Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding

• 31-03-2014 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭

got caught speeding 130 in a 80 this morning.. guards with a speed gun pulled me in and told me i'll get 2 points and a fine but i'v heard from others I could get a ban for that speed?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

They'd have to summons you to court to get you banned.

So if you get the points letter you should be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

I don't think you're likely to get an automatic ban unless it could be construed as dangerous driving as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭carzony

As I say it only happened this morning :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Almera9495

Jesus! 130 in an 80 zone. . Count yourself lucky they didn't rip you licence up in front of you. . Stupid speed to be doing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Almera9495 wrote: »
    Jesus! 130 in an 80 zone. . Count yourself lucky they didn't rip you licence up in front of you. . Stupid speed to be doing!!

Depends on the road sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Almera9495

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Depends on the road sure.

How does it!?

The highest speed limit on a road in Ireland is 120km/h. He was in an 80 zone so the speed limit was 80. . he was 50km/h over his speed limit for that road and 10km/h over a motorway speed limit. . .!!

I agree some roads have stupid speed limits but that speed is unjustified!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Yeah a Guard told me once before if I was double the speed limit they would bring me to the station.
    I wasn't so just 2 points.Was a long time ago though but I'd say your ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

carzony wrote: »
    got caught speeding 130 in a 80 this morning.. guards with a speed gun pulled me in and told me i'll get 2 points and a fine but i'v heard from others I could get a ban for that speed?

Hold on I can here the high horses coming lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

How does it!?

The highest speed limit on a road in Ireland is 120km/h. He was in an 80 zone so the speed limit was 80. . he was 50km/h over his speed limit for that road and 10km/h over a motorway speed limit. . .!!

That's why he will be fined and get points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

OP - you should be flattered; a member of the high horse brigade signed up especially to castigate you! Although to be fair to them, doing over 50% above the limit isn't just a casual /mistaken creep over the limit; you were well and truly over.

Was it a good road with one of those stupidly low limits on it (and you thought the limit was higher, so in your mind the transgression "wasn't that bad"?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

How does it!?

Look it. A narrow country road with concealed entrances/junctions? That's not safe at all. Ex-national road that's now a regional road because of a new motorway? Less bad, still wrong but not the crime of the century,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Don't worry I'm sure you'll get banned soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Speed aside, what road was this on? 130km/h in an 80km/h has me intrigued as there are few you could do this safely on. And btw, if he said you were doing 130km/h, your speedo was probably showing north of 135km/h. Thats mental, even for me!

Think you got the Garda on a good day OP. Unless they issue a summons for dangerous driving, but seeing as your getting two points and a fine, I doubt that will happen. I'm pretty sure 'dangerous driving' is an arrest there and then.

Yakuza wrote: »
    OP - you should be flattered; a member of the high horse brigade signed up especially to castigate you! Although to be fair to them, doing over 50% above the limit isn't just a casual /mistaken creep over the limit; you were well and truly over.

What about people doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone.
    Same thing - over 50% above the limit.
    There is hundreds or thousands of them everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

ironclaw wrote: »
    Speed aside, what road was this on? 130km/h in an 80km/h has me intrigued as there are few you could do this safely on. And btw, if he said you were doing 130km/h, your speedo was probably showing north of 135km/h. Thats mental, even for me!

Think you got the Garda on a good day OP. Unless they issue a summons for dangerous driving, but seeing as your getting two points and a fine, I doubt that will happen. I'm pretty sure 'dangerous driving' is an arrest there and then.
    I'd imagine it's the Lucan bypass?
    Fine 3 lane road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

CiniO wrote: »

You wouldn't be a great maths teacher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,506 ✭✭✭✭Alun

D Trent wrote: »
    30km/h + 50% = 45km/h

50 > 45

Q.E.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I don't get the point you're making. The one I'm making is that to be so far over the limit is not some accidental creep over; it shows intent to drive at that speed. Precisely the same point applies when driving at 50 in a 30.

Nothing wrong with his maths.

Indeed you are right.
    I'd be terrible teacher, but not because I'm bad at maths (I'm actually pretty good), but because I'm just not suitable person for being a teacher.

Yakuza wrote: »
    I don't get the point you're making. The one I'm making is that to be so far over the limit is not some accidental creep over; it shows intent to drive at that speed. Precisely the same point applies when driving at 50 in a 30.
    Agree with that.
    Point I was trying to make, that for most people doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone doesn't sound crazy. No one would expect driver doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone to be banned. If OP said he got caught doing it, I'd bet there woulnd't be anyone even here on this forum saying he should get banned.
    But driver doing 130km/h in 80km/h zone makes some people think he must be some maniac and should be banned from driving, even though it's very similar percentage speeding, so nearly same extra danger caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

My sister got 2 points for doing 180 in a 60 zone. It was middle of the night along the N11 somewhere in Wicklow where there were temporary road works bringing the limit down to 60. There was no one on the roads apart from herself and the unmarked Garda car who pulled her over.

