Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest poll, FF 22% revival not happening, SF 21% on the rise

• 31-03-2014 1:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭

Surprised that there is not a thread on yesterday's Red C poll. The great FF revival seems to be non existant on 22% which is just up 5% from the 2011 GE. Consider the appalling mess and scandals in the last few weeks from Irish Water to Flannnery at Rehab to Shatter and GSOC, penalty points etc it's dismal news for the FF revival :) SF on 21% are on a surge at the moment, although I'd imagine the 3% taken from FG now on 26% will drift back to FG but it's a good indication how even the loyal middle classes are getting fed up of Kenny's abysmal govt. Labout down to 9% (-2%) could well be eating into their core vote, with this vote probably to stay with SF. Interesting times, what's your thoughts ?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0329/605418-poll/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Great to see FF stuck in the mud .
    Even their senior TDs are admitting that the situation within their party is grim. Must be quite depressing after all their self congratulation and back slapping at their Ard Fheis in Killarney.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ff-poll-performance-very-disappointing-o-cuiv-30140440.html
    Fianna Fail are still far too dishonest to see any rise in support.

FG and Lab are expectedly down after months of attacks on Shatter.

Sinn Fein are reaping the benefits of the recent government bad press thanks to Mary-lou. I dont agree with their politics but well done.

Disappointed and surprised not to see a rise in the independent vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

I always think SF are vastly overrated in Opinion Polls, the people on a phone saying they'll vote for them tend to be the least likely to actually go out and do so.

Great to see labour going the same way as the Greens and Pd's however, long may it continue. Sacrificing a 100 year old party of principle just so Pat and Eamonn can get a big pension. Anyone would think the old DL lads scripted it. Either way the grass roots have accepted the behaviour of the PP so they deserve all they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

raymon wrote: »
    Disappointed and surprised not to see a rise in the independent vote.

Maybe people are wisening up to the fact that most "Independents" are really just ex-FF/FG types looking to get back on the gravy train?

Besides, do we really want a Dail full of Healy-Rae's etc?

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Maybe people are wisening up to the fact that most "Independents" are really just ex-FF/FG types looking to get back on the gravy train?

Not all independents are flat cap wearing yokels.

I think that the independents bring a lot of positives to the dail and seanad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

If the election were held with this percentage support for the parties, Labour on 10% might get 20 seats, and FG on 26% might get 50, leaving them 16 short of a government.

FF&SF could be on 30 seats each based on a 20% vote share (and ignoring the fact that they are both very transfer toxic), leaving us with 36 Tds from a mix of Socialist Democratic We Hate The Labour Party, Independent FG, Independent FF and Independent Basically Mad.

FG would need Labour and one of FF or SF, but both SF and FF would know they would be destroyed if they left the other as the Opposition.

They could try rounding up 16 independents, but Italian levels of instability would result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The fact that the government losses are going to SF and not (back to) FF indicates an element of protest voting in the opinion poll.
    I expect some of this to return in due course - certainly in the cold light of a GE campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

golfball37 wrote: »
    I always think SF are vastly overrated in Opinion Polls, the people on a phone saying they'll vote for them tend to be the least likely to actually go out and do so.
    This, and SF tend to do very bad on transfers which lowers the number of seats they get on the day.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I wonder though to what extent do people look at opinion polls and go "hmm, Sinn Fein are on the rise, maybe I'll vote for them"?

To be honest, every time I see SF go up I get the impression that they are becoming more and more politically acceptable to people.

I wonder though to what extent do people look at opinion polls and go "hmm, Sinn Fein are on the rise, maybe I'll vote for them"?

To be honest, every time I see SF go up I get the impression that they are becoming more and more politically acceptable to people.
    Don't worry the media love to bring to SF's past because they know it sells well, as soon as the election gets into full swing and SF look to be doing well the media will pull up all sorts of stuff from the history books to remind people what SF are and push them back out of the mainstream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

INteresting Red C Poll.

FG. The current Shatter debacle was only getting into it's stride when polling was on, They have been inept in handling Shatter issues. Lucky not to have lost more

FF Should have picked up some of the support flowing from Government parties. Worrying for them.

