Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phone stolen - photo of thief?

• 11-04-2014 12:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hello,

My phone was stolen last Saturday night from my handbag in a pub in town - the girl who took it took photos of herself - which loaded up to my Dropbox - the phone tracker traced the phone to an address in Portobello but the gardai say the address is wrong - what do you suggest I do?

Forget about it or maybe post her photo somewhere/social media that someone might recognise her?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

You gave the picture to the guards yeah? Not sure why they dismissed you like that if you pretty much have proof. I don't know if sharing it on social media will give you the result you're looking for (usually ends up in a lynch mob 'like and share' affair) but it might work. It seems you've got the hard evidence for it, best of luck finding your phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Post the photo up here, we'll find the thieving bastard in no time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Burn down her house..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

She hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Redkilkenny

In fairness to the garda he's said he circulate her photo to a few other stations. Just very annoying getting robbed:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

What town?

She hot?[/q-uote]

No - looks fairly rough:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Stick the photo up online.

Ask around where you think she is like the local pub have they seen her around.

The Garda are just too busy to look for a phone.

BNMC wrote: »
    What town?

Was in Living Room pub in Cathal Brugha St. Dublin 1 - ladies mind your bags there:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Here is an idea if its common in the town you are in. Look at the pub/club FB pictures to see if one of their roaming photographers took a pic of her in a group etc to she if she was tagged in a pic? (the skangers are mad to get papped) :)

Nearly every one who goes out in my town on a Saturday night gets 'papped' for the pub or clubs FB page.

(sorry if its a really dumb idea) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Bring a gang of lads up to the house.. big ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Just out of interest, how do you know that the girl in the photo is the girl that stole the phone?

I'd be careful of putting the pic up on social media and claiming that particular person stole your phone if the possibility exists that it isn't her. For example the girl in the photo could be a friend of the person that stole the phone.

Maybe just communicate that your phone was stolen and those pics were taken with it afterwards and ask does anybody know the person in the photo so you can try and get to the bottom of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Check the photo on TinEye. This person obviously isn't the sharpest, it's possible they will have uploaded the picture to their Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Chances are if the thief is using WiFi on the phone I would say the location of the phone would be the nearest exchange to their provider I.e Eircom etc...

If they are on data only it may ping to the nearest cell tower which would be like a needle in a haystack!

Is it Android?

Try this if it is : www.android.com/devicemanager while signed into your gmail on the PC...

And if your signed in on your gmail in PC, look down the bottom of the page for "details" and have a look for IP address where your gmail has been signed in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

is the tracker reporting wifi connections names or anything still.
    If so, take a wander around that area to see if you can pick up the wifi.
    If a public wifi like college or shop, might be a regular/student

You could try google searching some of the photos, see if she put them up on her fb
    http://www.google.ie/insidesearch/features/images/searchbyimage.html

Photo is a selfie:-) Phone Galaxy S4 -Thanks for all your suggestions -much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

afatbollix wrote: »
    Stick the photo up online.

Ask around where you think she is like the local pub have they seen her around.

The Garda are just too busy to look for a phone.

You know, i've seen several of these threads over the last couple of years in various forums and the victims have pretty much all had the guards dismiss them out of hand despite having an arrest handed to them almost on a plate.

I mean crime is crime and theft is theft.

You can bet your ass that if someone was caught shoplifting they would have a couple of squaddies down there.

Or if a party got a few noise complaints.

I mean the guards have a duty of care to the public and I don't believe for one second that they are too busy to send a patrol car around or to spend the bare minimum of effort it would require to follow this up.

If two guards can regularly be dispatched to hand deliver a court summons to someone, it makes no sense that they can't take the time to return a citizens stolen property to them.

Hope you get it back anyway op! Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Have you tried google image search? Might get a hit doing that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

RoboRat wrote: »
    Have you tried google image search? Might get a hit doing that...

That's what I was thinking. Doesn't Google have a facility where you upload a photo and it'll match it to the same photo no matter where on the web (even Facebooks). Time to break out the cyberguns OP and hunt her down like a duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Thread has been open all night and you still haven't posted the photo. What's going on OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Happened to my sis last year at a music festival. The girl that robbed my sisters bag took a few selfies which were uploaded to Dropbox. My sis copied pic, put it on Facebook and within a few days had her phone back.

Go for it op!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

If it's a S4 then you more than likely had to create a Samsung account when the phone was being setup.

http://findmymobile.samsung.com/login.do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

... but the gardai say the address is wrong...

Wrong in what sense? Nobody at that address has admitted to stealing your phone?