When the notice came in the post with 2 points, I was telling her to argue it in court as surely there was something wrong with the radar to be reading that high. She didn't want to risk it in the end which just shows she was probably doing a ton at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Gotham

My sister got 2 points for doing 180 in a 60 zone.
    What was she driving?

I think graduated speeding fines should be introduced here, like in most other countries.

F.e. something among those lines.

Penalty for being:

up to 10km/h over the speed limit - €20 fine
    up to 20km/h over the speed limit - €80 fine + 1 penalty point
    up to 30km/h over the speed limit - €200 fine + 2 penalty points
    up to 40km/h over the speed limit - €500 fine + 4 penalty points + 1 months ban
    up to 50km/h over the speed limit - €1000 fine + 8 penalty points + 3 months ban
    over 50km/h over the speed limit - €2000 fine + 1 year ban.

Obviously this is just an example. Could be different values for towns, cities, and different for motorways.
    Ideally it should be based on percentage above the limit, but I know for some reason such system is not really used anywhere - I'm not sure why.

Gotham wrote: »
    What was she driving?

The father's 2L Mondeo. No way to argue the car wasn't capable of the speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

M1 after/before the tunnel ? 80 zone there. And the garda do love to nab people there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Is imagine it's the Lucan bypass?
    Fine 3 lane road

No, no, he was doing 130km/h! 130!!! Hanging at dawn is too good for him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Gotham

The default speed limit in Dublin city is 50kmph, with the exception of a few roads (see http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/generaltrafficmeasures/Documents/City_wide_map_Dec_2012.pdf)

I personally disagree with this lazy blanket approach. There's quite a few roads that could have higher safe limits in outer areas of that region.
    That's not even considering the time of day, when it's safer to drive a little faster at night. (Assuming you have your lights on etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Consider yourself blessed among men......

they arrested two guys a couple of weeks ago for separate speeding offences on the N25 - 180km+ in a 100km zone.

There was also this recently in Tullamore (But they didn't mention if the guy was arrested)

BjVqJ9uCcAAkNjX.jpg

Also according to the Twitter feed a driver caught doing 178 in a 100 zone was fined him €250 with 5 penalty points when they brought him to court.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Consider yourself blessed among men......

they arrested two guys a couple of weeks ago for separate speeding offences on the N25 - 180km+ in a 100km zone.

There was also this recently in Tullamore (But they didn't mention if the guy was arrested)

Also according to the Twitter feed a driver caught doing 178 in a 100 zone was fined him €250 with 5 penalty points when they brought him to court.

This is why I was so surprised about my sister's situation. Why didn't they prosecute for dangerous driving or did they take into account that it was the middle of the night in a rural area with no other cars around.

on checking the twitter feed I see the guy who got the 5 points & €250 was one who was nabbed on the N25 - they didn't offer him an FPN just did him straight for dangerous driving.

Sounds like your sister had a 'lucky' escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Agree with that.
    Point I was trying to make, that for most people doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone doesn't sound crazy. No one would expect driver doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone to be banned. If OP said he got caught doing it, I'd bet there woulnd't be anyone even here on this forum saying he should get banned.
    But driver doing 130km/h in 80km/h zone makes some people think he must be some maniac and should be banned from driving, even though it's very similar percentage speeding, so nearly same extra danger caused.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and suggest the impact of someone hitting someone / something else would be less at 50km/hr than 130km/hr.

Either way, you're breaking the speed limit by a gross margin and you should be penalised accordingly.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I'm going to go out on a limb here and suggest the impact of someone hitting someone / something else would be less at 50km/hr than 130km/hr.

Yes.
    But impact of hitting someone / something at 80km/h is also way different than at 30km/h, yet there are places with 30km/h limit as well as places with 80km/h limit.

It's about difference your speeding makes.

If limit for road is 80km/h and you do 130km/h, you are increasing your breaking distance 2.64 times.

If you speed limit for the road is 30km/h and you do 50km/h, you are increasing your breaking distance 2.77 times.

(I only calculated braking distance, didn't include reaction time)

So actually looks like doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone is more dangerous than doing 130km/h in 80km/h zone.

Yes.
    But impact of hitting someone / something at 80km/h is also way different than at 30km/h, yet there are places with 30km/h limit as well as places with 80km/h limit.

If limit for road is 80km/h and you do 130km/h, you are increasing your breaking distance 2.64 times.

