Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temple Bar makes Top 10 Most Disappointing Destinations list

• 16-04-2014 9:13am
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/smartertravel/10-most-disappointing-des_b_5148382.html
    Temple Bar, Dublin

The city of Dublin is great. There's a castle and gorgeous architecture, there are renowned colleges and green spaces, and there are many other things to see and do that go beyond the tired "Irish culture equals pubs" stereotype. The Temple Bar area of Dublin, however, is a prime example of the rampant fleecing of drunken tourists that should be avoided at all costs. This small area caters to visitors competing to see how drunk they can get in "authentic" bars and nightclubs (aka overpriced tourist traps). Avoid it at all costs and seek out a pub literally anywhere else in Dublin for a better experience.

Totally true. It's disgraceful how much of a fabricated tourist cash trap this place is. We've all seen the threads about how Oliver St John Gogarty's is the biggest Ripoff pint in Ireland. We should clean it up, our tourists deserve better...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Most cities have an area like that. Red Light in Amsterdam, Time Square in NY, around Piccadilly in London.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

No surprises about that, the place is terrible. I really don't see the attraction for why it's so popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Pints of Guinness that cost €8 are essential to the Irish experience of being bled dry though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Wouldn't surprise me. It's a hole f a place.
    Tourists arrive to see it only to be met by "sorry bud have ya got a euro on ya"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Worksforyou

Wouldn't surprise me. It's a hole f a place.
    Tourists arrive to see it only to be met by "sorry bud have ya got a euro on ya"

This list wasn't talking about all of Dublin city, just Temple bar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

It's a **** hole in fairness but if not temple Bar then it would be someplace else in Dublin, but every city has a place like temple Bar, all it needs is more policing and let them have at it, we need somewhere to put all the hen and stag nights when the come to Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Any tourists I've brought to Temple Bar usually enjoy walking around the cobbled streets and looking at the postcard like exteriors of the pubs (During the day!) but all agree once you enter any of the them it's no fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i hate the way irish tv/radio "personalities" talk about Temple Bar to their foreign guests like it's some hedonistic place like ibiza....ffs it conforms to Irish Licensing laws so it can't be that mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Gorgeous architecture......?

So there, haters!

Frankfurt, Germany

You know how major cities always have a financial district? And how that financial district is completely empty and dead at night, with everything shuttered? The entire city of Frankfurt is pretty much one big financial district. Sure, it's one of the world's largest financial centers, but it's very sterile and boring, and there isn't much to do.

Jesus, I loved frankfurt :confused:
    Helped that the summer festival was on when I was there!

Walt Disney World, Florida

Paying $99 per day to be trapped in a park surrounded by other peoples' children and fully grown adults who like Disney? No thanks. Even a bottle of water will run you $2.50 once you're within reach of the Mouse's greedy grasp. And if you're thinking about purchasing a "specialty" cocktail to numb the pain of being at Disney World, you'll have to shell out $8.50 per drink.
    That's not exactly sky high prices particularly for the location :confused:

Author sounds like a miseryguts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Ah, lists like this are nonsense. I used to really enjoy the craic in Temple bar, specially when it first really started to take off. But that's the thing, I was young then. 20 years ago it was a great place in Dublin and dare I say it even 10 years ago.

I'm 40 now and only ever walk through it, never go into the pubs anymore. Its for young people now and judging by its popularity its still an exciting place for them!!

Though I'd say its still a nice place for a pint on a Sunday afternoon, after the chaos of the weekend?

bluewolf wrote: »

yeah that's what I was thinking when I read that! with conversions it works out at 1.80 for a water, standard here.
    Just over 6 for a cocktail? sign me up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Anyone happy to pay 1.80 for a bottle of water has too much money.

Not happy to but it's standard prices.
    To complain that it's too expensive in the depths of a place like Disney World is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Or are really thirsty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Ah, lists like this are nonsense. I used to really enjoy the craic in Temple bar, specially when it first really started to take off. But that's the thing, I was young then. 20 years ago it was a great place in Dublin and dare I say it even 10 years ago.

I'm 40 now and only ever walk through it, never go into the pubs anymore. Its for young people now and judging by its popularity its still an exciting place for them!!

Though I'd say its still a nice place for a pint on a Sunday afternoon, after the chaos of the weekend?

I'd guess that 20 year olds still think its a great place.

Temple Bar hasnt really changed in the past 20 years, since you were 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I think Temple Bar is great, soaks up all the people with no imagination to look elsewhere while I can enjoy the better parts of town without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

GenieOz wrote: »
    Not happy to but it's standard prices.
    To complain that it's too expensive in the depths of a place like Disney World is silly.

Its standard price for overpriced water here where everything is generally more expensive. In the states you can get a lot more for a lot less too. I'd imagine somewhere like Disney Land will set the price towards the high end because once in people's option are limited.

