Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you or your kids address your granddad?

• 14-04-2014 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What do you or your kids call your granddad? I was unfortunately too young when mine died so I've no idea. I think I called my grandmother nana. My young lad will be talking soon, so I would like to reference my dad by something other than granddad, would be a bit of a mouthful for him. I thought it was papa, but that won't work as papa here is what kids call their dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Granny & Granda is what my two call their grandparents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I always called my grandparents Nana & Granda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Granddad, but I heard of kids calling theirs gangan or GG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭smoking_kills

With a ouija board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

By calling up to his gravestone a couple of times a year to say hello.

Like to keep it fairly informal. Tip the hat and say hi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

for my nana, she calls her " Grandna" (as she is not her grandmother, but is her grandnana)

if either of our grandfathers were alive, then it would probably just be "granda" grandgranda is a bit of a mouthful

she calls her grand uncle, "uncle *his name*" and all her grand aunts by their first names...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Nan and David were mine.

In Llanelli they call their Granddads 'Bampy'.
    My blood boils when I hear that. Turks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Granny and <FirstName>, for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Granny & Frank.

My Granny and Grandad were Granny and Grandy, and my great-Grandfather was Grandypops.

I miss my Grandy :(.

Nichololas wrote: »
    Granny and <FirstName>, for some reason

I thought I was the only one!

Sometimes grans instead of granny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Both Granddads were always Granddad as far a I can remember.

Grannys were/are Granny or Gran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

ye aul bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

2 X Granddad
    1 X Granny
    1 X Nana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Mike1961

Myself and the missus are grandparents .. in our early'ish fifties.

I reckon Granny is a bit old hat ... anyways we're called nana and granda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I never knew either of my grandfathers, and I only knew one of my grandmothers. The grandmother I do know, I'd call her by her first name, not in a disrespectful way, but it's just the way it's done in my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

I called my grandad by his nickname Jazz.
    He was some man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

jester77 wrote: »
    What do you or your kids call your granddad?

Grand-da and Great Grand-da respectively

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I only had one grandparent alive so she was granny.
    My nephews call my parents Nana and Granda. When my partner and I have kids, I like the idea of there being a difference between what they call each of our parents. I am leaning towards my folks having Irish titles, mamó and seanó.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Joe-Joe and Nana on the fathers side. Mom and Dada Tom on the mothers, kind of unusual but that's what we called them when we were young and it stuck :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I called all my grandparents and great-grandparents; nana and granda. I'm weirdly pleased to see that it's such a popular combination on this thread. My son doesn't say much yet but I call his grandparents and my grandmother, nana and granda when I'm talking to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Never knew my mums father and my dads father died before I was born. We called his mother by her first name because she insisted on it and we called my mums mother nanny, didn't see much of her either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

My kids call my parents "Nanny" and "Grandad"

I called my paternal grandmother "Nanny" too.... My grandad was dead before I was born.
    On my mothers side i alway called my grandparents by their first names.... Why that is, I have no idea.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

bluewolf wrote: »
    I thought I was the only one!

Sometimes grans instead of granny

My mother's father always insisted that we call him by his own name too, though it took me years to realise that Enda was his name and not just another word for grandad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Before they passed away, they were 'Grandad Paddy' and the other was *first name*

One grandmother passed away befor I was born. My one living grandparent is called by her first name, always has been. I'd feel weird calling her gran, granny, nana or anything like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I used to call my one living grandmother 'granny'. She died when I was about nine years old. My other grandparents died before I was born.

I don't have kids but my niece and nephews call my mother 'nana'. My father insisted they call him by his first name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

My grandparents are deceased so not something relevant here.
    My son calls my parents Nana and Nana-Man. No idea why he started it but it has stuck with the other grand kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

The kids call them babcia and dziadek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

My mother and father are called Nannie and grandad by ours. The wife and I also refer to them as that, same as we refer to ourselves as mommy and daddy. I have always called my da by his first name which i've put down to always hearing people call him that and I wouldn't like it to happen to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

My siblings' kids call our parents Nanny <Firstname> and Grandad <Firstname>.

We called our grandparents Nana and Grandad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭GusherING

One of my grandfathers likes to be called by his first name.

The other went as 'Pappy'.

Two grannies were called 'Granny'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

dublin granda and culchie granda

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Never saw any of mine. I don't know what I would have called them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I call my grandparents Nanny & Grandad. I don't have lids though so they don't call them anything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Granny and Grandad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

Granny and Pops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I call my grandad da! As do all the grandchildren.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

The kids call them babcia and dziadek

Bardzo dobre. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Jinonatron

My kids father is me. My granddad is their great granddad. Their Grandad is my Dad. So to answer your question. They refer to him as grandads dead dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Always called my grandparents by their first names on ma's side. I once tried to call my grandmother nana- I was told she was not a goat.
    The other side I used to refer to them as Mr and Mrs simply because I hated them and it was the petty revenge of a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

A friend of mine calls his granda ''Bitch'' as in,'' hey bitch, make me a cup of tea..'' or ''bitch do you want something in the shop?''

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

All of my grandparents are dead, but we called my mum's parents Grandma and Grandpa, and my dad's were Grandma and Grandad.

My son calls my parents Grandma and Grandad, and my husband's parents are Granny and Grandad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Nana and Granddad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Blushing Pixie

Gran and Pop Pop, and Nana on the other side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Used to call my grandad 'Papa' not like the posh way of pronouncing it, with the hard 'A' sound.

And my granny was 'gags'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Robson Lobson

Always called my grandparents by their first names on ma's side. I once tried to call my grandmother nana- I was told she was not a goat.
    The other side I used to refer to them as Mr and Mrs simply because I hated them and it was the petty revenge of a child.

That's not what the thread is about, what did you call your great grandparents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Nana and (firstname).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Big Boss, when they're not playing with my bloody eyepatch again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Well called both out grandmothers grandma, there was never any other option. We called my dads father grampa and my moms father was known as papa by his grandchildren (he died before I was born but all is grand kids still refer to him as papa when we talk about him)

My mums grandfather was still alive until I was 3 and we all called him grampa joe.

My niece is only one by my sister refers to my parents as grandma and grampa when referring to them, don't think my mother would like anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

That's not what the thread is about, what did you call your great grandparents?

ah! On my mother's side they were called Grammy and Grampi.