the other hand, that f7cking tbc of 350 I got yesterday as a result of a combination of cockups including 1/2 emptying the tank, and the dept dragging their heals with the grant for my new tank, I could bloody end up a grand or so outa pocket ugh. But again at least I'm filling the tank, never had as much milk produced in April like this before.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I can see how the likes of that would slightly bug ya, but to be bluntly honest and maybe harsh, you really shouldn't let it annoy ya, abit of sh&te on the docket isn't going to kill ya. Life is wayyy too short to let the minor details annoy ya. Instead look at the positives, at least your filling the tank enough to have it collected every day, and that the lorry is actually coming.

On the other hand, that f7cking tbc of 350 I got yesterday as a result of a combination of cockups including 1/2 emptying the tank, and the dept dragging their heals with the grant for my new tank, I could bloody end up a grand or so outa pocket ugh. But again at least I'm filling the tank, never had as much milk produced in April like this before.

Its not just a small bit of ****e though Tim. Its the whole docket. Ye can just about read what it says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Its not just a small bit of ****e though Tim. Its the whole docket. Ye can just about read what it says

This fool obviously doesn't realise this behavior could cost him his job. We're an awful country for taking sh1t like this lying down. I'd let a lad away with knocking a fence stake or tippin a gate once, but that's all. Ring the boss and f#ck him out of it. You're the customer here.

Question: How could he accidentally cover the docket in sh1te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

ring dairies let them know, take a note of anythings he does. Sounds crazy tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Fair enough, can see your point 100%, but I stick by my previous point, unfortunately ya come across loads of them arseholes in life, and if ya let everyone of them piss ya off to this extend you spend most your life pissed off ha.

Anyways don't dry them off or remove the smell of sh1t, put them all in an envelope and post them into your co-op and ask them to decipher it for ya :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Timmaay wrote: »
    Fair enough, can see your point 100%, but I stick by my previous point, unfortunately ya come across loads of them arseholes in life, and if ya let everyone of them piss ya off to this extend you spend most your life pissed off ha.

Anyways don't dry them off or remove the smell of sh1t, put them all in an envelope and post them into your co-op and ask them to decipher it for ya :p

or just send to the bookkeeper or accountant :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

GG you need to pass this one on to Milk Manager let him deal with it

As a supplier you have no contract with milk lorry owner, Glanbia have. You should however maintain a good relationship with lorry owner. I'd suggest contacting him to sort, he will not want to lose litres over this dick.

Back in the day a driver woke me at 5am by throwing stones at my window shouting that I was to open the gate for him. I not too politely declined and he happily opened it for many years after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

As a supplier you have no contract with milk lorry owner, Glanbia have. You should however maintain a good relationship with lorry owner. I'd suggest contacting him to sort, he will not want to lose litres over this dick.

Back in the day a driver woke me at 5am by throwing stones at my window shouting that I was to open the gate for him. I not too politely declined and he happily opened it for many years after

Is it not fair to have the gate open for the lorry (once hes regular with his collections) i keep my gate open always when hes due,and never have hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

farmerjj wrote: »
    Is it not fair to have the gate open for the lorry (once hes regular with his collections) i keep my gate open always when hes due,and never have hassle.

I never leave the gate open for my lad because he's very irregular and sick of lads driving into yard when im not there. I give him a few bob at Christmas keeps him happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

who has covered the damage so far?
    Futhermore contact the areail manager and let him sort it out. 99.9% of drivers are spot on , clean and courteous.
    I had an issue of driver arriving at all hour of night which was disturbing a number of eldery widows plus it gave a licence for anyone to enter fyard 24 hr aday. Spoke with the haulage contractorand sorted out in 1 minute, now 7.30pm is close down in farmyard. Just curious where is the sh..t coming from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

OP it's your yard and some pr1ck is walking all over you.

Man up. The dog wags the tail not the other way round.

I wouldn't leave a lorry driver into yard again after he knocked gate and knowingly went to drive over it.

Still half sorry I didn't hit him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If he is deliberately smearing dung over the docket before leaving it for you, you should borrow or buy a "trail cam" and get this act on record. If you get evidence over a few days, he cannot deny it.
    At the moment, you have no proof at all that the driver is doing it. He can claim you are being racist/vindictive/whatever, and trying to lose him his job.

