Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars Your Parents Drove

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hmmm...

Ford 100E "Popular":

5904828228_9d310e5a19_m.jpg

Ford Zephyr 6:

file1964-ford-zephyr-six-mk-iii-saloon-fch901jpg_0e49d.jpg?i

Audi 100LS (x2):

Audi_100_LS_0.jpg

Ford Granada Mk.I (x2):

ford-granada-mk1-04.jpg

Ford Granada Mk.II:

1961749.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

First car, before I was born was a 1959 Ford Popular, in black, that was a near-wreck and riddled with rust. My mother was scared to get in it.

When I was born, my father had a Hillman Minx in two tone grey. I don't remember it but have seen photos of it.

Then there was a grey Hillman Super Minx which I do remember which had a red interior.

Followed by a sky blue Avenger saloon and then a dark blue Avenger estate - both with black vinyl interior that burned our legs in the summer.

A series of horrible Fiat Mirafioris followed. Crap build quality in every one. One in a bile green and another two in dark red and all with tan interior.

A red VW Jetta. Well, two really. The first one caught fire from a faulty wiring loom and burned out at the top of our road within only weeks of him owning it. Diesel engine that sounded like a tractor and could be heard from miles away.

Toyota Carina II in silver. Bland and dull but built like a tank.

Currently, a Nissan Almera in charcoal grey. Same as the Carina really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Dad, just what I know of:

1980 Opel Rekord (Photos I have show OZIxxx, I can't make it out)
    1985 Ford Granada Mark 2
    1989 Ford Granada Scorpio
    1993 Merc E200 W124
    1998 Merc E240 W210
    2014 Merc E200 W212

Mam, all automatics

1986 Austin Mini
    1993 Honda Civic EG Saloon
    2004 Toyota Corolla E12
    2013 Mazda 3

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

Actually, I was always more interested in other families on our road as they had way cooler cars to my eyes. One of the houses just up from us had a series of those huge Opel saloons from the late '60's to early '70's that seemed like the American cars you'd see on the telly. A boy in primary school with me came from a rallying family so race-prepped Escorts and Minis were a common sight in his driveway. My uncle was a Mercedes man all his life so a massive German barge featured in a lot of our family outings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The first one I remember was a Simca 1100:

simca1100.jpg

Not actually the car, just some pic of the internet. But ours was exactly the same. I still remember the strip speedo. And the dodgy brakes and broken axle. In hindsight, that car was a complete death trap, but completely acceptable in the 70's.
    This car stands out for me as it is the first I remember.
    Before that a few Beetles and after that a 1976 MKI Golf in Kermit green, a 1979 MKI Golf GLS with Auto box in metallic green, it had all the extras, such as cigarette lighter, radio, clock, tinted windows, foglights and brake servo.
    After that 1986 BMW 318i, 1989 Daihatsu Applause (4 wheel drive and 16 valve 1.6 liter engine, this was serious sh*t back then), after that it went downhill and the less said about the Daihtsu Gran Move and the Daewoo Matiz, the better.
    Currently my mother's car: Renault Twingo. Fun little thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Dad had one of these:
    porsche630.jpg

Mom had one of these:
    800px-Fiat_128-Mk2_Front-view.JPG

Hardly fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Damien360

7 ? Mini with no rear seatbelts reg KDI 92
    79 Silver Toyota Starlet - rust bucket
    86 Red Toyota Starlet - rust again
    92 Silver Toyota Starlet
    00 Silver Toyota Starlet
    06 Red Toyota Starlet
    10 Silver Toyota Auris
    131 Silver Toyota Auris 1.33 engine

There is a bit of a pattern. Think he likes Toyota

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭thrashmetalfan

Red Kev wrote: »
    Hydraulic suspension ;) . Gorgeous, classy, but prone to breakdowns.

