Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever had a paranormal encounter before?

• 12-04-2014 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭

I havn't, and would consider myself a sceptic on the whole thing tbh, but I thought some few on here might claim to have experienced something unexplainable(and no seeing Man Utd go from consistent excellence, to consistent failure in 12 months doesn't count.)/ paranormal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

take a walk on country roads at night, you'll hear all sorts, would give you the chills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

There is a Paranormal forum y'know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

No, nobody has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

How would we definitively establish it was paranormal? I think you just want scary stories thread rerun. Just give the other one a bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

orangesoda wrote: »
    take a walk on country roads at night, you'll hear all sorts, would give you the chills

Yeah! Particularly the roads that are dead ends...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 hotamatua

About 8 years ago I cam home from work one afternoon and turned on the tv to catch the news headlines.While I was waiting for that,I bolied the kettle to make myself a cup of tea and placed a teaspoon in a cup and then proceeded to lie on the couch to watch the headlines.Anyhow I dozed off and slept for around 15 mins.When I woke up I heard this funny sound-it was the spoon twirling around the cup.I don't possess super human strength that I could spin a spoon for 15 mins!Explanation-not sure,maybe a poltergeist or something because around this time two other weird things happened in the house which defied logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

hotamatua wrote: »
    About 8 years ago I cam home from work one afternoon and turned on the tv to catch the news headlines.While I was waiting for that,I bolied the kettle to make myself a cup of tea and placed a teaspoon in a cup and then proceeded to lie on the couch to watch the headlines.Anyhow I dozed off and slept for around 15 mins.When I woke up I heard this funny sound-it was the spoon twirling around the cup.I don't possess super human strength that I could spin a spoon for 15 mins!Explanation-not sure,maybe a poltergeist or something because around this time two other weird things happened in the house which defied logic.
    Fsckin magnets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I could write a book on what I've experienced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

No, never have. And there's a graveyard outside in the yard, it's a big 300 year old creepy-looking house and there's a 14th Century church right beside it. Not so much as a flicker. I walk the dogs out and down the fields in the pitch dark every night. If there were any ghoulies, I'd have seen them. Ghosts are for cissies, and loo-laahs. It's the living I worry about.

I rented an old house in a small country town near the border in the 1970's. It was a rambling ramshackle of a place with high ceilings and a back stairs that ran down to the scullery and out into a dismal high walled back yard. There were only a few street lights in the town and in the dark winter nights with any wind the whole place creaked and groaned like a wooden hulled ship trying to dredge itself up from the trough of a deep wave. It was cold as the grave and always gave me the impression I wasn't welcome. (INSERT OWN SCARY BIT HERE).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

I could write a book on what I've experienced.

Anything stand out in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Depends. Nothing is paranormal per say but there was plenty that was considered paranormal or not real which is viewed as normal today.

The giant squid was thought to be a myth by some people a few centuries ago, the same with the mountain gorilla a century ago, the komodo dragon, the giant panda, the okapi, the recent tapir discovery in Brazil I could go on ect ect.

Say what you want about ghosts and anything that denies the laws of physics but I have absoluteness no time for someone who dismisses sightings of unknown creatures out of hand.

National geographic are funding an expedition to verify (or not) an unknown ape in Sumatra. The sceptics are saying it doesn't exist and the locals are confusing it with a bear.

Sorry for the rant it's just I can't stand sceptics who dismiss some things out of hand. I also dislike the way they sometimes place themselves as the scientific authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I once had to listen to a load of eejits talk about how good their trip to a psychic was. That's about as paranormal an experience I ever want to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I am a twin and we both started to experience sleep paralysis after I'd left home for the first time. Neither of us knew what sleep paralysis was so we were both terrified thinking we were going to be snatched away by demons. Must have been some kind of separation anxiety or summit. That's as close as I got to anything paranormal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

No but I'm a gullible bollox and swallow every scary story going because I'm afraid to disbelieve it. Haunted houses, haunted roads, curses, the more the merrier.

I once had to listen to a load of eejits talk about how good their trip to a psychic was. That's about as paranormal an experience I ever want to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Never seen anything worse than myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If you did, who you gonna call?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

buyer95 wrote: »
    Anything stand out in particular?