SF - Good poll perhaps based on Mary Lou's performance, Interesting if they can hold it

Labour - Oh dear. Getting the blame for a FG mess, Ominous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

Exactly .

Fianna fail councillor for 24 years in Listowel wasn't picked for selection for the party to run next time.

On he's election fliers he's now saying, he choose to leave the party for a fresh start. And he's now running as an Independent.

I can't wait till he canvasses my house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Don't worry the media love to bring to SF's past because they know it sells well, as soon as the election gets into full swing and SF look to be doing well the media will pull up all sorts of stuff from the history books to remind people what SF are and push them back out of the mainstream.

You know by the time the next election rolls around in 2016 some of the first time voters wouldn't have been out of nappies when the GF Agreement was signed. The IRA's campaign will have been over for nearly twenty years, yet the media will produce something from "the history books" that will torpedo their chances.

Everyone knows SF's history; if it's not putting them off now, it won't be putting them off then. It puts off middle-class Dublin suburbanites (the people who won't dream of even suggesting to a pollster they might vote SF), but do you think voters in rural Donegal or inner city Dublin will be concerned about their sensitivities, or what the IRA were doing decades earlier (in some cases, before those voters were even born)? Or will they be more concerned about what a SF govt might promise them? (Now SF delivering on those promises is a whole other story.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭Sand

@Radiosonde
    You know by the time the next election rolls around in 2016 some of the first time voters wouldn't have been out of nappies when the GF Agreement was signed. The IRA's campaign will have been over for nearly twenty years, yet the media will produce something from "the history books" that will torpedo their chances.

So long ago, and yet Adams and McGuinness are *still* running the party. And one doesn't need to delve into ancient history to determine Adams is unfit for any office. No other party in the land would consider a leader suitable if it emerged they had quietly tolerated their brother abusing a niece for decades.
    It puts off middle-class Dublin suburbanites (the people who won't dream of even suggesting to a pollster they might vote SF), but do you think voters in rural Donegal or inner city Dublin will be concerned about their sensitivities, or what the IRA were doing decades earlier (in some cases, before those voters were even born)?

Are you saying people in middle class Dublin suburbia have higher moral standards than rural or inner city voters? Controversial.

From a purely self interested point of view, for all SF's frustrations with middle class Dublin suburbia not buying into the scrubbed up, shiny clean SF (out damned spot, out I say) they shouldn't let it verge over into sneering at middle class Dublin suburbia. It's hard to win someone's vote when you're sneering at them unless you're FF - they managed the trick of seeming folksy while sneering at you.

Re: Fianna Fails being stuck. I did say fears of Zombie FF were overdone. The "gains" they have received were essentially voters leaving FG and Labour, and joining "None of the above". By retaining their old and grey vote they became *relatively* stronger. And that before a campaign season fully begins and FG really begin slinging mud and publishing memos from the FF government.

The real problem for the Irish voter is that "None of the above" is increasingly the only sane option. FG are in some ways worse than FF - I'm not sure FF every campaigned on the basis of restoring trust in public governance. Voting for Independants is the only way to subvert the stranglehold Insider parties like FF, FG and Labour have on this country.

Radiosonde wrote: »

Everyone knows SF's history; if it's not putting them off now, it won't be putting them off then. It puts off middle-class Dublin suburbanites (the people who won't dream of even suggesting to a pollster they might vote SF), but do you think voters in rural Donegal or inner city Dublin will be concerned about their sensitivities, or what the IRA were doing decades earlier (in some cases, before those voters were even born)? Or will they be more concerned about what a SF govt might promise them? (Now SF delivering on those promises is a whole other story.)
    The former, the media will never let SF live down their terrorist past and rightly so.

They may pick up some votes in marginalised sections of society like rural Donegal or inner city Dublin but people from these demographics are in the minority and SF tend to do poorly in transfers ensuring they stay where they belong, outside of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

If the election were held with this percentage support for the parties, Labour on 10% might get 20 seats, and FG on 26% might get 50, leaving them 16 short of a government.

