Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teacher stabbed to death by student in Leeds

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

prayers for her family - and his.

not long since the school stabbings in the us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

It's a sick and dangerous world we're living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Poor women, you could expect it being mugged on a street, but a teacher at work in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Tragic.
    Her family will be absolutely shocked. Just something you never expect to happen at a school.

In my school I remember a fight that broke out where one of the students produced a knife and had if up against the others lads neck and one of the older teachers had to get involved to convince him to put the knife down. Dramatic stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

See it on Sky News here now.
    Tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

It will have to get like the US with security guards at entrance with metal detector scanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Metal detectors soon, just like US schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Sign of the times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

I know of a few schools in London that have metal detectors already, this is becoming familiar in some areas. I taught in UK for a few years before the sheer madness of it all convinced me that teaching was in fact NOT for me. Everyday like a battle ground, violence, threats, attitude - and that was just the parents. Quit teaching and have never looked back - its really not 'all that' as a profession!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

A 15 year old me didn't have the balls to give cheek to a teacher. To think a young lad could do that to a teacher...

An awful tragedy that will have huge consequences, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Jesus Christ, she was 61.

"Schoolchildren and former pupils have paid tribute to the 61-year-old teacher, who has been named locally and on social media as Anne Maguire. "

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/472861/Teacher-dies-after-being-stabbed-at-Corpus-Christi-Catholic-College-in-Leeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

These kids have no respect and the police can't even control them.

Very very sad and my sincere condolences to the woman's family.

Hope he rots in jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

They have to start punishing parents for raiseing animals.

roryc wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, she was 61.

"Schoolchildren and former pupils have paid tribute to the 61-year-old teacher, who has been named locally and on social media as Anne Maguire. "

"Miss Maguire taught Spanish and Religious Education at the school. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

This is insane.

If a teacher was attacked by a student with a knife and if the teacher defended themselves physically they could still be sacked and/or sued.

Considering this could become a lot more common, I do think regulation should be introduced to protect teachers rights to self defense. I wonder how long before this is happening in Ireland?

Also, I wonder what kind of environment was this teen raised in? Social services really ought to get any other kids out of that household until the parents are evaluated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Pretty soon it will happen in Ireland, it's this PC BULLSHÍT that the poor kids are "victims" ... as allready said had the teacher defended herself and hit the kid before he could stab her, she'd be sacked,sued and fined or maybe in the worst case gone to prison.

Meanwhile the little toerag and his family will continue to live on social benefits - tax payers money being spent wisely.

Disgusting society the UK is and Ireland's becoming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

the_monkey wrote: »
    Pretty soon it will happen in Ireland, it's this PC BULLSHÍT that the poor kids are "victims" ... as allready said had the teacher defended herself and hit the kid before he could stab her, she'd be sacked,sued and fined or maybe in the worst case gone to prison.

Anyone who seriously thinks a teacher would be fired for defending themselves against a knife attack from a student are obviously talking complete and utter shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Disgusting society the UK is and Ireland's becoming.

Yeah it's so terrible hundreds of Irish people move here every week. I know this is an awful incident, but it's a bit silly to write off an entire country over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Fcukin little scumbag

• Looks like she started picking on the wrong kid. She mustn't have known the decent kids from the animals. During my time the animals were left do whatever the hell they wanted. Heck in my school one teacher's son had a knife!

No doubt this will be seized upon teachers everywhere to empower themselves. No one deserves to be stabbed but the idea that the teachers are angels is also wrong. I came across many ****e, bullying teachers. I think the word is "lunatics"! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Can't see anything about motive. Anyone read anything anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah... none of those things would have happened.
    Meanwhile the little toerag and his family will continue to live on social benefits - tax payers money being spent wisely.

Who says his family were on benefits?

On topic, it's absolutely awful. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Looks like she started picking on the wrong kid. She mustn't have known the decent kids from the animals. During my time the animals were left do whatever the hell they wanted. Heck in my school one teacher's son had a knife!

