Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying Cattle on donedeal

• 20-04-2014 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭

Do you?
    how/proceedure? . herd transfer form or somthing?

Any tips?

just , maybe there might be some folk out there that would love not to have the hassle of the mart. . etc. . .. possible some deals going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

P_Cash wrote: »
    Do you?
    how/proceedure? . herd transfer form or somthing?

Any tips?

just , maybe there might be some folk out there that would love not to have the hassle of the mart. . etc. . .. possible some deals going

ya ring dept. and get a movement permit sorted out, youd want to be a good judge of cattle, what would the same animal make in a mart? what kg are they? lot of dealers on donedeal, first question if dont want dealers cattle are, did you breed them? and if not how long have you them? some lads do be away with it with asking prices though, wanting crazy money, same with everything i suppose, pictures can be deciving too, best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

"P_Cash wrote: »

possible some deals going

Not really. Proceed with extreme caution.
    You really need to know the value of stock to contemplate buying through DD.
    For every straight honest seller there is a dealer out to extract above the odds for their stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Not really. Proceed with extreme caution.
    You really need to know the value of stock to contemplate buying through DD.
    For every straight honest seller there is a dealer out to extract above the odds for their stock.

Your probably right particularly with stock ultimately destined for finishing. However with breeding stock there can be some over the odds prices paid in marts. 2 lads start bidding and they can drive them into silly money. Great if you're selling one of them. At least with DD for that That kind of stock yyou will know the maximum and you can try to negotiate for less and walk away if it's too much. With the bidding there's always the thought one more might do it.
    There are plenty of dealers on done deal and if you check all ads by that seller you'll soon find some of them. That said I have seen one dealer in the west that openly advertise as dealers and deal solely in heifers and looking at their prices they look reasonable a lot of the time. Some cattle are dear but probably were dear in the mart. I'm talking real nice breeding heifers ready for the bull. Obviously they will have profit but for some people that may suit. An hour or two in they're yard might be better than several days in the mart. The whole QA thing could put pressure on their businesses model though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Robson99

A lot of the time it just lads who will over price them and if they catch a sucker good and well. If not they will be at the mart the following week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

You'd want to be very good to judge weights too as lads always overestimate when there selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

mf240 wrote: »
    You'd want to be very good to judge weights too as lads always overestimate when there selling.

Usually it is no more than 30% of the animal weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Done deal speak
    Sold in one lot - couple of runts in it that are nowhere near the asking price

pictures don't do justice - i took heaps of pictures but cant make the cattle look better than they are

6 cattle average 400kg - the heaviest one might be near 400kg.

first to see will buy - need to get a sucker or i will go to Mart and be happy with 50 euro per head less.

not overdone - didn't thrive well for me and mad to offload

can deliver - i am a dealer

monaghan, clare or sligo add with plenty of adds for that number - i am a dealer

price on inspection - you would not come if i told ya price on phone

u grade - probably r at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭P_Cash

lol . . . Cheers Tubby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

TUBBY wrote: »
    Done deal speak

pictures don't do justice - i took heaps of pictures but cant make the cattle look better than they are

6 cattle average 400kg - the heaviest one might be near 400kg.

first to see will buy - need to get a sucker or i will go to Mart and be happy with 50 euro per head less.

monaghan, clare or sligo add with plenty of adds for that number - i am a dealer

Spot on. And don't get me started on 'Show quality'
    Often a holy show!

TBH you have to be hard nosed. Bought most of my cattle off DD last year. Then again at present Friesian sellers are more realistic. Dealers tend to deal in lighter cattle that are O= or better. Generally do not call to those that do not post price.

You have to remember a farmer best friend is his pocket. I think as a buyer there is value out there but not in calves or better quality cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bikes

Bought a few cattle off DD,its nice that you can buy a bunch and not sit at a mart all day and go home with 1 or 2. The only problem is that its like the mart as there are too many dealers. My first question is " did you breed these yourself". One lad I rang said hes not a dealer but used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dung deal more like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

TUBBY wrote: »
    Done deal speak

6 cattle average 400kg - the heaviest one emight be near 400kg.

