Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOI: League of Ireland Fixtures (Week 8 + 9), April 18-21, 2014

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No idea of the times on Monday, presumably 3pm or 5pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

A number of matches have changed ko times.Marwelie on the LOI predictions thread went with this-
    Premier Division
    Friday, April 18, 2014
    Time Home Away Venue
    3 p.m. Bray Wanderers v Derry City Carlisle Grounds
    7:45 p.m. Cork City v Drogheda United Turners Cross
    7:45 p.m. Dundalk v Shamrock Rovers Oriel Park
    7:45 p.m. Limerick FC v Athlone Town Thomond Park
    7:45 p.m. St. Patrick's Ath v Bohemians Richmond Park
    7:45 p.m. Sligo Rovers v U.C.D The Showgrounds

Monday, April 21, 2014
    Time Home Away Venue
    6 p.m. Drogheda United v St. Patrick's Ath United Park
    7 p.m. Shamrock Rovers v Bray Wanderers Tallaght Stadium
    3 p.m. U.C.D v Cork City The UCD Bowl
    3 p.m. Derry City v Limerick FC The Brandywell
    3 p.m. Bohemians v Sligo Rovers Dalymount Park
    5 p.m. Athlone Town v Dundalk Athlone Town Stadium

First Division
    Friday, April 18, 2014
    Time Home Away Venue
    7:45 p.m. Waterford United v Shamrock Rovers B Regional Sports Centre
    8 p.m. Shelbourne v Cobh Ramblers Tolka Park
    8 p.m. Wexford Youths v Galway FC Ferrycarrig Park

Saturday, April 19, 2014
    Time Home Away Venue
    7:30 p.m. Longford Town v Finn Harps City Calling Stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Should be a much different match on Friday against Rovers than the one we seen on Tuesday night. Neither side had their first choice 11 out on Tuesday but it'll be different tomorrow evening. Hopefully Rovers bring a few more fans with them this time. Think there was only about 80 at it the other night. Victory for Dundalk would open up a six point gap between us and Rovers which would be nice.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Can't see us getting much out of either Pats or Sligo. That cheery optimism I had at the start of the season is well and truly gone :o

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Last minute winner against title challenging Galway with a great away support to Cobh..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Can't see us getting much out of either Pats or Sligo. That cheery optimism I had at the start of the season is well and truly gone :o

Defend well and his us on the break.

Seems to work for everyone else. Conceded 15 goals when we won the league last season, conceded 17 so far this season in all comps.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Defend well and his us on the break.

We can't defend for shit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Bray v Derry is at 5pm tomorrow. Hopefully get something out of it, even a point. Big injury list for Bray though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

What are the chances of a good crowd coming over from Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭UnleashTheBeast

What are the chances of a good crowd coming over from Galway?
    The chances aren't good.

A supporters bus is going and I'm sure there will be a few travelling by car and from Dublin but not many.

I'd say 40 max.

The chances aren't good.

A supporters bus is going and I'm sure there will be a few travelling by car and from Dublin but not many.

I'd say 40 max.

That could well be the most we get all year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Don't know what to make of Friday. Strongest team - referees and pitch withstanding - has more than a chance of a result but we'll see.

That could well be the most we get all year!

We normally bring good crowds down.

I think it's actually been a few years since I was at a Shels game in Ferrycarrig, even though i've been to every Youths game away in Tolka. Would you bring more than 40-50 this year?

We had about 250 in Galway but a lot made a night out of it (still 2 buses went down), so I'd say they'd be at least 100 down Friday week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Syringeycore away, my favorite fixture of the year I have to say. Always seems to be either exciting or tense, never a washout. I'd love a victory for the Bohs tonight! We're unbeaten on the road so far this season :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Would'nt really accept anything less than 3 points against Drogs tonight at the Cross. Keep Fabio quiet and we should be fine. I'll go 3-1 City with a crowd of 3200.

Apparently Mulcahy is back for us, makes me a bit more hopeful of getting anything. Not surprising we've looked a lot more fragile without him.

5 homes and derry away is 23 to 1 on PP.

I never win bets ever......ever.

5 homes and derry away is 23 to 1 on PP.

I never win bets ever......ever.
    That's good enough for me! I'm on it!

Croly's MO for big away games is not to score, try to get a 0-0 and surrender after the first goal is conceded

It would be nice to change that...

Rovers fans get some stick but getting a bus at 12pm to Newry on good friday was ****ing genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Rovers fans get some stick but getting a bus at 12pm to Newry on good friday was ****ing genius.

Remember them going on a day trip to Hollyhead before a semi final with Bohs many years ago.

Jason Byrnes lob, oh my god.....expect to see it in the best goals thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Unbelievable goal from jayo, think he was the only one in Richmond who thought it was going in though!

Dundalk 0-1 Rovers, that's unexpected

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Unbelievable goal from jayo, think he was the only one in Richmond who thought it was going in though!

i was right behind him at ground level and thought it was going over, clarkie wasnt getting near it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

i was right behind him at ground level and thought it was going over, clarkie wasnt getting near it

Yeah im over in the stand, was about level with it... Quality goal. Clarke probably thought it was going out...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Kearney gives city the lead .

Edit1-1. Proxy deflection

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

2-1 city. Buckley ....... the X is rocking again

3-1...... Dennehy free kick.