No doubt this will be seized upon teachers everywhere to empower themselves. No one deserves to be stabbed but the idea that the teachers are angels is also wrong. I came across many ****e, bullying teachers. I think the word is "lunatics"! :D

Jaysus, there is so much wrong with this post I just don't know where to start.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's dreadful :(

Her pupils who witnessed it must be in shock

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Pa2k

Has to have been on something or mentally unstable, who in there right mind would do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I'm not even sure where tackling this issue could begin. I come from what is considered quite a rough place (southern Italy) and there were indeed more than a bunch of "up to no good" characters in the schools I attended.
    Bullying was the order of the day, some guys (and girls too) seemed to simply go to school to pick up a different fight each day and possession of switchblade knives was definitely not unheard of.

And yet while there were brawls and vandalizing, events of a comparable gravity to the Leeds' ones were extremely rare, mostly because even the most pig-headed, p1sscup of a child/teenager knew they'd be in a cr@pload of trouble, should they do something THAT stupid.

Today, the entitled shower of cnuts that these parents are would defend their sociopath scum of a child, no matter what. Stay tuned for the description of this 15 years old pile of fecal matter as a "quiet guy" and "loving child" start to surface, if they don't go full blown into the "poor troubled child" sob story, I kid you not. The fact that he's 15 also means there are chances he'll just walk and keep wasting precious oxygen that could be devoted to better and more relevant uses - firing up a barbecue, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Pretty soon it will happen in Ireland, it's this PC BULLSHÍT that the poor kids are "victims" ... as allready said had the teacher defended herself and hit the kid before he could stab her, she'd be sacked,sued and fined or maybe in the worst case gone to prison..

You'll be able to refer us to that law, I trust?
    Meanwhile the little toerag and his family will continue to live on social benefits - tax payers money being spent wisely..

How do you know they are on "social benefits"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I have to say that as a teacher, hearing this kind of thing terrifies me. I'm very lucky to teach in a lovely all girls secondary school where I would sincerely hope nothing like this would ever happen, but I suppose you never know.

I've taught in a few other schools though where I've had a number of male students I refused to ever work with one-on-one without another pupil or teacher present because I was genuinely a bit scared, or at the very least wary of them. And I can tell you now, a number of them were from well-off families, even some in a private school I taught in. Social background does not always have a part to play in deciding what kind of people commit this kind of thing.

My sympathies to this lady's family, friends, colleagues and students. I can't even begin to imagine the horror of having to deal with such an event in a school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

it's this PC BULLSHÍT
    Do you even know what PC stands for? I'll give you a hint; it's got nothing to do with not being able to defend yourself when someone tries to stab you.

There's a Stewart Lee video that explains what PC isn't much better than I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

So Sad. So Sad. What more can you say.

Meangadh wrote: »
    I have to say that as a teacher, hearing this kind of thing terrifies me. I'm very lucky to teach in a lovely all girls secondary school where I would sincerely hope nothing like this would ever happen, but I suppose you never know.

I've taught in a few other schools though where I've had a number of male students I refused to ever work with one-on-one without another pupil or teacher present because I was genuinely a bit scared, or at the very least wary of them. And I can tell you now, a number of them were from well-off families, even some in a private school I taught in. Social background does not always have a part to play in deciding what kind of people commit this kind of thing.

My sympathies to this lady's family, friends, colleagues and students. I can't even begin to imagine the horror of having to deal with such an event in a school.

I wouldn't be able to do teaching for love nor money in this current society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

No Pants wrote: »
    Do you even know what PC stands for? I'll give you a hint; it's got nothing to do with not being able to defend yourself when someone tries to stab you.

There's a Stewart Lee video that explains what PC isn't much better than I can.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHLnf5H4soU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

"School will continue to operate whilst the investigation continues".

What the hell? A teacher just got murdered and you have the decency to keep the school running? Close the school and send the kids home for the week for christ sake. Everyone in that school experienced a serious traumatic incident. Nobody could be fit to learn or teach after that.

Other than that, it's awful on what happened and I hope the bastárd gets life for it.

Looks like she started picking on the wrong kid. She mustn't have known the decent kids from the animals. During my time the animals were left do whatever the hell they wanted. Heck in my school one teacher's son had a knife!

Going by some comments on Twitter it sounds like she may have tried to stop him stabbing another kid. But please, don't let that get in the way of your uneducated rant about how it was probably her own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭thimble

Good grief. When did schools get so dangerous? Nobody would have contemplated the possibility of such a thing when I was at school - and that's not so long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

This makes me weep:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

porsche959 wrote: »
    Actually, no. It's very good, but this is the one I was looking for.

