Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit in the face whilst cycling!

• 10-04-2014 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

Out for a cycle this evening with my brother and the driver of a van coming towards us in the opposite direction leaned out his window and fired a chocolate bar at us, hitting me smack in the face! Dirty scumbag nearly knocked out my teeth. I dont know why someone would do such a stupid thing! Lucky I didn't end up under a car but got such a fright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Cdub

If I could catch him , I would have had to of been peeled off him, scumbag

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Jesus ouch you poor thing that looks really sore. Lots of ice and tlc for you. Feet up this evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭letape

Unbelievable. Would love someone to catch him some day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...what a FF 20mm cannon is really for.

Such a scumbag!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Epic1337

Karma for that guy surely will get him back ten fold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Ignorant pricks on the ****ing roads see a cyclist and throw crap. I got hit with a can one time, nearly crippled me, these people are absolute morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I'd call the police if I were you. Depending on the roads, businesses nearby may have cctv facing where you were, and that's a nasty looking injury.

Hope you're feeling better soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

So chocolate really IS bad for your teeth.

Bad bastard, be nice to catch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭sonandheir

What a scumbag, looks like you got hit with a crowbar not a chocolate bar. Must of been some force in the throw.
    Rest up. Ice and whiskey( not on the rocks, the ice is for your face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hi just wondering did you keep object thrown as may have fingerprints or DNA. Did you get van make/type and were there any street cameras or shops in the area he would be driving or a bus or coach?

I had ice thrown at me from a moving van while just opening car door to get in he leaned out and just saw him throw with his arm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

:eek: Jesus you poor thing, I hope you reported it to the guards. Karma will come back around to bite the scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

I'd call the police if I were you. Depending on the roads, businesses nearby may have cctv facing where you were, and that's a nasty looking injury.

Hope you're feeling better soon.

I agree with contacting the police. Thats a pretty serious assault you have there. Get well soon.

I got hit with a bag of chips thrown from a van once, full in the chest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I'd call the police if I were you. Depending on the roads, businesses nearby may have cctv facing where you were

100%. You have to do this. We recently had a break in next door and the Guards were positive they'd catch the guys, stating that basically most of their cases are made and people caught due to the massive amount of CCTV coverage these days.

Did you see the driver's face? If you have the time of the incident and know the direction the van was traveling, a location somewhere along the road could have coverage. You'll have to act quickly. I'd go to the police and then get onto trying to track down anywhere that might have footage myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

if he was in a van hes bound to be working in that route so scout the area for a few days guaranteed you will see him again.
    the complete bastard i hope his tool melts..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I know a lad who was cycling past Dolphin's Barn a couple of years back and was smashed in the face with a potato by a couple of little scangers hiding behind a wall. Had a massive shiner for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Flipping idiots! Get to the gardai asap, it would be a pity to let this fool get away with it.

Hope you feel better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭therealme

WHAT makes a person do that??? I have never heard of anything like that before!!!

I hope that karma comes around to him & I hope you get better very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

It makes my brain hurt to even begin to comprehend how idiotic some people can be.

Edit: You may go to the Guards, you've nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

Where did this occur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

What kind of chocolate bar?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    Do not trivialise an incident like this

Beasty

Sorry, not trying to trivialise it, pure scum the person that did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭kingoffifa

Danjamin1 wrote: »

Firstly, to OP, very sorry for your troubles. I got quite a shock when i saw your photo.
    I have to say, the quote from above was the first thing i thought of :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Hope your ok soon, looks very nasty. Definitely Garda time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Stella11

That's an awful shock. It happened to me a few years ago in windy arbour. Some fkrs threw a bucket of water or something on me ( from a white van) while I was cycling. Just scum really. Hope they get bad karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Hard luck man, follow it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Cyclewizard

Definitely go to the Garda nothing to loose. The idiot needs to get his comeuppance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

<snip>

That's some injury. Take it handy OP, get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

F*cking hell OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Borderfox wrote: »
    Hope your ok soon, looks very nasty. Definitely Garda time

^^^
    This. Somewhere on the vans journey there would have been CCTV.

It would put manners on who ever did it and you'd probably get a new carbon bike out if it for your troubles.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I've had eggs thrown at me by boy racers before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I've been egged from a car once, near Griffith College. Thankfully not in my teeth... Definitely go to Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

godtabh wrote: »
    I've had eggs thrown at me by boy racers before.

Eggs and tomato sauce... My son was walking with me. He was seven. Who thinks that's ok, to cover a seven year old in tomato sauce? Mind you, I live on the door step to Ballymun... Ph, yeah, forgot, regular eggings in Donnybrook every weekend when I worked there too..

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I suspect one or two of us have examples of atrocious behaviour towards us (with me it was someone leaning out of a car window to slap me on the backside) - in many cases we tend to not come to any more harm and probably leave it there. That's not the situation here where the OP clearly suffered physical damage and I would encourage him to provide whatever info he can to the Gardai. It may not directly result in a prosecution (depending on how much evidence he has), but it can help build a case if someone tries something like this again. Something as simple as the colour or make of van may be the sort of thing the Gardai can look out for should other cases be reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

I am shocked by this thread, that so many of you have had things like this happen is outrageous. It also reminded me of what I saw happen last Saturday morning on the North Circular near Dorset street. A woman was cycling just in front of me and she moved to the right a tad because the condition of the road can be brutal in parts there just near the Mater. The car right beside her rolled down the window and they exchanged words, but the next thing was awful--the passenger stuck his head out the window and SPIT on her full on. I couldn't believe it. I sped up to try and get his license plate, but he saw me in the mirror and turned down a side street and sped off. I was furious, worst thing I've seen happen really, besides a few young ones lobbing stones a while back (but I dealt with them myself, *evil grin*).

