Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

OSI wrote: »
    I nearly put money on them going missing if it's with DPD :p

Didn't want to say that but two of my wheels showed up a week after the first two:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I've been on hold with the department of transport for the last 20 minutes...

*music*....all our agents are still busy, please hold....*music*

Ahhhhhh!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Annnnnnnnnddddddddddddddddddddddddd
    09:25 1602 Athlone (IE) Out for delivery

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I've been on hold with the department of transport for the last 20 minutes...

*music*....all our agents are still busy, please hold....*music*

Ahhhhhh!

If you wish to request a call back, please press 1 now...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Another question lads, have to send back the old steering wheel to the UK? It's 2kgs in weight, anyone have any ideas for couriers that will get it there?

Check out parcel motel man!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

YbFocus wrote: »
    Check out parcel motel man!

Would work out at 16 euro to send the wheel to the uk but the weight is capped at 10 kg.
    if parcel motel isn't an option due to the weight restriction, try parcel2go

Edit: And I'm the numpty who thought it was old wheels he was sending back. Parcelmotel for that size will probably be either 14-15 euro.

And delivery was attempted, and there was no one there...damn! Will have to get someone to collect them tomorrow. At least I'll have them for the weekend, should have it all ready to go by the weekend :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Annnnnnnnnddddddddddddddddddddddddd

Lucky git, fcuk dpd is all I can say my front two tyres are now back in Oldbury some half wit sent them to Edinburgh by mistake and the rear two are still in fecking Germany.

For the day that's in it lads..
    32.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Lads,would there be a major difference between a 2.0 2009 passat highline with 110bhp and 140bhp?

About 30bhp :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Lads,would there be a major difference between a 2.0 2009 passat highline with 110bhp and 140bhp?

110 bhp version weighs 1393kg, does 0-100 km/h in 11.7 seconds, has top speed of 198 km/h and has 250 nm of torque.
    140 bhp version weighs 1449kg, does 0-100 km/h in 9.8 seconds, has top speed of 206 km/h and has 320 nm of torque.

110 bhp version average fuel consumption: 4.9L / 100KM
    140 bhp version average fuel consumption: 6.0L / 100KM

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

About 30bhp :pac:

Are ya serious, wow.. :pac:

I'm sorry :)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

32.jpg

Feck off with that, it's me birthday. Clearly more important to remember :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

No love for Ratzenberger?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

GvidoR wrote: »
    110 bhp version weighs 1393kg, does 0-100 km/h in 11.7 seconds, has top speed of 198 km/h and has 250 nm of torque.
    140 bhp version weighs 1449kg, does 0-100 km/h in 9.8 seconds, has top speed of 206 km/h and has 320 nm of torque.

110 bhp version average fuel consumption: 4.9L / 100KM
    140 bhp version average fuel consumption: 6.0L / 100KM

Photographic memory or C&P from google? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Big Nasty wrote: »

10913c7330efc5c56f2476fc5f475b510ebe1cce958e1a06cecdf5431c77ccb2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Big Nasty wrote: »

Research, and not exactly c+p, I used my own words. :pac:

Google itself has no information, and I doubt anyone can remember all those numbers. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Feck off with that, it's me birthday. Clearly more important to remember :D

6a0120a51d52b4970b01310fce78e1970c-800wi

• Registered Users Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭ofcork

Saw a photo on the garda fb last night,car seized in cork nct out 2 years,tax out over 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Who wants a convertible with premium tyres all round, good overall condition, new NCT till June 2015 and tax till June.

Car has to go the price is 650 and its a blue MGF 1.6.

Sorry for cross posting this but I've really let a friend down on this and it needs to go tonight.

I wuv my Rav4... but another car has caught my eye.

Was wondering if ye gents could help me figure something out. Not a big car person in general, always considered the Rav4 (Mark II) to be the best looking car on the road. Nothing else really caught my eye (except the Hilux, but it's completely impractical nature makes it a bit undesirable to me..).

But recently, despite my fondness for jeeps, SUVs, etc. an Audi A4 has caught my eye (which is odd as it's about as far removed from my general 'taste' in cars as you can get).

Here's the exact one that has taken my interest:

00927C904E294C0F98AD4324CA18C679-0000333410-0003553691-01024L-BE6EB1F06A374354AED1049576A61F10.jpg

Click here for full size:

http://photos5.pix.ie/00/92/00927C904E294C0F98AD4324CA18C679-0000333410-0003553691-02592L-3AFB19566B4F4741A214E2366E4E8D18.jpg

Motorcheck says it's a "2008 Audi A4 2.0 TDI 143"

Thing is, my next door neighbours have a black 2008 Audi A4 and it's never really taken my interest at all. Even after realising they're both the same car, I took an extended look at the neighbours one and ultimately thought 'meh'.

So, I'm assuming there are some mods or such on the one in the picture that help make it stand out a little bit more? If so, can anyone more Audi-knowledgeable point them out to me? I can see the black visor on the windscreen (which would annoy me, personally) but I'm not sure what else is different on it, if anything at all (couldnt be just the visor affecting my fondness for it, as i generally think they look a bit silly, anyway?).

Anyone clued in enough to know?

Average price, that I can see of an 08 A4 seems to be in and around 10k, which seems relatively reasonable, I suppose (presuming Audi are a premium brand, and the interior is well laid out and comfortable, etc.).

Cheers :)

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Would think its an S Line or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ahh the TDI RS4 Speciale

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would think its an S Line or something.
    Ahh the TDI RS4 Speciale

I don't know what either of those things mean. :o

EDIT: I googled 2008 Audi A4 S line and still not as good looking, from what I can see?

Is it some kinda super duper edition or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Ahh the TDI RS4 Speciale

Limited Ingolstadt Edition :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I see you've discovered my favorite site for ogling classic americana!

I'd be trying to get a rust free example, especially if buying from the UK as they suffer a lot more with rust over there/