Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink Driving charge

• 08-04-2014 8:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 29

A close friend of mine recently got caught drink driving. He was well over the limit. He knows he was completely in the wrong and was prepared to accept the consequences. He had a quick Google and read that he should have a barrister represent him in court, even if pleading guilty.

However, he rang one particular barrister that told him, he might be able to get him of on a technicality. He, was given too prices one for pleading guilty and a much higher price for fighting the case. The barrister has also convinced him that it's worth a shot.

I'm a little skeptical that the barrister might be just looking for easy money. Is the case worth fighting? Or is the barrister just looking for business?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

my_self wrote: »

A close friend of mine recently got caught drink driving. He was well over the limit. He knows he was completely in the wrong and was prepared to accept the consequences. He had a quick Google and read that he should have a barrister represent him in court, even if pleading guilty.

However, he rang one particular barrister that told him, he might be able to get him of on a technicality. He, was given too prices one for pleading guilty and a much higher price for fighting the case. The barrister has also convinced him that it's worth a shot.

I'm a little skeptical that the barrister might be just looking for easy money. Is the case worth fighting? Or is the barrister just looking for business?

I assume you mean solicitor, barristers do not deal directly with the general public and a barrister can not act in such a matter unless instructed by a solicitor. A large % of such cases are won on a pure legal argument with a number of recent SC decisions causing much issues with cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

it will depend on what the technicality is

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Hunter Mahan

If he was pleading guilty then an experienced solicitor should suffice, especially one familiar with that particular court or Judge.

Has your friend met with this barrister or was it just a phone call? How can he give you a good idea or not if he is not aware of all the facts surrounding your case?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

How far over the limit was your friend and what does the barrister reckon the technicality is?

• Registered Users Posts: 29 my_self

Sorry a solicitor and yes it was just a phone call. Just to add, my friend put his hands up and accepted he was wrong when pulled by the Guards. He was in the highest bracket in terms of being over the limit. The solicitor didn't specify the technicality, but mentioned he'd have to apply for more time to investigate in the court.

Don't go down the "investigating in court" route . Accept what's happened and make sure your friend dosent do it again. If he/she was that far over the limit it may be pointless fighting anything

Fight it if he can easily afford it and the car is a necessity. Otherwise it may not be worth the risk? I would want to be in possession of more information than you appear to have before deciding.

Unless ther is a clear cut mistake by the Garda . Then don't fight it . Trust me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

"the highest bracket in terms of been over the limit" should be an automatic ban i believe. not sure what technicality will offset this

@colash, why not fight it? If my friend looses, can he be subject to a worse sentence?

Might get a smaller fine if he pleads guilty early. I don't think the ban from the road would differ either way.

@colash, why not fight it? If my friend looses, can he be subject to a worse sentence?

Not only that, but the cost of fighting it may be huge . People do often fight these cases and do infact get away with them through technical mistakes . But if your friend was in the highest bracket of being over the limit, I can't see this going any other way , than a conviction and a lengthy ban . I myself had a 6 month driving ban a while ago and was told there was loop holes and ways around things to get out of these situations but that there was also a good chance it could all back fire . I held my hands up in the end, did my ban and made sure I will never be as stupid as I was before to land myself with a ban .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

A friend of mine was caught for drink driving. Very similar to your friend he was well over the limit. He got off on a number of technicalities combined, wrong area noted as to where he was stopped etc. apparently the solicitor he used specialises in these kind of cases. I can try and get the solicitors name if your friend is interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭wiz569

Accept he was wrong and take his punishment,it could have turned out far worse in fairness

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Guilty pleas in simple drink driving cases can be straightforward enough work, for experienced practitioners who know their stuff.

Contesting drink driving cases can be difficult and time consuming in the preparation. Many details need to be taken. The law needs to be checked for plausible arguments that can be put to a judge. It can be difficult to gauge the chances of success or failure in contesting a case without carrying out a certain amount of this time consuming work beforehand. The time and effort costs money.

If your friend does not trust his solicitor, he should go somewhere else.

@wiz569 I agree that's morally the correct thing to do, but my question is not about morals. My friend felt the same until he spoke to a certain solicitor.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭wiz569

@wiz569 I agree that's morally the correct thing to do, but my question is not about morals. My friend felt the same until he got spoke to a certain solicitor.

