Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the best comedy catchphrase you've heard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Didn't mean to kill the thread.:pac: Not so much his catchphrases, but Tommy Cooper's laugh always had me in stitches. Not like that, like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Didn't mean to kill the thread.:pac: Not so much his catchphrases, but Tommy Cooper's laugh always had me in stitches. Not like that, like this.

Was renowned for being tight as ducks hole.

Heard a story about him giving a taxi driver a tea bag once and saying 'Have a drink on me'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

"This time next year Rodney, we'll be millionaires!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

If it dont fit dont force it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

FUGG KEW!!

From the legendary Frank Garrett.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

'The questions didn't suit you' - Larry Gogan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Where's me washboard?

We were in stitches back in the day!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

His name was Dave. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Hairy Japanese Bastards has to be up there tbh.

You've strayed out of the porn thread again Banj. Come off it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 FlusterCluck

Kenny Everett: "It's all done in the best POSSIBLE taste" is a classic for me.

even after 30 years on, it still brings a laugh.

Does anything equal/top this one?

Never found that in the slightest bit amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

"Dont PANIC" "they don't like it up em"
    Dad's Army, brilliant.

Never found that in the slightest bit amusing.

That or kenny himself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I didn't get where I am today by posting sexually suggestive clips of Mr. Chips.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    I didn't get where I am today by posting sexually suggestive clips of Mr. Chips.
    Great!
    Super!

That or kenny himself..

I only used to watch that show to catch a glimpse of Cleo Rocca's chest. All the sketches were crap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I quite honestly psych myself up for something difficult/ likely to fail by repeating "he who dares, wins!" in my head :pac:

Anywho, Jurassic Park! and Back of the Net! are surely up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Czarcasm wrote: »

The guy that does the voice of that pig has "That's all folks!" as his epitaph. Always thought it was kinda sad but in a nice way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

The guy that does the voice of that pig has "That's all folks!" as his epitaph. Always thought it was kinda sad but in a nice way.

I think I'm going to get "Needless to say, I had the last laugh" having read this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

One bullet in the back of the head..... Bang bang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

"So it's goodnight from me..."

"...and it's goodnight from him"

is the only catchphrase that ever struck me as actually being funny in itself.

How can catchphrases be funny more than once anyway?

"What you talkin' about Willis?" was funny once or twice in Different Strokes...then it just became overdone and contrived.

The only repeated catchphrase that I ever found funny over and over was "I'll get my coat" from the Fast Show. The guy who said it delivered it with great skill and genuinely made himself look like a right awkward clown. He was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Nice one centurian..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

I think people are posting one-liners here, not catchphrases. Catchphrase is something a character delivers over and over. The Simpson's is full of them.

Thread Police Over and Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Frankie Boyle on Mock the Week referring to the queen "I'm now so old that my pussy is haunted."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

3rdDegree wrote: »
    I think people are posting one-liners here, not catchphrases. Catchphrase is something a character delivers over and over. The Simpson's is full of them.

Thread Police Over and Out!

Are you 'avin a laugh....Is 'e avin a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭duffalosoldier

"Its close but its not right"

Not meant to be funny im sure but its used every day in our office...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Surely you can't be serious.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Hooked

Surely you can't be serious.

I am... And don't call me Shirley!

What's that show called with the dorky lad from the inbetweeners in it? The mam kept saying 'shït on it' when things went wrong.

Cracked me up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

'You stupid boy'
    'Are you sure thats wise sir?'
    'They don't like the cold steel sir, no they don't like it up em'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

He's not the messiah he's a very naughty boy.

I didn't do it, nobody saw me do it, you can't prove anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I'm Ed Winchester.

Arse.

I was very, very drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

"I don't believe it!".

Just brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭bnt

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Great!
    Super!

Smashing!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Drink! Arse! Girls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well , here's another nice mess you've gotten me into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

"Okey-doke" - Bill O'Herlihy

"I'm Listening" - Dr. Frasier Crane

"... And it's live!" - Martin Tyler

"D'oh!!!" - Homer Simpson

"I am vengeance... I am the night... I am Batman!" - Batman

"Say what you see! If you see it, say it!" - Roy Walker

"Our survey said:..." - Les Dennis

"Use the force, Luke" - Obi-Wan Kenobi

"Is that your final answer?" - Chris Tarrant

"That's Blockbusters!" - Bob Holness

"DRINK! FECK! ARSE! GIRLS!" - Fr. Jack Hackett

"That would be an ecumenical matter!" - Fr. Jack Hackett

"The money was just resting in my account!" - Bertie Ahern Fr. Ted Crilly

"I'll Be Back!" - The Terminator

"Giggety giggety goo!" - Glenn Quagmire

"Hey hey!!!" - Krusty The Klown

"And on that bombshell..." - Jeremy Clarkson

"Bond. James Bond." - (fairly obviously) James Bond

"Oh behave!!!" - Austin Powers

"Groovy, baby. Yeah!" - Austin Powers

"One million dollars!!!" - Dr. Evil

EDIT: Sorry, misread the title and thought it was just general catchphrases, not just comedy ones!!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

"I have a cunning plan"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Are I Mad

D'unbelievables, "Jesus, lads ye can't be doin that"
    "blatent abandonmentness of cars"
    "PJ will have de buuk out"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,701 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Tabnabs wrote: »

Just thinking the same.
    That show was replete with catchphrase awesomeness.

"I found an original copy of the Bible whilst cleaning out the garage the other day, which was nice"
    And then they'd undermine it,
    "And so the police found the knife, with my bloody fingerprints on it, which was unfortunate "

Favourites were Paula Fish and Scorchio! and Swiss Toni and Selling a car is a lot like making love to a beautiful woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

can't believe no one has posted this yet.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

scorchio

I have a cunning plan! - Baldrick

The end was really sad though. After four or five years watching my favourite programme I had tears watching the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Lapin wrote: »
    His name was Dave. :mad:

We will call him Rodney, after Dave :D