Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car with blue flashing lights

• 12-04-2014 10:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

I saw a car with blue flashing lights on the Cork Mallow road which doesn't seem to be a Garda car. It's driven by some young fella who seems confused when cars pull in out of his way as he approaches them. Surely it is illegal to have blue flashing lights on a car other than a Garda car.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭CNTRLR

as far as i know its illegal,you cannon have blue lights of any description fitted to the front of your car, and you can face prosecution for impersonating a garda if you are taking the mik like the lad on the M50 not so long ago, but i am open to correction on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Mikros

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I saw a car with blue flashing lights on the Cork Mallow road which doesn't seem to be a Garda car. It's driven by some young fella who seems confused when cars pull in out of his way as he approaches them. Surely it is illegal to have blue flashing lights on a car other than a Garda car.

Yes it is illegal to have any flashing lights regardless of colour on a vehicle except for certain classes of people as set out in the Road Traffic (Lighting of Vehicles) (Blue and Amber Lamps) (Amendment) Regulations 2011 - these would include Garda vehicles, ambulance, fire brigade and few others such as the prison service, coast guard, marked military police vehicles and also vehicles used to collect/transport human organs for transplant.

So there could be any number of legitimate reasons for the car to have blue lights, equally it could be someone taking the piss. if you are concerned a quick phone call to the local Garda station with the vehicle reg will sort it out very quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Mikros wrote: »
    Yes it is illegal to have any flashing lights regardless of colour on a vehicle except for certain classes of people as set out in the Road Traffic (Lighting of Vehicles) (Blue and Amber Lamps) (Amendment) Regulations 2011 - these would include Garda vehicles, ambulance, fire brigade and few others such as the prison service, coast guard, marked military police vehicles and also vehicles used to collect/transport human organs for transplant.

So there could be any number of legitimate reasons for the car to have blue lights, equally it could be someone taking the piss. if you are concerned a quick phone call to the local Garda station with the vehicle reg will sort it out very quickly.
    Yeah I spotted him twice in the last few days so I will watch out for him again and get his reg.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭kub

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Yeah I spotted him twice in the last few days so I will watch out for him again and get his reg.

Do if I remember correctly there was a raid on a cash van in Carrigaline Co Cork about 2 years ago, the raiders took off in a car which looked like an unmarked squad car also with a blue light.
    I am sure the Gardai would be very interested in this one alright. Not saying both cases are related of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

It's a confirmed Garda unmarked car from mallow district

POGAN wrote: »
    It's a confirmed Garda unmarked car from mallow district

;) I Thought you might have known something about it alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

It's Pogans new yoke! :P

I wish & no one would call me young anymore:(

Pogan is it a Hyundai?

kub wrote: »
    Pogan is it a Hyundai?

Yes

Perhaps the OP assumed it was some boy racer so based on the fact that it was not a Ford Mondeo with the usual unmarked symbols.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Mikros wrote: »

Some of the Civil Defence vehicles are also allowed to use flashing blue and amber lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,017 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Sort of off topic but related. There is a motorbike going around Galway in the last few weeks with POLICE written on it. It looks just like a Garda bike, same colouring etc except for the decal (if that's the word). The rider seems to be dressed in the proper gear as well but it is hard to be sure as it is always moving.
    Would this be just a member down from NI or something or just a 'normal' person who has painted his bike. If it's the latter, can he do this?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Sort of off topic but related. There is a motorbike going around Galway in the last few weeks with POLICE written on it. It looks just like a Garda bike, same colouring etc except for the decal (if that's the word). The rider seems to be dressed in the proper gear as well but it is hard to be sure as it is always moving.
    Would this be just a member down from NI or something or just a 'normal' person who has painted his bike. If it's the latter, can he do this?

I doubt that it is from the North. I do not believe that they are allowed to cross the border and vv.

redout wrote: »
    I doubt that it is from the North. I do not believe that they are allowed to cross the border and vv.

Could be bike on trial with the driving school

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

06 C Lexus parked outside pub on Baggot St with suction W/screen strobe - Ministerial or just Limo trying to impersonate ministerial motor ??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Capri wrote: »
    06 C Lexus parked outside pub on Baggot St with suction W/screen strobe - Ministerial or just Limo trying to impersonate ministerial motor ??

How do you know it wasn't a yellow strobe and they were involved in road maintainance or some such?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Cop cars aren't always D reg anymore and customs could be in anything at all.

Could be either.

A lot of the Limo crowd are fitting white strobes - probably legal but Joe Public will pull over anyway :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I reckon thats ministerial. I've seen a lexus (not sure which year) park outside department of finance a few times

Mr Simpson wrote: »
    I reckon thats ministerial. I've seen a lexus (not sure which year) park outside department of finance a few times

Finance minister doesn't have a Garda escort. Only a couple of them get it now.

No, but they have access to a pool car, no?

No, the taxpayer pay for a driver for them.

Ah, I hadnt realised. Thought that all minister could access pool cars rather than have their own driver

There IS a 0?D GS450h around (with Garda drivers) but are the ministers 'private' drivers able to use blue flasing lights ( shades of Banana republics coming to pass here :confused: )

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

There IS a 0?D GS450h around (with Garda drivers) but are the ministers 'private' drivers able to use blue flasing lights ( shades of Banana republics coming to pass here :confused: )

If a member of the Gardai is on duty it doesn't matter what he is driving or who is driving around, he is exempt from most of the road traffic act.

(Drunk and Dangerous driving not included)

For the use of blue lights and sirens they do not need to be on any emergency call nor have to be in hot pursuit. Its purely at their discretion.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭markpb

foreign wrote: »
    Ah, I hadnt realised. Thought that all minister could access pool cars rather than have their own driver

IIRC the car (and driver) which are funded by the state aren't driven by Gardai so aren't exempt from the RTAs and thus aren't allowed have blue lights. This also meant that they also couldn't drive in bus lanes but when they realised that, they quickly changed the law to allow it. After all, we couldn't have members of our parliament stuck in traffic and/or feeling the need to take public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Inconspicuous

Have seen a black GS450h there a number of times too. But I think it's actually parked outside the Attorney General's office (next door to the Dept of Finance) and is actually a ministerial (garda) car & driver. If I remember correctly the Attorney General still gets a Garda driver

markpb wrote: »
    IIRC the car (and driver) which are funded by the state aren't driven by Gardai so aren't exempt from the RTAs and thus aren't allowed have blue lights. This also meant that they also couldn't drive in bus lanes but when they realised that, they quickly changed the law to allow it. After all, we couldn't have members of our parliament stuck in traffic and/or feeling the need to take public transport.

Limo with strobes and flagpole fitted -

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

President and I think taoiseach (sp?) have an s-class.

Edit: that has a spsv licence in the rear window so not a state car.