Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

future new sheep farmer !

• 20-04-2014 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭

Hi all new to this thread but I grew up on a farm and am seriously thinking of renting some land and keeping sheep for the lifestyle more than the profit but breaking even would be good :) so if anyone can help me with theses questiond than I would very much appreciate it, again I dont have land rented at the moment but is 7 ewes to the acre an achievable figure with the correct fertilizer application ? What is the least amount of machinery that is needed to start up ? It will be lowland in east cork so what is a good lowland comercial bread and what kind of price would I be expecting to pay for land in east cork per acre ? Probably will be looking for between 10-20 acres

All responses greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Hi all new to this thread but I grew up on a farm and am seriously thinking of renting some land and keeping sheep for the lifestyle more than the profit but breaking even would be good :) so if anyone can help me with theses questiond than I would very much appreciate it, again I dont have land rented at the moment but is 7 ewes to the acre an achievable figure with the correct fertilizer application ? What is the least amount of machinery that is needed to start up ? It will be lowland in east cork so what is a good lowland comercial bread and what kind of price would I be expecting to pay for land in east cork per acre ? Probably will be looking for between 10-20 acres

Something I've been looking at recently were NZ suffolks, Easyrams in the UK import them from NZ, or frozen semen into their own flock at least. They're wedged shaped, so no huge chests, which makes for easier lambing. Supposedly they have very good vigor at birth, something Suffolks this side of the world wouldn't be too well regarded for - "dopey lambs". Also meant to be a lot better on the "black head, black arse" curse, meaning dirty rear ends.

Machinery for a sheep farm, nil. Maybe a quad at a stretch. Good fencing and handling system way more important, and a good dog most important of all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Five ewes to the acre would be a good target until you get used to it,
    even at that the land need to be good and the grass well managed.
    Belclares/lleyns out of suffolks or texels are a good crossbred.
    mules are good too but can be expensive.
    You don't need much machinery, tractor, loader, topper and fert spreader,
    and a shed to get them off the land for the winter.
    Land rental if you have dairy farmers around you will be a big problem...very expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Just finished first full year sheep farming here. Only major equipment needed for me was a load of moveable gates, a good 4x4 and trailer for sheep. Borrowed the use of a shed for lambing! Only other major expense was fencing. Don't forget all the small expenses too that can add up, e.g., footcare,vaccines,dossing, lambing equipment, vet fees etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭futurefarmer

Thanks for the replies, low cost to start is very much the priority with renting my best option even if it will be my biggest expense, hadnt thought of a dog is it essential if you have good handling facilities ? Also what is the latest I need to be set up for lambing next march ? Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭futurefarmer

Also are there still grants for fencing and mobile handling facilities ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭eire23

Something I've been looking at recently were NZ suffolks, Easyrams in the UK import them from NZ, or frozen semen into their own flock at least. They're wedged shaped, so no huge chests, which makes for easier lambing. Supposedly they have very good vigor at birth, something Suffolks this side of the world wouldn't be too well regarded for - "dopey lambs". Also meant to be a lot better on the "black head, black arse" curse, meaning dirty rear ends.

Machinery for a sheep farm, nil. Maybe a quad at a stretch. Good fencing and handling system way more important, and a good dog most important of all.

Is there anyone selling these NZ suffolks in ireland? Ya dont hear to much about them this side of the water. If their as good as their supposed to be they shouldnt be long catching on. Have to replace a suffolk ram this year and wouldnt mind giving one a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

eire23 wrote: »
    Is there anyone selling these NZ suffolks in ireland? Ya dont hear to much about them this side of the water. If their as good as their supposed to be they shouldnt be long catching on. Have to replace a suffolk ram this year and wouldnt mind giving one a try.

There's a lad up the north somewhere and there could be another in Laios that I know of. If you ring Stanley engineering services he should be able to help he used 2 last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

William Hutchison in Kilkenny uses some nz Suffolk blood. He has a website too. I think there is a Walsh guy in galway that has invested heavily in them also

Www.pedigreesheep.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

gazahayes wrote: »
    There's a lad up the north somewhere and there could be another in Laios that I know of. If you ring Stanley engineering services he should be able to help he used 2 last year.

