Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waller Cup 2014 - April 27th

• 22-04-2014 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭

Anyone any info on distances/times/strava links etc...?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Your kind of circuit Vlad and from what I hear your engne is running smoothly :-) See you there

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm actually not going to make it this year because of a prior commitment. Going to do the Shay Elliot Memorial on Saturday instead. Hope to see you at a race soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

It's on the women's calendar now also, thanks for the details!

www.womenscycling.ie/calendar

PS If any race promoters want to include stuff on the women's cal, just send me a PM here (preferred) or cpladiesracing at gmail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭scott.s

What's the A4 race at this like?

I did the Ras an Laois on Sunday in Rathdowney and was able to hang with the bunch comfortably enough until the last time up the climb on the second lap. Got distanced due to positioning more so than pace. Would I have any issues with this race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Never done it but it looks flat. So fast with a bunch gallop at the end for A4.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

daragh_ wrote: »
    Never done it but it looks flat. So fast with a bunch gallop at the end for A4.

Rode it lots and flat as they come. Pretty much always ends in a bunch sprint esp in the lower cats.
    Nice course though and a fast race usually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Flat as a pancake til last last lap, left turn and sprint hill to finish. Super fast and f' all corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Flat as a pancake til last last lap, left turn and sprint hill to finish. Super fast and f' all corners.

Whats the final bend into the sprint like?

Inquitus wrote: »
    Whats the final bend into the sprint like?

My memory is that it's sharp enough. It's a T-junction and we go right on it for X laps then left on last. The right was super tight compared to all the other corners. It's a proper little hill too, not a drag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

Has the course changed from 2012 (last time I raced it)? I vaguely recall that they moved the circuit but kept the same finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

buffalo wrote: »
    Has the course changed from 2012 (last time I raced it)? I vaguely recall that they moved the circuit but kept the same finish?
    Same circuit as 2012.Only difference is that it comes off circuit to finish now as opposed to back then .Part of the circuit has a long road which leads to a t junction where the race sweeps right each time.Finish of each race turns left at this point and finishes approx 300 mtrs off circuit.The road ramps up to the finish from this point.Good finish actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 B82Eng

Its very confusing as to where the finish is. Has anyone a map with the exact finish? Is it anywhere near Mc Hugh's shop/bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

B82Eng wrote: »
    Its very confusing as to where the finish is. Has anyone a map with the exact finish? Is it anywhere near Mc Hugh's shop/bar?

Nowhere near McHughs. The old finish was up there.
    The new finish is also the start area and is just down the road from the sign on venue.
    No map, sorry.

Start and finish are both off circuit in the same place.The location is known as the NEW LINE ROAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 B82Eng

My memory is that it's sharp enough. It's a T-junction and we go right on it for X laps then left on last. The right was super tight compared to all the other corners. It's a proper little hill too, not a drag.

Ive located the finish on the "New Line Road" on google maps. But, for the finish ... is it a left turn in off the Bog road (L4000) or left at the T-Junction at the top of the L8008 road? Im presuming the race is run in an Anti-Clockwise direction going on the Strava links???

Apologies for the silly questions. This is the last one. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Its the left turn at end of L8008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Michelin

Im back racing after a few years and rode the Waller cup many times back in the 80s, 90's was always on a circuit start and finishing by McHughs pub but just noticing the last few threads and wondering if it has moved from the old circuit altogether? I cant really make out from the map. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/copy/401415396/

Finish is left at 16km instead of right and about 300 m from the turn (near the bridge over the M3). 100 degree turn so make sure you are in the first 15 but not the first 3 :) Steep at the start but levels off for last 150m ...watch out for the wind! Oh and smile as I might take your photo

Michelin wrote: »
    Im back racing after a few years and rode the Waller cup many times back in the 80s, 90's was always on a circuit start and finishing by McHughs pub but just noticing the last few threads and wondering if it has moved from the old circuit altogether? I cant really make out from the map. Cheers

same circuit as always.just the start/finish changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

Circuit is still similar to the circuit used in the 80's and 90's, the start/finish is left at the T-junction where we always turned right just at the "bends". The new circuit starts there and is very similar and familiar to anyone who's rode it in the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Thanks Boharmeen, well organized and marshalled. Fantastic day for it and appreciate the markings of potholes or poor surface.

My whinge relates to the A4 group (again). There was some awful riding on the wrong side of road. There was one lad in red kit with long hair, was NEVER on the correct side of the road. He was not alone.
    My form is not good, so I was at the back of bunch most of the day, but the concertina effect as riders on the right side of the road get pushed in by passing cars causing everyone behind to hit the brakes initiating stop-start-sprint to get back on. This burns matches, but it is so dangerous, and it will end badly for all of us. I don't know if the comms took note, but this race was really out there for wrong-side riding.
    Get fitter and sit at the front.