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    "School will continue to operate whilst the investigation continues".

What the hell? A teacher just got murdered and you have the decency to keep the school running? Close the school and send the kids home for the week for christ sake. Everyone in that school experienced a serious traumatic incident. Nobody could be fit to learn or teach after that.

Other than that, it's awful on what happened and I hope the bastárd gets life for it.

If this tragedy started out as one student trying to attack another, it may be safer to have all children in school where there will be a police presence and counselling service.

It's quite possible that tensions between different groups of kids could erupt again if they are at home and/or hanging out without supervision. Probably best to keep an eye on everything in the same place.

RIP

Sounds like something the person who murdered her would come up with

May she rest in peace, poor woman.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Wow, classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Pretty sure nothing like this has ever happened in Ireland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-27193638
    There were times it seemed possible in my school!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

very sad

This article sheds some new light on it. Not the 'social benefits' kid most would have expected. Stabbed several times in the back and neck, seems like he has a few screws loose to do that to a 61 year old female school teacher.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/10794504/Leeds-teacher-murder-boy-15-in-custody-after-Anne-Maguire-stabbed-to-death.html

"The boy in custody comes from a middle-class family in the Halton area of Leeds. His mother is a human resources director and his father is a civil servant. "

This article sheds some new light on it. Not the 'social benefits' kid most would have expected. Stabbed several times in the back and neck, seems like he has a few screws loose to do that to a 61 year old female school teacher.

"The boy in custody comes from a middle-class family in the Halton area of Leeds. His mother is a human resources director and his father is a civil servant. "

His mother is a HR director. No wonder he stabbed someone. Mitigating circumstances, if ever there was any.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/10794504/Leeds-teacher-murder-boy-15-in-custody-after-Anne-Maguire-stabbed-to-death.html

His parents had recently split up, I'd half wonder given the profile of the murdered lady, if she hadn't tried to help him, and he just cracked if that makes any sense?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    I'm not even sure where tackling this issue could begin. I come from what is considered quite a rough place (southern Italy) and there were indeed more than a bunch of "up to no good" characters in the schools I attended.
    Bullying was the order of the day, some guys (and girls too) seemed to simply go to school to pick up a different fight each day and possession of switchblade knives was definitely not unheard of.

And yet while there were brawls and vandalizing, events of a comparable gravity to the Leeds' ones were extremely rare, mostly because even the most pig-headed, p1sscup of a child/teenager knew they'd be in a cr@pload of trouble, should they do something THAT stupid.

Today, the entitled shower of cnuts that these parents are would defend their sociopath scum of a child, no matter what. Stay tuned for the description of this 15 years old pile of fecal matter as a "quiet guy" and "loving child" start to surface, if they don't go full blown into the "poor troubled child" sob story, I kid you not. The fact that he's 15 also means there are chances he'll just walk and keep wasting precious oxygen that could be devoted to better and more relevant uses - firing up a barbecue, for example.

WTF? He stabbed his teacher to death. I'm sure he was a very troubled child with mental health issues. It has been reported that he was on anti-depressants and was a loner. Similar to the profile of many of the kids who have committed American school massacres - white, middle class, misunderstood, depressed male. I don't know why people automatically assumed the kid was from a family on benefits or a gang member. Sounds like he just snapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

I grew up in Leeds and went to Corpus Christi.

I remember Mrs Maguire,she was a lovely person and a very very good teacher.

This is shocking news.

R.I.P Mrs Maguire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Olive8585 wrote: »
    WTF? He stabbed his teacher to death. I'm sure he was a very troubled child with mental health issues. It has been reported that he was on anti-depressants and was a loner. Similar to the profile of many of the kids who have committed American school massacres - white, middle class, misunderstood, depressed male. I don't know why people automatically assumed the kid was from a family on benefits or a gang member. Sounds like he just snapped.

Of course, if he's mentally ill we should cut him some slack. Afterall, he "only" stabbed a teacher to the death, it's not like he murdered somebody.

That's exactly the kind of cancerous attitude I'm talking about.