Yep i was getting a few sheep pens in Stanley's a few weeks ago. He has a big out fit. Mostly belclares but I see on done deal that he had pet lambs which were nz Suffolk cross. Pity I hadn't noticed as would have been interested to find out what they were like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sako 85

razor8 wrote: »
    William Hutchison in Kilkenny uses some nz Suffolk blood. He has a website too. I think there is a Walsh guy in galway that has invested heavily in them also

Www.pedigreesheep.com

Not to hijack the thread but has anyone ever bought a ram from William Hutchison? I'll be in the market for a Suffolk ram later this year. The website make for good reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Hello,

This may sound a small bit unhelpful, but I don't mean it to be... Maybe being devils advocate a bit... ;)

You say you grew up on a farm - I would say I did the same. But I found the change from 'helping out' about the place, to being the one responsible for it all, a big change ;)

You mention 10 - 20 acres - can I ask why so much? If its only the lifestyle you want, would lesser ground do you? 20 acres is a bit of ground.
    At 4 ewes/acre, thats 80 sheep lets say, even the financials of starting off would be a bit of money - lets say at 100/ewe, thats 8k. And chances are, you'd pay more than 100 a ewe.

And as you will be renting, land might be expensive in East Cork. I am not sure what it would be , but it could be anywhere from 150 to 300 / acre. At 200 / acre, thats another 4k on top. Plus - thats assuming you'd find the land, and it would be fenced for sheep. For you starting off, you would have to get land that would have fencing in place IMO.

Managing 20 acres would take a bit of time as well. You wouldnt need much in the line of machinery, fecning would be key. I dont have a dog - but I have quiet enough sheep, and I have paddocks, so they are used to being moved about. Having the place in paddocks would be good, for managing both the sheep and the grass.

Also - I think New Zealand suffolk could be very interesting, and by the sounds of it, have a lot of merit. But as you are starting off, is there more value in starting with a 'known' breed. One that can lamb fairly unaided, and manage themselves fairly well. The NZ suffolk could be a great idea, but if it went badly, maybe a hard lambing ram or something, the potential is there to go very wrong, which would be rough enough starting off. You could always buy a NZ suffolk down the line maybe.

Timewise, lambing would be the biggest thing. Would you lamb outside, if so, then a dog is prob a necessity. If inside, obviously you'd need a shed. Would you be able to take the time off work? (say 2 - 3 weeks)

Again, would it be better to think a bit smaller to start? Say a few acres, but a few in lamb ewes, see how lambing them goes and then go for the 20 acres once you have that under your belt?

Jesus, re-reading that, it all sounds very negative. I just wouldnt like you to rush in, and then find yourself under pressure after taking too much on, and end up jacking it all in...
    I will admit that once you have the grá for it, it will be a constant question of how you can manage more ewes, whilst juggling other things.. but sure that's life :)

Best of luck with whatever you decide anyways.

Also - I think New Zealand suffolk could be very interesting, and by the sounds of it, have a lot of merit. But as you are starting off, is there more value in starting with a 'known' breed. One that can lamb fairly unaided, and manage themselves fairly well. The NZ suffolk could be a great idea, but if it went badly, maybe a hard lambing ram or something, the potential is there to go very wrong, which would be rough enough starting off. You could always buy a NZ suffolk down the line maybe.

The flocks I have read of select for easy lambing. The rams don't have the deep wide chests of the show ring variety this side of the world. The ewes are selected for wider pelvis' making lambing easier on them. The lambs are supposed to have better vigor at birth and I believe they've done quite a lot of selecting on worm resistant sheep.

I visited a farm recently with known breed, not suffolk. The farmer daren't feed the ewes before lambing as he said himself, you wouldn't get them out alive. Even with that he had to get the vet in to do two c sections.

I know which I'd rather have :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

The flocks I have read of select for easy lambing. The rams don't have the deep wide chests of the show ring variety this side of the world. The ewes are selected for wider pelvis' making lambing easier on them. The lambs are supposed to have better vigor at birth and I believe they've done quite a lot of selecting on worm resistant sheep.