Thanks for the advice Lads/ladies. Rang owner if lorry who's a gent and he said he'll find out what's going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

or just send to the bookkeeper or accountant :rolleyes:

My accountant rang me one day to ask could I stop leaving bootprints on some of the receipts :D

GG I would put up a few signs saying that cameras are in action around where he is turning and in the dairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I had a meal delivery guy didnt want my business i think as he has easier nearer deliveries, anyway he pumped a ton of meal into the parlour when the bin was full one day, always complaining about the yards and i gave the lad a weightlifter belt one day as his back was at him and had to put on the pipes myself and no thanks. i gave him the road, w££ker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

moy83 wrote: »
    My accountant rang me one day to ask could I stop leaving bootprints on some of the receipts :D

I'm guilty of that, and worse :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

I heard a good one not long ago

You can't turn a driver into a nice person

But you can turn a nice person into a driver !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Back in the tiger years we had a Polska milk lorry driver near here, he would put his foot to the floor and wouldn't slow down for nothing car, beast or human. One day he ran a woman suckler farmer off the road, she's the type that keeps roaring until she'll get what she wants. Anyway she paid a visit to the owner of the lorry and the Polska wasn't seen since :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

I think you didn't act in time
    On the first incident you should have pointed out you were in charge
    But anyway too late for that now
    Damage control needed
    If you piss off driver can he get you back?
    So if your going to have to deal with driver for no of years keep that in mind
    Personally from what I have read I'd be putting in a big hit and giving lorry owner option of different driver or I'd be getting different lorry
    P's I'm beef don't understand how milk is run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

If any of ye follow my posts you'll know the lad that drives the lorry for the haulier isn't pleasent.

He comes into my yard and beeps the whole way down the entrance and has no respect. He has bent numerous peers in the place and has knocked over gates and post and rail fencing has never been made pay.
    He has also written on the dairy wall which is in white PVC.

Now the last week he has started putting cow ****e on milk docket. WDF? He has no respect for any of the farmers he collects from.

Put up a few signs saying " video recording in progress" or suchlike. If whoever pays his wages could see his behaviour then he may think twice. There are probably plenty of decent lads who would be glad of his job. Maybe tell him that, see what he says. Any drivers that call in to me are very decent, pure gentlemen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Hide in the milk tank and jump out at him and kick him in the head !! Haha , in all seriousness, report the clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Put up a few signs saying " video recording in progress" or suchlike. If whoever pays his wages could see his behaviour then he may think twice. There are probably plenty of decent lads who would be glad of his job. Maybe tell him that, see what he says. Any drivers that call in to me are very decent, pure gentlemen.

Wouldn't bother putting up signs as you want proof of him doing what he does. Would talk to lorry owner as would figure creamery would say it not their problem directly. Did you at one stage say he a non-national? Probably say he not understand sign if he type of guy he seems to be.
    Don't envy your situation. Milk tank full, yes, but you don't need that hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Wouldn't bother putting up signs as you want proof of him doing what he does.
    Covert CCTV of people at their work is a legal minefield, remember this case recently?:
    Dunnes has to pay worker €8,000 after spy camera catches her eating deli food
    If the driver here gets disciplined or dismissed on the basis of covert video 'evidence', you wouldn't know where you'd end up.
    Did you at one stage say he a non-national? Probably say he not understand sign if he type of guy he seems to be.
    [MOD]

Everyone: Can we PLEASE drop the casual xenophobia?

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Request transfer to strathroy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Would people who want their gates opened and closed by milk lorry drivers not consider putting an electric gate up and giving the driver a fob for it.
    A little bit of consideration for other people goes a long way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

rangler1 wrote: »
    Would people who want their gates opened and closed by milk lorries not consider putting an electric gate up and giving the driver a fob for it.

Is that realistic? Milk lorry with 30 fobs on the dashboard. Good exercise for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

My father drove an artic lorry like that for years. I remember hearing him complaining about some other drivers and how they were just plain reckless. You are paying for the service so why put up with it.
    Ring his boss, simple as that. Be nice about it, but just explain that it has being going on for a while now and you want it to end. Life is too short.

munkus wrote: »
    Is that realistic? Milk lorry with 30 fobs on the dashboard. Good exercise for them.