FF&SF could be on 30 seats each based on a 20% vote share (and ignoring the fact that they are both very transfer toxic), leaving us with 36 Tds from a mix of Socialist Democratic We Hate The Labour Party, Independent FG, Independent FF and Independent Basically Mad.

FG would need Labour and one of FF or SF, but both SF and FF would know they would be destroyed if they left the other as the Opposition.

They could try rounding up 16 independents, but Italian levels of instability would result.

I think the next election will return a very unstable result. We could even see two or three elections in quick succession until things sort out. The left is too fragmented with a range of small parties and independents. Plus the majority of Irish people are just not left leaning. I think we will see a consolidation on the left probably focused around Sinn Fein and some sort of union of the "United Left Alliance" with Labour all but disintegrated. Meanwhile on the right both FF and FG are pretty much doomed so after an election or two of instability we'll probably see a new centre right party emerge. Over time after a period of instability we'll see a more standard Right-Left divide emerge as the new face of politics in Ireland.

touts wrote: »
    we'll probably see a new centre right party emerge. Over time after a period of instability we'll see a more standard Right-Left divide emerge as the new face of politics in Ireland.

People always say that after Labour have a spell in govt: the 70s, the 80s, the 90s, they always get a pasting. But they are a real party, with voters whose grandparents voted Labour, and they have trade union backing. ULA aren't a party, they are just a bunch of individuals who couldn't organise a split without a row breaking out.

No, Labour will be beaten down to their core 6-9% vote, but they won't be destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

Recent opinion polls have been bad for FF considering the incompetence of the current government over various Garda scandals. The government needs to get going on the banking enquiry simply to remind people who is responsible for getting Ireland into this mess. If FF get above 25% in the next General election then this country is truly full of idiots, even 17% of voters voted for FF in 2011 given the economic destruction they wreaked on this country.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

As opposed to the continued expansion that of state power and overreach of regulation that this present government is overseeing, paid for by an increasing tax-take from the voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

Manach wrote: »
    As opposed to the continued expansion that of state power and overreach of regulation that this present government is overseeing, paid for by an increasing tax-take from the voters.

All the political parties in Ireland are big government statists from Fine Gael, Fianna Fail, Labour, Sinn Fein, left wing independents etc.

Then again most Irish people have a statist mentality, with the attitude that the state provides all the answers whenever a problem arises.

Manach wrote: »
    an increasing tax-take from the voters.

The increasing tax take couldn't be anything to do with closing the colossal deficit we were running, no?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Irish Times - Fine Gael Support Declines As Fianna Fáil Recovers Ground

No one in FF is getting carried away with polls anyway. The real poll is May 23rd, will be a tough election.
    Fine Gael has suffered a significant drop in support and Fianna Fáil has recovered ground, according to the latest Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll.

The ongoing controversy over the administration of justice has clearly had a damaging impact on the level of support for the Government parties with Fine Gael suffering most.

FF 25% (+3)
    FG 25% (-5)
    SF 21% (NC)
    LAB 8% (-1)
    IND 21% (+3)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

According to the Irish times, FF revival is indeed happening.
    Fine Gael has suffered a significant drop in support andFianna Fáil has recovered ground, according to the latest Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll.

The ongoing controversy over the administration of justice has clearly had a damaging impact on the level of support for the Government parties with Fine Gael suffering most.

The poll was conducted on Tuesday and Wednesday of this week when the motion of no confidence in Minister for Justice Alan Shatter was being debated in the Dáil.

When people were asked who they would vote for if an election were held tomorrow, party support – when undecided voters are excluded – compared with the lastIrish Times poll was: Fine Gael, 25 per cent (down five points); Labour, 8 per cent (down one point); Fianna Fáil, 25 per cent (up three points) ; Sinn Féin, 21 per cent (no change); and Independents/Others, 21 per cent (up three points).

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/fine-gael-support-declines-as-fianna-f%C3%A1il-recovers-ground-1.1749445

Looks like some people were fooled by the fake gombeen theatrics of Fianna Fail in the dail this week.

