Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interviewing Potential Roomates

• 24-04-2014 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭

So we have to find a new roommate for the coming summer. We've never had to advertise a room to rent, but we've had quite a few people interested. So we want to be sure the we choose the person who suits our personalities and general díckface behaviour best.

We don't want to end up with some roommate who will **** all over the hall and toilet etc as I read on a previous thread on AH about awful roommates..

So AH what questions should we ask our potential roommates to ensure they're the right ones to live with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

What is 42 the answer to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

"Do you know what AH is"?

No? Good, c'mon in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

When they walk in for the interview, chuck a bowl of water over them and laugh hysterically. If they still want the room, they're either desperate or sound. Either can work if played correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Have they any issue with naked Tuesday and Thursday? If they do, best not mention free for all Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Timmyctc wrote: »
    So we want to be sure the we choose the person who suits our personalities and general díckface behaviour best.

Dickface behaviour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Dickface behaviour?

Its like being a regular person, but occasionally being a dick about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Whats the difference between jam and peanut butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Lots of tips in The Big Bang Theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 gillmelly

So we want to be sure the we choose the person who suits our personalities and general díckface behaviour best.

simples . . . . just pick the biggest díckface that comes in the door

Lots of tips in The Big Bang Theory.

There's an idea.

Me: "Did you see last night's episode of the Big Bang Theory?"

Interviewee: "Oh yeah it was gre-"

Me: *Closes door*

As the saying goes . . . who'd want to share any house that would have me as a housemate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Froggy123

Use your instincts, anytime I've met a potential housemate it's the one who you immediately click with ends up being the best choice!!

If it's a house share, make sure at least two of the housemates are there, so if it ends up being a bad decision it'll fall to two of you's to get rid of them and not just one person getting the name!!

You could do a version of the voice and spin your seats around when they entertain you sufficiently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Schedule interviews from 9 am. Weeds out the lazy and the problem drinkers (unless they show up drunk). Get a group interview going. Weeds out the weird. Then do your individual interviews like speed dating. Clear them out, collate impressions and you're done.

Reject all who turn up on time (unless they're drunk). Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

as I read on a previous thread on AH about awful roommates..
    Ah, you mean this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

the_syco wrote: »
    Ah, you mean this thread?

Why don't I have permission to view the frigging page??:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

It's been a few years, but when I shared a house I always took the following non-verbal cues as a reference when deciding if someone was going to be a suitable housemate.

Shoes: If they were coming from work then look at their shoes. Overly scuffed or grubby shoes aren't a good sign. Converse runners falling apart at the seems are a real no-no.

Hair: Greasy hair is sign of laziness. Long hair on men can be fine, but should be a caution sign. Make a judgement call. Same with facial hair. A scraggy head of hair and a mangy beard may lead to friends calling round to smoke weed and watch Asian martial arts movies. Fine if you're in college, but tedious if you have to get up before the Angelus bells ring.

It's been a few years, but when I shared a house I always took the following non-verbal cues as a reference when deciding if someone was going to be a suitable housemate.

Shoes: If they were coming from work then look at their shoes. Overly scuffed or grubby shoes aren't a good sign. Converse runners falling apart at the seems are a real no-no.

Hair: Greasy hair is sign of laziness. Long hair on men can be fine, but should be a caution sign. Make a judgement call. Same with facial hair. A scraggy head of hair and a mangy beard may lead to friends calling round to smoke weed and watch Asian martial arts movies. Fine if you're in college, but tedious if you have to get up before the Angelus bells ring.

Arrah I wouldn't make the full judgement on their appearance. Especially on a once off meeting. Its not a formal job interview. Its a house viewing/impromptu roommate interview.

And for the record. Getting high and watching **** films sounds like a lovely way to unwind :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I think you have to look for someone that's different than you. And what's more different than you, a guy who's not 19, than a female who IS 19?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Some Questions for potential roommates. Blur or Oasis ? Are you any good in a fight? Dyou drink tea?( if not show them the door you cant trust anyone who doesnt drink tea)

Arrah I wouldn't make the full judgement on their appearance. Especially on a once off meeting. Its not a formal job interview. Its a house viewing/impromptu roommate interview.

