Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FREE The Heritage Par 3 comp 9th April

• 27-03-2014 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭

still a good few slots available - below link shd get you through to their booking site

http://www.brsgolf.com/heritageleix/visitor_day.php?d_date=2014-04-09&course_id1=1

text of the email i received

Dear Golf Lover,

To celebrate the launch of the Masters 2014, Just Treats, in association with the Ballesteros Course, is delighted to invite you to the 1st National Par 3 Championship. Taking place on Wednesday the 9th of April at The Heritage, Co. Laois.

Running in parallel with the Augusta National Par 3 Comp

It’s your chance to make your mark on a 9 hole Par 3 course designed by Europe’s first ever Master’s champion, Seve Ballesteros. So why not put on that boiler suit and head for The Heritage.

This is the 54th running of the Augusta tournament and our very own Padraig Harrington has won it (par 3 comp) no less than 3 times. We want you to replicate Padraig’s skills on the Ballesteros Course.

Win a prize & pair with one of our celebrity guests

Not only are there great prizes, we’ll also have some celebrity guests playing on the day. You might be lucky enough to be paired with one of them.

Free entry!

Best of all, entry is free. The event will take place on Wed the 9th of April from 10am to 7pm. All you have to do is click on the link below, select your tee time for the day and confirm.

>>> click here

We encourage groups of four. (Note: Places are limited and on a first come first served basis. It will be a 9 hole competition)

Look forward to seeing you on the day!

Happy golfing,

Just Treats Team

PS. We have had a huge response to our current treat for The Heritage. Be quick and don’t miss ou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

I just booked myself and CharlieIRL in at 18:10 (no need to take day off work:D )

If anyone wants to join us just reply to this post. We need 2 more. There are other times free around us if loads are interested....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,117 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Barnaboy wrote: »
    I just booked myself and CharlieIRL in at 18:10 (no need to take day off work:D )

If anyone wants to join us just reply to this post. We need 2 more. There are other times free around us if loads are interested....

I'm up for that if you have a slot still? if not and anyone else fancies a game.......

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

stevieob wrote: »
    I'm up for that if you have a slot still? if not and anyone else fancies a game.......

spot on stevieob, anyone else fancy the final spot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I think I might knock off work a little early and join you! Good practice for Carlow.

Thanks lads! That's a 4-ball sorted so...and there's plenty of spots on either side of us if anyone else is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

Anyone any idea if a scorecard for the par 3 course can be downloaded?

Nice one, thanks guys.

dennyire wrote: »
    Anyone any idea if a scorecard for the par 3 course can be downloaded?

Yeah, me too, I like to know what I'm facing :confused:

Bump....

Just a reminder that this is on Wednesday. I have sent a PM to anyone to signed up.

Places still free if others are interested.

wrong date on thread title... hence I thought this was on Tuesday. Wednesday suits me even better anyway

Didn't even notice. Looking forward to this, see yous out there!

E-mail received on this:

We’re looking forward to seeing you at our Par 3 9-hole Competition at the Heritage Golf & Spa Resort on Wednesday 9th April. We’ve had a huge response, so the competition is just about booked out. There are a few evening tee times remaining, so if you know anyone wishing to play, tell them if they’re quick, they can still book at the link below.

Your trip to The Heritage should take around 1 hour from Dublin, just follow the signs for Cork and then exit at junction 14.

On arrival at The Heritage please follow signs for the Natural Golf School and Par 3 Golf Course. Parking is limited at the Par 3 Course, so please park at the hotel and walk down to the Par 3 with your clubs and trolley. Trolleys are available at the Par 3 but if you want to rent a buggy please go to the clubhouse golf shop.

If you’d like something to eat, the clubhouse will be open before the competition, where we’ll have a golfer’s special for just €10 available all day.

Please note the following:

• Register with the Just Treats team at the Golf Academy on the day
    (non-registered players will not be able to play)
    • Please ensure you register 30 mins before you’re due to tee-off
    • All players will receive a Just Treats goodie bag at registration

There are some great prizes up for grabs – find out more on the day.

Good luck in the competition and may the best golfer win.

Happy golfing,

Just Treats Team

Please note: All caddies must wear a white boiler suit.

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Didn't even notice. Looking forward to this, see yous out there!

I'd offer you a lift only I'll be down in Naas all day (Golfing :D)

Anyone ever play the 9 hole course here before? Don't want to bring my full set of clubs down but don't want to be left short either.

I'd offer you a lift only I'll be down in Naas all day (Golfing :D)

Nah, it'll easier for me to just go straight out on the bike after work.

Btw, expecting good scoring for you if you've had a whole day of golf prior to our par3.

Nah, it'll easier for me to just go straight out on the bike after work.