If you speed limit for the road is 30km/h and you do 50km/h, you are increasing your breaking distance 2.77 times.

So actually looks like doing 50km/h in 30km/h zone is more dangerous than doing 130km/h in 80km/h zone.

Interesting argument. You're out by many factors (it takes 4 times the distance to stop at the upper limit versus the lower limit). 'Thinking' and stopping distances are 25m at 50km/hr versus 96m plus at the legal limit.

So, if I'm driving down the road above the speed limit and spot something on the road ahead of me at, say 50m, (stopped car, little old lady crossing), I know which speed I'd rather be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I've seen arguments that if you hit someone at (say) 40km/h they will survive, at 50 km/h they will be hurt and at 60 they will die. How then can anyone suggest that speeding at motorway speed should have a lesser penalty? The damage done gets worse with every bit of extra speed and at motorway speed, an accident would always be serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Yes.

In the real world you are far more likely to cause a bigger mess doing 130 in an 80 zone than you are doing 50 in a 30 zone. Thats not to say that there arent 80 roads where its quite safe to do 130 (I can think of a couple off the top of my head without too much effort).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

How does it!?

Could be a good road with a stupid speed limit.

FFS .. I've seen a load of roads in Ireland where the speed limit makes no sense and is too high or too low.

Saying he was going to kill someone because he was X amount over the limit doesn't mean anything, all we know for sure is he broke the speed limit and is getting a ticket and some points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Op

Pay the fine, take the points on the chin.

Learn from it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Just to go back to miles for a minute, Its 80 miles per hour in a 50mph limit . If it was on a good piece of road, its not the crime of the century.

mickdw wrote: »
    Just to go back to miles for a minute, Its 80 miles per hour in a 50mph limit . If it was on a good piece of road, its not the crime of the century.

Ah sure they should just allow drivers dictate their own speeds. These limits get in the way and just hold up people getting from A to B.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Ah sure they should just allow drivers dictate their own speeds. These limits get in the way and just hold up people getting from A to B.:rolleyes:

Now you're getting it.

Caliden wrote: »
    Now you're getting it.

Spot on. Speeding has absolutely no impact on driving safety or the resulting mayhem from accidents. I suppose you're going to convince me a few pints is grand as well? sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

mickdw wrote: »

Thats the big if really. In my area I can think of both dual carraigeways and grass down the middle boreens that have 50mph limits; how safe it would be to drive at 80mph on a 50mph stretch of road varies wildly!

Plenty of roads have crazy low limits. There is piece of dual-carriage way in Galway city with a 50km/h limit on it for instance. I have comfortably gone well north of 130km/h on it on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

carzony wrote: »

This escalated quickly.

Anyway OP, pay the fine and take the two points. If it's all you are gonna get, my guess is that the officer of the law in question didn't consider your driving to be particularly dangerous, although in violation of the posted limit. Lucky escape by reasonable "guard".

//Laser Gun Image

There is no way you can target someone accurately at 450m+ Thats 492+ yards. Your at Olympic class shooting there. Even on a tripod, thats excessive distance to be pulling someone for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The high horse brigade never cease to amaze me on this site. That guy signed up just to give the OP a bollocking haha!

Theres loads of dual carriageway around galway city thats 80kph where people frequently do a lot more. Not sure if I've ever done 130 but definitely 100 - 110 and only if there aren't many other cars around. I don't think its dangerous, most people are travelling at that speed to be homest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Christ, it only took five posts for one of these eejits to show up.

That must be a record?

There is no way you can target someone accurately at 450m+ Thats 492+ yards. Your at Olympic class shooting there. Even on a tripod, thats excessive distance to be pulling someone for.

Someone should try and run that defence in court:)

I assume its kosher - is the distance noted in the photo the distance the carry travelled while being zapped?

Someone should try and run that defence in court:)

I assume its kosher - is the distance noted in the photo the distance the carry travelled while being zapped?

Its never been tried because no one has the money to take it high enough. But yes, it should be challenged. Take standard laser pointer, and try keep it on a moving object the size of a number plate at 100m, let alone 450m.

Now, put good bit of weight on it, shoulder it and try keep it there with no zoom optics. Its utter nonsense.

Distance doesn't matter. Its instantaneous. Laser is very accurate, i have no contest with that, but I do have exception with a Garda thinking his aim is decent enough to hit a moving car accurately at 450m. At the very least, you'd be taking a hit at 450m, and confirming the same at a more reasonable distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

The m50 is an 80k zone for some retarded reason and Id count 130k to be safe there. But on a back road or even a N road Id say thats mad speed. Id say itll just be points and the fine. Anything over 160k is a ban apparently or double the posted speed limit.