Photo is a selfie:-) Phone Galaxy S4 -Thanks for all your suggestions -much appreciated

Fair enough, it's probably a pic of the person that stole it however I'd still be careful with your wording. There's an outside chance that the person who stole that phone sold it/gave it to that girl, or it could be a friend of the thief taking selfies (very unlikely, I know but if the possibility exists...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

see if any and all new pics are geotagged

If it's a S4 then you more than likely had to create a Samsung account when the phone was being setup.

http://findmymobile.samsung.com/login.do

Google has 'find my device' too. No need for Samsung account.

https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager

(Lock and erase too)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'd have to agree with the image search. I've been successful with that in the past finding people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,885 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Google has 'find my device' too. No need for Samsung account.

(Lock and erase too)
    That is absolutely awesome. I tried it out on my phone and it works great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

This happened to me before. I sat out side the house and sent a message to the phone saying I was there and to bring it out. If they did not I would be alerting the garda.

The phone was swiftly returned

also on android, on your google account you can go see where it is at any moment. I cant remember how to thought one sec...

srumball wrote: »

Only if location services is switched on. My history shows very little information, and what it does show isn't accurate (cell towers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Blatter wrote: »
    Fair enough, it's probably a pic of the person that stole it however I'd still be careful with your wording. There's an outside chance that the person who stole that phone sold it/gave it to that girl, or it could be a friend of the thief taking selfies (very unlikely, I know but if the possibility exists...)

Doesn't matter, its still stolen.
    Buying/Being given stolen goods does not make them yours

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

* posts defamatory false accusation picture of disliked person *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

OP - the photo itself is probably geotagged. If you PM me a link to the file I can try to pull the coordinates for you.

stimpson wrote: »
    OP - the photo itself is probably geotagged. If you PM me a link to the file I can try to pull the coordinates for you.

Ha! Nice try. :D

Hope she doesn't use boards or she'll know you're on to her!

Put it up an Reddit under an random user name. They will find them in no time!

This is your phone, you have every right to track it down. Also the photo was taken on your device, so its your photo to do with it what you will.... i think???

http://goireland.about.com/od/safetyinireland/qt/photo_law_irela.htm

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/366409/Caught-in-a-flash-Mobile-app-captures-selfie-of-thief-and-is-shared-170-000-online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

Ha! Nice try. :D

:confused: It was a serious offer!

Also going forward get this app

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lookout

Its how I got my phone back when it was taken

Seriously . all you're going to have on these sites is a pic of someone with an accusation of theft.

This guy stole my girlfriend.... I mean phone... Boo bad guy... Thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

BNMC wrote: »
    What town?

The one that doesn't have bitter culchies in it.

Seriously . all you're going to have on these sites is a pic of someone with an accusation of theft.

9 times outta 10 the people who steal phones are stupid enough to start taking photos with them.

This is the best route to take if you want it back quickly. And haste is the most important thing when dealing with a stolen phone, before it runs out of battery they manage to crack it etc

They obviously had it at some stage. So they know where it went

If i had the recent location of it and a picture of the person, i would be at that location looking for them. A galaxy S4 is worht what like €400 or so.

If someone stole your car, wouldnt you want to track it down. There are many cars on the road not valued at much more than this.

OP go get your phone, I hope you find it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

anncoates wrote: »
    The one that doesn't have bitter culchies in it.

you're gonna need to be more specific :pac:

Those apps are handy alright but they come with so many creepy conditions.
    Requires access to your location, access to email, modify card, download additional content 3rd party apps, switch on your phone, switch on mic, pass on your soul to the nsa etc etc

No much more than Facebook. SO anyone who is happy to have facebook or facebook messanger on their phone, should get this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭SHANAbert

How do you expect the App to locate your phone???:confused::confused::confused:

Doesn't matter, its still stolen.
    Buying/Being given stolen goods does not make them yours

What are you talking about, I never said any of that?

My point is that it shouldn't be stated as a fact on social media that the girl in the photo is the thief, when that's not 100% certain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

Until she's convicted in a court of law with stealing the phone or handling stolen property, if at any point before that you publish the picture and imply she stole the phone you would leave yourself open to a civil action from this girl.

J K wrote: »
    Until she's convicted in a court of law with stealing the phone or handling stolen property, if at any point before that you publish the picture and imply she stole the phone you would leave yourself open to a civil action from this girl.

So say that this photo was taken on the phone, and does anyone know here, simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭SHANAbert

"I am looking for this girl to help me locate my phone"