Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nigella Lawson banned from the US for taking cocaine

• 02-04-2014 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Just noticed a reader comment worthy of Viz:
    I don't if anyones notice she has very weird looking ears..
    Mary in Luton - one of the great minds of our time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Ah FFS, it was a bit of coke, she hasn't killed anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

From the article

The specific grounds on which she was barred entry to the US have not been confirmed. And it is not known if she was stopped at passport control or at the departure gate where passports are often scanned.

But sure what the hell, let's make up a story anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

She's welcome to come and stay with me if she wants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

In that case pretty much every British popular artist for the last 50 or so years entered illegally, let's face it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

She's better off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

She neednt be going all the way to America for pleasure at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

She'll still get in, they'll just make her go through hoops for a visa. Fighting the war on drugs one C-list celebrity at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Wonder who put the call in? Racheal Ray looked extra chipper today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

brummytom wrote: »
    Ah FFS, it was a bit of coke, she hasn't killed anyone.

Allegedly hasn't killed anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

This is a bit weird. Surely they can't deny entry for past illegal drug use? If they did then hardly any entertainers would get in. I don't think Keith Richards has had any problems! It's not like she was charged with anything. Maybe her visa wasn't in order or something like that.

Just noticed a reader comment worthy of Viz:

Mary in Luton - one of the great minds of our time...

Not wrong in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

This really is very upsetting news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    This is a bit weird. Surely they can't deny entry for past illegal drug use? If they did then hardly any entertainers would get in. I don't think Keith Richards has had any problems!

Keifs been dead these past 25 years now - died in a bizarre gardening accident. The guy you think is Keif is no other than the Cliff Richard who himself is played by Ronan "Soon to be president" Keating

Tis complicated

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

This is a bit weird. Surely they can't deny entry for past illegal drug use?

They can do what they like. They're under no obligation to let anyone in if they're not US citizens.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What I'm wondering is who would have been able to stop her? There's no US border at Heathrow (unlike Dublin & Shannon), surely it should have been LAX she was denied entry at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

No truth in the rumour her first words were "Oh blow!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

If all celebs that took coke were made stand together it would be a huge line

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

They let Michael D in, and he's a savage for the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Is it possible she was refused entry due to having the wrong type of visa? If she is there to do any kind of work or promotional stuff the Americans being so anal would insist on her having a visa that permitted her to work while she might only have had a holiday visa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭djerk

mate of mine ordered a remote controlled glider from some place in the states.. the basic parts which you have to construct yourself without all the costly electronics like servos and whatnot.. anyway, they wouldnt ship unless they had a copy of his passport.. shes screwed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Oh look, Daily Mail, it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Their country, their rules.

She should have thought about it before snorting coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Harold Weiss

I doubt the reason she's banned has anything to do with snorting coke.
    Plenty of celebrities have admitted drug taking over the years and they aren't banned from entering the US.
    Some have even written books about it, take Russell Brand for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Is it possible she was refused entry due to having the wrong type of visa? If she is there to do any kind of work or promotional stuff the Americans being so anal would insist on her having a visa that permitted her to work while she might only have had a holiday visa?

I think you'll find that will apply to most countries where you need a visa. I don't see why you think adhering to the rules is "anal"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

They let Michael D in, and he's a savage for the stuff.

The have different rules for hobbitses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I doubt the reason she's banned has anything to do with snorting coke.
    Plenty of celebrities have admitted drug taking over the years and they aren't banned from entering the US.
    Some have even written books about it, take Russell Brand for example.

I'd like to see Brand banned from breathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Their country, their rules.

She should have thought about it before snorting coke.
    Yep, its the number 1 reason I hear when people refuse a drag on a joint, "no thanks, I might want to go to the states some day".

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/celebritynews/10740907/Nigella-Lawson-barred-from-boarding-US-bound-flight.html
    Miss Lawson is believed to have registered online for permission to travel to the US, where travellers must confirm that they have not been arrested or convicted of offences, including taking illegal drugs.
    The US authorities can decide to bar visitors who have committed drugs offences without ever being charged. Would-be travellers can apply to have the ban lifted, but this can take months.

You would think they could just add it to the form, "have you ever used any illegal drugs in the past". Turning people away last minute has got to be bad news for everybody, the airlines, travel agency, the US themselves -i.e. putting off future holidaymakers. I imagine lots would admit it on principle.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

rubadub wrote: »
    Yep, its the number 1 reason I hear when people refuse a drag on a joint, "no thanks, I might want to go to the states some day".

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/celebritynews/10740907/Nigella-Lawson-barred-from-boarding-US-bound-flight.html

You would think they could just add it to the form, "have you ever used any illegal drugs in the past". Turning people away last minute has got to be bad news for everybody, the airlines, travel agency, the US themselves -i.e. putting off future holidaymakers. I imagine lots would admit it on principle.

Don't think it'll work out too well. A lot of people tend to act with ignorance on that Australian border control show, even with stuff clearly outlined and translated on their forms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

She'll still get in, they'll just make her go through hoops for a visa. Fighting the war on drugs one C-list celebrity at a time.

