Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 11th Annual IFTA Awards 2014 - Live on RTE1 Saturday at 9.45pm

• 05-04-2014 1:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Oh my God, Thank you so much! I didn't expect this, it was an honour just to be nominated!, and all that ...

Ladies, Gentlemen, Puppys and Kittys - it's IFTA time again. The Oscars and BAFTAs were a mere warmup for the real highlight of the awards season. It's time for the cream of Irish TV and Film to honour their own and for the rest of us to do that too but also to take the piss out of them.

Simon Delaney presents once again but this year he is joined by Laura Whitmore. RTE1 at 9.45. The Saturday Night Show returns next week. Brendan will be enjoying his night off.

Amber didn't make the cut, but here is what did ...

http://www.ifta.ie/nominees_2014/index.html

Guests on the night include Neil Jordan, Michael Fassbender, Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, Saoirse Ronan, Jamie Dornan, Jim Sheridan, John Michael McDonagh, Andrew Scott, Liam Cunningham, Domhnall Gleeson, Jeremy Irons and Jack Reynor.

President Michael D. Higgins will also be attending to receive an honorary IFTA for his contribution to the industry. (getting nice tax breaks for them, presumably)

The Awards have moved from the National Convention Centre to 'Dublin’s DoubleTree by Hilton' Hotel (which is the Burlington to you and me). Some might say that's a move downwards, I couldn't possibly comment.

Anne Marie Hourihane in The Irish Times reckons the IFTAs might be on their last legs. The Meteors have gone, maybe this could be the end for the IFTAs. Who knows? Enjoy it while you can, just in case. This time next year you might have no red carpet to enjoy, or boring speeches to criticise.

This could be the last time, this could be the last time,
    may be the last time, I don't know

big-font-b-dog-b-font-TUXEDO-2XL-5XL-striped-large-font-b-dogs-b-font.jpg
    cute_cat_dress_3.jpg

Do you like Simon and Laura? 8 votes

Yes - They are great! Sign them up for next year!
    0%
    No - They shouldn't be in the same room, they have no chemistry
    100%
    JpmarnDymo8mvstampydmonkeyTinieFunnyonion79Red Pepper3mm 8 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

INTERNATIONAL ACTRESS
    Amy Adams - American Hustle
    Cate Blanchett - Blue Jamsine
    Sandra Bullock - Gravity
    Judi Dench - Philomena

I read somewhere that Dame Judi Dench rang Sandra Bullock this week and said "Forget the Academy Awards, b1tch, this is the one that counts" before slamming down the phone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,417 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Great OP, Skid :)

Kitteh looks pleased with his get-up...and no doubt will thank the owner (who has now purchased chainmail gloves) later! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Here are the runners and riders in full. It could be a long night ...

BEST FILM
    Byzantium
    Calvary
    Run & Jump
    The Sea
    The Stag

SCRIPT FILM
    John Banville - The Sea
    Ailbhe Keogan & Steph Green - Run & Jump
    John Michael McDonagh - Calvary
    John Butler, Peter McDonald - The Stag

LEAD ACTRESS FILM
    Antonia Campbell-Hughes - 3096 Days
    Jane McGrath - Black Ice
    Saoirse Ronan - Byzantium
    Kelly Thornton - Life's A Breeze

SUPPORTING ACTRESS FILM
    Sinead Cusack - The Sea
    Fionnula Flanagan - Life's A Breeze
    Amy Huberman - The Stag
    Orla O'Rourke - Calvary

DRAMA IN ASSOCIATION WITH BAI
    The Fall
    Game of Thrones
    Love/Hate 4
    Quirke - Elegy For April
    Vikings

SCRIPT TELEVISION DRAMA
    Stuart Carolan - Love/Hate 4
    Neil Jordan - The Borgias
    Nick Vincent Murphy & Chris O'Dowd - Moone Boy
    Conor McPherson - Quirke - Elegy For April

ACTRESS IN A LEAD ROLE TELEVISION
    Eva Birthistle - Amber
    Charlie Murphy - Love/Hate 4
    Mary Murray - Love/Hate 4
    Deirdre O'Kane - Moone Boy

