Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jap 1.6's are way more fun than their euro counterparts. Other than maybe the polo going or such.

Unless you go for something along the lines of a MK2 Golf GTI. You can get one of those under a grand as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

GvidoR wrote: »
    Unless you go for something along the lines of a MK2 Golf GTI. You can get one of those under a grand as well.

MK2 GTI 8v is nothing special at all.

16v goes for much €€€.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

What I want is a good looking, not a tiny car, good mpg, and not depressing to drive. I'll be using it about 3 days p/w, rest will be in the Mondeo. Max 3k. Has to be something sensible tbh, work constraints and the likes.... I am quaer fussy though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Jaysus, told my dad about my 1998 735i idea...

"Why get an older car? It's just going to be more unreliable"
    "No point in getting a car where the tax is almost as expensive"
    "You'll get terrible MPG".

Same man who suggested a 645ci before :P

What I want is a good looking, not a tiny car, good mpg, and not depressing to drive. I'll be using it about 3 days p/w, rest will be in the Mondeo. Max 3k. Has to be something sensible tbh, work constraints and the likes.... I am quaer fussy though!!

There are two Corolla SR's on Donedeal at the moment that I reckon are worth a look. They're a respectable looking car, willl return decent MPG, reliable, good to drive etc etc. Both in Cork though, a fair way to travel for you I suppose.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla/7227013

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/corolla-sr-1-6-vvti/6815673

Personally I like the second one better.

Anyway, I can sense people are getting sick of this now :p

We'll leave things there so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-toyota-corolla-t-sport/6834191

Corolla T-Sport? 1.8 Tax but insurance is meant to be very good on these.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-toyota-corolla-t-sport/6834191

Corolla T-Sport? 1.8 Tax but insurance is meant to be very good on these.

That actually looks fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Kaiser D wrote: »
    That actually looks fantastic.

Looks to be sold be a Dealer too so you have some comeback if anything goes wrong.

EDIT* Just realised it's been up for 70 ish days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Oops, it was Foxhole Norman who is looking for an E39 as far as I know.

How about a VW 6N2 Polo GTI? :)
    Get a Volkswagen and you'll be happy, trust me. :P

So was that a "no" on the 6N2 GTI?
    1.6 / 1.8 MK4 Golf
    1.6 / 1.8 Bora
    1.6 / 1.8 Audi A3
    1.6 / 1.8 Audi A4
    1.4 Arosa
    1.6 Lupo GTI

Jaysis lads i didn't realise this was a vw forum all of a sudden :confused:

I must be in the wrong place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's more a Toyota, VW, Skoda and occasional BMW forum...

Y'know. Fitting the usual mix of cars out on Irish roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

This is a silver forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

shame about the DL reg plate though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ha no! Not sure if I even need another diesel, half debating going for a 1.4 - 1.6 petrol or something.....

But if you were only looking at golf tdi 130bhp and none other. Then how suddenly are you looking at 1.6 petrol focuses. If you don't need the diesel then why not look at a 1.6 petrol golf which would surly be substantially cheaper to buy. I don't understand how it's all or nothing with the golf. Or maybe you just prefer the focus which is fine too. At least you avoided that lemon of a golf that was clearly seriously damaged at some stage. A user on here who had a colt recently got a 1.6 golf mk4 can't think of his name though.

Anyway best of luck with the car search :) I have to say I hate buying a new car in the fact no matter how much money you have to spend the car you really want is out of budget and just the general searching and trying to get to look at a car before it is sold I suppose a certain amount of it is luck to though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Petrols tend to be cheaper to buy. If the tax is reasonably similar, it'll take a long time to make up the difference in cost in diesel fuel savings. They're also quieter and nicer, and petrol smells better.

Jaysis lads i didn't realise this was a vw forum all of a sudden :confused:

I must be in the wrong place

I never had so many of my own quotes in one post before. I feel so honoured. :pac:

Also, I saw 142 plate car on the way home today. :eek:

I never had so many of my own quotes in one post before. I feel so honoured. :pac:

Also, I saw 142 plate car on the way home today. :eek:

Yeah, but tbh you were recommending things just because they were VAG and you like them.

noccy's looking for something thats sporty-ish, a 1.6 Audi A4 is anything but and not in the same league as a 130 BHP GT TDI.

Okay, sorry... won't happen again. Unless the other person does want a VAG car. :P
    How about these then...

Mivec Mirage?
    Honda Beat?
    Suzuki Cappuccino?
    Daihatsu Mira?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Since when are any of those considered "good looking", unless you're stevie wonder.

Bpmull wrote: »
    But if you were only looking at golf tdi 130bhp and none other. Then how suddenly are you looking at 1.6 petrol focuses. If you don't need the diesel then why not look at a 1.6 petrol golf which would surly be substantially cheaper to buy. I don't understand how it's all or nothing with the golf. Or maybe you just prefer the focus which is fine too. At least you avoided that lemon of a golf that was clearly seriously damaged at some stage. A user on here who had a colt recently got a 1.6 golf mk4 can't think of his name though.

Anyway best of luck with the car search :) I have to say I hate buying a new car in the fact no matter how much money you have to spend the car you really want is out of budget and just the general searching and trying to get to look at a car before it is sold I suppose a certain amount of it is luck to though.

I'm kind of at the mileage where that both petrol or diesel would work for me tbh. Already having a diesel, don't know whether to leave it there or not. I started too high (with the 130 gti, it's just that it happened that it was close to me), I thought that the 1.6 wasn't great in the golf. I'm kind of all over the place atm, bear with me :pac:
    Okay, sorry... won't happen again. Unless the other person does want a VAG car. :P
    How about these then...

Mivec Mirage?
    Honda Beat?
    Suzuki Cappuccino?
    Daihatsu Mira?

Wahey, now we're talking! I'm by no means tied to a VAG car btw. It's going to be a second car, no need for it to be anything great! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Since when are any of those considered "good looking", unless you're stevie wonder.

Don't beat on the cappuccino

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Excellent series of short documentaries on old Mercs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Sobanek wrote: »

Calling dord!!

I went to park wesht and got me a gaming chair :cool: cya lads gta v has to be played now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Still waiting for the pc release :(.

The new car updates are class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Sobanek wrote: »

Calling dord!!

I went to park wesht and got me a gaming chair :cool: cya lads gta v has to be played now :pac:

Seen some of those already but not that one. :)

Decided to finally get back to the paintwork on the car. Not as bad as I thought (in places), but I'll get there. Once I'm fairly happy I'll throw it through the NCT and say goodbye. :D

seeFSuz.png

That range... :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,748 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Why the confusion?

The Anniversary came in TDI format.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Why the confusion?

The Anniversary came in TDI format.

1.9 TDI = GTI ?