If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cities you'd never return to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Miseryguts

Oslo, the prices in that place were shocking. €14 for a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Miseryguts wrote: »
    Oslo, the prices in that place were shocking. €14 for a pint.

14? Sweet jesus. I thought 8 euro a pint was bad in the south of France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Miseryguts

There was no all night session anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Is London savage? Do they go mad for the Irish accent over there?

Yes. London is savage.
    Absolutely loads to do. You could do a 2 week holiday there

Cienciano wrote: »
    Yes. London is savage.
    Absolutely loads to do. You could do a 2 week holiday there

Ye know I've seen it in plenty of films and tv shows and it never really appealed to me, but they recently filmed Home & Away there and I must admit the parts they showed in it looked lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I am in Tokyo at the moment visiting. Dump of a place! There are about 32 million too many people here and nice as they all are, just too many of them.
    It is a characterless city. Expensive to drink in and near impossible to navigate in. And waaaay too many neon lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭MiloDublin

Hands down, sleazy, noisy, dirty, crowded, and no history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Dublin. As capital cities go its so overrated. Pretty expensive and the city centre is a horrible place. Only return to see matches in croker or aviva and even that is a quick get in/watch match/get out scenario. Apologies I know it's my own capital but hate the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Dublin. As capital cities go its so overrated. Pretty expensive and the city centre is a horrible place. Only return to see matches in croker or aviva and even that is a quick get in/watch match/get out scenario. Apologies I know it's my own capital but hate the place

But the thread title is "cities you'd never return to" ! You return to dublin frequently by choice!

Well I suppose not by choice. .... More by necessity. Unfortunately it has the big stadiums and I'm a bit of a sports nut so I have to travel there for those games. On a side issue I wasn't really that impressed with Paris either. Thought the people there were most unfriendly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,029 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

[quote="opinionated3;90390081that is a quick get in/watch match/get out scenario[/quote]

So you don't really know it? You'd never stay in a decent hotel, knock around, see the sights visit some restaurants, galleries, museums, the parks etc?

John_Rambo wrote: »
    So you don't really know it? You'd never stay in a decent hotel, knock around, see the sights visit some restaurants, galleries, museums, the parks etc?

Done all of that. Hate the centre of town. Full of druggies and beggars. O connell Street is a dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Done all of that. Hate the centre of town. Full of druggies and beggars. O connell Street is a dump.

Yeah we've had a few threads on how scummy Dublin has become and especially the city centre. Some of the Dubs are in denial but something does need to be done. To be fair I don't think it would be overly difficult to clean up the city centre but I suppose that entails moving some of the problems elsewhere to a degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,029 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Deffo, there is a problem, it needs to be sorted out, but regarding the hotel, galleries, restaurants, bars, cafes, museums, parks etc... what did you think? Did you knock around the Fitzwilliam st. area, did you look at the architecture? You don't mention any of it except for saying "done all of that"? Surely it wasn't all over shadowed by unsightly beggers, druggies and O'Connell st?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Parts of North city centre in dublin isnt great, but south is. If someone tells me Dublin is full of beggars and junkies that tells me they're talking about o'connell street, the boardwalks and one or 2 side streets in the north city. You can't say the south city centre is a hole and full of junkies, because it's not.
    And the nightlife is great. Dublin isn't a big city, but you can go into town on any night of the week and it's busy. Lots of cities are dead midweek unless you know of a few select hidden places. I'm not a dub btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,515 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Barcelona...bloody hookers and pickpockets as well as incredibly corrupt cops...
    A complete shíthole of a place.
    Even during broad daylight pickpockets was operating with impunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Blazer wrote: »
    Barcelona...bloody hookers and pickpockets as well as incredibly corrupt cops...

Can't agree. Have been to Barcelona twice and loved it on both occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Can't agree. Have been to Barcelona twice and loved it on both occasions.
    Me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Yeah we've had a few threads on how scummy Dublin has become and especially the city centre. Some of the Dubs are in denial but something does need to be done. To be fair I don't think it would be overly difficult to clean up the city centre but I suppose that entails moving some of the problems elsewhere to a degree.

NSAman wrote: »
    Eindhoven is indeed, the most boring place I have ever been to. Literally nothing to do on a Sunday afternoon.

Depends on what your into.

Theres the Feel Good market third Sunday of every month in the Strijp-S complex
    http://feelgoodmarket.nl/

Piet Hein Eeks design and production studio has a cafe bar with terrace, with art installations outside, everything in the cafe is art really, even the furniture.
    http://www.pietheineek.nl/nl/restaurantzaal

The Philips de Jongh / Philips van Lennepark are both great spots to go to with the dog/ have a kick around/picnic. The Philips de Jongh park has a lovely bar with a terrace, decent beer selection and nice food too.

http://www.cityfan.nl/uploads/tx_spotsmodule/F02_-_Philips_de_Jongh_wandelpark.jpg

Just a few things I could think of doing within cycling distance on a Sunday.

If your limited due to weather you could go to the Microbrewery Van moll, or De Baron for 1 of a few hundred different types of beer.

Depends on what your into.

Theres the Feel Good market third Sunday of every month in the Strijp-S complex
    http://feelgoodmarket.nl/

Piet Hein Eeks design and production studio has a cafe bar with terrace, with art installations outside, everything in the cafe is art really, even the furniture.
    http://www.pietheineek.nl/nl/restaurantzaal

The Philips de Jongh / Philips van Lennepark are both great spots to go to with the dog/ have a kick around/picnic. The Philips de Jongh park has a lovely bar with a terrace, decent beer selection and nice food too.

http://www.cityfan.nl/uploads/tx_spotsmodule/F02_-_Philips_de_Jongh_wandelpark.jpg

Just a few things I could think of doing within cycling distance on a Sunday.

If your limited due to weather you could go to the Microbrewery Van moll, or De Baron for 1 of a few hundred different types of beer.

:rolleyes: Wild horses wont stop me going...;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Blazer wrote: »

So you can steal wallets without fear of being arrested in order to shag hookers?!?

Sounds like Utopia to me.

:rolleyes: Wild horses wont stop me going...;):D

Well tbh I couldn't think of much to do in Amsterdam on a Sunday besides go to the park and recover from a hangover long enough so i'm ok to get my car from the Park and Ride and drive home :D

But the majority of Irish lads I see in cities around the world end up in a dark pub on a Sunday watching football, so to say there's "nothing to do" usually means the Irish bar doesn't open until 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭flahers

Newcastle, run down but locals very friendly

flahers wrote: »
    Newcastle, run down but locals very friendly

by friendly, do you mean the ladies are mad for batta? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Well tbh I couldn't think of much to do in Amsterdam on a Sunday besides go to the park and recover from a hangover long enough so i'm ok to get my car from the Park and Ride and drive home :D

But the majority of Irish lads I see in cities around the world end up in a dark pub on a Sunday watching football, so to say there's "nothing to do" usually means the Irish bar doesn't open until 7

Nice

Just back from Vilnius, people are grand but not much going on

Or else the Irish bar is open 24/7 and they can't get out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Was looking forward to travelling the world, but seems every city is dodgy and full of pickpockets, junkies and scam artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Ye should watch scam city, I think it does be on the discovery channel but I think the series is over. It's a great program.

Kusadasi

Festering ****è hole imo....