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN TELEVISION
    Elaine Cassidy - The Paradise
    Caoilfhionn Dunne - Love/Hate 4
    Michelle Fairley - Game of Thrones
    Victoria Smurfit - Dracula

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY FILM/TV DRAMA
    PJ Dillon - Ripper Street
    Kate McCullough - Here Was Cuba
    Ruairi O'Brien - The Fall
    Robbie Ryan - Philomena

MAKE-UP & HAIR FILM/TV DRAMA SPONSORED BY M.A.C
    Byzantium
    Ripper Street
    The Fall
    Vikings

PRODUCTION DESIGN FILM/TV DRAMA
    Tom Conroy - Vikings
    Mark Geraghty - Ripper Street
    Tom McCullough - The Fall
    Donal Woods - Downton Abbey

ANIMATION
    Doc McStuffins - Brown Bag
    Henry Hugglemonster - Brown Bag
    The Octonauts - Brown Bag
    Tilly & Friends - Jam Media

CURRENT AFFAIRS / NEWS
    Breach of Trust (RTÉ)
    Inside Irish Nationwide (Animo for RTÉ)
    Spotlight - Housing: Whatever It Takes (BBC NI)
    Tonight with Vincent Browne (TV3)

DOCUMENTARY
    Danny Boy: The Ballad that Bewitched the World
    Donal Walsh - My Story
    The Disappeared
    The Scholarship - Class of 2018

FACTUAL PROGRAMME
    John Sheahan: A Dubliner
    Nationwide
    Seamus Heaney - Postscript - Iarscríbhinn
    The Zoo

SPORTS
    Batmen
    Páidí Ó Sé - Rí an Pharóiste
    R.O.G: The Ronan O'Gara Documentary
    We Got Game

DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY TELEVISION
    Barry Donnellan - Secrets of the Irish Landscape
    Ronan Fox - John Sheahan: A Dubliner
    Richard Kendrick - In Good Hands The Power of Metal
    John Murray - The Secret Life of the Shannon

SOUND TELEVISION
    1916 Seachtar Dearmadta
    John Sheahan: A Dubliner
    R.O.G.
    The Secret Life of the Shannon

IRISH LANGUAGE AWARD
    1916 Seachtar Dearmadta
    An Ceoldráma
    Scúp
    Páidí Ó Sé – Rí an Pharóiste

INTERNATIONAL ACTOR
    Chiwetel Ejiofor - 12 Years A Slave
    Leonardo DiCaprio - The Wolf of Wall Street
    Michael Douglas - Behind The Candelabra
    Mathew McConaughey - Dallas Buyers Club

DIRECTOR FILM
    John Butler - The Stag
    Neil Jordan - Byzantium
    John Michael McDonagh - Calvary
    Ruairi Robinson - The Last Days On Mars

LEAD ACTOR FILM
    Brendan Gleeson - Calvary
    Domhnall Gleeson - About Time
    Ciarán Hinds - The Sea
    Andrew Scott - The Stag

SUPPORTING ACTOR FILM
    Colin Farrell - Saving Mr Banks
    Michael Fassbender - 12 Years A Slave
    Edward MacLiam - Run & Jump
    Peter McDonald - The Stag

GEORGE MORRISON FEATURE DOCUMENTARY
    Broken Song - Zucca Films
    Here Was Cuba - Crossing the Line Films
    Natan - Screenworks
    The Summit - Image Now Films

DIRECTOR TELEVISION DRAMA
    David Caffrey - Love/Hate 4
    Ciaran Donnelly - Vikings
    Ian Fitzgibbon - Moone Boy
    Thaddeus O'Sullivan - Amber

ACTOR IN A LEAD ROLE IN TELEVISION
    Gabriel Byrne - Quirke - Elegy For April
    Jamie Dornan - The Fall
    Chris O'Dowd - Moone Boy
    Tom Vaughan Lawlor - Love/Hate 4

