Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIDERS YOU CHOOSE/DECIDE - 2014 Dunsany GP - Saturday 10 May

• 27-03-2014 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

Dunsany GP races are scheduled as per calender for Sun May 11th which clashes with giro visit to republic.prob going to be a big hassle to get enough stewards/drivers etc and indeed riders.this A3 and A4 races is the only scheduled races in leinster that weekend.2 options are bring it forward a day to a 10.30 start on sat 10th,or pull it for this yr altogether.whats the feeling out there??

Race clash with the Giro Sunday 11th May - what would you like done? 43 votes

Bring forward to Saturday the 10th
    0%
    Cancel the race
    72%
    ryan_sherlockInquitusWishbone AshHarrybelafonteTenzor07duffyshuffleInvincibleslfcarro5dermo1990cipolennymcLCDGreen&Redsmurphy29HmmzisWelshkevKy AbuKav0777bren_mcAeghnor 31 votes
    Leave as is
    27%
    Plastikderealbadgertrek climberbcmfDe BhálPeterxfeck sake ladsSr. AssumptaJ MadonedermabrasionMarouletape 12 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Cancel the race
    wav1 wrote: »
    Dunsany GP races are scheduled as per calender for Sun May 11th which clashes with giro visit to republic.prob going to be a big hassle to get enough stewards/drivers etc and indeed riders.this A3 and A4 races is the only scheduled races in leinster that weekend.2 options are bring it forward a day to a 10.30 start on sat 10th,or pull it for this yr altogether.whats the feeling out there??

I was just thinking earlier today that a race would suffer cos of Giro. Is it unfair to ask stewards to do two days in a row? I punctured out of Lucan GP this year and I was really looking forward to racing the course properly but think it'd be unfair to put that demand on volunteers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Cancel the race
    mods - any chance of adding a poll?
    option 1 - move to saturday
    option 2 - pull the race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Leave as is
    Yeah like the giro come to your area every other week ffs:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Yeah like the giro come to your area every other week ffs:D:D
    thats why moving to sat is being offered as an option.giro is not even close to dunsany on sat.And because it doesn't come to our shores all that often thats why i posed the question.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

lennymc wrote: »
    mods - any chance of adding a poll?
    option 1 - move to saturday
    option 2 - pull the race
    Done, and included a "leave on the 11th option, just to gauge interest (even if it's not a realistic option in wav1's view)

Beasty wrote: »
    Done, and included a "leave on the 11th option, just to gauge interest (even if it's not a realistic option in wav1's view)
    Thank you...Yes i imagine Dunsany would be a lonely place on the Sunday..and maybe even Saturday.Thats why im asking in plenty of time,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

Cancel the Giro

531 wrote: »
    Cancel the Giro
    Leave it with me.I'll get back to you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Cancel the race
    Buy a new bike for the Giro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Leave as is
    Wav1,
    Cancel Dunsany and go and enjoy Il Giro.
    You do enough for the sport here so have a weekend off and come on the lash in the North and I will buy you BUT NOT Lenny a pint or two.
    If you feel bad about it you can run it twice next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Leave as is
    You'll never please everyone in a situation like this, but I would be of a mind to cancel it.

Cancel the race
    ^^^ I read that as BCMF is buying all the rounds.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Leave as is
    Looks like beard is affecting your eyesight.
    You would wanna read it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Leave as is
    bcmf wrote: »
    Wav1,
    You do enough for the sport here so have a weekend off and come on the lash in the North and I will buy you BUT NOT Lenny a pint or two.

+1 - apart from all that lenny stuff, I don't even know him and I LOVE this race.

bcmf wrote: »
    Wav1,
    our club will be doing something in Drogheda on Sun 11th as the giro passes through,but my own indulgence actually starts 7 days later.packing the ras bag for the 37th time.
    Look i dont mind either way.If we think theres enough support for Sat we'll run with it.If not we'll pull it for this yr.Either wah i'll have to take action at CI level whether it be a cancellation notice or change of date.Both are supposed to be in place 28 days beforehand.

Cancel the race
    our club will be doing something in Drogheda on Sun 11th as the giro passes through,but my own indulgence actually starts 7 days later.packing the ras bag for the 37th time.
    Look i dont mind either way.If we think theres enough support for Sat we'll run with it.If not we'll pull it for this yr.Either wah i'll have to take action at CI level whether it be a cancellation notice or change of date.Both are supposed to be in place 28 days beforehand.

Cancel it. The world and it's mother will be at the Giro.

After talking lots with lots over the past few weeks it appears there is enough interest to go ahead and promote this now on SAT 10TH MAY and not SUNDAY.Usual Dunsany GAA Grounds HQ with sign on from 9am.
    2 races on the day with a 10.30 am start
    A3/Jun 68km [4 x laps]
    A4 51km [3 x laps].
    Done and dusted for 12.15 and plenty of time to get the picnic ready for the Giro stage in the south the next day.Maybe not as big a field as usual but we think there is enough interest.Wav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

After talking lots with lots over the past few weeks it appears there is enough interest to go ahead and promote this now on SAT 10TH MAY and not SUNDAY.Usual Dunsany GAA Grounds HQ with sign on from 9am.
    2 races on the day with a 10.30 am start
    A3/Jun 68km [4 x laps]
    A4 51km [3 x laps].
    Done and dusted for 12.15 and plenty of time to get the picnic ready for the Giro stage in the south the next day.Maybe not as big a field as usual but we think there is enough interest.Wav

