Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever blacked out when drunk?

• 22-04-2014 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭

Have you ever blacked out after a night drinking and have absolutely no memory of what you said or did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

annascott wrote: »
    Have you ever blacked out after a night drinking and have absolutely no memory of what you said or did?

Why do you ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Only once, and I've never even come close to that before in my life, would only drink once a week/fortnight and usually just a glass or two of wine.

It was a bit of a rough evening for me and I was downing whiskey a little faster than I normally would, should have had more sense but it all hit me a bit fast. I was fine anyway, at a friend's apartment so brought to bed where I slept like a log.

Can't say I enjoy the feeling of drunkenness at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭freethearmy

bet he woke up with a rubber hanging outta his arse :D:D:D:D or SHE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Regularly when I was younger, often woke up with vomit everywhere. Lucky I never choked really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Oh ya, necked a couple of bottles of chateau mouton Rothschild in a Michelin 3 star. Passed out. Bad buzz. Ya know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Why do you ask?
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Worse is blacking out, waking up the next morning in your own bed, not a clue how ya got there, then getting the call from a friend and getting the line 'do ya not remember what ya did?!' crap buzz right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭mad_man4

Los Lobos wrote: »
    Worse is blacking out, waking up the next morning in your own bed, not a clue how ya got there, then getting the call from a friend and getting the line 'do ya not remember what ya did?!' crap buzz right there

Even worse if theres a dog of a one in your bed with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Twice. The most horrible experience, both times my mother had to take care of me. Once was after a family occasion, another after a night out when myself and my friend were as bad as each other. Both nights involved mixing drinks (it was a few years ago when I was about 17/18). Still cringe just thinking about it....... Handle my booze fairly well thankfully. I have friends who drink to excess and black out every weekend, I don't think I could deal with that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yes I did, a few times actually in my 20s, one of the reasons I rarely drink anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Twice, pretty scary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Pastor Toastman

Have you ever blacked out after a night drinking

A night? After? Ever driven in the middle of one of your "blackouts", maybe come back to reality literally with a bang?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

mad_man4 wrote: »
    Even worse if theres a dog of a one in your bed with you.

Woke up one morning and there was a dog out on my hotel balcony, Now I was on the 11th floor !!! Must have brought it up in the lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Countless times. I've stopped drinking though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Yeah I blacked out a few times, mother****er I was like so god damn drank I was like DAAAAYUM IM BLACK OUT DRANK MOTHER****ERS

ahhhhhh ill get my coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

And looking out the window hoping the car did not suffer a beer stain from the ditch from last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

A night? After? Ever driven in the middle of one of your "blackouts", maybe come back to reality literally with a bang?

Sounds terrifying. Were you ok or did you get injured/arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why's there always a **** of a friend who remembers what happened :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

A number of times. None in a year though. Before that I once ended up in hospital. Used to fall asleep on my stairs or couches. I don't need it anymore. If I fall asleep when drunk it's because I'm tired from being out all night and at that stage it's 5am or something in the morning. If anyone wants to know the secret to not blacking out just don't drink spirits, shots or infact any of that on a night out. Maybe just one or two but that's it. All I drink now is beer and my god you can gauge yourself. Just find something like that and you'll be fine. All that naggins and 8 cans pre drinking nonsense. Just 2-4 drinks will do. The whole get as wasted and as fast as you can thing is to blame as well. Literally songs named after or promoting getting drunk off your face or waking up and last night was a blur or something. So yeah you're not entirely to blame for your habits when your being forced to down jager bombs,All the fights in my life were related to drink and enough is enough in that regard. All part of being young though I suppose. I still have the odd brown out though. That's the warning sign though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Yeah, a handful of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

Few too many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

Quiet often after sampling tyskie would wake up in my own bed wondering how the hell i didn't burn the house down (drunk cooking not wise) and how did i get here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Never blacked out, but have browned out a fair bit.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I've drunken out when I was black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Paulownia

What is the strangest situation you have found yourself in when drunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Can someone clarify; is blacking out when you can't remember portions of the night? If so, then yes. I hate when it happens, but it has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd black out every time I drink. I'd only drink during my weekends though and tend not to stop.
    So many nights lost and wasted away.
    Hell there's even threads on here that I don't remember starting.
    I don't remember most of the last few days from drinking which is a problem.
    It's the pains for me which are my biggest concern.

