Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are election leaflets exempt from "No Junk Mail" signs?

• 24-04-2014 9:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭

Wrecks my head. I'm not giving a preference to anyone who ignores it.
    Tagged:

I actually don't think the "No Junk Mail" signs have much of a statutory backing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Attach a shredder to the inside of the letter box for the coming weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

i have a no junk mail sign to stop the millions of pizza flyers and stupid unsolicited an post/centra/supervalu/dunnes mail i used get most days of the year i wouldn't call election material junk though...

if i am voting id like to know who for and what for,

if you don't want political material just say so on a hand made sign for the next 3 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Addressed letters only. I don't answer the door to stingers. One salesman rapped on my sitting room window. He didn't get the subtle hint. So I spelled it out to him. Don't get started on the Alive! Newspaper, caught them shoving their paper in my letter box and I opening the door and advised never to darken my door again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Are election leaflets exempt from "No Junk Mail" signs?

In short YES because the wishes of the ''little people'' are of no consequence to these very important people, sure how else would you be able to find out about all the great things they have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pick them up and put them in the bin...everyone wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

efb wrote: »
    Addressed letters only. I don't answer the door to stingers. One salesman rapped on my sitting room window. He didn't get the subtle hint. So I spelled it out to him. Don't get started on the Alive! Newspaper, caught them shoving their paper in my letter box and I opening the door and advised never to darken my door again.

Ah Alive! is a great non judgemental read for any good God fearin Southern bible basher. What's not to like about it?

kneemos wrote: »

how bout, don't put them in my letterbox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Including the local politician with a stake in the local recycling company. :cool:

Ah Alive! is a great non judgemental read for any good God fearin Southern bible basher. What's not to like about it?

I made the mistake of bringing it up to the bathroom for a little light reading about a year ago. I'm still constipated. :D Mad auld b*stards!!!!

sopretty wrote: »
    I made the mistake of bringing it up to the bathroom for a little light reading about a year ago. I'm still constipated. :D Mad auld b*stards!!!!

John Waters should write for them!

Oh he wouldn't hold a candle to this (I was about to say sh*t until I remembered that they constipate me. I think the Lord himself condemned me to constimipations for swearing while reading a holy paper).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Do 'no junk mail' signs actually work?
    i would think it would stop some, but not every git.

It works for my postman. I used to get a barrage of Lidl/Aldi/Dunnes/Supervalu leaflets in the door weekly. Along with whatever other sh*te was doing the rounds.

Now the postman only throws the leaflets in if I have actual post. I let him away with that. If I catch him in the act though.......... lol.

Also on the plus side, I've no takeaway menus being flung in. So my diet is benefiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I have a Staffordshire-bull terrier. He appears to do the trick. No junk mail at all - even the postman delivers American style -fling..

I get 99% less cr@p thanks to my sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

sopretty wrote: »
    It works for my postman. I used to get a barrage of Lidl/Aldi/Dunnes/Supervalu leaflets in the door weekly. Along with whatever other sh*te was doing the rounds.

Now the postman only throws the leaflets in if I have actual post. I let him away with that. If I catch him in the act though.......... lol.

Lol.
    On the subject, I am pretty sure my postman throws in leaflets.
    Like you'd see nothing through the door. Then go off and hear the post man. But when you come back you've got your post along with a Pizza Hut menu, local eurospar crap and other guff :pac:

Bit risky. Think you'd get some awl'one ringing the local sorting office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

I save the junk to light my fire with, thanks for the free firelighters lads, keep em cumin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

just put a sign saying no political literature. Candidates and their teams avoid these as they don't want to alienate voters.
    Those campaign leaflets and council updates are not really junkmail to me. They are the candidate's CV and give a view on where they stand. Great way to see who totally under the party thumb if all that is on the leaflet is party related crap. Also, if a local candidate can not be bothered to get the team to my area then it's obvious that my area is not one of their priorities. If it's not a priority at vote time, it certainly won't be any other time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Id be tempted by the odd pizza flyer, but manage to hold off.

What is annoying is the git that comes around before 6.30am, sometimes as early as 5.30, if I ever catch that fcuker and am up and dressed I'll give him an earful, the twat.
    Ive noticed a few letterboxes are hanging off, I had to replace mine from the constant stream of junk mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Election literature is not junkmail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Put all election crap back in your local post box

why? Candidates and their team deliver these, not the postman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Take them all and write return to sender(not known at this address). Pop them in a post box, as far as I know here should always be a return address, I do it with junk mail all the time. It has taken me off a few lists as junk mail seems less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Many people wouldn't classify it as junkmail. Funnily enough, there's no approved list in the statute book to go by to say what is and what isn't junkmail. :P

Just put up a sign asking for no election literature. People looking for votes certainly don't want to piss off potential voters so clarify it for them and everyone's happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

One of the first paying jobs I ever had was dropping election leaflets through letter boxes - we were told the leaflets were classed as political literature and therefore were exempted from the "no junk mail" sign.