Yes. :) A couple of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'll just copy and paste my usual response to this question from the last thread I answered it in.
    After my grand parents had both passed away our family bought my fathers siblings share of the house and we moved in and renovated the house the following year. I sleep directly over the spot my grandmother was found dead. I slept soundly from Night One. After the second time I heard a weird sound within the walls 2 years later (this year) I had reasoned out what it was. The fireplaces at the back of the house were blocked off and the Chimney stacks within the walls were filled in with rubble by the builders/renovators to stabilise the gable wall. The vibration from the dart line 100 yards away was causing the looser smaller elements of the rubble used to fill the chimney stacks to cascade down the stack. Another weird sound I reasoned out to be the branches of a tree rubbing the metal corrugated roof of a building behind us when the wind is from a particular direction. The tapping I often here is when water flowing through a particular pipe causes thermal expansion in the pipe and it makes a friction tapping kind of sound where the pipe runs through a joist. The apparition of Jesus in the back yard was the reflection in the back door window of a towel hanging on the chair beside me superimposed over something hanging on the side of the shed out in the yard and my brains pattern recognition centre guessing wrong for an instant.

Whats the difference between me and all the people who see/hear ghosts???

As a sceptic, I worked from the basis that these incidents where something mundane but they were an interesting puzzle for me to stimulate my brain. No fear or jumpiness clouding my judgement. No preconceived notions of the supernatural. No running off to tell someone about what I had heard or seen before I had given it any rational thought. I heard the noises and said to myself I wonder what that could be. I thought it through and came up with hypothosis and then in the following minutes or hours and in some of the cases days and weeks, tested those hypothosis or had to wait for them to happen again and figure out what conditions were common to both instances.

My hypothosis about the noise in the wall was as I described at the beginning. It was confirmed the third time it happened. The second time I noted the sound of some locomotives being moved at the train station during the wee hours. When I heard the sound and locmotives the third time I knew I had the complete explanation.

The tapping during the night was confirmed the second time when I investigated and say that someone had left a hot water tap dripping. Enough to cause thermal expansion in the pipe going through the pipe.

The Jesus apparition stopped me in my tracks. Rather than running of screaming, Instead I stopped instantly, knew I wasn't seeing what I thought I was seeing, studied it until the illusion collapsed and realised what I was seeing. I was then able to make the apparition of The white robed Jesus appear and disappear at will, much like the candle stick illusion (One instant its two faces looking at each other, the next instant its the candlestick) The cause is the part of the brain that has evolved to play it safe when it recieves insufficient sensory input. Your eyes sees movement in the bushes beside the pliestocene camp fire. If your brain makes a guess that its a sabretooth tiger and draws such on your visual cortex, well if it actually is a sabretooth, you just jumped out of the way in time and someone else got caught and eaten. If the brain guessed wrong and it was just a bush branch blowing in the wind, well you just laughed to yourself. UG, me just thought I saw sabretooth Hurhur . ie. The result of guessing wrong about the sabretooh 9 time out of 10 is an adrenaline burst and a chuckle to ones self. The result of the brain waiting for more sensory input all the time so it can guess correctly 100% of the time that its a branch is that those 9 times the branch moves you don't get your shot of adrenaline and a chuckle but that one time when it really was a sabretooth means.....you're dead cause your brain took too long to work out what the movement in the bushes was!!

The brain does this all the time. I once walked out the back door and saw a big brown rat run past. Except it wasn't a rat. I happened to walk out one door looking at the ground. My mother happened to come out the other door at the same time. She happened to be wearing grey slacks that camoflaged her legs against the grey concrete. So what I was actually seeing was what looked like the disembodied brown shoes moving along the ground. The brain is subconciously thinking that shoes don't move on their own, What brown thing the size of a shoe would move across the yard like that. Why a big brown rat of course. It draws a big brown rat on my visual cortex and thats what I see/percieve.......until my gaze shifts a little, I catch the rest of my mothers body in my peripheral vision, the illusion collapses and the rat disappears and my mothers....shoes...and the rest of her appears

This happens to everyone all the time. Everyone has had those, "Jaysus, for a second there, I thought I saw a......"
    The difference is that when it happens during the daylight hours one sees it for what it is. For some reason when the caveman fear of the dark creeps over us at night time, the very same people don't see that the ghost they saw/heard is the very same type of common neurological glitch that they laugh off during the day.

anncoates wrote: »

Momma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

first thing i would do if i saw a ghost is ask it if it had a few bob

naah, they're all dead broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

I do this all the time, especially in the spring and the summer. Night-time walks through the country roads and into the woods, absolutely magical. And the sounds you hear are the nocturnal animals out and about doing their thing, nothing else. There is an old estate near me, with woodlands and walks to go with it. Nobody goes there at night and it is totally their loss, I go up there all the time, in fact I'm checking the weather to go up there tonight for a walk, and so far it looks totally clear so I'm going to go around half 12 or so.