So much for consideration !!!!!!
    Is getting up and down off the lorry 60 times fair either, there has to be some way in 2014 that one handpiece would work 30 gates or that the sensor would recognise the lorry and let it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

So much for consideration !!!!!!
    Is getting up and down off the lorry 60 times fair either, there has to be some way in 2014 that one handpiece would work 30 gates or that the sensor would recognise the lorry and let it in

This handpiece would be very handy for nomadic salesmen too........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

GG. Have you ever spoke to anyone about him? Like milk manager (as suggested) or his bosses?

Have you tried a polite conversation with him first? For few times. Try to get to know him? Talk about football the weather etc! Even just a few broken words of English . Offer him a cup of tea/coffee. Use reverse psychology on him see if he responds, lock away your own frustration/anger/hate for a month. See what happens?

cjpm wrote: »
    This handpiece would be very handy for nomadic salesmen too........

I can't see a gate that a lorry driver can open being inaccessible to a ''nomadic salesman'' either.
    There's no advantage/disadvantage in security to either system, I could get/drive into most famyards round here without even going near the front gates.
    It's like people putting their letter boxes at the bottom of the front doors....as long as they don't have to stoop for the hundredth time

is it only in your yard he does this, what about the other people on the run?

GG. Have you ever spoke to anyone about him? Like milk manager (as suggested) or his bosses?

Have you tried a polite conversation with him first? For few times. Try to get to know him? Talk about football the weather etc! Even just a few broken words of English . Offer him a cup of tea/coffee. Use reverse psychology on him see if he responds, lock away your own frustration/anger/hate for a month. See what happens?

Yep have rang boss numerous times. Last year this lad kept leaving tanks in after taking milk so tank would be frozen.
    I'm not always around when he comes but when I am I always say hello and all he does is look at me so I gave up thay

whelan2 wrote: »
    is it only in your yard he does this, what about the other people on the run?

Not sure tbh. I think his big gripe us because he has to collect me every day

:confused::confused: sure work is work. The milkman comes here at 4am, i havent spoken to him in years, i leave out an envelope for him at christmas and we are both happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Yep have rang boss numerous times. Last year this lad kept leaving tanks in after taking milk so tank would be frozen.
    I'm not always around when he comes but when I am I always say hello and all he does is look at me so I gave up thay

What does the boss say when you speak to him??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Would people who want their gates opened and closed by milk lorry drivers not consider putting an electric gate up and giving the driver a fob for it.

Oh the dream a electric gate!! But 1st in line would be finish the sheds put in more slurry storage then sort the roadways, upgrade the wiring around the sheds and upgrade some older machinery and then put in my 'electric gates' so I can make my lorry drivers life easier:rolleyes:

C0N0R wrote: »
    What does the boss say when you speak to him??

Says he'll speak to him and it always us sorted out. Something new every year

I wonder will milk processors at home ever go the way things are out here, no reversing for truck drivers and dedicated tanker tracks.

Really? I hope not. I'll have to knock a few sheds so. Don't think that will happen as 90% of dairy farms that will supplying milk after 2015 will be existing ones and won't be able to lay out a proper yard like you can in NZ with new conversions

I don't think it would be possible for them to go that extreme but will they ever insist gates have to be left open stuff like that?

Its usually open for him. Only on a very rare occasion when no one is around is it closed.
    I will admit though the yard entrance is not great it has a few pot holes and isn't very level. That could be bugging him also

Its usually open for him. Only on a very rare occasion when no one is around is it closed.
    I will admit though the yard entrance is not great it has a few pot holes and isn't very level. That could be bugging him also

Fair enough, he should be decent enough to mention it to you if it's bugging him that much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Or he could get a job with Nolans, on a long route, if he is fed up hopping up and down from the cab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Truck drivers over here as Conor said army aloud reverce but also they are not liable for any damage caused to any equipment pipes hoses etc that are left in there way , they will drive over anything that's in their way have herd of them hitting motorbikes.