I'd black out every time I drink. I'd only drink during my weekends though and tend not to stop.
    So many nights lost and wasted away.
    Hell there's even threads on here that I don't remember starting.
    I don't remember most of the last few days from drinking which is a problem.
    It's the pains for me which are my biggest concern.
    How do you mean the pains? Are you talking about hangovers?

Paulownia wrote: »
    How do you mean the pains? Are you talking about hangovers?

Ever get pains in your stomach somewhere after a heavy session?
    Sometimes it feels like a spasm. Probably a good sign to cut down but once the weekend arrives...

That stomach pain sounds like your liver telling you it has had enough. Did you ever piss blood?

I do of course, but it's like a vicious cycle. I tend not to stop drinking too easily once I really get going.

That stomach pain sounds like your liver telling you it has had enough. Did you ever piss blood?

I have but only after playing football I think, never after drinking as far as I can remember. I don't think the pain is my liver.
    Did you ever get pressure on your heart?

I do of course, but it's like a vicious cycle. I tend not to stop drinking too easily once I really get going.

I know it is easier said than done. I know exactly what you are talking about. People suggest lifestyle changes; going to places and events where alcohol is not available like cinema or yoga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭JumpShivers

Yes.

Nothing major... Just things like: where have I gone for the taxi/next pub etc.
    Or if I've eaten food in Burger King etc. I wouldn't remember eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭MrWard

Moved to a new country due to part of my training. My new Irish housemate was there for two weeks beforehand. He got the lay of the land.

My bedroom was completely unfurnished, but he scooped up a bed and some furniture.

We were gonna be living together for two years, so when he suggested we go out, I agreed. To get to know the lad and the company was gonna subsidize our rent. In reality I was knackered from taxis-planes- then buses. Just pure tired from the travelling.

Got to meet a load of the lads and lassies that I would be working with for the next 18-24 months, which was great. So kept on the session. 30 odd hours awake.

Ended up mooching this wee American girl. I remember inviting her back. She was a cutie pie. Dunno what the fooooook happened after.

Himself and the girl he was seeing early days and myself and the girl I just met all woke up naked extremely early the next morning. Some mad stuff happened, but nobody could remember. We went for breakfast, all four of us. Then they came back, bought cheap shower gels, washed and went on home. We never really heard from either again.

I think the four of us had an orgy, but I can't remember sh!t.

The next day, my new boss called me in to have the chat. The last bar we were in didn't have a smoking area, just a side where folk went for a quick ciggie. He saw her blow me over in the corner by the large-scale trash containers.

I've no recollection of that. Not nice.

I was actually gonna just book a flight and go home out of sheer embarrassment, but tow iIrish lads who worked there for years talked me out and kinda took me under their wing. They found it all hilarious.

Avoids the spirits , lads!

MrWard wrote: »
    Moved to a new country due to part of my training. My new Irish housemate was there for two weeks beforehand. He got the lay of the land.

My bedroom was completely unfurnished, but he scooped up a bed and some furniture.

We were gonna be living together for two years, so when he suggested we go out, I agreed. To get to know the lad and the company was gonna subsidize our rent. In reality I was knackered from taxis-planes- then buses. Just pure tired from the travelling.

Got to meet a load of the lads and lassies that I would be working with for the next 18-24 months, which was great. So kept on the session. 30 odd hours awake.

Ended up mooching this wee American girl. I remember inviting her back. She was a cutie pie. Dunno what the fooooook happened after.