I've been doing this for years and I've never seen anything 'paranormal' or whatever but I've heard all the local stories that there are ghosts up in there, but that's all nonsense talk, its a pity too because the night-time in good weather is so beautiful, it is 'other worldy' alright but that's because the air at night is more peaceful, still and relaxed. Its a great pastime to walk around at night ( along with an auld hip flask and a smoke) Irish people don't take advantage of it enough.

Make America Get Out of Here

buried wrote: »
    I do this all the time, especially in the spring and the summer. Night-time walks through the country roads and into the woods, absolutely magical. And the sounds you hear are the nocturnal animals out and about doing their thing, nothing else. There is an old estate near me, with woodlands and walks to go with it. Nobody goes there at night and it is totally their loss, I go up there all the time, in fact I'm checking the weather to go up there tonight for a walk, and so far it looks totally clear so I'm going to go around half 12 or so.

I've been doing this for years and I've never seen anything 'paranormal' or whatever but I've heard all the local stories that there are ghosts up in there, but that's all nonsense talk, its a pity too because the night-time in good weather is so beautiful, it is 'other worldy' alright but that's because the air at night is more peaceful, still and relaxed. Its a great pastime to walk around at night ( along with an auld hip flask and a smoke) Irish people don't take advantage of it enough.

when people see people walking around at night they are quick to start rumours about you being an odd ball or pervert or something.

I would be a believer in the fairies and what not so i would believe there are mysterious goings on at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

when people see people walking around at night they are quick to start rumours about you being an odd ball or pervert or something.

I know, that is totally true! That's why I like to head out past 12 or 1 when I know nobody will be about, but yeah, that mindset does definitely exist alright!

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I am a skeptic about these things and don't believe in any kind of superstition, which means if I ever have a paranormal experience it will be doubly frightning because I know it can't be a ghost - I'll think i am losing my fking mind.

Maybe I will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I saw a guy saw a lady in half in Vegas.
    Totally blew my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Nothing paranormal has happened to me in 32 years. Plenty of real life horrors though. How boring are other people's lives that there is brain space available to deal with supernatural horrors?

Irish psychics on line went bust. They didn't see that coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

I would be a believer in the fairies and what not so i would believe there are mysterious goings on at night

What? Like tinkerbell n sh1t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Well it's stuff that can't be explained by science and so to judge you would have to have a fair idea what can be explained by science. The dumber you are the lower the benchmark for what might be paranormal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Many Roman Catholics eat the actual body and blood of Jesus every Sunday. That's fairly fcuking paranormal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Years ago, I woke in the middle of the night. I was lying on my side facing the wall so I couldn't see the rest of the room. Then I realized that a cold hand was tightly holding onto my shoulder. The grasp was very tight, just below the pain threshold. The fingers felt unusually warm, pencil thin, long and scaly. I then came to the horrifying conclusion that there was an alien in my room, standing over my bed watching me. I was frozen with fear, I couldn't move. I thought if I didn't move, the alien might think that I was asleep and move on. I remember thinking the alien invasion of Earth was happening as I lay here in bed. It was terrifying all the time the hand was on my shoulder. I could picture the alien standing over me. I tried so hard to fall asleep, and then I eventually did.

In the morning, I woke up and immediately realized it was just a strange dream probably combined with an episode of sleep paralysis (I used to get those a lot in my teenage years). I had probably recently watched a sci-fi movie or an episode of The X-Files and my brain simply conjuring up those memories while asleep. No big deal. It wasn't an alien invasion, there was no alien in my room, it was just a dream.

But that experience made my realize how more naive people could take the same experience, which seemed very real at the time it was happening, and turn it into a "first hand account" of an encounter with paranormal forces. I remember there was some guy on The Late Late a few years ago claiming that the virgin mary appeared to him on his bedroom wall. It was probably a very similar explanation as my night time "alien encounter" but the difference is I knew exactly what happened once I woke up and I didn't go on national television to preach a load of BS.

This wan always cracks me up when they have her on the LLS.

Tubs-"Tell us what you see?"
    "The angels all have cameras and their pointing them at the audience." Brilliant.:pac:

Although the highlight of that clip is at about the 7 minute mark when your man in the colourful shirt asking your wan if his ange can help him with a business decision. She gives him the b.s answer, then Tubs quips straight faced " Have you tried a business advisor or something like that, I mean other than an angel?" "Don't go there Ryan."