-

Enjoyed that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

When buying on donedeal always check the cards on inspection a dealer will always say he forgot them. You would want to be a good judge of weights also or you will get caught. Also check ages of cattle against weights for instance a dairy Angus a year old will be 40kg at birth and will gain 0.7kg average over the year so would be around 280-290kg a dealer will try to cover that by saying in the ad they are between 260-320kg which is a big variation. Make sure they weren't fed like fat bulls as they will lose condition when you buy them and could spend half the summer standing still before gaining weight. Plenty farmer sellers chancing their arm on donedeal as well.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    When buying on donedeal always check the cards on inspection a dealer will always say he forgot them. You would want to be a good judge of weights also or you will get caught. Also check ages of cattle against weights for instance a dairy Angus a year old will be 40kg at birth and will gain 0.7kg average over the year so would be around 280-290kg a dealer will try to cover that by saying in the ad they are between 260-320kg which is a big variation. Make sure they weren't fed like fat bulls as they will lose condition when you buy them and could spend half the summer standing still before gaining weight. Plenty farmer sellers chancing their arm on donedeal as well.

Checking the cards is useless, loads of dealers/farmers not signing back of cards, number of mart stamps no indication either. If he is online he should be able to print out number of movements for all cattle. However you still need to see cards to see breed of cattle on cards if buying AA/HE. Number of herd tests may give you an idea of movements but not foolproof.

Why aren't mart stamps an indication? Most dealers selling an even batch of cattle in the spring will have bought them from different marts.

Loads of cattle are bought without going through the mart, a dealer A buys a calf, sells directly to farmer A that evening, farmer A sell him directly to another farmer or dealer that is four movements and only one mart stamp. On the other hand marts stamp all cards even if animal goes unsold back into owner's herd.

I had a card with two mart stamps and 6 owners and about and about 3 herd tests. Calf was bought in mart and moved twice in next month four owners by the time he was 7 weeks.

Loads of cattle are bought without going through the mart, a dealer A buys a calf, sells directly to farmer A that evening, farmer A sell him directly to another farmer or dealer that is four movements and only one mart stamp. On the other hand marts stamp all cards even if animal goes unsold back into owner's herd.

I had a card with two mart stamps and 6 owners and about and about 3 herd tests. Calf was bought in mart and moved twice in next month four owners by the time he was 7 weeks.
    If a dealer is selling a batch of twenty cattle the chances of all previous owners not stamping the cards is slim. Either way looking at the cards will give you more information than just looking at the cattle and taking the owners word.

a few tanglers got a twist out of that calf, remember seeing a 18 month old heifer once that was on the 14th owner, bit of a tourist in that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Sell lots of stock on DoneDeal and bought some two, its as good a site as there is out there if your smart enough to get the most out of it and can be a real ambush spot if your foolish enough to let it be, previous posters have it pretty well covered esp re the weights of cattle ya really would want to know your stock. Funny one happened me about a month ago a guy had a add up looking to by cull/feeder cows which i had at the time so rang him he was all biz told me what" roughly" they would be worth a kg from my description and he would be up the next morning to look at them i said grand i would have them in yard with the weigh scales set up............ "last i heard of him" lol

loveta wrote: »
    Sell lots of stock on DoneDeal and bought some two, its as good a site as there is out there if your smart enough to get the most out of it and can be a real ambush spot if your foolish enough to let it be, previous posters have it pretty well covered esp re the weights of cattle ya really would want to know your stock. Funny one happened me about a month ago a guy had a add up looking to by cull/feeder cows which i had at the time so rang him he was all biz told me what" roughly" they would be worth a kg from my description and he would be up the next morning to look at them i said grand i would have them in yard with the weigh scales set up............ "last i heard of him" lol

Was he from Meath?

simx wrote: »
    Was he from Meath?

YES, why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

Probably like everything else in life - do your bit of research prior to buying.
    The country is small so it should be possible to find out about the seller. Bought a few young cattle of a dealer last year, turns out his brother works locally and a friend of mine lives close to him.
    No complaints here, everything checked out OK.
    Cattle dropped off, not stressed, clean, dosed and ready for grass.
    Any dealer/wannabe dealer will not last long if he is selling rubbish - word spreads quickly.
    In my case with a full time job, I can't spend too many days in marts and all that costs.

loveta wrote: »
    YES, why do you ask?