Its hardly silly for someone to complain about the price of something more than likely double what they can get in the corner shop down the road from the entrance particularly after paying 99 dollars to get the gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Maybe they should have built that railway station there after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Meh, most cities have their own Temple Bar-type area. I was in Prague and Krakow in the past year, and their tourist areas are generally the same if not worse, because they have a shitload more of those tacky gift shops ruining the place!

I can't believe those pubs get away with serving 8euro pints.. There should be somebody with a placard outside the pubs telling them they can get a 10euro bus to Galway or Cork for a regular priced pint, and much better atmosphere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

that's the thing though, location should never be an excuse to charge stupid prices.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Gorgeous architecture......?

So there, haters!

What's different other than cobbled streets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its a dangerous kip, with a feeling of sketchy menace about it. Wouldnt socialise in it if I was sponsored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

The annoying thing is that you can't move or breathe in these bars because they are so packed. It's just a terrible experience on a weekend night.

At least in these kinds of touristy drinking areas in other countries you usually get a seat and some comfort for your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I was out in town last night. Where can you go at midnight on a Tuesday in Dublin City Centre where you can guarantee crowds and good craic?

There's definitely a time and a place for Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Beefy78 wrote: »
    I was out in town last night. Where can you go at midnight on a Tuesday in Dublin City Centre where you can guarantee crowds and good craic?

There's definitely a time and a place for Temple Bar.

Harcourt Street. Tuesday night is the night that all the Spanish, Brazilians, etc go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

Jesus, I loved frankfurt :confused:
    Helped that the summer festival was on when I was there!

actually, it was the same in any of the theme parks there when i went recently - EVERY other nationality thought it was a total rip off for everything - the irish thought it was CHEAP!

that'll tell you how ripped off we are here on a daily basis and how we've just become used to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Having read through the entire list it is clear the writer is a miserable bollocks all round. They even have a moan about the price of food in Vegas. For f'uck sake, they feed you free drink in the casinos, what more do they want!

Temple Bar is what it is. The tourists seem to like it. Personally I find it hard to rate most of Dublin's nightlife against other European cities due to the price, the ludicrous closing times and the standard of the average club (you would hardly walk into many nightclubs in central Amsterdam and find the "DJ" playing Katy Perry off his laptop, for instance). Dublin has decent clubs/ nights but they are more hidden off the tourist trail than elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Temple Bar hasnt really changed in the past 20 years, since you were 20.[/QUOTE]

Really, I remember a really cool vibe a long time ago. Where as most people got a pint in a pub and walked straight out the door and never stayed inside. So you never went to Gogartys or the Dub or where ever, Just got pints there!!

Or was that older people telling me that happened....oh man, I don't like this getting old lark!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

that's the thing though, location should never be an excuse to charge stupid prices.

I'll be sure to let The Ritz in Monte Carlo know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Glad I signed up to this thread all the same. Whether OP is miserable or not. :D:pac::pac:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

A few weeks ago I was walking up from Aston Quay and one of the side streets, Asdils row, has some flats on it - there was a guy crouched on the ground at the side of the street preparing a syringe of heroin. He did not look like a typical junkie, just a normal nacker. But absolutely no shame, not even trying to hide it.

Zascar wrote: »
    A few weeks ago I was walking up from Aston Quay and one of the side streets, Asdils row, has some flats on it - there was a guy crouched on the ground at the side of the street preparing a syringe of heroin. He did not look like a typical junkie, just a normal nacker. But absolutely no shame, not even trying to hide it.
    the nature of the beast....down my way on ushers quay will see them sh1tting\ shooting into their groin and wetting themselves....I normally just crack one out and move on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

When Eamon Doran's closed its doors and when the TBMC became the Button Factory (what a crap name). Temple Bar was dead to me!

I used to go there up til around 2007, then stopped. About a year ago I was walking through with my then girlfriend and decided to pop into the old Doran's for old times sake and check it out. Just about stayed for 1 pint, totally different place completely devoid of the great atmosphere it used to have. Felt like being in a faux Irish pub in Boston or something.

Still like to stroll through it though, during the day.

KungPao wrote: »
    When Eamon Doran's closed its doors and when the TBMC became the Button Factory (what a crap name). Temple Bar was dead to me!

I used to go there up til around 2007, then stopped. About a year ago I was walking through with my then girlfriend and decided to pop into the old Doran's for old times sake and check it out. Just about stayed for 1 pint, totally different place completely devoid of the great atmosphere it used to have. Felt like being in a faux Irish pub in Boston or something.

Still like to stroll through it though, during the day.
    button factory is the best venue in dublin

It always was, but I'm a man of tradition. The name change seemed pointless.

I had the misfortune of having to walk through Temple Bar on St Patricks day. Literally wedged from wall to wall on the street, the ground was sticky from all the spilled booze and broken glass and the pubs were queued out the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

If it wasn't for the chicken wings in Elephant & Castle, I would never set foot in the place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Temple Bar has its place. It's a handy little area for tourists who want to experience Irish pub culture and who don't realise (or care) that it doesn't accurately reflect pub culture here. Handy for hen/stag parties too. It's not for me but it's always jammed.