My oul fella had the following in the 70's;
    Cortina
    Vauxhall Viva (utter crap, never started)
    Renault 4
    Fiat 128
    Ford Escort
    Datsun 120Y (brilliant car)

80's

Datsun 100A
    Datsun 110
    Carina I
    Fiat Uno (excellent, seriously economical)
    Fiat Regatta
    Ford Fiesta
    Mazda 323
    Nissan Sunny
    Ford Escort (crap)
    Golf II (around 1989)

After the first Golf, it was 5 Polo's on the trot then two Golf Plus' until he had to give up driving.

totally agree about the Vauxhall Viva. my dad had one. the worst car ever, never started, broke down all the time, could never depend on it. I cannot imagine it would be the kind of car to take up pride of place in a vintage car rally. too many bad memories for too many people, me included!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

1. 1990 Wartburg 1.3 in RED :D (write off) (1990 only)
    2. 1991 Wartburg 1.3 in WHITE :D (1991-1998)
    3. 1998 Daewoo Tico SX (1998-2006)
    4. 2001 Volkswagen Golf 1.6 16V (2006-2008)
    5. 2006 Volvo V50 2.0D (2008-now)

So not a massive collection, considering my ma has had her licence for... 27 years now!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My late father worked for Ford in Dagenham. We therefore had a very regular turnover of new cars.

I remember Zephyr 4's and 6's, Zodiacs, an Anglia, and Escort and various Cortinas.

He actually won 2 new cars in Employee suggestion schemes.

A MkII Cortina 1600E

1966_cars_ford_cortina2_1600e_front.jpg

and a lovely Capri 3000 GXL

s_Ford%20Capri%203000%20V6%20GXL%20side.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

The oul fella, God rest his soul, started out with one of these:

donkey-cart-2.jpg

Then,he had a couple of these:

Hillman%20Hunter%201967%20front.jpg

And his last car ever, as I remember it:

mk2_044w.jpg

How he drove it:

ford-escort-rs-2000-08.jpg

And how it probably looked in reality:

Ford-Escort-Mk2.JPG.opt502x251o0,0s502x251.JPG

You may have given me lungrot from all the passive smoking, but by Christ you could drive!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭pcardin

Citroen Xantia Activa
    0239948-Citroen-Xantia-V6-Activa-1998.jpg

Mercedes E190

Mercedes-Benz-190E6.jpg

Renault Safrane Baccara

renault-safrane-baccara-biturbo-quadra-fase2_25.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Damien360 wrote: »
    7 ? Mini with no rear seatbelts reg KDI 92
    79 Silver Toyota Starlet - rust bucket
    86 Red Toyota Starlet - rust again
    92 Silver Toyota Starlet
    00 Silver Toyota Starlet
    06 Red Toyota Starlet
    10 Silver Toyota Auris
    131 Silver Toyota Auris 1.33 engine

There is a bit of a pattern. Think he likes Toyota
    So much so that he purchased a model that never existed in that year :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Starting with my dad's (pictures are of the same model & colour):

Fiat 128 Coupe' - which also was the very fist car he bought himself around 1973, kept it 10 years
    3.jpg

Then, the early 80s version of "I have two kids, need something bigger" - a Fiat 128 3P:
    0d_3.jpg

Alfa Romeo Nuova Giulietta 1.6
    0222371460003.jpg?e0b50f76794441c536a5f84f520aa831

Then...Alfa Romeo Giulietta 2.0TD
    giulietta3.jpg

The pictures are slightly different, but the second Giulietta was aesthetically identical to the first one, same colour et all; These were years you kinda preferred NOT to show off you had a new car;

The the Alfa 75 2.0 TD arrived
    baghi-a-cupi-3_mini-alfa-roma-600x308.jpg

To this day, I still don't know why he had a "diesel spell"; We're talking 1986-1990ish, at the time diesel engines were extremely low on specs and performance, not that efficient and, most importantly, there was an hefty "super tax" imposed on diesel cars in Italy;