Sounds a lot like Charollais to me :D

Cran wrote: »
    Sounds a lot like Charollais to me :D

It's funny you should mention Charollais actually Cran, I started a thread not so long ago that got a poor response on purebred or something like that. Lately goodtime charlies are to the forefront of my thinking on that little project, if I were ever to get it going.

And well done on the plug lol.

I visited a farm recently with known breed, not suffolk. The farmer daren't feed the ewes before lambing as he said himself, you wouldn't get them out alive. Even with that he had to get the vet in to do two c sections.

I know which I'd rather have :D

Hi Con,

Yeah - to be honest, I have read the same. And it all sounds very promising. But a part of me is unsure if its all true, and would it be true for the ram you'd buy here? ;)

My thinking is if the only change was the head was smaller and less boxy, it would be a big one :)

Hi Con,

Yeah - to be honest, I have read the same. And it all sounds very promising. But a part of me is unsure if its all true, and would it be true for the ram you'd buy here? ;)

My thinking is if the only change was the head was smaller and less boxy, it would be a big one :)

I don't know if there are genuine NZ types in Ireland (I'm not saying there isn't, just that I don't know), Easyrams in the UK seem the safest bet I know of, but I haven't looked into it properly myself, just done some reading on them.

Time is the most valuable thing, I watched sheep fairly well this lambing but only due to the fox - otherwise I'd not bother. Watching them because they may not be able get the lamb out seems a waste of time, IMO. A ewe should be able have her lambs and show you them in the morning. It should be a normal routine operation for her - an operation without a vet :D

There's enough work with sheep already.

I don't know if there are genuine NZ types in Ireland (I'm not saying there isn't, just that I don't know), Easyrams in the UK seem the safest bet I know of, but I haven't looked into it properly myself, just done some reading on them.

Time is the most valuable thing, I watched sheep fairly well this lambing but only due to the fox - otherwise I'd not bother. Watching them because they may not be able get the lamb out seems a waste of time, IMO. A ewe should be able have her lambs and show you them in the morning. It should be a normal routine operation for her - an operation without a vet :D

There's enough work with sheep already.

The main reason we supervise lambing closely here is mismothering, Id imagine even the nz suffolks would get mixed up if she was near two or three others lambing in a shed.
    True you don't want to have to get a vet ,but you don't need to go to NZ to get easy lambing breeds, I wouldn't count a head out or a leg down hard work.....you're going to be around anyway.
    The number of lambs on the ground determines your income, so it's important to mind them.

rangler1 wrote: »
    The main reason we supervise lambing closely here is mismothering, Id imagine even the nz suffolks would get mixed up if she was near two or three others lambing in a shed.
    True you don't want to have to get a vet ,but you don't need to go to NZ to get easy lambing breeds, I wouldn't count a head out or a leg down hard work.....you're going to be around anyway.
    The number of lambs on the ground determines your income, so it's important to mind them.

We lambed indoors for a number of years and never checked them at night, late 80's early 90's. We had 6 pens and could house 160 at the time if I remember right, 25 in each corner pen and 30 in the middle pens. There were 25 sets of twins one morning, took a little sorting but got done. (Blackface to blackface & suffolk rams, Border Leicester to Suffolk rams)

I saw a lovely simple shed layout on a UK site that had about 10 ewes per pen. If I remember right there was one row of pens along a wall, a driveway for feeding, two rows back to back, a driveway, and another row along the far wall. It was a whopper of a shed, all the pens could be removed.

Where I am coming from is the farmers own labour time. I value my time at lambing and I value my sleep more. While I don't have many sheep at all, Dads farm takes a lot of time due to disorganisation and fragmentation, many days are wasted "firefighting" issues that needn't have arisen at all. So I like to look for the handy ways of achieving the same thing. Not that I maybe come across that way all the time :D

I'm not talking about less lambs at all, a similar amount, (or neglecting them) but with less time input from the farmer. I checked mine at night this year because of the fox trouble I had last year, no fox loss to my flock in 14 so far, touch wood. So next year please God I can lamb them indoors in the tunnel, that saves me time because I sure as fook won't be checking on them outside of normal routine once I have them safe indoors. That's time I can use to do something else.