Well done FF

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Looks like some people were fooled by the fake gombeen theatrics of Fianna Fail in the dail this week.

Well done FF

Plenty of more FG / Labour omnishambles to be highlighted yet by the opposition in the run up to the local and European elections.

Universal Health Insurance fiasco / 'Free GP Care' for Under 6's / National Ambulance Service in Crisis / Garda cutbacks / Crime out of control - nightly shootings in our capital / GSOC bugging scandal / Mortgage arrears crisis being ignored by government / Post Office network being dismantled / Education in crisis as teachers vote to take industrial action / Accommodation & homelessness crisis in Dublin / Youth unemployment crisis / Department of Health emergency budgets / Inadequate response to storm damage and flooding across Ireland / Irish Water consultancy fee's scandal / Failure to ring fence mental health funding / Abandoning of political reform proposals / Five point plan missing in action and much much more.

FF & SF will drive this government from power and into the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Well done FF

Or is it just the gradual return of their core support?

Plenty of more FG / Labour omnishambles to be highlighted yet by the opposition in the run up to the local and European elections.

Universal Health Insurance fiasco / 'Free GP Care' for Under 6's / National Ambulance Service in Crisis / Garda cutbacks / Crime out of control - nightly shootings in our capital / GSOC bugging scandal / Mortgage arrears crisis being ignored by government / Post Office network being dismantled / Education in crisis as teachers vote to take industrial action / Accommodation & homelessness crisis in Dublin / Youth unemployment crisis / Department of Health emergency budgets / Inadequate response to storm damage and flooding across Ireland / Irish Water consultancy fee's scandal / Failure to ring fence mental health funding / Abandoning of political reform proposals / Five point plan missing in action and much much more.

And of course fianna fail have no responsibility for any of the above!

The fianna fail delusion is still strong!

And of course fianna fail have no responsibility for any of the above!

The fianna fail delusion is still strong!

Over three years into the current government and you still want to blame FF for every cockup that is made.

I couldn't care less about FF so long as FG & Labour are driven from power, whether it by FF, SF or the Independents. Labour will be dealt a fatal blow on May 23rd, and Fine Gael better be ready for a battering. That won't be the end of it either.

Press desk up late tonight

Over three years into the current government and you still want to blame FF for every cockup that is made.

I couldn't care less about FF so long as FG & Labour are driven from power, whether it by FF, SF or the Independents. Labour will be dealt a fatal blow on May 23rd, and Fine Gael better be ready for a battering. That won't be the end of it either.

Yes, and I will continue to blame them, because I have my own mind unlike your typical ff voter!

We will be paying for there piliging of the country for generations.

You say you couldnt care less about fianna fraud, your daily press releases would have me think different!

Says the clown himself.

Your unwillingness to enter into debate is telling in itself. FG / Labour omnishambles.

Are mods allowed to call posters clowns?

What happened playing the ball and not the man?

Fianna fail voters are very narky.

We will be paying for there piliging of the country for generations.

And we will also be paying for the FG / Labour omnishambles for a long time to come.
    You say you couldnt care less about fianna fraud, your daily press releases would have me think different!

Life will go on with or without Fianna Fáil, but thankfully there will always be people ready to highlight the FG / Labour omnishambles. :)

And we will also be paying for the FG / Labour omnishambles for a long time to come.

Life will go on with or without Fianna Fáil, but thankfully there will always be people ready to highlight the FG / Labour omnishambles. :)

Carry on exposing labour and ff light, i have no liking for them.

But as of yetv hey haven't bankrupt a country!

Carry on exposing labour and ff light, i have no liking for them.

No bother, I will do. It certainly is not a difficult task.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Huge gap in Irish politics for a new party.

Nodin wrote: »
    Or is it just the gradual return of their core support?

https://www.google.com/url?q=http://m.rte.ie/news/touch//2014/0303/507931-ivor-callely/&sa=U&ei=RFU-U6u2MoeBhAezwoGICQ&ved=0CBwQFjAE&sig2=8BpJ47OKrKwdYMhC5b3t_Q&usg=AFQjCNHdF3KaaTnWZoaYctNBy1kWZHIIug

yes it certainly seems like things are returning to normal for fianna fail and there supporters!

