Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Britain's Got Talent 2014

• 09-04-2014 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭

Me starting a thread for a Simon Cowell show?! ME?!? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :D:D:D:D

Well, there's just three days to go to the start of the eighth series.

But despite the inevitable heavy promotion, it seems that the general reaction from the public is "meh".

A sign that this show has had its day, perhaps? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

My word - less than three hours to go, and STILL no-one else has posted on this thread... :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :D:D

Are the vast majority of Boardsies tired of the show, then? Feel perfectly free to admit it - you won't get in any trouble for it. :D:D:):););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

To maintain interest, this year needs to provide us with a dancing dog, singing a power ballad accompanied by a didgeridoo playing cat.

Since we've already had Pudsey, how about the cat does the singing and dancing and the dog plays the didgeridoo? :D:D

Zzzz... I'm bored already. Next! :D An orphan dance troupe?

Or a guy from Eastern Europe juggling chainsaws while balancing above a pit of poisonous snakes? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Say the boffins in tv3 are panicking looking for stuff to fill the void coz the FA cup is running over. Paul o'grady followed by Xpose

See through dresses on Xpose though so no complaints.... :/

If I wanted to see see-through dresses, I wouldn't go to Xpose for them... :o:D

True but it was a nice treat. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

God, I love Ant & Dec! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

That was really good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

am I one of the few people who thought that that boy musical group were just ok. not amazing. just grand, but like they werent all very strong singers, one was visibly shaking as he sang. suppose they have the "likeability" factor and are a bit different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Amanda has really over done it on the Botox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭3mm

first golden buzz coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Wow! That is truly beautiful singing.

Amanda Holden looks ridiculously ironed

cactuspaw wrote: »
    am I one of the few people who thought that that boy musical group were just ok. not amazing. just grand, but like they werent all very strong singers, one was visibly shaking as he sang. suppose they have the "likeability" factor and are a bit different.

Only watching them now but I agree with you they were only ok to me. I think the religious song probably put me off them as well.

Holy sh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

WTF... That's some 80 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Blubbing here......

Fair play to Paddy, the 80 year old dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Did they win Spain's got Talent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

They should be kicked off the show, if you win in another country you should not be allowed to enter!
    No matter what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

That near 80 year old was exceptional.
    I didn't know you could do that with an elderly person...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Amanda has really over done it on the Botox.

I'd say Simon gives out free doses to all his fellow judges and friends :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Watching this now On Demand, the dancers were very good I found.

That 79 year old can surely move. She was amazing. Wow.

The fact that she won another competition cheapens it.

Well, now this thread is buzzing - so I probably spoke too soon when I suggested that the vast majority of Boardsies were tired of the show. :o:D

But why did almost everyone wait to talk about it until it actually got underway?!? :eek: :eek: :eek: :o:o:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Its had its day.

The old lady was the standout act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭smurfs5

The viewing figures don't lie. 10.5 million - the highest for any of its opening episodes. Yes, it wasn't up against The Voice but it's still an extremely good figure.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/tv/s107/britains-got-talent/news/a564307/britains-got-talent-returns-to-itv-with-105-million-viewers.html#~oBCgeunsFqhkNK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭JamesReeves

Just a few thoughts on the second show.
    One - the Canadian magician was really good.. but the show's called Britain's got talent not fly to Britain and apply.
    Secondly - the motorbike guys were brilliant too but I can't see it winning and or being performed infront of the queen it would give her heart failure
    Finally.. that dude that David pressed his golden buzzer for was shocking ... each to their own.
    No winners in tonight's show IMO although if I had to pick it would be the magician .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Magician was excellent and while I kind of agree with you there has always been non British contestants.

He's been my fav act so far and I imagine he has better stuff to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭JamesReeves

mdwexford wrote: »
    Magician was excellent and while I kind of agree with you there has always been non British contestants.

He's been my fav act so far and I imagine he has better stuff to come.

Usually it's I'm X but I'm living in England for X years ... now it's I'm from Canada and I've just come over for the audition.. still not complaining as it was quality entertainment he was very good.

Fav act so far between both shows would be him or the guys last week doing the light dance thingy, where the whole stage went pitch black and there was a big group of them. . . pretty awesome stuff

smurfs5 wrote: »
    The viewing figures don't lie. 10.5 million - the highest for any of its opening episodes. Yes, it wasn't up against The Voice but it's still an extremely good figure.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/tv/s107/britains-got-talent/news/a564307/britains-got-talent-returns-to-itv-with-105-million-viewers.html#~oBCgeunsFqhkNK

Doesn't explain why almost everyone on here waited to talk about it until it actually began. :o

Nor, for that matter, does it explain why no-one talked about the second episode while it was actually on... :o:o

Is it just us? :o:o:o:D:);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Doesn't explain why almost everyone on here waited to talk about it until it actually began. :o

Nor, for that matter, does it explain why no-one talked about the second episode while it was actually on... :o:o

Is it just us? :o:o:o:D:);)

I think it's a show lots of people will watch and enjoy, but they don't really care who wins.

It has a loyal audience, but not an obsessive audience. Closer to The Voice than The X Factor.

Skid X wrote: »
    It has a loyal audience, but not an obsessive audience. Closer to The Voice than The X Factor.

It used to have an obsessive audience, though - certainly when Susan Boyle was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It used to have an obsessive audience, though - certainly when Susan Boyle was on.

Well, it was certainly more obsessive then. There was a novelty to the programme and SuBo's performance made it a must-see programme for a while.

But maybe the novelty wore off. It's mostly the same kind of acts every year and once you have seen them, there is no real 'journey' like you get on X Factor or Strictly. It's still a watchable programme but maybe (mostly) everything to be said about it has already been said.

ITV won't mind as long as they are pulling in decent ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

I'm not too bothered catching up with the show anymore. I do like the final week when all the shows are back to back but not too bothered with the weekend shows.

There seems to be too many light/silhouette acts at the moment and that's already been done, it would be nice to see something fresh but I guess it's hard after years of the show to find something different.

Well, it's probably fair to say that the show reached its zenith when Ashleigh and Pudsey won... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

Am finding BGT a more watchable show than anything else that's on.

Watching it now on TV3, those dancers are something else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

They were great.
    Anyone know what the music was? Very catchy.

They were great.
    Anyone know what the music was? Very catchy.

I think it was just a mashup of songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭That_Girl_ Is_ A_Cowboy

Watching tonight. A 4 member young male band ranging from late 20s to early 30s was on. Mutiple michael buble's. Love love love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Always a sob story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Just watching it now; what's the big deal with the muppet yoke at the beginning? Sure anyone can stick their hand up a puppet's arse, sing a mediocre song and make unfunny quips. It was an awful act, yet the judges and the audience seemed to love it. Baffling.

Can't say I'm overly impressed with the show this year. Besides the dancing granny and the magician with the birds, nothing's really stood out for me so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Liordi

In relation to the dancers, (79 year old and dance partner) she won Spain's Got Talent in 2009.

Pretty sure Simon must've known about them prior to them preforming with the whole "I hate ballroom dancing.." and pressing the buzzer.

I'm really enjoying BGT this year. Great acts and great variety, which is what it's all about. I found the puppet at the start amusing.

American Idol has very talented people, but is overdone as far as production and is dragged out too much. Frankly I'm bored by it. I don't care which of them wins. Jena seems to have gotten it all together, but I'm not mad about her.

IMO, BGT is the best entertainment available on TV ATM. I laughed and laughed at the most recent episode! David Walliams is worth his weight in gold on the show! Love that Simon Cowell is back!