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN TELEVISION
    Peter Coonan - Love/Hate 4
    Liam Cunningham - Game of Thrones
    Aidan Gillen - Game of Thrones
    Allen Leech - Downton Abbey

COSTUME DESIGN FILM/TV DRAMA
    Joan Bergin - Vikings
    Consolata Boyle - Philomena
    Lorna Marie Mugan - Ripper Street
    Leonie Prendergast - Moone Boy

EDITING FILM/TV DRAMA
    Uná Ní Dhonghaíle - Ripper Street
    Nathan Nugent - Run & Jump
    Emer Reynolds - Here Was Cuba
    Nick Emerson, Jake Roberts - Starred Up

ORIGINAL SCORE FILM/TV DRAMA
    Liam Bates - Earthbound
    Patrick Cassidy - Calvary
    David Holmes - The Fall
    Nick Seymour - The Summit

SOUND FILM/TV DRAMA
    Game of Thrones
    Here Was Cuba
    The Last Days on Mars
    Ripper Street

CHILDREN'S / YOUTH PROGRAMME
    An Ceoldráma
    Doc McStuffins
    Octonauts
    Punky Season 2

DOCUMENTARY SERIES

1916 Seachtar Dearmadta
    Bliain in Árainn Mhór
    The Estate
    John Lonergan's Circus

ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMME
    Irish Pictorial Weekly Series 2
    Late Late Show
    Moone Boy
    Mrs Browns Boy's

REALITY PROGRAMME
    Dúshlán 1881 - Living the Eviction
    The Great Irish Bake Off
    Jockey Eile
    Operation Transformation

DIRECTOR TELEVISION
    Colm Bairéad - An Ceoldráma
    Tom Johnson - Aine Lawlor: Facing Cancer
    Anna Rodgers - Somebody to Love
    Maurice Sweeney - John Sheahan: A Dubliner

EDITING TELEVISION
    Mick Mahon - John Sheahan: A Dubliner
    Mick Mahon - We Got Game
    Emer Reynolds - The Secret Life of the Shannon
    Ray Roantree - Looking After No.1

SHORT FILM
    The Last Days of Peter Bergman - Fastnet Films
    The Missing Scarf - Belly Creative
    Rubaí - Magamedia
    SLR - Stigma Films

INTERNATIONAL FILM SPONSORED BY AMERICAN AIRLINES
    12 Years A Slave
    Gravity
    Philomena
    The Wolf of Wall Street

INTERNATIONAL ACTRESS
    Amy Adams - American Hustle
    Cate Blanchett - Blue Jamsine
    Sandra Bullock - Gravity
    Judi Dench - Philomena

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

They aren't showing every award are they? People will just want to see the big ones like "Make up and Hair in film/TV drama" and the category that clearly doesn't need to be there "Entertainment programme" (or the anything and everything award.)

Skid X wrote: »
    ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMME
    Irish Pictorial Weekly Series 2
    Late Late Show
    Moone Boy
    Mrs Browns Boy's

The Late Late Show and Mrs Brown's Boys in the same category? Surely Mrs Brown's Boys should be categorized in some sort of comedy category... And The Late Late Show in Entertainment? It should be in a category with those video clip shows like Uploaded and Funny Home Videos....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Isn't this the one where you have yo buy tickets to attend if your nominated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Animation - one company seems to have it in the eh, bag :D

They aren't showing every award are they? People will just want to see the big ones like "Make up and Hair in film/TV drama" and the category that clearly doesn't need to be there "Entertainment programme" (or the anything and everything award.)

I don't think so, they usually have a short montage of 'IFTAs awarded earlier', or something similar.

It's a very bloated ceremony, they should drop the ridiculous international awards. They were invented so they could give something to a big name (on the very rare occasion one of them turns up)

That Irish Times article is quite good, it lists some of the problems with this ceremony
    Larry Bass of Screentime Shinawil is keen to emphasise that he has been an enthusiastic supporter of the awards from their inception, even co-producing the first two ceremonies. But now he is withholding his programmes from the competition. His complaints vary from the lack of rigour about supervising categories – at one point his production of The Voice lost out to the very different Mrs Brown’s Boys in a category called Best Entertainment Programme. “And the following year we were beaten by [ another sitcom ], Moone Boy .”