So maybe add a "no political literature" sign to your letter box too?

PS please don't give out to the people dropping the leaflets - they're just doing their job (a crap job at that) and more than likely have no actual connection with the politician whose leaflets they're delivering

Who exempts them?
    My understanding just mail is anything not posted and addressed to the resident.

I am aware of what candidates are doing, as Public Representirxves, a shiny glossy unwanted leaflet full of spin doesn't sway me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Who exempts them?
    My understanding just mail is anything not posted and addressed to the resident.

When people heed "no junk mail" signs, they're not obeying a rule or following a law, they're showing courtesy and regard for the person who put up the sign.

It's optional to follow so there can be no exemptions because there's no rule.

Just save yourself and the canvassers the hassle and let them know their specific literature is unwanted by specifying with another sign.

One man's junk is another man's pot-pourri... or something to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

My understanding junk mail is anything not posted and addressed to the resident.

exactly and election leaflets certainly are junk mail.

Actually they're worse, they're just propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Who exempts them?

Ah come on, its hardly like there is some quango deciding what is and isn't junk mail.

Junk Mail is just something you have to deal with, you can try & reduce it by putting up those signs - I prefer to get the junk mail as the signs look really tacky and you only see them in certain types of areas.

You know how to solve this problem, put up a sign saying no political literature. Problem solved.

FrStone wrote: »
    Ah come on, its hardly like there is some quango deciding what is and isn't junk mail.

Junk Mail is just something you have to deal with, you can try & reduce it by putting up those signs - I prefer to get the junk mail as the signs look really tacky and you only see them in certain types of areas.

You know how to solve this problem, put up a sign saying no political literature. Problem solved.

Do u need a sign for all types of junk mail???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Election literature is not junkmail.

The_Minister for....????:P

"No junk mail" signs don't make a blind bit of difference, they are totally ignored from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

"No junk mail" signs don't make a blind bit of difference, they are totally ignored from my experience.

Made a huge difference for me. I have a sign that says "Posted mail only. No Leaflets. Thanks!", and it works a treat except for political leaflets. It seems the people hired by these politicians don't have the courtesy to abide by my wishes.

Made absolutely no difference when we out one up, same stuff was coming in the door everyday as before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I was just thinking this this morning. The amount of waste. We have a no junk mail sign, and the candidate stuff still comes in. It's junk, it's unsolicited, which is what the sign implies we don't want.

But after I run it by others in the building I'll put up a sign for the election stuff. Such a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you need something that the junk mail is advertising junk mail can be very useful.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you need something that the junk mail is advertising junk mail can be very useful.
    You really don't understand what the interweb can be used for do you ?

porn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Those feckers who shove a catalog through your letterbox then ring your house a week later asking for the magazine back are the absolute worst.

I informed the guy I threw it in the bin and he threw quite a strop over it!!

Election leaflets should not be exempt, they are just politicians advertising themselves!

my no junk mail sign works

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭skelligs

This works (has worked)

Sign -
    "We have 3 votes in this house. The candidate that posts the least literature through this letterbox gets all three votes"

It won't stop the stuff coming from the AnPost, but it will stop the canvassers putting stuff in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

I keep all my election leaflets and drop them into the letterboxes on my estate that have 'no junk mail' signs.
    Who do they think they are not accepting their fair share of junkmail? Of course nobody wants it, but what makes them think they are exempt from binning it like the rest of us ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

We live in the very rural west. If any candidate is kind enough to deliver election litrature to us, Mrs Maphisto and I use it to stop coffee cups marking the table.

So far we have only received one in six plus years - GO FG.

I also have my eye on some of the election posters. They are made of a sort of corrugated plastic and I could use them to repair some animal housing. Is it illegal to remove them?

I keep all my election leaflets and drop them into the letterboxes on my estate that have 'no junk mail' signs.
    Who do they think they are not accepting their fair share of junkmail? Of course nobody wants it, but what makes them think they are exempt from binning it like the rest of us ?

What gives anyone the right to post unwanted junk in my mailbox?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

what gives them the right to send me unwanted bills. The bastards