I think generally where sheep are housed for the winter you tend to get more mis-presentations. Dont know is it because they havent as much space to move around or what but it certainly seems that way.

Could it just be that the farmer is around to notice the mis-presentations? Outside, the ewe probably just lambs this eventually...

arctictree wrote: »
    Could it just be that the farmer is around to notice the mis-presentations? Outside, the ewe probably just lambs this eventually...

or you find them a few hours later with they lamb stuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

I think generally where sheep are housed for the winter you tend to get more mis-presentations. Dont know is it because they havent as much space to move around or what but it certainly seems that way.[/quote

One definite factor is there's far more contact between ewes eating from a feeder or eating nuts inside so lambs get bounced around more inside ewes when their housed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The number of lambs on the ground determines your income, so it's important to mind them

+100%

in the rush for all these easy care sheep these two most important points are forgotton about
    I have texels here and try to go for longer breed (as I prefer for various reasons)...and find they never give anything only basic issues even at that rarely.....like you said its lambs on the ground leave you the money...not a high scanning rate and you lose a load of lambs to mismotering/needless deaths at lambing time....like leaving the whole lot at 9pm and not ng to the morning...esp indoor lambing...its only 3 weeks of the year you'd be right busy
    I made out before roughly between hay,straw and meal.etc it works out e20-25 a lamb roughly before they are born....think like every needless dead lamb you are throwing away e25

+100%

in the rush for all these easy care sheep these two most important points are forgotton about
    I have texels here and try to go for longer breed (as I prefer for various reasons)...and find they never give anything only basic issues even at that rarely.....like you said its lambs on the ground leave you the money...not a high scanning rate and you lose a load of lambs to mismotering/needless deaths at lambing time....like leaving the whole lot at 9pm and not ng to the morning...esp indoor lambing...its only 3 weeks of the year you'd be right busy
    I made out before roughly between hay,straw and meal.etc it works out e20-25 a lamb roughly before they are born....think like every needless dead lamb you are throwing away e25

Uhm, no.

I've already said I've done indoor and outdoor lambing have I not?

It's being wrongly assumed that easy care = neglect.

Uhm, no.

I've already said I've done indoor and outdoor lambing have I not?

It's being wrongly assumed that easy care = neglect.

So when you go lambing seep inside again con, you wont check them at all at night? Just check them at 10 or 11 and leave them till the morning?

Fair play to ya but i couldnt do it, Dont think id sleep:pac:
    Do check them here at half 10/11, 2, 5 and and up then at 7 and still have some mis mothering, or lose some lambs.

So when you go lambing seep inside again con, you wont check them at all at night? Just check them at 10 or 11 and leave them till the morning?

Fair play to ya but i couldnt do it, Dont think id sleep:pac:
    Do check them here at half 10/11, 2, 5 and and up then at 7 and still have some mis mothering, or lose some lambs.

Correct, because my ewes can lamb by themselves - which is VERY different from ewes that can't - , buggered if I will be getting up in the middle of the night to check. I currently lamb outdoors now as I had no housing. As I said earlier, the ONLY reason I checked them around midnight this year was because of the fox, to apply some tar. First thing I know of a ewe lambing is when I see her with a lamb, or two. It will be no different inside next year in the tunnel, except I shall sleep. To call it neglect is to not understand what's happening, a ewe that has to be minded is a liability IMO, the system shouldn't be that labour intensive.

Mismothering, maybe smaller pen sizes with less ewes would help with that. Like the shed I saw on the UK site. As to lambing difficulty, ewes bred for wider pelvis and rams with narrower shoulders have to be easier lambing, therefore less problems, less labour, more time to do other things.

Correct, because my ewes can lamb by themselves, buggered if I will be getting up in the middle of the night to check. I currently lamb outdoors now as I had no housing. As I said earlier, the ONLY reason I checked them around midnight this year was because of the fox, to apply some tar. First thing I know of a ewe lambing is when I see her with a lamb, or two. It will be no different inside next year in the tunnel, except I shall sleep. To call it neglect is to not understand what's happening, a ewe that has to be minded is a liability IMO, the system shouldn't be that labour intensive.