And for the record. Getting high and watching **** films sounds like a lovely way to unwind :pac:

Oh no, I agree. Someone being sound was important as well. I shared a house with a girl for 5 years. We had to advertise the third room on a number of occasions. We just developed a type of checklist. At the end of the day, it's deciding on someone who is going to become an intrinsic part of your life. After making a couple of mistakes with scruffy 'sound skins' who wouldn't know what a hoover was if it hit them in the face, we decided that it was about more than initial impressions of how nice they seemed.

leggo wrote: »
    I think you have to look for someone that's different than you. And what's more different than you, a guy who's not 19, than a female who IS 19?!

Are you a 19 year old Female anyone looking for a room in Galway. Because if so ... I know a guy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

We don't want to end up with some roommate who will **** all over the hall and toilet etc as I read on a previous thread on AH about awful roommates..

So AH what questions should we ask our potential roommates to ensure they're the right ones to live with us.

question 1- where do you intend ****ting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I've had to interview housemates a good few times over the years. Eventually you develop an instinct for who's good & bad. They should be well spoken but not obviously trying to charm you. How a person carries themselves is far more important than their hair length or their clothes. That said, people who turn up in football (GAA or Soccer) shirts usually end up being lazy & reluctant to pay bills. Those who show up in business atire that's too properly worn (shirt closed up to the top button etc) tend to be ridiculously picky & argumentative. Ideally you want someone that's in between those two extremes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

dpofloinn wrote: »
    Dyou drink tea?( if not show them the door you cant trust anyone who doesnt drink tea)

:( I don't drink tea (or coffee) and I'm sound. I swear I am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

**** in the hall and see how they react. If they're horrified then you lnow they're an alright room mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Schedule interviews from 9 am. Weeds out the lazy and the problem drinkers (unless they show up drunk). Get a group interview going. Weeds out the weird. Then do your individual interviews like speed dating. Clear them out, collate impressions and you're done.

Reject all who turn up on time (unless they're drunk). Sorted.

What have you got against the drunk?

Nulty wrote: »
    What have you got against the drunk?

Yeah. He would be in good company -_-

I've heard horror stories from friends about house-sharing with drunks and/or stoners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Can't believe Shallow Grave hasn't been mentioned yet. Best housemate interviews!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

When is the last time someone said to you "You are the sunshine of my life?"

*cries pathetically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

ah just go with anyone really....

if they're sh!te they'll move out, if you get on they'll be there for ages. grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

gg2 wrote: »
    Why don't I have permission to view the frigging page??:mad:

It's part of the Ranting n Raving forum!

pundy wrote: »

if they're sh!te they'll move out, if you get on they'll be there for ages. grand.

The problem is when they don't move out. Not everyone has the same personality type and it can be hard to warm to some people, but there is nothing worse than some lazy slob as a housemate. Not washing up after cooking, leaving the jacks like something out of trainspotting, smoking weed in their room. You need to be able to preempt these things if at all possible, and that's why I believe you need to use non-verbal cues as well when assessing a potential housemate.

pundy wrote: »

Ha! You've never lived with a lazy person no? Moving out means work, the one thing they are allergic to. Lazy people will put up with any number of circumstances to avoid doing something: not being talked to, being berated etc. They find moving out of the chair they're sitting in enough of a struggle, taking their stuff and moving it all to another home? You may as well ask them to do a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Set a list of tasks and see how they cope and tell them you are looking for a housemate who knows how to keep a place clean and orderly. Have someone clean the kitchen, someone else clean the bathroom, someone clean the windows, someone cook you a small meal to see how they leave the kitchen afterwards, and so on.

