Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Normal every day things you hate doing

• 19-04-2014 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

What are the normal every day things that you just hate having to do?

For me, it is filling the car with petrol. I don't why but I always feel like a nervous wreck doing it and that something will go wrong.

It never has and never will but something I really dislike having to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭que pasa

Greeting people

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Taking out the bins. No reason why. I just resent doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Putting on pants

Constantly getting told "PUT SOME PANTS ON!" by herself

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Shaving. I'd rather grow a beard but can't for work purposes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Pooping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Small talk of any kind.

Dishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Taking my make up off before bed.

Dishes!

I try and exercise every morning - but by god I hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭clarbar

Waking up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Engaging in small talk, particularly with people I don't know well. I have to do it every day but I've never become any good at it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Grocery shopping. Love having a fridge full of food but hate buying it all.

pauliebdub wrote: »
    Engaging in small talk, particularly with people I don't know well. I have to do it every day but I've never become any good at it.
    Lovely day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Brushing my teeth.
    Also, having a shower sometimes is a real effort.

(I do do these things, I ain't no smelly person!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Emptying the dishwasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ironing shirts. Poxy hate it.

Changing the duvet covers fills me with anger too, made worse by the fact that i hate when it isn't changed every few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Shaving, every fcuking day.

clarbar wrote: »
    Waking up

Was gonna say this myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Getting out of bed.

I love my bed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,037 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Taking off makeup and brushing teeth at night - all I want to do is go to sleep NOW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

Emptying the dishwasher
    Local petrol station pump has a tight nozzle and I always end up going over by the 1c. They never let it go either. Hate doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Having to charge my Iphone.

Shaving, every fcuking day.

I grew a beard for this reason. Much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Also shaving, would love to give it up and grow a beard but I can't :(

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I grew a beard for this reason. Much better.

Was talking about my balls dude! :p

Nah, I'd love to grow a big bushy beard and keep mice in it. Stupid work! :(

Changing yhe duvet covers fills me with anger too, made worse by the fact that i hate when it isn't changed every few days.
    On a related note, I'm 36 years old and haven't a clue how to fold a shirt, I have nothing in my drawers, they are all on hangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

I gave up ironing years ago it had taken over as the bane of my life.
    I hate mopping the floors dont know why, I love cleaning everything else but mopping floors is horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Folding the clothes out of the tumble dryer. Makes me ridiculously angry, what a waste of life.

Ironing. All ironing.

Mowing grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Larianne wrote: »
    Brushing my teeth.
    Also, having a shower sometimes is a real effort.

(I do do these things, I ain't no smelly person!)

The shower itself is great. It's the drying part :(

Aphex wrote: »

It's the removal of the clothing.
    The freezing in the nip.
    And the drying afterwards, you're right.

On a related note, I'm 36 years old and haven't a clue how to fold a shirt, I have nothing in my drawers, they are all on hangers.

Similar to my beard-growing to avoid shaving, I realised a while back that I can wear a cardigan to work, which neatly allows me not to iron or even bother folding my shirts. Nice one.

Now, I really don't care for cardigans, and it gets fierce warm in summer, but it's still much better.
    :-D

Folding the clothes out of the tumble dryer. Makes me ridiculously angry, what a waste of life.

Ironing. All ironing.

Mowing grass.
    I love mowing grass. I could mow and mow all day and never get tired of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Thundering_Sky

Aphex wrote: »

hate having to get out of a warm shower into the cold air.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭que pasa

I like mowing grass as well but I don't like putting away the mower so I just leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Getting out of bed. It's a real irritant to me, my mattress is so fcukin comfy that when I have to get up for work, I literally want to shoot someone in the face.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

being polite to people I want to punch in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Cleaning out the cat litter trays. As I have 3 cats, 2 of which are indoor only it's a pretty regular job.
    Doing the dishes, I resent the fact that they are always left for me to do.
    I don't mind waking up, but I HATE getting out of bed.
    I really hate leaving the house-no matter where I am supposed to be going. Even if I've looked forward to something for ages I often can't go at the last minute. I was diagnosed with agoraphobia years ago, but it's not as bad as it was by any means -i can go out almost daily now- but some days there might as well be a brick wall built in front of my door for my ability to walk through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Pairing socks! Drives me F**king insane!!

It's the removal of the clothing.
    The freezing in the nip.
    And the drying afterwards, you're right.

Tell us moar! :pac:

Then the lotion....

Now, I do love cutting the grass....

F*ckin hate emptying the yoke that collects the grass, though. Stupid flap thing keeps closing on my hand when i empty it into the stupid black bag. The bag doesn't stay open either and the grass goes all over the place. Whatever grass comes out, that is. Most of it won't budge until I reach my hand in and drag it out. And who's holding the black bag when I do that? NO ONE! So it's f*ckin rake time again.

Stupid, stupid grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Anything to do with the dishwasher.

Anything to do with clothes.

Packed fcuking lunches.

Then the lotion....
    Giggidy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Now, I do love cutting the grass....

F*ckin hate empyyng the yoke that collects the grass, though. Stupid flap thing keeps closing on my hand when i empty it into the stupid black bag. The bag doesn't stay open either and the grass goes all over the place. Whatever grass comes out, that is. Most of it won't budge until I reach my hand in and drag it out. And who's holding the black bag when I do that? NO ONE! So it's f*ckin rake time again.

Stupid, stupid grass.

I hate when the lawnmower keeps cutting out because the grass is too wet and gathers up around the blades :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Floors, sweeping hoovering and mopping I really dispise it.

Dishes.

In fact any kind of cleaning whatsoever, it just seems like such a waste of my time, I don't even get satisfaction out of the fact that its done because I know that I'll have to do it again, and again, and again.

I hate grocery shopping because it just seems so inefficient to me, take the food of the shelf and put it all in the trolley, take it all out of the trolley and put it on the conveyor belt before putting it back in, then out to the car where you take it out of the trolley again and into the boot, drive home where you take it all out of the boot and inside and finally put the whole lt away, tha really is just too many steps to get it home, I know there is online shopping from Tesco but I only like Aldi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Changing dirty nappies!!

Pooping.

Great time for a bit of reading..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Anywhere near a social welfare office

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Changing dirty nappies!!
    I hear it's even worse when you have babies.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Putting duvet covers on duvets makes me angry and frustrated. I HATE changing them but do them all every week. Four duvets to change every week. Sometimes I'll ask himself to do it because he knows how mad it makes me.

I used to hate washing clothes and ironing them for 4 people until I discovered a launderette close by that does a huge extra large sack for only twenty euros. Problem solved.

I HATE cleaning the toilets out, love when its done though. And then one of them goes a takes a big sh!te straight after and stinks out the place when I've just put the toilet duck stuff in. Makes me bloody annoyed. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nedkelly24

Shaking my Willy after a pee ....gotta be done ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I love small talk, love it. Small talk can lead to many other wonderful kinds of talk.

i hate laundry and everything related to it.