Know a lad rang the same lad and same story as yours thats all

Sounds like the same fella, still get shocks when running animals over the scales esp the bigger heavier cows there must be a good killing to be made if you know your stock when buying direct from a farmers yard in that line of biz.

If a dealer is selling a batch of twenty cattle the chances of all previous owners not stamping the cards is slim. Either way looking at the cards will give you more information than just looking at the cattle and taking the owners word.

QA is worth 12c/kg AA and He bonus is another 10-20 depending on time of year. It could be 100 euro on a bullock killing 350kgs. That is a lot of your profit gone. Not unusual for there to be 20-30% of the bunch that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sligoronan

Bought a few things on done deal. Always ended up paying a fair price for them. Sold the car on it two weeks ago and got a fake draft. From now on I will be buying and selling stuff where I can be certain of quality and payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Sligoronan wrote: »
    Bought a few things on done deal. Always ended up paying a fair price for them. Sold the car on it two weeks ago and got a fake draft. From now on I will be buying and selling stuff where I can be certain of quality and payment.

Will/Did u ever get paid for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sligoronan

Got the car back. It was found in Dublin they had tried to offload it for 5k and buyer knew something was wrong so he walked away from the deal and called guards. There was over 3k worth of damage done to it. So anything i sell for a substantial amount of money again will be paid for by bank transfer prior to anything leaving my possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Done deal can be very useful but if buying you need to be able to judge weights etc well without recourse to a scales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Sligoronan wrote: »
    Got the car back. It was found in Dublin they had tried to offload it for 5k and buyer knew something was wrong so he walked away from the deal and called guards. There was over 3k worth of damage done to it. So anything i sell for a substantial amount of money again will be paid for by bank transfer prior to anything leaving my possession.
    On that note, what do people normally do when selling?
    I sell some milking cows and calves at home, strangers, but as farmers and when have herd no would trust them more than average joe soap. Would take reg of car. I hold on to cards and post them on when cheque clears. Put in herd no when doing movement and it gives name and address. Sold cows at weekend, he paid by electronic transfer Mon night from AIB, just showing in my account Wed morn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We sell stock through DD most years.

Yes weights are just estimates but lads usually buy the animal as presented anyway.

Would have a gander through art reports before pricing them. Yes always price them up a little. No harm in that as most lads know the true value and are happy that they knocked you down €50 a head anyway.

Get the odd messer ringing or texting offering silly money. But that's no difference to dealers opening stock at half their value at the ring.

Usually lads who bother travelling to see stock are genuine. Maybe 1 in 5 lads who come to the yard are out for a spin and chat. Easily sorted, stick heels in ground on price and they piss off.

Handy not to take a day off and hang round mart.

I would be the opposite to described above. Any runt or poor animal goes to the mart as there are always a few parasites to buy a cheap anal no matter it's condition.

_Brian wrote: »
    We sell stock through DD most years.

Yes weights are just estimates but lads usually buy the animal as presented anyway.

Would have a gander through art reports before pricing them. Yes always price them up a little. No harm in that as most lads know the true value and are happy that they knocked you down €50 a head anyway.

Get the odd messer ringing or texting offering silly money. But that's no difference to dealers opening stock at half their value at the ring.

Usually lads who bother travelling to see stock are genuine. Maybe 1 in 5 lads who come to the yard are out for a spin and chat. Easily sorted, stick heels in ground on price and they piss off.

Handy not to take a day off and hang round mart.

I would be the opposite to described above. Any runt or poor animal goes to the mart as there are always a few parasites to buy a cheap anal no matter it's condition.
    What do you be getting up to in the mart :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Hi lads, don't want to hijack this thread but my question is related to donedeal in a way.

Say you were selling cattle or silage or straw etc On donedeal, ie something with a fair value attached. If someone comes looking at it to buy, and hands You a cheque, how do u guarantee it's legit. I apologize for silly question but I'm young and don't want to be taken for a ride, as I know most farmers won't be carrying a few k in the pocket in comparison to someone buying a car etc

Stock don't leave the yard till the cheque clears.
    Haven't came across anyone not happy with that deal.