Irish Times Poll today.
    FG 25 [-5]
    FF 25 [+3]
    SF 21 [NC]
    LB 8 [-1]

The Irish version of the Troika may well have to form the next government on these numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Proof to govt supporters that the economy is not the only thing that is important to the electorate.

FF And SF will make serious gains in the locals. Bleak outlook for labour.

I'm amazed that FG and Labour's support held up this long - I though going into government after Cowen and Bertie was a guaranteed suicide run, and expected them to be back at historic lows within a year or two.

I did think, seeing all the unpleasant old men at the cabinet table day 1, that there'd be a massive reshuffle a year or so out from the next election, with Shatter, Noonan, Hogan & co. gone to the backbenches with the dirty work done, and new faces popping up to offer us tax cuts and a spending spree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

I'm amazed that FG and Labour's support held up this long - I though going into government after Cowen and Bertie was a guaranteed suicide run, and expected them to be back at historic lows within a year or two.

I did think, seeing all the unpleasant old men at the cabinet table day 1, that there'd be a massive reshuffle a year or so out from the next election, with Shatter, Noonan, Hogan & co. gone to the backbenches with the dirty work done, and new faces popping up to offer us tax cuts and a spending spree.

I'd say there is savage pressure in both Labour and Fine Gael HQs for a major cabinet reshuffle before the local elections. It's pretty much their last hope of avoiding a total collapse across the country.

touts wrote: »
    I'd say there is savage pressure in both Labour and Fine Gael HQs for a major cabinet reshuffle before the local elections. It's pretty much their last hope of avoiding a total collapse across the country.

I think it would be too late to reshuffle the cabinet at this stage. Government parties tend to do quite bad during mid-term local elections, but if I was in Labour I would certainly be concerned. Starting to approach that territory where you might lack enough votes for a quota.

The one saving grace for the government might be that Sinn Féin lack the organization in certain areas to capitalize on their poll ratings, and Fianna Fáil are coming from a very low base following the 2004 and 2009 local elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Not all independents are flat cap wearing yokels.

I think that the independents bring a lot of positives to the dail and seanad.

What positives do welching taxpayers bring for instance ?

And I give you fianna fails legacy.
    • Ruined indigenous banking system with only one Irish semi private bank.
      - The rest are state owned and taxpayer funded.
      - Foreign banks have left meaning even less choice for the consumer
    • Ruined indigenous insurance company whose bailout taxpayers and citizens will be paying off for decades.
    • Addition of 50 odd billion of private debt onto soverign debt.
    • Budget deficit of 20 billion that needs to be brought back. (remember that is why we have increased taxes and budget cuts)
    • Charities in turmoil due in no small part to fianna fail cronyism
      - And no I am not forgetting frankies' escapades in Rehab which pale into insignificance when compared to what went on over at CRC where actual charitable contributions were used to feather the nests of fianna failers.
    • And before you start lambasting anyone for public health spending I give you
      - PPARS,
      - the creation of the HSE with no additional savings but added costs and duplication of efforts,
      -the state of elderly care in nursing homes where people were allowed to die because of lack of monitoring in tax haven nursing homes and the like,
      -the state of child care where children were allowed die in care.

oh and before you start complaining Fine Gael/Labour are ignoring the moprtgage crisis please tell us again who was in power during the creation and bursting of our property bubble ?

So please stop the sh**e pedalling.
    Listening to a fianna failer lecture anyone on good government or ethics is like listening to parenting advice from joseph fritzel or childcare advice from the catholic church.
    It stinks and reeks of gross hypocrisy.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    So please stop the sh**e pedalling.
    Listening to a fianna failer lecture anyone on good government or ethics is like listening to parenting advice from joseph fritzel or childcare advice from the catholic church.
    It stinks and reeks of gross hypocrisy.