Finally, he went back to petrol with another Alfa 75:
    Alfa_75_Twin_Spark.jpg

This car was an oddball: it had a 1.8 carburetor engine, but it looked exactly like a 2.0 Twin Spark, bodykits et all; He got it second hand from a guy who bought it new and only kept it a few months - most importantly, turned out this fella was in the process of making it track-ready, so it had lowered suspensions, uprated brakes and quite a bit of engine work that made it actually faster than the 2.0 TS. Needless to say, my dad liked it a lot and kept it for many years - from 1990ish to 2000ish; Still is his favourite cars of all he had...and having driven it quite a bit myself, I'd agree :D

Natural replacement was a 155 2.0 TS Super:
    Alfa155.jpg

Which he only kept for a couple of years, before falling in love with a 156 1.8 TS:
    Alfa_156_grey.jpg

Needless to say, I duly proceeded to take the 155 off his hands :)

He kept the 156 until last October, when it was replaced by this lady:
    0107139-Alfa-Romeo-159-Sportwagon-2.0-JTDm-136-Distinctive-2010.jpg

In the 2.0 JTDm variant; This time, the "diesel spell" makes more sense technically - although he hardly ever drives it (waiting for him to go "my DPF is fupped up!" route);

Now, this is for the "official" family car; my mom has been, how to say, less "stylish" in her choices:

A bright yellow Fiat 127;
    A white, rusty Renault 5 TL;
    A reddish (it got seriously discoloured over the years) Renault 5 GTL that she actually kept for a decade;
    A 1.25 Ford Fiesta who used more oil than petrol;
    The current 1.4 Skoda Fabia TDi, which sounds exactly like a Ducato van;

Not only - for a few years my dad used to have a "runaround" for day-to-day driving:
    A pigeon-dropping coloured Citroen Visa;

An originally blue Renault 5 TL, with the original 0.9 engine replaced with a 1.3 cannibalized from another R5; It progressively received body panels from other scrapped R5s, up to the point it was really difficult to figure out which one, of the 5 or 6 on display, was the original colour. This "car" finally gave up the ghost when my dad had the brilliant idea to transport what might have been 700 kg of steel (don't ask) on the roof, breaking the CHASSIS in the process;

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I see his 156 is now the photo for the 156 on Wikipedia :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I see his 156 is now the photo for the 156 on Wikipedia :pac:

Lol, quite the opposite...the pictures come from all around the 'net, that 156 on Wikipedia is just similar :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Judging by some of the posts there was a lot of brand loyalty in ye olden days that I don't think exists so much any more - maybe it was just loyalty to a particular local garage/salesman.

Expanding on the commercial jeeps, my dad bought a string of these boxy yokes in various colours:

isuzu-troopers-700x396.jpg

Then two of of these:

2000-w-daihatsu-fourtrak-tdx_f.jpg

I much preferred the Fourtrak to the Trooper. I almost crashed the second one a few days after he bought it, joyriding around the farmyard.

He then moved on to a few of these beauties:

ssangyong__musso_e23_elx_climate_3500kg_towbar_2000_4_lgw.jpg

The Musso came with a Merc engine and seems to have been the last vehicle that Ssangyong allowed a sighted person to design.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I am seriously just loving this thread! Thanks for starting it and for everyone who is posting in here.
    The oul fella, God rest his soul, started out with one of these:
    donkey-cart-2.jpg

I used enjoy passing auld vehicles when in the car with my Late Loving Dad as he would have stories aplenty to tell afterward. The image I have above is a story I'd hear time and time again for the reaction he would get from me when he spoke of his childhood :)

Thanking You All,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

From what I can remember (and even those before I was born)

Mother:
    Citroen Dyane
    Nissan Micra
    Peugeot 206 x2(shared)

Father:
    Ford Capri
    Lancia (cant recall exact model) except it was a saloon
    Nissan Bluebird
    Mitsubishi Carisma
    Mazda 6 (current)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

My old man had one of these
    Marina_1878164c.jpg

1.8 Twin Carb. Very quick for its time but to be honest, and utter pile of dog poo even by 1970's standards

Article about it here