Really sorry this happened to you OP, and I hope they catch the bastards that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭long_b

That's a serious assault OP - hope you get to prosecute the scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Horrific stuff OP. I hope you recover soon - that would shake my own confidence. Few "white van men" pass me every morning in the way to work - so not do I only have to worry about them driving completely irresponsibly, but now the possibility of flying objects. Lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

I was cycling back home after an evening spin along the N81 and like that a van which was absolutely flying (in the same direction I was going) had the passenger lean out the window to hit me on the back. Presumably as a bit of a prank. Well the lad gave me one hell of a smack on the lower back. The scream of pain was quite loud.

Good thing was the scream came from him as he caught me on the pump I had in one of my back pockets. The funny thing was this was just before Blessington and the van actually stopped ahead of me, he got out and he tried to have a go at me because it was my fault he broke his finger. Luckily there were about 2 cars to witness what happened and one stopped when I did and set the lad straight. That was a "good and lucky" incident but could have worked out a hell of a lot worse for me. I did laugh all the way home mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Andy Magic

That looks nasty, I've had fruit thrown at me in the past from a passenger in a van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Floody Boreland

I was cycling back home after an evening spin along the N81 and like that a van which was absolutely flying (in the same direction I was going) had the passenger lean out the window to hit me on the back. Presumably as a bit of a prank. Well the lad gave me one hell of a smack on the lower back. The scream of pain was quite loud.

Good thing was the scream came from him as he caught me on the pump I had in one of my back pockets. The funny thing was this was just before Blessington and the van actually stopped ahead of me, he got out and he tried to have a go at me because it was my fault he broke his finger. Luckily there were about 2 cars to witness what happened and one stopped when I did and set the lad straight. That was a "good and lucky" incident but could have worked out a hell of a lot worse for me. I did laugh all the way home mind.

pity you didn't take it further when you had witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

That is unreal, you got some smack alright. What the hell was the driver at, he could have killed you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

pity you didn't take it further when you had witnesses.

In hindsight I probably should have. At the time I think it was more I was laughing and in good mood because he harmed himself not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 marathon50

I was cycling behind my brother on a training spin between Ballyfin & Mountrath and just got a smack in the face. My brother said he saw the driver of the van coming towards us leaning out the window and throwing something at us. Luckily I didnt crash and it was just us two and not a bunch of cyclists as there could have been mayhem. Any object travelling at 70kmh meeting us travelling at 40kmh is going to do damage. We reported the incident to the gardai but probably wont hear anything more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

sonandheir wrote: »
    What a scumbag, looks like you got hit with a crowbar not a chocolate bar. Must of been some force in the throw.
    It's just simple physics. Something which obviously most scum don't realise. Bike @ 25km/h + van @ 50km/h in the opposite direction means chocolate bar travelling at 75km/h.

There's nothing funny about that.

marathon50 wrote: »
    I was cycling behind my brother on a training spin between Ballyfin & Mountrath and just got a smack in the face. My brother said he saw the driver of the van coming towards us leaning out the window and throwing something at us. Luckily I didnt crash and it was just us two and not a bunch of cyclists as there could have been mayhem. Any object travelling at 70kmh meeting us travelling at 40kmh is going to do damage. We reported the incident to the gardai but probably wont hear anything more.

I wonder do these knackers understand the amount of damage this could have done to you had you come off the bike, let alone gone under a car!

It's bad enough the damage it did, looks more like they threw a brick!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I've had a few tortilla wraps -- don't laugh please -- frisbee'd at me by a couple of knackers hiding behind the rails opposite the library in Irishtown. Luckily, the Irishtown garda station is 200 yards away, so I cycled there as fast as I could, told the officer on duty and they sent up a squad car immediately.

Not sure what happened to the knackers, but the 20/30 tortilla wraps which were lying all over the road, including the few that were slung at me, were gone the next morning. Haven't been tortilla'd since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

tortilla wraps frisbee'd at me
    the officer on duty sent up a squad car immediately.
    Haven't been tortilla'd since.
    don't laugh please

Too late! :D:D This is seriously hilarious :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Im actually stunned that this kind of thing is going on, ive never seen anything like that myself, then again we are all nice quiet folk down here in west cork;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I had a full 1L carton of milk thown at me while I was walking through Sandymount one evening.

Teenagers in a car.

It cut my hand and completely wrecked by suit and a load of paperwork that I had in my bag.

There are some complete ###### out there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Eggs and tomato sauce... My son was walking with me. He was seven. Who thinks that's ok, to cover a seven year old in tomato sauce? Mind you, I live on the door step to Ballymun... Ph, yeah, forgot, regular eggings in Donnybrook every weekend when I worked there too..

Wasn't to far from Donnybrook.

Now that I remember I also had a takeaway coke carton thrown at my. Missed so I had to put up with dickheads shouting at me for a minute