I cant agree with ya on this con!If i didnt check them that often there would be too much mis mothering and i never called it neglect at all but its only 3-4 weeks in the year and as has been said it determines how sucessfull your year will be.Also im getting a high scan rate here and trying to achieve a high weaning rate (weaned 1.8 last year) so theres in point in leaving them to get on with it at night and end up losing whatever number of lambs over the course of the lambing and end up with a reduced rate . The majority of sheep will and do lamb themselves but theres no point in expecting them all to . What happens say in the middle of the night ya get triples coming tangled, just a head out or a head gone back? Let them get on with it? and possibly loose lambs that could have been prevented.Should these ewes be culled because their a liability? Also if a single lambs at night and your not there you miss the chance to wet foster a lamb on to her and i done a good few at night this year. I think we will have to agree to disagree on this one!:pac:

First things first, I am not trying to convince you. That is your system, if it suits you then it suits you, I would do it differently. The neglect aspect was alluded to earlier, in fairness not by yourself, I was including it in my general point.

I was suggesting a different system to the op. A system where the ewe has been bred to do the work. Some seem to think that means neglecting ewes, it is the opposite, it is breeding the tools into the ewe so she can do the work successfully herself.

One example I can think of is my Cheviot cross ewe, she was big as a house before lambing. Plan was to move herself and another ewe into Dads shed for two reasons, we had a few bitter days in March, and foxes, they were both expecting twins. Cheviot ewe decided to start lambing at nightfall, Dad wanted to take the two lambs from her, I said no way, she'll lamb herself, he wasn't at all happy. An hour later she had two fine lambs and was fussing over them like I knew she would. I sold her wether lamb last year at 48.8kg, kept her ewe lamb as a replacement, off a rocky hill farm by the sea in Connemara not too shabby.

My lambing % was 145% this year, I was hoping for 150% but fell short of that. I will push them more again this year, but I am a hill farm and need to remember that also. As to the "what do you do if...." type questions, I lost 0 ewes, and 0 lambs during the lambing process. Fine yes, I have only a few ewes, but the model can be scaled up.

Three ewes I assisted on my rounds, two didn't need the help, I was just there and made the decision to interfere by slightly stretching the skin over horns. The third was an experienced ewe slow to have her second lamb, no reason for this as they weren't huge and were coming right. Again she most likely would have had him in her own time.

Most sheep that turn into time sinks on my farm get road as culls. If they don't fit what I want to do then they have no place here, there are plenty more sheep on the planet without keeping labour intensive individuals.

Not anywhere close to the experience you guys have but I lambed 11 this year inside. One died that may have been saved if I was there. Was checking last thing at night and first thing in the morning. I also value my sleep a lot!

arctictree wrote: »
    Not anywhere close to the experience you guys have but I lambed 11 this year inside. One died that may have been saved if I was there. Was checking last thing at night and first thing in the morning. I also value my sleep a lot!

For arguments sake, say ya lost 1 lamb for every 12 ewes lambed. In a flock of 200 i think that works out at 16 lambs. At a minimum price of 80 euros a lamb thats nearly 1300 euro lost. And then ya might have more on top of that, it wouldnt be long adding up.

I agree that if its your main source of income then it probably makes sense to be checking them a few times at night. Would be good to have a helper also in this situation.

If you have a breed that lambs themselves, you get to keep the money and get sleep, as well as not paying a helper :D

I just found photos I saved off the shed I saw on another site. It has more ewes per pen that I remembered, looks to be about 20 per pen, but could be subdivided again. Looks a fantastic job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

There is a huge difference in the size of flock from a large flock to a small flock with all the things that are associated with lambing, and the same applies to lambing percentage from a 1.2 to a 1.9 flock as the more lambs to mind and hopefully sell at the end of the day it is about the bottom line figure, no point selling a big 48 kilo lamb when you could be selling two 42 kilo lamb from your ewe, it is easy to say little time minding ewes in a 35 or 11 ewe flock compared to a 300 ewe flock where you have to put the work in to get the money out.
    Every year lambing is different with what was a problem last year not a problem this year,to my mind loosing a lamb to a fox is madness why not take care of the vermin before lambing when there is very little food available and spring lamb is off the menu.we lamb in doors and to loose a lamb is very hard to take and would not lamb out side for all the tea in china, easier to catch a ewe or foster a lamb inside than under the ditch.

