Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thank you Lidl, thank you Aldi

• 29-03-2014 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭

You have done more for the safety of runners and cyclist and in some ways motorists, than the various quangos for road safety in this county put together.

You have people "lit up" in bright yellow and all that jazz.

The various deal you do on that gear is to be commended.

Or maybe that is just me?

Anyone else think they have done us all a favour making people running/walking/cycling take a more visible and safer look?

They also do cheap, strong and tasty polish beer too, which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Now that you mention it I'd agree.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

The german wimen in their bras look hot when they flog cheap undies. Thank u lidl x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

*Goes in to ALDI/LIDL to save money - leaves with a €40 hammer-action power drill that'll be used once*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Great that the usual rip off merchants have been shown up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Are the people that are alive today only because their lives were worth protecting to them when the hi-viz stuff dropped below a certain price point the ones we really want to save?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I'd like to thank them for the robot vacuum cleaner on sale last week,hours of fun getting stoned and laugh At it going around bumping into things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Their bicycles lights are not the greatest though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Thank you Lidl and Aldi for saving me and my girlfriend about €6000 on shopping in the last 3 years.

PS: Fcuk you, Tesco!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I'd like to say a final thank you for the length of rope that I sourced there......

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82208415

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

And to all the wealthy Irish skiers on the piste dressed head to toe in ALDI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'd like to say a final thank you for the length of rope that I sourced there......

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82208415

have you used it yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Thank you Aldi for having cheap food and helping me save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Are the people that are alive today only because their lives were worth protecting to them when the hi-viz stuff dropped below a certain price point the ones we really want to save?:)

Can you do that in a proper sentence? you hurt my head :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Indeed, hail our German overlords!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Thank you Lidl for having a huge range of Mothers Day appropriate stuff for the Missus, sparing her from the usual battered bunch of Petrol station flowers.

Especially when it's 7.45pm, you're covered in oil, have just finished work and looking for mammies day stuff is effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

WikiHow wrote: »
    Their bicycles lights are not the greatest though.
    +1.

and their sports clothing is very poor material too. what do ye expect for the price I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Thanks Lidl for giving me the opportunity to have 2 dinners worth of fish fingers and baked beans for under €2.50.

From a lowly student.

maryishere wrote: »
    +1.

and their sports clothing is very poor material too. what do ye expect for the price I suppose.

Buy cheap buy twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Indeed. Thanks for supporting the high-vis=safety fallacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

No Pants wrote: »

yes because walking on country roads at nighttime in dark clothes trying to avoid being run over by drunk drivers is safer than doing it in high-vis:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Can you do that in a proper sentence?

He did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Ok- dokie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Thanks because now I can afford a lovely sparkly pink Irish dancing costume for the 45 euro a week I save.....

The son isnt talking to me though!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

According to my German lecturer in college. Germans aim for at least 2 foreign holidays a year. To do this they live save during the year by shopping in places like lidl and also( there is also stores cheaper in Germany that make lidl look like superquinn).

Lidl and aldi have completely changed how must Irish shop now. Most Irish people only brought expensive branded stuff. Now we have no problem buying no name stuff as they are cheap and good

hfallada wrote: »
    According to my German lecturer in college. Germans aim for at least 2 foreign holidays a year. To do this they live save during the year by shopping in places like lidl and also( there is also stores cheaper in Germany that make lidl look like superquinn).

Lidl and aldi have completely changed how must Irish shop now. Most Irish people only brought expensive branded stuff. Now we have no problem buying no name stuff as they are cheap and good

Huh. I'll have you know, Suddenly Diamond is where it is at, currently. No name. The cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Karl Stein wrote: »
    *Goes in to ALDI/LIDL to save money - leaves with a €40 hammer-action power drill that'll be used once*

Used once? I've found stuff in the garage I don't even remember buying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I shop for groceries at Lidl because now I feel ripped off if I shop for them anywhere else.

Would not buy their running gear though.

Lou.m wrote: »

Would not buy their running gear though.

+1 Ann Summers have better racing gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Love them both to bits! All the branded stuff is in there under different names anyway.

But I do get afraid that they will end up just a dear as the usual rip off multiples sooner or later....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

Thank you Aldi for your delicious €0.75 red sauce.

Now get to work on a proper BBQ one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Love them both to bits! All the branded stuff is in there under different names anyway.

But I do get afraid that they will end up just a dear as the usual rip off multiples sooner or later....