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/iftas-close-to-crisis-how-long-can-the-show-go-on-1.1749106?page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,417 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Coincidentally, 'The Guard' starring Brendan Gleeson is on Channel 4 tonight at 11.10pm :)

I'll put in a tape and record it... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I'll put in a tape and record it... :D

Disgusting ;)
    (That's me quoting a certain Mr Callinan, ahem)

Great OP Skid!

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Great OP Skid!

Ah stop, Lynn, you're too kind. It's not really me, it's the cat and the dog and all the hard working people behind the scenes who make it possible. It was an honour just to be nominated :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Ah stop, Lynn, you're too kind. It's not really me, it's the cat and the dog and all the hard working people behind the scenes who make it possible. It was an honour just to be nominated :P

****bawls crying when uttering said words***

OP a credit to you Mr. Skid!.....:)

The lads will be going home with a nice little goodie bag to say the least....It will ease the pain for the losers I suppose....;)

http://www.independent.ie/woman/celeb-news/what-amy-jamie-and-saoirse-will-be-taking-home-in-their-1500-ifta-gift-bags-30152454.html

You know it looks like it's gonna be a whole load of nonsense tonight, but I'm gonna watch it anyway so that I can throw my metaphorical sponges... Whitmore, I'd be ducking already if I were you..

****bawls crying when uttering said words***

...and has to be helped from stage :D

VIPs at this year's ceremony will be gifted with luxury goodie bags, worth an estimated €1,500.

Nominees including Amy Huberman, Charlie Murphy, Jamie Dornan and Jack Reynor will be gifted with a gold membership to exclusive Dublin nightclub Lillie's Bordello, MAC Cosmetics brush sets, AVEDA hair products, Lindt chocolate and vouchers to Milano's restaurant.

Aside from the MAC & Aveda this looks a bit sh1tey.

Certainly doesn't look like 1500 quids worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

What? No Twink? No Blathnaid? No Louis? No Joe?
    Call this an awards show........ppfffttt

coolhull wrote: »
    What? No Twink? No Blathnaid? No Louis? No Joe?
    Call this an awards show........ppfffttt

That would be a massive row.

I'd pay good money to see that.....:D

"It's my award, get your greasy paws off it" sort of row.....:eek:

That would be a massive row.

I'd pay good money to see that.....:D

"It's my award, get your greasy paws off it" sort of row.....:eek:

Just picture it...and the Odious Little Man Award goes to... :D

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Just picture it...and the Odious Little Man Award goes to... :D

I can.......:D

And the Award for the "Most Botoxed Face" goes to..........

(we could have great craic with this "Alternative Awards" malarky.....;))

I can.......:D

And the Award for the "Most Botoxed Face" goes to..........

(we could have great craic with this "Alternative Awards" malarky.....;))

We certainly could. :D

Good idea! Lets do alternative awards!

efb wrote: »
    Lets do alternative awards!

Whatever made you think of that???.....:D

Biggest Tranny:
    Panti
    Sheila Sheek
    Linda Martin

Linda gets the award purely because I've seen her in a tantrum...

No contest.

(S)he was always winning that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

Michael Fassbender, Colin Farrell, Jamie Dornan, Domhnall Gleeson and Jeremy Irons! Jaysus, theres gona be a serious amount of hotness at this thing!!

Suppose Chris O'Dowd will make an appearance also, he's in everything! (Not that im complaining!)

efb wrote: »
    (S)he was always winning that one!

I wouldn't want to be the one presenting and not give her the award.....

I'd be looking for protection leaving the building if that was the case...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

I seen Michael Fassbender on Dame Street yesterday. I was genuinely star struck. He's one of the top dogs of world cinema at this stage. Fair play to him .

ThirdMan wrote: »
    I seen Michael Fassbender on Dame Street yesterday. I was genuinely star struck. He's one of the top dogs of word cinema at this stage. Fair play to him .