My whinge relates to the A4 group (again). There was some awful riding on the wrong side of road.

Yeah, even when the call went up for cars right I was still getting passed on the wrong side and too many people just spreading across the road, not moving up and making sure no one else behind could either. Also on corners - lads coming up the inside on tight lefts they have no chance of holding a line for.

Seemed to be a huge group out today.

My race went ok - I managed to get away for a few kms on the first lap, sat in for the second and then went again with a Navan rider (I think - there was another rider I think but he only came through 1-2 times so no idea which club other than yellow kit). We stayed away for most of the third lap before we sat up after the bog road and were caught. Last lap we made a half hearted attmpt to get away again on the bog road but were caught fairly rapid. Rolled in after getting caught behind a crash and having to unclip. Another one of the Lucan lads won the A4 race - I think we had 6/7 in the race.

Thanks Boharmeen, well organized and marshalled. Fantastic day for it and appreciate the markings of potholes or poor surface.

My whinge relates to the A4 group (again). There was some awful riding on the wrong side of road. There was one lad in red kit with long hair, was NEVER on the correct side of the road. He was not alone.
    My form is not good, so I was at the back of bunch most of the day, but the concertina effect as riders on the right side of the road get pushed in by passing cars causing everyone behind to hit the brakes initiating stop-start-sprint to get back on. This burns matches, but it is so dangerous, and it will end badly for all of us. I don't know if the comms took note, but this race was really out there for wrong-side riding.
    Get fitter and sit at the front.

Aye wasn't the A4 bunch's finest hour, took me a lap to make my way from the back to the front where I stayed, tried to get in a couple of breaks, we got gaps but people wouldn't ride. Got up for 7th in the sprint in the end, another couple of points towards an upgrade on a course which doesn't really suit, so happy enough to get home in one piece.

Thanks to Bohermeen for a well run race, and some nice cupcakes. Something needs to be done about the presentations in general though, maybe have the A4 one half hour after the race, I waited 2 hours and then had to leave as I had to be home, the A1/2 race was twice the length. This is a general criticism not directed at Bohermeen CC.

Great tea and sambos, and a very well-marshalled and well-marked course. Really appreciated the 'bumps' warning, fair play. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Colinoc

The A4 race was probably the worst riding this season, even more so than the disaster at the 500m line at Dundalk at the end of Feb. I thought some attempts were being made by comms at previous races to caution cyclists about being on wrong side of road with the obvious stoppage in Carlow previously. But today was just free for all and evidenced in face of the poor driver in an oncoming car who experienced the bunch the full width of the road coming at her and one rider taking the same car on the outside (far right) which was the last straw, so it was inevitable that a crash was going to occur as described by other posts above. While I managed to avoid it for once, there was no need for it. What is it going to take??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Colinoc wrote: »
    The A4 race was probably the worst riding this season, even more so than the disaster at the 500m line at Dundalk at the end of Feb. I thought some attempts were being made by comms at previous races to caution cyclists about being on wrong side of road with the obvious stoppage in Carlow previously. But today was just free for all and evidenced in face of the poor driver in an oncoming car who experienced the bunch the full width of the road coming at her and one rider taking the same car on the outside (far right) which was the last straw, so it was inevitable that a crash was going to occur as described by other posts above. While I managed to avoid it for once, there was no need for it. What is it going to take??????

Another death. Probably. Unfortunately.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Another death. Probably. Unfortunately.

Can't help but feel there were too many riders for the course in A4, reminded me alot of the Kilmessan GP last year, took me a full lap and more to make my way from the back to the front as we were ditch to ditch, and then whenever the pace slowed, 50 people tried to make up ground on the wrong side of the road and then squeeze in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

I think A4 races need moto-comm's. You need to be able to tap a lad on the shoulder there and then an pull him out of the race.

The man in the lead car isn't blind. Stop the race. Sorry lads, due to one, some or lots of idiots thinking that the ROTR don't apply to them, you can all turn around and go home. No refunds.

Keep doing that and they will learn quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Or maybe a few races with no points awarded might get them to cop on. Someone is going to smash head on into a car if it isn't brought to heel soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Colinoc

Or maybe a few races with no points awarded might get them to cop on. Someone is going to smash head on into a car if it isn't brought to heel soon.