$8.50 for a cocktail doesn't seem that bad to me. And I loved Vegas. I didn't gamble but I found loads of things to do.

(As an aside, if you want to read a worse article than the one in the OP, this is from the same site!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

KungPao wrote: »
    It always was, but I'm a man of tradition. The name change seemed pointless.

is it that amazing though?

20 euro entrance fee minimum for any gig/dj gig i went to there.

when will people learn to STOP paying these prices for DJ gigs in Dublin?

Twisted Pepper is another prime example of a place being kept in business purely because of idiots willing to shell out 12-15 euro entrance fee to a building which resembles a barn dance on the inside and DJ's spinning minimal for the hipsters to pretend they've heard of the tune.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

What would you do in a theme park? Pick up an empty and fill it with all the freshness of lukewarm Florida tap water from the jacks?

pundy wrote: »
    is it that amazing though?

20 euro entrance fee minimum for any gig/dj gig i went to there.

when will people learn to STOP paying these prices for DJ gigs in Dublin?

Twisted Pepper is another prime example of a place being kept in business purely because of idiots willing to shell out 12-15 euro entrance fee to a building which resembles a barn dance on the inside and DJ's spinning minimal for the hipsters to pretend they've heard of the tune.

I couldn't comment on DJ stuff really, I only went there for live bands both small and not so small. Ticket prices were okayish if I remember.

I remember seeing the Bloodhound Gang there :pac: Was worth every cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Las Vegas is on that list, I don't really agree with that.

Sure it's not for everyone but you can definitely have a good time there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Temple Bar is actually grand, there are a small number of pubs that every guide book recommends to tourists, which fleece them, but there are plenty of other less headline pubs which charge normal prices.

Author seems like a bit of a moaner for the sake of it alright. Disney World is crap because it's filled with children and adults who like Disney? Then don't fncking go there. That's like going to Croke Park and complaining that it's full of GAA fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

seamus wrote: »
    That's like going to Croke Park and complaining that it's full of GAA fans.

Or Garth Brooks fans ;)

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

Having read through the entire list it is clear the writer is a miserable bollocks all round. They even have a moan about the price of food in Vegas. For f'uck sake, they feed you free drink in the casinos, what more do they want!

Temple Bar is what it is. The tourists seem to like it. Personally I find it hard to rate most of Dublin's nightlife against other European cities due to the price, the ludicrous closing times and the standard of the average club (you would hardly walk into many nightclubs in central Amsterdam and find the "DJ" playing Katy Perry off his laptop, for instance). Dublin has decent clubs/ nights but they are more hidden off the tourist trail than elsewhere.

The price of food in Vegas is high though in fairness. At least for anything decent....it's either rubbish fast food or paying over the odds in a very pricey restaurant. The free drink is great, but u do have to be gambling, so u pay in some sense. Vegas is fun, but I do think it's a bit overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I went to Vegas and I had an absolute ball that didn't consist of non-stop gambling, although that is serious craic as well if you're that way inclined. In the space of a week I:

1) went skydiving out of a plane 3 miles up in the air over the desert. Cost me $200 including shuttle from the hotel and a tip for your man.
    2) went to a gun range blasting the living sh*te out of targets with automatic weapons. Cost $200
    3) went to a Man vs Food restaurant and had the biggest breakfast known to man
    4) went shopping and bought a f*ck load of designer gear for peanuts.
    5) went to Old Vegas to play coin-operated slots, drink in dive bars and listen to live rock. Got drunk as a f*cking Lord.
    6) Went to Rod Stewart
    7) Went to Cirque de Soleil
    8) Went to David Copperfield
    9) Balmed out in the MGM Grand swimming pool in 33 degree heat drinking cocktails.
    10) Rented a car and drove to Death Valley in California. Saw eagles, rattlesnakes and Bighorn Sheep. Went to the Indian reservation. Amazing scenery.
    11) Went to the Hoover Dam
    12) Met Mike Tyson at Caesar's Palace
    13) bunjee jumped off the Stratosphere

In short, it was one of the best weeks I ever had and it was all done without sitting endlessly at a gambling table. A spot of imagination would do her no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

jaja321 wrote: »
    The price of food in Vegas is high though in fairness. At least for anything decent....it's either rubbish fast food or paying over the odds in a very pricey restaurant. The free drink is great, but u do have to be gambling, so u pay in some sense. Vegas is fun, but I do think it's a bit overrated.

That did wind me up a small bit. I just drove to the outskirts to some of the Mexican places, the only gaffs you could get a reasonable meal for a reasonable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Don't know of any locals that drink in Temple Bar. It's an overpriced kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Most cities have an area like that. Red Light in Amsterdam, Time Square in NY, around Piccadilly in London.

Exactly, New Yorkers consider Times Square tacky. Tourists with half a brain know to venture outside Temple Bar.