We can't defend for shit

Told you

Great goal by Jayo at least

Told you

Great goal by Jayo at least

We still leaking chances thought Byrne should have got a 2nd but when we click going forward we are pretty on the eye. Faheys 2nd 90 minutes now still hit and miss

2 points off top and not really playing as well as I think we can, getting there tho.

Kenna was sent off for Rovers for hitting a Dundalk player after the peno was scored, wtf happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Don't miss the Premier Division at all!!!

2084 at the pats match my ****ing hole. Dont why clubs do it but main stand holds 1920 seats so about 250 in the rest of the ground.......

10154970_705947522778037_7207058844346141929_n.jpg

10006522_705947519444704_2883812062090399153_n.jpg

10170943_705947529444703_3870991350844637512_n.jpg

10154970_705947516111371_5383134881722868668_n.jpg

1621673_705947512778038_4994809288519461996_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

2084 at the pats match my ****ing hole. Dont why clubs do it but main stand holds 1920 seats so about 250 in the rest of the ground.......

10154970_705947522778037_7207058844346141929_n.jpg

10006522_705947519444704_2883812062090399153_n.jpg

10170943_705947529444703_3870991350844637512_n.jpg

10154970_705947516111371_5383134881722868668_n.jpg

1621673_705947512778038_4994809288519461996_n.jpg

Tax purposes probably.

Absolute sickened with that late equalizer from Rovers. Two points thrown away. I was too busy celebrating Towell's penalty to see what Kenna did but apparently he hit out at Horgan. 2-1 up against ten men for half an hour it should be game over. Meenan missed a massive chance when 1 on 1 against the keeper (probably should have squared it to Mountney) to make it 3-1 and that came back to bite us in the end. Sickened.

3364 I think in Oriel this evening.

Pighead wrote: »
    Absolute sickened with that late equalizer from Rovers. Two points thrown away. I was too busy celebrating Towell's penalty to see what Kenna did but apparently he hit out at Horgan. 2-1 up against ten men for half an hour it should be game over. Meenan missed a massive chance when 1 on 1 against the keeper (probably should have squared it to Mountney) to make it 3-1 and that came back to bite us in the end. Sickened.

3364 I think in Oriel this evening.

Derry had fcuked up the bet so i didnt care for your result in the end :mad:

President at the Pats match supporting his 2 local clubs

BlhmI42CEAAxd8W.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Over 3000 in The Showgrounds tonight after a week of promotions, including free tickets to schools, family passes, Papa Johns giving out free Pizzas, and all infront of a 5 Nil drumming of 10 man UCD.

Hopefully they all come back for the next home game and its a turning point for our so far disappointing season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Another shocking performance from Derry apparently.

But I am sure Roddy will claim it was a point gained.

Awful Youths performance tonight, probably the worst we'll see all season. Awful week of football for me. I don't want to play anymore.

And to top off a crap Good Friday it sounds as though our captain Stephen O'Donnell has done his cruciate.

Jason Byrnes lob as is the way in Ireland people go on about goals (that noone can see until monday.....**** sake) that are truly brilliant.

It was sublime and I love how twitter in a way makes LOI footballers accessible.
    Ciaran ‏@BackPostHeader 5m
    @BrenClarke1 What goes through a keepers head when you concede a goal like that? #NothingICanDoHere
    Brendan Clarke ‏@BrenClarke1 Protected Tweets 1m
    @BackPostHeader to be honest if I started clapping I don't think anyone would've objected.. was just hoping it would come back off post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Over 3000 in The Showgrounds tonight after a week of promotions, including free tickets to schools, family passes, Papa Johns giving out free Pizzas, and all infront of a 5 Nil drumming of 10 man UCD.

Hopefully they all come back for the next home game and its a turning point for our so far disappointing season.
    could have been 10 to be honest, what little fight UCD were making of it was ended with the red card.

fair play on the promotion campaign tho, great crowd considering i counted 11 of the 33xx crowd in the away section.

Cracking pic by Peter Doherty, seriously this goal was ****ing special.

10257200_10154163861310131_5128585470994341753_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/855877/

Not even a free for this challenge. Refs are getting worse in this league

doncarlos wrote: »
    http://www.sportsfile.com/id/855877/

Not even a free for this challenge. Refs are getting worse in this league

Obviously only a pic but it looks like O Donnell kicks him. And it wouldnt a be a 1st for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Obviously only a pic but it looks like O Donnell kicks him. And it wouldnt a be a 1st for him.

O'Donnell was standing and Finn came bulling through. He won the ball but straight through the man and as you can see from picture looks like he badly injured O'Donnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

overshoot wrote: »
    could have been 10 to be honest, what little fight UCD were making of it was ended with the red card.

fair play on the promotion campaign tho, great crowd considering i counted 11 of the 33xx crowd in the away section.

I think Rovers took a little while to get going, quite a bit of passing the ball around in their own half, but once the red card was issued it was nearly all one way traffic, could have been double in the second half alone.

11? Are you sure there was even that many?

Being good Friday, and the good weather I think also contributed to the attendence, considering it was probably also competing against the funfair in Carraroe, altough got quite cold at the Old Shed end towards the end of the match.

Credit to the Guards as well on traffic duty, never got home after a match as quick before either.