What do you be getting up to in the mart :eek:

Feckin big thumbs on phone and the autocorrect has a vicious sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

friend bought a car off dd a few weeks ago, she met the guy at a service station in county meath, she handed over the cash and he fooked off, she got no paperwork for the car. She rang him loads of times, she went to guards and it was the 52nd case they had from the same guy, she still has the car, when she rang shannon the car she bought had changed ownership 4 times in the last 6 weeks:eek: why vant the guards just answer his ad and arrest him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Thanks for reply, I have sold things in past but generally cash in hand , but with the likes of large quantity of bales etc will be different.
    I imagined if I was selling from the north to someone in the south they wouldn't be coming to look at them then leave empty handed, maybe I'm naive, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

Hi lads, don't want to hijack this thread but my question is related to donedeal in a way.

Say you were selling cattle or silage or straw etc On donedeal, ie something with a fair value attached. If someone comes looking at it to buy, and hands You a cheque, how do u guarantee it's legit. I apologize for silly question but I'm young and don't want to be taken for a ride, as I know most farmers won't be carrying a few k in the pocket in comparison to someone buying a car etc

sold 25 ex shed a few weeks back, purchaser done bank transfer online there and then I done the movements on line & the catlle left the yard a couple of hours later

never take a bank draft
    bank transfer
    or cash ,

whelan2 wrote: »
    friend bought a car off dd a few weeks ago, she met the guy at a service station in county meath, she handed over the cash and he fooked off, she got no paperwork for the car. She rang him loads of times, she went to guards and it was the 52nd case they had from the same guy, she still has the car, when she rang shannon the car she bought had changed ownership 4 times in the last 6 weeks:eek: why vant the guards just answer his ad and arrest him

JEEZ , after all the warnings I cant believe ppl are still being caught

hope it works out for her

Yep..
    know a lad bought car in Ashbourne, had mechanic with him and everything seemed good, handed over the money and was asked to pull round the front while the paperwork was sorted.. Paperwork never arrived.
    Rang the fella and he said paperwork was in glove box, of course no paperwork there. Lad told them to **** off from round his house.

Went to guards and they said "thats the Joices house, they've pulled that scam maybe 40 times now, and we'll be keeping your car as its stolen"

jt65 wrote: »

JEEZ , after all the warnings I cant believe ppl are still being caught

hope it works out for her
    she is only young, she had her brother and boyfriend with her and had worked hard to get the money,

Yep..
    know a lad bought car in Ashbourne, had mechanic with him and everything seemed good, handed over the money and was asked to pull round the front while the paperwork was sorted.. Paperwork never arrived.
    Rang the fella and he said paperwork was in glove box, of course no paperwork there. Lad told them to **** off from round his house.

Went to guards and they said "thats the Joices house, they've pulled that scam maybe 40 times now, and we'll be keeping your car as its stolen"
    yup ashbourne, dont go there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭yes14

How do u know how many movments an animal has when ur buying at the mart.do u know before u start bidding?

yes14 wrote: »
    How do u know how many movments an animal has when ur buying at the mart.do u know before u start bidding?

Should be on the digital board..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭yes14

Should be on the digital board..

I see.thanks

yes14 wrote: »

most marts have something that looks like this (2,348d)-second owner, in herd 348 days, it generally does be scrolling after owners name and address but can differ a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

simx wrote: »
    most marts have something that looks like this (2,348d)-second owner, in herd 348 days, it generally does be scrolling after owners name and address but can differ a little

Some marts have newer displays, which say number of owners & days in current herd

Would it be a Renault clio by any chance my wife's niece sold a clio to some traveling man for 175 without nct and he sold it on for 1200 :mad:

no skoda octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Have sold cattle on done deal and found that after a couple of guys ringing you got to know the Messers and the genuine fellows and ended up selling the cattle local and both parties were happy,but will get the tyre kickers and the jobbers and once you figure out fellas you can do well on it for small money spent.