I still maintain that Fianna Fáil in government have contributed a lot more to Ireland than Fine Gael and Labour ever will even when you take into account the undeniable mishandling of the economy in more recent years. You raise valid points, but the here and now is what is on most peoples minds I find.

Anyway good to see Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil approaching 50% combined support in the opinion polls. It is only one opinion poll though, and closer to the election there could be wild swings in support.

I still maintain that Fianna Fáil in government have contributed a lot more to Ireland than Fine Gael and Labour ever will even when you take into account the undeniable mishandling of the economy in more recent years. You raise valid points, but the here and now is what is on most peoples minds I find.

Anyway good to see Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil approaching 50% combined support in the opinion polls. It is only one opinion poll though, and closer to the election there could be wild swings in support.

Fianna Fail bankrupted our country and handed over our soverignty.

The party has only one core value , to get back into power.

I dont think this poll is cause for people to stock up on brown envelopes just yet.

Nope, definitely not a time for the opposition to get carried away with one opinion poll. The only real poll that counts is May 23rd, but regardless it looks like the government will take a battering from the opposition. Hopefully that will be a wake up call for some people around the cabinet table.

So apart from the " get shatter" witch hunt, have you guys got a clear direction or purpose yet? Maybe a set of core values?

Maybe you could describe what Fianna Fail stands for in one or two lines? I bet you cant.

Surely to God the real news here, is that despite what everyone on here is saying about FF, it reflects atrociously on the current govt that they are seen as no better.

From day one when they broke the salary on SA's they have proven themselves to be worse than FF. What FF did brought shame to Ireland but to carry on with this type of Politics in an environment when they were mandated to enforce "change" is frankly disgusting.

At least FF appear to have looked in the mirror and tried to change themselves, of ourse I don't trust them still but I'd take them back instead of this current crowd in a heartbeat. I don't believe we ever got the same amount of lies and broken promises from a FF election campaign that we got from FG/Lab in 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Exactly what have they really contributed to Ireland over all those decades in power.
    Lets list exactly what they have contributed.
    Well we have had mass continous emigration over most of those years
    We had Economical isolation.
    We had fialed banks and insurance companies cost taxpayers money. (some of us remember haughey's buddy joe moore and the cost of PMPA)
    We had wholesale continous sexual abuse in religous run institutions and the state taking an active part in placing children in said institutions.
    Oh and to cap it off making sure the taxpayer footed the compensation bill rather than the church.
    And we had wholesale corruption where two of it's party leaders and taoisigh were found to be stuffing their pockets with businessmens' money.
    And that does not even mention all the dodgy planning and dodgy minister dragged in front of tribunals of enquiry.

And before you get in there all parties in government had to have known to some degree what was going on within the church run institutions.

Great a bunch of leeching arrogant incompetents and a bunch run by excusors for paedophiles and the murder of widows and kids.
    Charming. :rolleyes:

You have a lot in common all right, you both want to forget the past because frankly your pasts stink to high hell.

I am not allowed discuss …

So apart from the " get shatter" witch hunt, have you guys got a clear direction or purpose yet? Maybe a set of core values?

Maybe you could describe what Fianna Fail stands for in one or two lines? I bet you cant.

Why don't you ring Fianna Fáil HQ and they might be able to send you out some of the policy documents that can be found here? I am not a spokesperson for that party.

I don't think there is a witch hunt surrounding Shatter, he is a shocking Minister and the entire opposition is united in highlighting his poor response to the crises that he has overseen.

I reckon the recent drop in support for the government is probably related to Shatter?

I am not a spokesperson for that party.

Look . If i reply to this comment , i will probably get a warning or ban . I will choose not to.

Surely to God the real news here, is that despite what everyone on here is saying about FF, it reflects atrociously on the current govt that they are seen as no better.

Which is worrying because we do need a stable government to allow for the economic recovery to take hold, yet the opinion polls all seem to point to a major realigning of our party system that will inevitably lead to instability while that is taking place. It is going to be a very interesting few years with Sinn Féin on the scene, Fianna Fáil being so weak and Fine Gael and Labour support falling back.
    Look . If i reply to this comment , i will probably get a warning or ban . I will choose not to.