If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

sea trout rod

• 10-04-2014 11:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭

well lads its getting to that time of year again and ive been thinking about a new rod, ive been using a 9-8 weight 9 foot fly rod for a few years and had reasonable success with it but ive been thinking of a smaller rod and was wondering what rods yous would use for sea trout of up to 2lbs, 2lbs would be a once every 5 year( if your lucky) fish around here but i wouldnt like to finally hook one on a rod that isnt up to the job cause as yee know there a very hard fighting fish for there size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

9ft 5 weight is a great all rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭realrebel

I suppose it depends on the size of the river, I use a 8ft 6wt for smaller rivers and a 10ft 6wt or 7wt for the larger rivers
    I tend to use a 7wt coz I use bigger flies
    Of all the rods I have for them my Shakespeare odsessy is the most used and the cheapest too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭fisherking

Gloomis glx classic 9 foot for a 7 weight...
    A beast!
    well lads its getting to that time of year again and ive been thinking about a new rod, ive been using a 9-8 weight 9 foot fly rod for a few years and had reasonable success with it but ive been thinking of a smaller rod and was wondering what rods yous would use for sea trout of up to 2lbs, 2lbs would be a once every 5 year( if your lucky) fish around here but i wouldnt like to finally hook one on a rod that isnt up to the job cause as yee know there a very hard fighting fish for there size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭madred006

fisherking wrote: »
    Gloomis glx classic 9 foot for a 7 weight...
    A beast!

Have to agree have the 10 ft 6 wt it's a serious rod and lots of power .Was caught out one evening in Galway and had to use a loop stream tech 10ft 5 wt hooked a sea trout about 1lb and broke top section .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Yeah id have to say a 5 weight is a bit too light to be considered an all rounder for me. While it would be a great fight should you hook into something solid, Id fear it would be that bit too light for striking the hook or indeed to survive that initial run of a good fish. 9.5 foot, 6/7 would be my all rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Mr Bumble

SeaFields wrote: »
    Yeah id have to say a 5 weight is a bit too light to be considered an all rounder for me. While it would be a great fight should you hook into something solid, Id fear it would be that bit too light for striking the hook or indeed to survive that initial run of a good fish. 9.5 foot, 6/7 would be my all rounder.

Wouldn't be comfortable with a 5 fishing for sea trout and the 9.5 has the added benefit of being useful in a boat too - bang on as all-rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

I suppose I shouldn't say all rounder but for what op wants I'd still say the 9ft 5weight would be ideal. After using a 8/9 weight he won't know himself.
    As is always the case with rods and lines try before you buy if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭fisherking

Depends where you are fishing
    If you have lots of room for play a 4 our 5 weight would be fine
    But if you are in a small river with big trout you need the power.....
    A seven works for me.....
    Auldloon wrote: »
    I suppose I shouldn't say all rounder but for what op wants I'd still say the 9ft 5weight would be ideal. After using a 8/9 weight he won't know himself.
    As is always the case with rods and lines try before you buy if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

The best rod I used for the white trout is a sage xp 2 piece 6 wt rod with the peach 6 wt cortland line or you could even get away with the 7 weight on the 9 ft xp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭con___manx1

well lads its getting to that time of year again and ive been thinking about a new rod, ive been using a 9-8 weight 9 foot fly rod for a few years and had reasonable success with it but ive been thinking of a smaller rod and was wondering what rods yous would use for sea trout of up to 2lbs, 2lbs would be a once every 5 year( if your lucky) fish around here but i wouldn't like to finally hook one on a rod that isnt up to the job cause as you know there a very hard fighting fish for there size

if u hit the fish of your dreams and haven't got the rod to get him in you'll be sick.id drop down to a 6 or 7 weight at the least.you could hook into a big salmon while fishing for trout. you never know it happened to me recently.i fish with a seven weight and 2lb fish are rare too ; )