Then you have the weekend free :)

I find it saves on a cleaner to look for a new housemate every Friday ;)

leggo wrote: »
    Ha! You've never lived with a lazy person no? Moving out means work, the one thing they are allergic to. Lazy people will put up with any number of circumstances to avoid doing something: not being talked to, being berated etc. They find moving out of the chair they're sitting in enough of a struggle, taking their stuff and moving it all to another home? You may as well ask them to do a marathon.

It's very common. I was surprised. For some people the sum total of their ambition in the evening is to wolf down a quick dinner and start playing computer games. No desire to keep the place tidy, interact with their housemates, or get some exercise in. A grown man sitting on a couch playing a game where he pretends to be a soldier shooting other soldiers. For 8 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Kilgore__Trout

We can only hope that no high horses will be injured with all those imaginary bullets fired by grown men pretending to be soldiers whizzing around the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

So we have to find a new roommate for the coming summer. We've never had to advertise a room to rent, but we've had quite a few people interested. So we want to be sure the we choose the person who suits our personalities and general díckface behaviour best.

Get a woman. They're generally a lot cleaner than men and there's the potential to get a shag every now and then.

It's very common. I was surprised. For some people the sum total of their ambition in the evening is to wolf down a quick dinner and start playing computer games. No desire to keep the place tidy, interact with their housemates, or get some exercise in. A grown man sitting on a couch playing a game where he pretends to be a soldier shooting other soldiers. For 8 hours.

There's no obligation to interact with your housemates. If you want that you should specify. Most people share because they can't afford to live by themselves. I wouldn't mind interactions with my housemate, only she doesn't consider me a person, just a vessel to talk at.

Oh god, just realised she's going to want to talk at me about her holiday when she gets back :( oh Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Yeah, it's awful when people are friendly & sociable. What a monster! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Pick the woman with the biggest rack it's that simple .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

zetalambda wrote: »
    Get a woman. They're generally a lot cleaner than men and there's the potential to get a shag every now and then.

Balls. Lived with three women and they were all messy, and a lot I know tend to be messy.

Also you can shag men and well. I suppose it's a matter of taste, but it's the same with women. Just don't be so picky.

Custardpi wrote: »
    Yeah, it's awful when people are friendly & sociable. What a monster! :eek:

And how is that friendly and social, talking at someone regardless of what they say or want.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    There's no obligation to interact with your housemates. If you want that you should specify. Most people share because they can't afford to live by themselves. I wouldn't mind interactions with my housemate, only she doesn't consider me a person, just a vessel to talk at.

Oh god, just realised she's going to want to talk at me about her holiday when she gets back :( oh Jesus

I'd go one further and say that I wouldn't live with friends again. It's not good to have the drama of 'the group' bleeding into your home life. A nice friendly 'don't **** about and let's keep it civil, but we live completely separate lives' vibe is ideal IMO. I'd avoid a place if I felt they were getting me in to be best buds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Just be very careful OP.

When i was living in sydney many years ago, me and my cousin decided to rent our spare room out to a couple of girls. Probably get a bit of action we thought.

Interviewed a few hounds and also a few crackers. I was out on the razz one night and the cousin calls me to say "we're getting 2 irish birds...they liked the room and they're easy on the eye".

I'm married 10 years this year...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

When they are about to speak, say that you have had a change of heart and that you no longer want a roommate, turn your back with dramatic effect and lean on the window looking out. If they are still there when you turn around 5 minutes later, you have yourself a roommate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Ask what their favourite reality tv show is..

Reject all who give an answer.

A wallet chain or a German army surplus coat would also raise a potential red-flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

OneArt wrote: »
    Balls. Lived with three women and they were all messy, and a lot I know tend to be messy.

Also you can shag men and well. I suppose it's a matter of taste, but it's the same with women. Just don't be so picky.

Yeah, I've lived with plenty of women and the house, especially the kitchen was regularly destroyed but it's a waiting game to see who gets fed up of living in their own filth and from my experience women always break first. They're always in a great mood after a few hours cleaning as well, a double delight. :D