There is a huge difference in the size of flock from a large flock to a small flock with all the things that are associated with lambing, and the same applies to lambing percentage from a 1.2 to a 1.9 flock as the more lambs to mind and hopefully sell at the end of the day it is about the bottom line figure, no point selling a big 48 kilo lamb when you could be selling two 42 kilo lamb from your ewe, it is easy to say little time minding ewes in a 35 or 11 ewe flock compared to a 300 ewe flock where you have to put the work in to get the money out.
    Every year lambing is different with what was a problem last year not a problem this year,to my mind loosing a lamb to a fox is madness why not take care of the vermin before lambing when there is very little food available and spring lamb is off the menu.we lamb in doors and to loose a lamb is very hard to take and would not lamb out side for all the tea in china, easier to catch a ewe or foster a lamb inside than under the ditch.

I've read this a couple of times and find it hard to agree with. I lamb 50 ewes inside and its a lot of work and losses ran just under 5% this year. I would have had to handle all these ewes for one reason or another, either to lamb or move pens. Only for these are pedigree not sure it would be worth it.....

I lamb 600 ewes outside (scan 1.85 include Hoggets), a different breed than what I lamb inside and have a well organised routine at this stage. Losses this year ran at about 5% outside as well, I had to catch 40 ewes who had difficulties for one reason or another, singles kept together for ease of adopting lambs onto them and all triplets removed adopted or on milk machine. I personaly believe ewe breed is of huge importance lambing out and cannot be underestimated when it comes to workload and lamb survival.

My land is dry and well sheltered so that helps hugely as can travel with jeep rather than quad at lambing. Would I consider bringing in some commercials to lamb:confused: Not unless I brought lambing back few weeks to spread workload or the weather got really bad TBH

There's huge amount of work in having them in for the winter and I would love to be able to leave them out. I used to keep half of them out until lambing, but in November 2012 the farm became an absolute quagmire and only that I got the tunnel erected for them, there definitely wouldn't have been grass in 2013,
    The farm is fragmented as well so lambs get a lot of moving in the first week.
    It all depends on land type and stocking rate

There's huge amount of work in having them in for the winter and I would love to be able to leave them out. I used to keep half of them out until lambing, but in November 2012 the farm became an absolute quagmire and only that I got the tunnel erected for them, there definitely wouldn't have been grass in 2013,
    The farm is fragmented as well so lambs get a lot of moving in the first week.
    It all depends on land type and stocking rate

Totaly agree with this, think if I was full time would have to bring them in for the winter as would need to increase stocking rate to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

I just found photos I saved off the shed I saw on another site. It has more ewes per pen that I remembered, looks to be about 20 per pen, but could be subdivided again. Looks a fantastic job.

Great set up ... but shows you even in a state of the art setup .. theres room for some binding twine !

There's always room for baling twine :D If I remember right, they can remove all of those pens etc. for mucking out by machine. Then they have a great big open space shed to use for whatever the rest of the year.

Just on the checking em at night, I used to do that, every 3-4 hours, so get up once most nights, maybe twice if I was feeling a bit lazy, and wanted to go back to bed the second time ;)

This year I checked em before bed, if I thought one was very near lambing, I would check at night. Otherwise leave em for the night, and check em again close to first light.

It worked this year - but to say "not checking is better than checking" would be wrong, as I think there is a massive amount of luck in it. You could do everything right, and just be unlucky that one ewe that will have problems lambing, will start lambing at 3am... or she might wait til 7am when you are around the place...

On this lambing indoors or outdoors...
    I think as has been said by a few posters - breed probably plays the biggest part in this discussion. If you have ewes that for the most part will lamb unaided, then minimum intervention is needed.