Mena wrote: »
    What? Like tinkerbell n sh1t?

No the fairies of celtic mythology only i dont believe it's a myth, the banshee is a type of fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

No the fairies of celtic mythology only i dont believe it's a myth, the banshee is a type of fairy

Ah, now it makes sense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Saw a very odd light in the sky last year, green in colour, pulsing and stationary. As Mr Spock once said, if you eliminate all rational explanations for a phenomenon, then whatever remains, however unlikely, MUST be true.

Therefore, ALIENS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

"The angels all have cameras and their pointing them at the audience." Brilliant.:pac:

Although the highlight of that clip is at about the 7 minute mark when your man in the colourful shirt asking your wan if his ange can help him with a business decision. She gives him the b.s answer, then Tubs quips straight faced " Have you tried a business advisor or something like that, I mean other than an angel?" "Don't go there Ryan."

I wonder if the angels tell her that she's not very convincing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

She's not near right.

What gets me is how painfully obvious it is that she is making it up as she goes along, but appears to have no idea of how ridiculous she sounds. Tubs does very well in these types of interviews I always feel, with his unobvious satire that makes the interviewee look a complete idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

One night in our house there was three of us still awake watching a movie. When we were done it was around 2 or 3 in the morning and we all decided to use the toilet (not at the same time now but one after the other). I was lucky enough to have a ghost poo but I had no idea about what was to follow. When the last person was done he laughed and said he had just had a ghost poo too. Shocked we then discovered that other lad had one too. Three ghost poos in the space of 20 minutes! What witchcraft was at hand we don't know, but even to this day I fear we will experience it again. If that's not a paranormal encounter I don't know what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

I'd have seen them. Ghosts are for cissies, and loo-laahs. It's the living I worry about.

By the wording you use, you are not only not sensitive, but you may also be over actively blocking out contacts.

Sounds to me like you are in a rich environment.

anncoates wrote: »

He-Man!

I've never had a what's popularly defined as 'paranormal' experience, there was always an explanation, even if it was unlikely or far-fetched.

Of course there's nothing more far-fetched than believing the disembodied spirit if some departed soul (what is a soul?) is somehow trying to communicate or even evict you through the medium of draughts, creaks, or mysterious damp stains on the ceiling.

Red Nissan wrote: »
    By the wording you use, you are not only not sensitive, but you may also be over actively blocking out contacts.

So not only does the absence of ghosties mean he's somehow less sensitive than those tender gullibles who do, it means he's actively blocking them out.

Dearie me.

Candie wrote: »
    Of course there's nothing more far-fetched than believing the disembodied spirit if some departed soul (what is a soul?)

Life exists and can spontaneously do so, at the moment of conception for humans a chemical convertor beings work assembling and growing parts from a worksheet that has arrived with the male's sperm.

This produces a living thing, but that also applies to animals, what makes us human is the possession of the body by a spirit or soul, this is and energy field that drives all things, everywhere.

The spirit or soul cannot be destroyed in a normal universe, the energy is merely transferred from object to object, as such the energy field has different properties, the force that keeps the table together is similar but not exactly the same as the force that makes you and me, without it, though still human, we'd be more like the table in consciousness.

In the normal course of events, newborn babies are soon possessed and a beneficial co-host existence continues. Usually this is a very happy and long lasting arrangement. There is however, room for misalignment and friction, the human host may not want to be possessed and the spirit may not want this particular host, there is room for dissent.

The spirit can leave the human host, the most common is upon death of that host, the spirit moves onto a new host, but the spirit may not want to leave the host, but the host dies anyway and the spirit is more tightly focused with a more consolidated energy field which can cause interference in our energy fields.

Candie wrote: »
    So not only does the absence of ghosties mean he's somehow less sensitive than those tender gullibles who do, it means he's actively blocking them out.

Dearie me.

One needs to understand the words he uses. Read his post again, one word at a time. Don't jump the sentence.

Red Nissan wrote: »

Only on Linkedin.

IRL, there are no contacts. There are no spirits, there are no fairies at the end of the garden and there are no dead people trying to talk to you. This is Ireland, and if there were, the Revenue commissioners would have tracked them down, catalogued them and imposed a spirit tax. And the only flying Aliens are the two Latvian lads down the road trying to build a hovvercraft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I had an encounter with the paranormal forum mod. It was unsettling.

diomed wrote: »
    I had an encounter with the paranormal forum mod. It was unsettling.

Did he probe you? Or did the room go cold when you opened the PM?