I loved him in Inglorious Basterds.....***swoons***.....:)

I didn't see the film where he ran around naked for most of it.....Not good for the ticker....:o

cactuspaw wrote: »
    Michael Fassbender, Colin Farrell, Jamie Dornan, Domhnall Gleeson and Jeremy Irons! Jaysus, theres gona be a serious amount of hotness at this thing!!

Domhnall Gleeson...hawtness :confused: :cool:

Jeremy Irons was "hawtness" back "in his day". He's a bit auld and skinny now.

amdublin wrote: »

Domhnall Gleeson...hawtness :confused: :cool:

Jeremy Irons was "hawtness" back "in his day". He's a bit auld and skinny now.

Jeremy Irons? more so hansomness then hotnness, but yeah, he's def on my older man list.

Domhnall Gleeson, ah yeah...

The guests are seated at circular tables this year (and drinking) so there might be a bit more atmosphere than there was last time.

The theatre-style seating made things very dull, and half of the seats were empty anytime the camera showed them.

Incidentally, this is going on now (it's not shown live) so don't be going on that twitter yoke if you don't want to know who has won.

The guests are seated at circular tables this year (and drinking) so there might be a bit more atmosphere than there was last time.

The theatre-style seating made things very dull, and half of the seats were empty anytime the camera showed them.

Incidentally, this is going on now (it's not shown live) so don't be going on that twitter yoke if you don't want to know who has won.

Beware the Twitter Machine........

Vincent was right all along.....:D

Put a Spoiler Tag Alert on Skid........;)

''And the award for the Greatest Number of Youtube Clips in a Single Show goes to........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

I loved him in Inglorious Basterds.....***swoons***.....:)

I didn't see the film where he ran around naked for most of it.....Not good for the ticker....:o

Well I'm a heterosexual male, so I should only be appreciating his performance in cinematic terms.

But yeah, he's got an impressive looking dick.

ThirdMan wrote: »
    Well I'm a heterosexual male, so I should only be appreciating his performance in cinematic terms.

But yeah, he's got an impressive looking dick.

I've heard the above is true.

Affirmation is good I suppose.....:P

Best Script:
    Ryan Tubridy for Late Late Show cue card
    Ryan Tubridy for Late Late Show "spontaneous comedy" items
    Ryan Tubridy for any item on The Late Late Show which is choreographed to within an inch of it's life..

Lifetime Achievement in Manipulation Of Recordings
    The Guards..

Lifetime Award For Consistent Smugness and Generally Being Condescending:
    (Also known as the "Dear, Oh Dear, Oh Dear" Award)

Gabriel Mary Byrne

Best Video Streaming Website:
    The Late Late Show (aka youtube-rdy.ie)

You see if I was a real thanks wh0re, I would have gratuitously and cynically posted that photoshop image that I put together last nite again, hoping to get a load more tkz...

5qtqtk.jpg

:o Who am I kidding :o

Lifetime Award For Consistent Smugness and Generally Being Condescending:
    (Also known as the "Dear, Oh Dear, Oh Dear" Award)

Gabriel Mary Byrne

Derek Mooney by a long mile..........

CH, looking for thank you's?????.......:eek:

Most Missed Poster on these Threads - MrsD007

Please come back :(

+ a million.....:(

I see frome the news Micheal Fass has shaved!!!

NNNNNOOOOOOOOO!!!!

And the trophy for the L.S.B (Long Skinny Boll*x) award goes to.......insert your favourite here

+ a million.....:(

+ a trillion

cactuspaw wrote: »
    I see frome the news Micheal Fass has shaved!!!

NNNNNOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Where and what?....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Eh why is Michael D Higgins getting an award for contribution to the film industry?!?! What has he done for it?

Is anybody else getting really really excited about the IFTAs... !!!

Nope, me neither.. I'm heading to the fridge for a can to help deaden the falseness of Laura Whitemore..

tinkerbell wrote: »
    Eh why is Michael D Higgins getting an award for contribution to the film industry?!?! What has he done for it?

Sure, wasn't he in The Hobbit??.....