Speaking to a solicitor should not change things,I'm not having a pop at your friend but it could have been a life changing event for somebody,

If he does not take it on the chin,whats to stop him doing it again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 MAD MAN 2014

guilty end of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

He was way over the limit as you said, and in this, I would just say to him to bite the bullet and deal with it like a man. He was way over the limit, and thinking like many a folk that they are grand and happily merry/drunk, and don't ever think that they could lose control of the vehicle while listening to the best music pumping out of it, ahh, sure it's a blissful felling when intoxicated, and the feeling of full false-control.

His best bet is to plead guilty, because he is guilty, and when in court, be honest to the judge, because the judge is not a robot, s/he will know immediately if you are genuine or not and might go easier on this person.

I honestly think that challenging this in court would possibly be a bad failure.

Colash wrote: »
    Not only that, but the cost of fighting it may be huge . People do often fight these cases and do infact get away with them through technical mistakes . But if your friend was in the highest bracket of being over the limit, I can't see this going any other way , than a conviction and a lengthy ban . I myself had a 6 month driving ban a while ago and was told there was loop holes and ways around things to get out of these situations but that there was also a good chance it could all back fire . I held my hands up in the end, did my ban and made sure I will never be as stupid as I was before to land myself with a ban .

A conviction is based on the evidence, it does not matter if a person is slightly over the lint or way over the limit for conviction what matters is the evidence. The accused is entitled to see what evidence will be presented to the courts before he decides on plea. Any half decent solicitor will be able to set out chance of success based on all the facts and the costs of fighting the case.

There has been certain advice on this thread to the effect that the motorist could not successfully contest the charge.

This is just guesswork.

There isn't enough information in the OP to form an accurate opinion, one way or the other. Experienced lawyers could not to give an opinion on the matter, without all of the relevant information and paperwork.

For example, there are no details of:
    1. The reason for the roadside stop.
    2. The full circumstances of the roadside stop.
    3. Details of the arrest.
    4. The location of the arrest
    5. The relevant district court area.
    6. The relevant townland.
    7. Whether the Garda brought the breathalyser with him from the Garda car or whether he had to go back to retrieve it.
    8. Whether the motorist was accompanied at all times or whether the Garda left him unaccompanied for any period of time, before the intoxilyser test etc.
    9. The custody details.
    10. The actual (breath) alcohol reading.

The advice that has been given is not based on reasoned analysis. It is guesswork. Bad guesswork.

wiz569 wrote: »
    Speaking to a solicitor should not change things,I'm not having a pop at your friend but it could have been a life changing event for somebody,

If he does not take it on the chin,whats to stop him doing it again?

Speaking to a solicitor should of course change things. The State have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt based on the evidence any charge brought against any person. If they can not do that then the person is innocent.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭wytch

I was working in a solicitors house recently and he was explaining that the drink driving prosecutions are hard to get. He said that he thought 80% of cases of people who were caught red handed, and pleaded not guilty got away with it. He said his advise nowadays was for everyone to plead not guilt.

Personally I think drink drivers of the higher levels should be locked up.

Gas country we live in.

wytch wrote: »
    I was working in a solicitors house recently and he was explaining that the drink driving prosecutions are hard to get. He said that he thought 80% of cases of people who were caught red handed, and pleaded not guilty got away with it. He said his advise nowadays was for everyone to plead not guilt.

Personally I think drink drivers of the higher levels should be locked up.

Gas country we live in.

This is not accurate by a long shot.

IIRC, Mark de Blacam quoted a figure of a 98% conviction rate overall.
    http://www.amazon.com/Drunken-Driving-Law-Mark-Blacam/dp/1858002877

Most drink driving cases are disposed of by way of guilty pleas.

Thanks, 679 in 9,275 revived a prison sentence. Considering my friend is above the highest bracket, how likely is such an outcome?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Martina82

Surprised with that statistic. Crazy how people can avoid convictions in what you would imagine would be a fairly cut and dry case for the guards to prosecute

Thanks, 679 in 9,275 received a prison sentence. Considering my friend is above the highest bracket, how likely is such an outcome? Would pleading innocent increase his chances of such a sentence?

It would prob be worth your while meeting with a solicitor and getting advice. I imagine (s)he would be more useful than a group of anonymous internet posters who know very few details about your case

*your friends