That's exactly what will happen! The bravado needs to stop in the interest of safer riding, or more gardai will stop races altogether!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

It's just too many numbers and everyone trying to stay top third, potentially a split field in half with half points for each when over 80-90 riders? Or an A5 category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭SERCPRO

I agree with the majority of the comments above.
    I have never experienced such dangerous riding in the A4 bunches before. It was a very frustrating race and frankly a poor image of cycling to the wider community of motorists who witnessed the fool hardy behaviour of a select few.
    I managed to stay out of trouble up the front as I had an awful gut feeling that a crash or two was inevitable.
    It was pure madness watching countless numbers of riders endangering the safety of other riders and road users on a constant basis.
    I gave up shouting at guys to stay in over the line as it was an exercise in futility.
    I think that having a motor cycle outrider or a motor comm as standard in all A4 races would be a great idea.
    The only problem is that moto comms are very scarce on the ground.
    Roll on the next A4 race where I hope it's not as manic as yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Any photos of the races around? I always see lots of cameras but never any photos ...

Amy NF has some of the underage races on FB. Presume the senior races are to follow.

buffalo wrote: »
    Amy NF has some of the underage races on FB. Presume the senior races are to follow.

She's posted them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

It's strange, I spent all day in the top 10-25 and from up there I wasn't aware of what was going on behind. I dropped back once on the last lap to about 50th and found it easy enough to move back up, so my perspective is slightly different, however one thing does stand out. When there was on coming traffic or cars parked at the side of the road very few of those up front seemed to take it upon themselves to inform the remainder of the bunch, many of whom would be unsighted, this to me is strange as years ago it used to be seen as the duty of those at the front to inform those behind what was coming up, is it a new breed of cyclist or is it a case that those who don't care about the ROTR also don't care if other cyclists crash?

Can't seem to access Facebook if not a member? Can someone cross post the pics? Please?

I can't add much more than what's been said already about A4. Getting tired of making same points.

I'll add that the guy who was on far verge trying to get past cars was cut off by another rider and forced there. Plenty of lads not checking what was around them before pulling to the right. I have a feeling the summer will be like this. What fun. Too many riders, which means too many fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

I was just a spectator but I could see some of the going on in the A4 all right. Thankfully everyone came back in one piece. Having said that I thought it was a lovely day out. Weather great, marshalling looked good and plenty of people around. Full marks to Bohermeen CC, great job.

Can't seem to access Facebook if not a member? Can someone cross post the pics? Please?

I can't add much more than what's been said already about A4. Getting tired of making same points.

I'll add that the guy who was on far verge trying to get past cars was cut off by another rider and forced there. Plenty of lads not checking what was around them before pulling to the right. I have a feeling the summer will be like this. What fun. Too many riders, which means too many fools.

There's hundreds of pics, what club were you riding for in the A4 race and I'll try and pull out those that might be you, except if it's Lucan as there were too many of them :)

Inquitus wrote: »
    There's hundreds of pics, what club were you riding for in the A4 race and I'll try and pull out those that might be you, except if it's Lucan as there were too many of them :)

Ah, it's ok, thanks for the offer, I'll try and nab someone who has FB access and have a look through them.

He must be one of your sworn enemies if he's refusing to tell you who he races for!

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    He must be one of your sworn enemies if he's refusing to tell you who he races for!

Pretty sure he's from the "rude" southside club who never say hi or wave, and are well known for their fine carrot cake, and upcoming randonée ;)

Reading below I would say I am wrong in my assertion!

Isn't everyone in A4 an enemy? Plus I'm the only rider from my club who regularly rides A4 and I rode pretty badly on Sunday, so yeah, I partially want to stay as low key as possible.

Badly, across the continuous white line, badly?

No, as in sit at the back, move straight to the front five at opportunistic corner, get bored, scarper off the front, realise i don't know what I'm doing, let myself get sucked back in, die, almost lose it out the back and then just sit there for two laps, avoid crash, sprint up hill in 99th place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Davey5

I had a look on Amy-Norah's FB page and couldn't see any Waller Cup photos, the most recent I could see where from the John Haldane Memorial in March - do I need to 'friend' her?

In terms of the A4 race, I think a large part of the problem was so many riders on such narrow roads. After the first lap I spent about half a lap making my way through the bunch to stick at the front and avoid trouble. Didn't find it much worse than Des Hanlon behaviour-wise, and felt fairly safe at the front, knew I wouldn't have the legs for the hill at the end so hung on the wheels of 2 Swords lads and jumped with about 700m to go. Bunch flew by me with about 690m to go! Ended up caught behind one faller on the hill anyway but enjoyed giving it a lash anyway. Probably naive of me to go so early and give everyone else a handy lead-out; if the legs are questionable, is it better to go off the front and hope for the best, or wait for the sprint and hope that you can give it 100m of pain?

Best part of the day for me was 2 lads from Cuchulainn and Lucan tearing strips off of each other in the middle of the bunch! Overall, great day for it, and congrats to the winners. Points for clubmates of mine in A3 and A2 so a good day and (hopefully) a good learning experience in time for Frank O'Rourke next week,