It's probably the most effective way to do it as it might make people consider the consequences, I'd imagine half of Dublin 4 shivered this morning as they imagined their annual shopping trip to NY going up in smoke....

A lot of people tend to act with ignorance on that Australian border control show, even with stuff clearly outlined and translated on their forms.
    Those people have made it through and are trying to smuggle stuff, its a bit different. Or else its lads with convictions who do not declare them on purpose and know it can easily be proved with official documentation. If they are caught smuggling stuff and are truly ignorant they still deserve to be caught, you would have to prove you smoked a joint once which is a lot harder.

I am saying lots would do it on principle, at the visa application stage, no loss of air tickets or being refused at the airport or put on a plane home. If it did happen I could imagine loads of famous people doing it on principle to expose and embarrass the US and their (alleged) policies. So you would have US citizens themselves bemoaning the fact that their favourite band never plays there since the drummer took a drag of a joint once.

Perhaps we should have refused Obama entry here, he admitted taking illegal drugs in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

I'm thinking there is a difference between recounting your tales of drug taking in print media for entertainment or educational purposes, and having an admission forced out if you in a court of law.

The issue is more than likely related to the fact that omissions on her visa application were swiftly followed by admissions in court. Not good!

Yer man is a total a55hole for putting her in this position!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

How the hell does Keith Richards and Iggy get in all the time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good point RasTa. Goes for a helluva lot of the old timers. Paul McCartney has admitted his regular pot use up until relatively recently, he openly admitted taking LSD and all sorts of other stuff and even ended up in a Japanese Gaol for possession back in the 70's, yet he played the Superbowl a few years ago. How does he get in?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Harold Weiss

Probably more to do with her husbands highbrow connections in US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

what does it say on the temp visa form? Is it to declare drugs convictions or is there something about drug use? I know we would all say NO to use, but if you say NO and are in the media saying YES then that would be grounds to deny entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭folbotcar

There's a lot of assumptions being made by the journalists here. For one thing the airline would not have been informed as to the reason why she would not be admitted to the US. Unless they have hard information as to the reason then it's speculation.

It could be any one of a number of issues. An incorrect visa for one thing or an issue with the passport. In order to have worked on that TV programme in the US. She would have required a visa that allows her to work there even temporarily. If that was withdrawn. I seriously doubt she would only have found out at the airport.

If that is the reason then I would suspect Saatchi had a hand in it. That would be no surprise. He's a bitter man.

If she's banned then as others said a lot of British celebs would be banned. Including Mick Jagger for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Russell facking Brand is extremely open about his heroin and other drug abuse and his countless arrests and convictions yet manages to have some sort of a career going for himself over there.

Still though...

#PrayforNidge

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

What I'm wondering is who would have been able to stop her? There's no US border at Heathrow (unlike Dublin & Shannon), surely it should have been LAX she was denied entry at?

There isn't a formal border, but before you can check in for a US-bound flight at Heathrow you get quizzed by a security person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Actually
    The specific grounds on which she was barred entry to the US have not been confirmed. And it is not known if she was stopped at passport control or at the departure gate where passports are often scanned.
    She is thought to have checked in and passed security before being told she could not board her plane.
    Miss Lawson is thought to have tried to enter the U.S. by registering online for permission to travel and confirming she had not been arrested or convicted of offences including taking illegal drugs.
    The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s customs and border protection department said it could not comment on individual cases.
    A BA spokesman said: ‘Due to data protection laws, we cannot comment on individual customers.’
    A spokesman for Miss Lawson said: ‘We would never comment on Nigella’s travel plans.’

The Daily Mail have no idea why Nigella wasn't allowed on the plane. It's a load of speculative BS by some "journalist". She is "thought" to have done this and that but really they haven't a clue.

She has been to America since her court appearance so why would her admission of using drugs be an issue now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

This is a bit weird. Surely they can't deny entry for past illegal drug use? If they did then hardly any entertainers would get in. I don't think Keith Richards has had any problems! It's not like she was charged with anything. Maybe her visa wasn't in order or something like that.

....because Keith Richards is cool, she isn't.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Goes for a helluva lot of the old timers. Paul McCartney has admitted his regular pot use up until relatively recently,
    Not sure if he officially admitted it in court or anything. This point was made. I think McCartney was in court for growing weed. They might ignore that though, as I said Obama smoked, why do they let that junkie degenerate lazy waster back in.
    sadie06 wrote: »
    I'm thinking there is a difference between recounting your tales of drug taking in print media for entertainment or educational purposes, and having an admission forced out if you in a court of law.

But as I said before it if was such an important factor you would expect at least a check box on the visa forum. Or expect ticket agents to ask people extra questions if it was known to be an issue, especially as it was commonly known that she took it, so not even a question but more like warning her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

They might ignore that though, as I said Obama smoked, why do they let that junkie degenerate lazy waster back in.

Affirmative action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

I'd say the auld ex hubby had a finger in this pie.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Number 1 reason used when trying to weasel their way out of a conviction.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Am I the only one who's sick of hearing about this cow?