Once you have this, its prob about facilities & management.
    Do you have facilities to bring the ewes indoors? (shed plus all the trimmings) ;)
    Do you have facilities / location / skills to lamb outdoors? (I imagine a dog is a much have here, plus good sheltry fields, way to bring em in such as quad / jeep, way to feed em outside if necessary etc)
    Is your stocking rate very high, that you have to house em, to rest the land?

Next is probably preference? And maybe this is the biggest item...
    What do you value more - a lamb that will be big at lambing, and grow like hell. Or a lamb that will be smaller, prob lamb easier, but maybe not grow as quick? (I know this raises an arguement of we all want bits of both - but IMO - you trade one item off another, so what you gain in easier lambing, you might lose elsewhere... nut we're back to breed again a bit here)
    Even if you had all the necessary things to lamb outside, would you just prefer to lamb indoors (if you had all the sheds, etc)

How do you value your time? We all balance the time we spend watching them a bit differently, so we all value our time differently.
    What breed do you prefer to work with? I like suffolky type ewes, cos they are what I know, and what I was raised with. They have a LOT fo faults, but I like em... I imagine some lads wouldnt have em for love nor money ;)

One system isn't better than the other... One may be more profitable than others, but you need the setup for it, so hard to compare at times...

But I suspect all systems can be done badly... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

Do ye think there's profit in sheep on rented land ??

Maybe...

How much profit are you making on your own land? ;):D

It worked this year - but to say "not checking is better than checking" would be wrong, as I think there is a massive amount of luck in it. You could do everything right, and just be unlucky that one ewe that will have problems lambing, will start lambing at 3am... or she might wait til 7am when you are around the place...

If you put the wrong sheep (not always "breed" as there are great variances within breeds) into the wrong system then of course there will be disaster. Which is why I suggested an easy lambing sheep to fit the system and not other sheep which require assistance.

Last year I had one lambing loss with a lamb smothered in the bag, this year no lambing loss, yet reading this thread it is being put forward that nearly every sheep would be feet to the sky in the place.

It's not true.

142% lambing this year, would have to look up last year, intend to improve again next year.

It's a matter of selecting the right sheep with the right traits, for the right system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

got a second big lamb near 30 kg dead in the field yesterday evening, anyone know what could be cause and if there is a lab in north east I could bring to get a check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Ask your vet, they'll need to ring ahead for you, to the nearest department lab. Cost me about 6-10 euro. There was some change recently as to how the labs operated, but I don't know what it was

Wonder if it's anything to do with the magnesium the lads were talking about here last week

got 2 in last week also and all done with heptavac P. will have to head to lab if another one goes stiff

Ask your vet, they'll need to ring ahead for you, to the nearest department lab. Cost me about 6-10 euro. There was some change recently as to how the labs operated, but I don't know what it was

thats only change afaik, before you could just turn up a lab and request check but now your vet must ring them first, results are then sent to vet

Dickie10 wrote: »
    got a second big lamb near 30 kg dead in the field yesterday evening, anyone know what could be cause and if there is a lab in north east I could bring to get a check

Feck - that's sickening...

Its hard to say what the cause is. Do you inject the ewes for clostridal (not sure of spelling) diseases, with Covexin or the likes?

We used to have the odd one or two die like that - perfect one day, dead the next. And it always seemed to be good, strong lambs. But when we started using covexin, it seemed to stop...
    *I think* there may be a correlation between fast growing and more susceptible, but not sure...

Not sure this helps - may be unrelated, just my experience.

Hope you get to the bottom of it, and you get it sorted as its sickening to find em like that :(

EDIT : Given Razor's comments above re having given em heptavac P, and they still die-ing, really not sure my post helps...

Dickie10 wrote: »

We've had another clostridial in the last couple of years called sordellii and have had to change to vaccinating with covexin 10+ ovipast for pneumonia.
    Did you dose for nemotodirus (sp)...that's a killer too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Would Nemotodirus not have them a bit dirty in the backend? does clostridial vaccination definitely solve these problems? went years without vaccinating with smaller numbers might start again