Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found out

• 03-04-2014 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭

Has anybody here ever put two and two together from looking at somebody's posts and their location and know who a poster is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

You sound worried OP, I'm sure they'll catch on to you soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Has anybody here ever put two and two together from looking at somebody's posts and their location and know who a poster is?

Yeah.

I think yer man Dav is boards management. But I'm probably gonna be banished to the Conspiracy forum for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Yeah.

I think yer man Dav is boards management. But I'm probably gonna be banished to the Conspiracy forum for this one.

I believe Dav has adopted a canary in order to use the famous Canary M Burns technique of ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I told you I won't tell anyone about the wánksock OP.
    Chill your jets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

That's why you have to have a random signature to throw them off the scent. Like a Pink Snack bar or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

fussyonion wrote: »
    I told you I won't tell anyone about the wánksock OP.
    Chill your jets.

A wanksock is the least of my worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yeah I've identified a few people I know in real life. I'm careful though, I don't think they have me figured out.

Edit: Is OP a rereg?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭Guffy

I've had someone search through threads they knew I'd be interested in, find my name and putting two and two together. Reading all of my posts and coming up to me in street next day saying

I joined boards does the number 21 mean anything to you...... very interested in one particular post from last year in the random places you've had sex thread. Don't worry your secret is safe with me!!

I barely know the guy and he's bout 30 odd years older than me.

131spanner wrote: »
    That's why you have to have a random signature to throw them off the scent. Like a Pink Snack bar or something...

or a couple different accounts like i'm sure many ppl do

gufc21 wrote: »
    I've had someone search through threads they knew I'd be interested in, find my name and putting two and two together. Reading all of my posts and coming up to me in street next day saying

I joined boards does the number 21 mean anything to you...... very interested in one particular post from last year in the random places you've had sex thread. Don't worry your secret is safe with me!!

I barely know the guy and he's bout 30 odd years older than me.

and was it you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

or a couple different accounts like i'm sure many ppl do

I think you've been found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭Guffy

and was it you?

Well ya... they figured out my username

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Who cares if someone knows you here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Does your neighbour know you're stalking his ex wife, whitewalls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I've often wondered if young aspiring politicians or famous people have personas on here from the past they would rather not let be known.
    Jaysus think of the muck that could be dug up from after hours for starters.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Have you made her walls white?

*grabs coat and leaves in cloud of shame*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

I've figured out who a lot of people are in one particular forum, but I've never told any of them.

I once got verbally attacked on another site I used to post on regularly, by someone who made it clear that they knew who I was. They mocked what I did for a living, alleging that I was lying. I was really shocked, and when I took it to PM, they literally never posted on the site again.

It really wrecked my head trying to figure out who it was!

It got even more interesting today!!! Lets just say that somebody (Not me) was getting evidence that this man was playing away from home. Could that be used in court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No, unless you find someone with a name like 1989gavinkellydubPPSNo8756382P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I sold a house that had a safe in it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

aye i'm quare and sure daniel o'donnell is present on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

why so secretive? i use my real name here and everywhere on the internets, i don't care. *except my myfreecams account

nearly everybody can be found if you care and trawl through their posts. everyone leaves footprints. i remember one guy who was in trouble with drug dealers and claimed nobody on boards could find him out. well he registered a domain years ago and let it lapse and posted it in a thread. you might think that info is erased from history but some websites index it, like domaintools.com

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Yup, I try to be careful though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I've been found loads of times, dont ever put your name in your username, lesson learned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

6781 wrote: »
    why so secretive? i use my real name here and everywhere on the internets, i don't care.
    Some people just prefer being anonymous as they might disclose private stuff on relevant threads.
    And some people are totally open as to who they are - depends on the person and their preference. Nothing wrong with either IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes. More then 1 too.

Im waiting for them to lie and then i'll pounce;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I've been found loads of times, dont ever put your name in your username, lesson learned.

Yup, my real names John and nobody suspects a thing ;)

....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Yup, my real names John and nobody suspects a thing ;)

....:pac:

I'll remember to use a different name next time to throw people off the scent :pac:

Because I'm as odd as two left feet, I'm the sort of person that runs out the back door when visitors land and not return until there gone

Wouldn't two left feet be matching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

I know the real identity of 4 people that have posted in the thread so far.

GenieOz wrote: »
    Wouldn't two left feet be matching?

one left and one right foot the last time I checked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm really a forward lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

but yet are glad to post your neighbours marital problems up:pac::pac:

this tread is worrying...may need to change username/less obvious!!:o

one left and one right foot the last time I checked

sure they're opposites of one another

but yet are glad to post your neighbours marital problems up:pac::pac:

this tread is worrying...may need to change username/less obvious!!:o

How would anybody put 2 and 2 together and guess who I'm talking about? I'v very few posts up here, nobody even knows what county I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Yeah.

I think yer man Dav is boards management Illuminati. But I'm probably gonna be banished to the Conspiracy forum 'disappeared' for this one.

Fyp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I posted a pic about 10 years ago under a different name and someone clocked me from school. I've never recognised anyone on the site though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

No I don't speculate but I don't see what the problem is if you recognise someone you know or vice versa. I don't see any good reason for secrecy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I've gotten to know a few people from organising 6-a-side soccer through boards but I still don't even know their surnames never mind what they get up to IRL. It's all about the soccer really - love it.

I never talk about personal stuff here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

I do, but I don't care that I care, if that helps.

I know a guy that posts way too much personal stuff up here. He's a bit of an asshole to begin with and has gotten himself into trouble as a result of his loose talk.

Red21 wrote: »
    I do, but I don't care that I care, if that helps.

I know a guy that posts way too much personal stuff up here. He's a bit of an asshole to begin with and has gotten himself into trouble as a result of his loose talk.

it may be late but im confused :confused::confused:

I don't see any good reason for secrecy.
    Really not a single one, I wouldn't know where to start, I'd say I could list 8 or 9 million.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,978 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I don't know anyone, never really that curious. No idea if anyone knows me, i wouldn't have thought people on a forum site would give a sh1t tbh.

it may be late but im confused :confused::confused:
    Well the other poster said "who cares if someone knows who you are?" It was more of a statement than a question. I could be wrong but this along with other such comments seem to be have an air of righteousness about them as if not caring about anonymity was an ideal position.
    I'm was saying, I care about anonymity and don't really feel the need to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I just assume everyone here is really just one very large sweaty biker bloke named Jim.

It's what keeps me safe on t'internet

(Jim types fast and has many reregs and his schizophrenia is wildly out of control, but he does have some interesting views)

Red21 wrote: »
    Well the other poster said "who cares if someone knows who you are?" It was more of a statement than a question. I could be wrong but this along with other such comments seem to be have an air of righteousness about them as if not caring about anonymity was an ideal position.
    I'm was saying, I care about anonymity and don't really feel the need to change.

I agree 100%...just got a little confused:o