That'll only happen if / because the others are forced to lower their prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,058 ✭✭✭tippspur

Thank you for that sander I have out in the shed that I bought 3 years ago and it's still in the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

WikiHow wrote: »
    +1 Ann Summers have better racing gear.

Lol :D tempted to run in something like that now! I have seen wild things at races!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Pity their mystery meat is so mysterious.

tippspur wrote: »
    Thank you for that sander I have out in the shed that I bought 3 years ago and it's still in the box.

You had it in mind to sand somthing that needed sanding, then inertia overcame optimism and it ended up in the shed. Sand that wood Brother Man, you owe it to yourself. Also, sanding is dull. You'll realise that once you start. At least then though, you can say you tried. And feck it back into the shed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I wouldn't use most of their running/cycling/walking stuff as it's terrible quality. It serves if you are looking to use it very rarely, or once off, but for seasoned runners/cyclists/walkers, you wouldn't shop in aldi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Pity their mystery meat is so mysterious.

Mystery meat??
    Im presuming its not horse like tesco
    maybe its the stuff swept up off the factory floor? pigs ears and snouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

yes because walking on country roads at nighttime in dark clothes trying to avoid being run over by drunk drivers is safer than doing it in high-vis:pac:
    Do some research on the effectiveness of lights versus high-vis. Or maybe just read some that someone else has already done.

I can see now how people come out of Penneys with 35 shopping bags of €1 tops and other trash when they buy power tools in lidl or aldi and never use them.

I wouldn't use most of their running/cycling/walking stuff as it's terrible quality. It serves if you are looking to use it very rarely, or once off, but for seasoned runners/cyclists/walkers, you wouldn't shop in aldi.

Noo, you'd need "Pro Gear". The "Pro" bit is important. Like a carbon fiber bike. I have a middle aged, pot bellied mate. He took up cycling and decided he needed a carbon fiber bike. Truth be told, he needed a fcuking BMX to suit his level of fitness, but noo, a 2k CF bike was purchased. "Pro" Gear, gotta love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Thank you for having a nice, spacious layout, and everything exactly the same in every shop!

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Thank you for having a nice, spacious layout, and everything exactly the same in every shop!

Not so. Each store places an order to the central DC. This varies from store to store. Next time you need a 12V Oil sucker and your local Lidl has none - go to the next one and Voila.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

IvySlayer wrote: »

Exactly, and no Musak either!

Jam, peanut butter, coffee tea....on the right.

Cereal, porridge, on the left.

Bread on the right.

Jeez you could do a shop in there blindfold! Aldi that is.

Lidl only opened recently, just getting the hang of it there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Tropheus wrote: »
    Used once? I've found stuff in the garage I don't even remember buying.

Yeah when you get it home you have a go off it just to make sure it can make a hole in an old concrete block that was happily minding its own business at the back of the shed before having a big hole drilled in it the poor thing.

Off into the shed then to rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

Thanks for the cheap beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

I also bought a sander from there at least a year ago and used it for the first time yesterday. Have to say I was impressed, and now I feel bad for neglecting it. Maybe I'll get the mitre saw they have now to keep it company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Do some research on the effectiveness of lights versus high-vis. Or maybe just read some that someone else has already done.

Hmm you posted this in AH and expect to be taken seriously?
    Anything that alerts a motorist to a cyclist has to be applauded.
    Also since this is AH-go pay road tax for your vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Noo, you'd need "Pro Gear". The "Pro" bit is important. Like a carbon fiber bike. I have a middle aged, pot bellied mate. He took up cycling and decided he needed a carbon fiber bike. Truth be told, he needed a fcuking BMX to suit his level of fitness, but noo, a 2k CF bike was purchased. "Pro" Gear, gotta love it.

Who said anything about pro gear? Or carbon fiber? Nobody I believe. I have walking/cycling and running gear from aldi/lidl. I also have gear I bought elsewhere and the gear form aldi is generally crapy bottom of the ladder stuff. If you are testing out a new hobbie, perfect place for cheap gear for start off, but don't buy their hiking shoes and expect anything from them.

Buy their "one size fits all" premium running shoe, see how far it gets you, lol :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

This is our local Aldi in Brattleboro, Vermont. The meat is always excellent.

https://www.aldi.us/en/weekly-specials/fresh-meat-special-buy/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

hfallada wrote: »

You don't remember yellow pack?