Btw, expecting good scoring for you if you've had a whole day of golf prior to our par3.

couple of 2's on Sunday in Tulfarris.... probably means that I've now used all my luck up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Anyone ever play the 9 hole course here before? Don't want to bring my full set of clubs down but don't want to be left short either.

Havent played it but talking to the guy in the pro shop he reckons almost a full set....holes from 100 to 200 yards

dennyire wrote: »
    Havent played it but talking to the guy in the pro shop he reckons almost a full set....holes from 100 to 200 yards

cheers, will just bring the full bag so just in case!!

I'm on the motorbike and bringing the full set :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Hopefully they have done the course up, I played it a few years back and it was in terrible condition. I'd played the par 3 in St Anne's the same week and that was in much better condition.

couple of 2's on Sunday in Tulfarris.... probably means that I've now used all my luck up!!

Had a 2 in deerpark myself last weekend. 138y down hill/down wind, put PW 15foot over the pin came nicely back pinhigh to 4foot left of the hole :D

More of that tomorrow please.

I'm on the motorbike and bringing the full set :cool:

how the hell do you manage that?!!! Something i never considered carrying on my bike, often strapped crutches to the side of it when i broke my ankle but not clubs!!

I made a heap of the par 3's last time out so am going to make up for it tomorrow!!

how the hell do you manage that?!!! Something i never considered carrying on my bike, often strapped crutches to the side of it when i broke my ankle but not clubs!!

cause he is mad!!!

i'm gonna try and get there early and grab the golfers grill to fill me up for the few holes, so might see yis in the bar

I'll be leaving tullamore at 5 and its about 30 minutes drive so see ya there. We have to be there 30 minutes before the tee time too.

Actually it's not that bad. It's a pan european (side luggage on it), so it's fairly wide anyway. Tie it down on passenger seat along the width of the bike. I'm slightly less nimble when filtering as I'm a good food wider either side. Also it blocks my mirrors on the motorway. But otherwise I'd forget it's even there.

couch on wheels!!!

I've a GSXR1000 so nowhere to strap my clubs down unless i want to take the heads off a few cyclists!!

couch on wheels!!!

I've a GSXR1000 so nowhere to strap my clubs down unless i want to take the heads off a few cyclists!!

I took one for a spin a couple of years ago, Bloody Hell :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Enjoy it lads, played it a couple years ago, its a great course and a very good challenge.

Can't wait. Should be great craic, and free too!

And a free goodie bag!

leaving shortly, see ye there lads.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

How did ye get on?

slave1 wrote: »
    How did ye get on?

We got on grand, played more for fun than anything else. 1/4 handicaps for 9 holes but seeing as we were finished so early we played a second round of speed golf! Greens recently pole forked and heavily sanded meant putting was fun!
    I ended up 4 over off 4 (not 3 cause the lads cant do maths!) Barnaboy was 2 shots better. He was nearly level for the second round!
    Thanks to the 3 lads for thr company and banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Tonyatcwfarm

Any idea what score won
    I got lucky and scored a level par 9 holes so 2under nett

Any idea what score won
    I got lucky and scored a level par 9 holes so 2under nett

Posting results friday as far as i know. Great scoring.

Thanks Charlie
    Left 2 behind me as well
    The greens were woeful
    Slow is an understatement

Thanks Charlie
    Left 2 behind me too
    Greens were woeful
    Very slow and bumpy

Thanks to CharlieIRL, Stevieob and RoadRunner for the company last night. Was a lovely evening and good craic and with Bayern thumping United it made for a perfect evening :-)

Lads it was good fun. Thanks for the game and bit of craic. Good shooting Tony, you might be in the hunt.......

As mentioned the greens were recently pole forked and heavily sanded, but I have to disagree with Tony, pole forking and sanding is a good thing, so I would actually say the greens are excellent. Unfortunately we got them when they had just been treated so it played a bit of havoc with some of our putts.

Give them a week or two and they would be a lot better than many greens around the country. I have learnt to be objective now that I am an official golf course reviewer :)

Speaking of reviewing, it is not much more than a field though. Bit of gorse around the place, but unless you are awful, it won't trouble you at all. Some good holes and everything from pitching wedge distance to hybrid will be required from the tee.

I would be going out of my way to play here, but if you are playing the main course, it would be a nice way to warm up, or indeed, if you were staying in the hotel, you could tell the other half you were just going to stretch the legs and squash a sneaky 9 holes in within about an hour.

..we played a second round of speed golf

I saw charlie putt out with his golf bag still on his back. This whole speed thing has gone too far! :D

surprisingly it didn't put me off either!!!

yea.... you still missed! :)

geez thanks!!!