Himself and the girl he was seeing early days and myself and the girl I just met all woke up naked extremely early the next morning. Some mad stuff happened, but nobody could remember. We went for breakfast, all four of us. Then they came back, bought cheap shower gels, washed and went on home. We never really heard from either again.

I think the four of us had an orgy, but I can't remember sh!t.

The next day, my new boss called me in to have the chat. The last bar we were in didn't have a smoking area, just a side where folk went for a quick ciggie. He saw her blow me over in the corner by the large-scale trash containers.

I've no recollection of that. Not nice.

I was actually gonna just book a flight and go home out of sheer embarrassment, but tow iIrish lads who worked there for years talked me out and kinda took me under their wing. They found it all hilarious.

Avoids the spirits , lads!

Any jobs going in that company, and I might take up smoking too!!!

Ever get pains in your stomach somewhere after a heavy session?
    Sometimes it feels like a spasm. Probably a good sign to cut down but once the weekend arrives...

What are you drinking to achieve stomach pains? Are you drinking cheap spirits with fizzy mixers or just cheap beer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I have but only after playing football I think, never after drinking as far as I can remember. I don't think the pain is my liver.
    Did you ever get pressure on your heart?

Quit while you're ahead, I've been drinking heavily for years but stopped recently. Have had all the pains you could imagine and still do even after quitting. You don't want to wake up with something and live with regret. Alcohol is bad for the soul. Quit.

Alcohol is bad for you, there is no doubt. I admire people who can give it up but it is not easy and entails a whole change of lifestyle which is not easy especially if you drink at home

Any jobs going in that company, and I might take up smoking too!!!

What are your skills, qualifications and birth place? All three are important to American border control.

MrWard wrote: »
    What are your skills, qualifications and birth place? All three are important to American border control.

I actually would not live in the United States at this point. It wearied me long ago with the politics. It was only the night out I wanted !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

I blacked out after taking a piss and woke up with my head on the toilet.Then When I stood up I fell and hit my head off the wall.

Thank god no one found me in that state, I'm usually considered calm and completely in control of myself even when full of alcohol(takes a bit to get me drunk) and it would be mortifying for someone to see me asleep on a toilet bowl.
    Didn't touch a drop for a while after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Nope. Never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

No, not that I recall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Twice.

Once, I woke up in hospital. No recollection of what happened, but I was filled in on my shameful antics. :( That was a result of drinking on a completely empty stomach, on top of medication.

One other time, I just drank like a fish. Apparently I was great craic and everyone thought I was brilliant and funny (it was the night an ex introduced me to his mates), but the 4 days of being unable to eat or move afterwards were not worth it.

I'm a lot more sensible now. Waking up in hospital gave me a huge shock. I still drink once a week/fortnight and I'll still get drunk, but nothing too sloppy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I'm that annoying friend who seems to remember everything from a night out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

Never but I pretend I do all the time so I can get away with the mad stuff I got up to.

Deny Deny Deny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Twice.

Once, I woke up in hospital. No recollection of what happened, but I was filled in on my shameful antics. :( That was a result of drinking on a completely empty stomach, on top of medication.

One other time, I just drank like a fish. Apparently I was great craic and everyone thought I was brilliant and funny (it was the night an ex introduced me to his mates), but the 4 days of being unable to eat or move afterwards were not worth it.

I'm a lot more sensible now. Waking up in hospital gave me a huge shock. I still drink once a week/fortnight and I'll still get drunk, but nothing too sloppy.

That has happened to me. :eek: It should be good news, but for some reason, it is even scarier to learn I turned into Dorothy Parker than it is to fall down and pass out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I did some maths and yes probably about 300 - 400 times, if I blacked out 3 times a month in the last 15 years. It may be a conservative number even. Yikes.

Nearly every night out has some bits I don't remember. Every now and then a night out would have longer periods of no memory. So to answer the op, yes I have and its not pleasant the next day when you totally forget things from the night before.