Good stuff. I think everyone would have understood if it had been cancelled but it's great to still have an opportunity to race that weekend. Have to marshall the Lucan GP so not had the opportunity to race this circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Cancel the race
    Great to hear it's going ahead. Err, don't mind that. Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭bellinter

Cancel the race
    Wasnt going to be able to make this if it was on the Sunday as I'm away but I can make it now. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Welshkev

Cancel the race
    Great it's going ahead - being down the road to me it's not often do you don't have to travel far, but was planning on going to see the Giro. Best of both worlds now!

smurphy29 wrote: »
    Great to hear it's going ahead. This one was on the women's calendar as part of the national league. Is that race still taking place?
    This race is not on the womans National League programme??
    We ran woman at Boyne GP and will again at Brendan Campbell Mem in Donore in July

Cancel the race
    This race is not on the womans National League programme??
    We ran woman at Boyne GP and will again at Brendan Campbell Mem in Donore in July
    Sorry, I just went mad there. thought it was for some unknown reason. Thanks!

BUMP.Seems to be a bit of confusion out there.Please spread the word this DEF GOES AHEAD ON SAT as per details already posted.

Thanks a lot

Cancel the race
    Great. The early start time is appealing I must say. I'll be there.

Cancel the race
    Definitely be there for the A4

bellinter wrote: »
    Definitely be there for the A4
    Great thanks.thats a peloton of 1 in each race so far.

Cancel the race

If it stays that way I might even be looking at some points.....!

Cancel the race

Maybe I'll get a podium so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Cancel the race
    Looking forward to the a3, is it the same lap as the Lucan gp just different start/finish?

Cancel the race
    Looking forward to the a3, is it the same lap as the Lucan gp just different start/finish?

yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cancel the race
    Looking forward to this, nice to have a race at a civilised hour so we can get back before we are missed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Welshkev

Cancel the race
    I'll still get dropped.

Cancel the race
    I had intended on doing this. My favourite course, I think anyway, but can't find a childminder. Pity.

Childseat??pannier??We'll bend the rules given the weekend thats in it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

He could leave the child with you at the start/finish? The kid might be able to help doing the placings.

probably get it better than us as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Well the weather forecast for Saturday is great - for ducks.

Rain forecast with the heaviest to fall between 11-12. Still time for the forecast to change but if you go expecting rain you won't be disappointed.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Dunsany_Castle/hour_by_hour.html

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thread title updated with confirmed date of this event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I’m considering doing this tomorrow. My legs are tired from the ICL race out there last night but I’ll get over that, but the prospect of a very wet race is kind of intimidating - I fear I may have finally succumbed to motorist-itis and its associated belief that I’ll dissolve in the rain. Can I park my car *right* on the start/finish line to minimise the distance over which I have to put myself at the mercy of the weather? :)

A more practical question, is sign-on at the place labelled as Dunsany Ladies GFC on Googlemaps, here?: link

Cancel the race
    Doozerie - close enough to there. North east a bit and its just opposite the church/school. Loads of parking and the finish line is very close as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Aha, looks like this is the correct place.

Cancel the race
    thats the one.

Cancel the race
    doozerie wrote: »
    Aha, looks like this is the correct place.

Thats the one!

edit - i didnt see bellinter's response. freaky.

doozerie wrote: »
    I’m considering doing this tomorrow. My legs are tired from the ICL race out there last night but I’ll get over that, but the prospect of a very wet race is kind of intimidating - I fear I may have finally succumbed to motorist-itis and its associated belief that I’ll dissolve in the rain. Can I park my car *right* on the start/finish line to minimise the distance over which I have to put myself at the mercy of the weather? :)

A more practical question, is sign-on at the place labelled as Dunsany Ladies GFC on Googlemaps, here?: link
    You can park right on the finish line but seeing as the finish is off circuit you wont be able to watch yourself going round each lap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭SERCPRO

Cancel the race
    Thank Crunchie for Boards, otherwise I wouldn't know where to go tomorrow . It's very poorly publicised with no main site or FB page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

I think riders should be grateful, that Wav1and his crew, have gone to the trouble of putting on this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Leave as is
    Thanks for this race. Very enjoyable, and the 10:30 start and 12:15 finish was VERY popular with the Boss. 40 or so in a pretty well behaved A4 bunch today. Was slippy enough, but n one went down until the sprint which I think was a touch of wheels. Anyone got any results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cancel the race
    Thanks for this race. Very enjoyable, and the 10:30 start and 12:15 finish was VERY popular with the Boss. 40 or so in a pretty well behaved A4 bunch today. Was slippy enough, but n one went down until the sprint which I think was a touch of wheels. Anyone got any results?

Good day out on the bike, got away solo on a couple of laps for 5km odd each time, but couldn't make it stick, got away with another lad about 7km from the finish and we gave it a good lash, but we faded in the block headwind towards the end and got caught with about 3km to go or so. Got a minute or so of recovery and managed to get 3rd in the uphill sprint.

1st was an Orwell lad, 2nd St Tiernans, 3rd me from Swords and 8th another Swords lad. That's all the results I remember.

Thanks to the promoting club for the race on a busy Giro weekend, great marshalling, one of the best behaved A4 bunches of the year and my garmin as a 39kph average so we seem to have raced it.

Edit: And +1 on the early start, the boss doesn't miss me when I am back before 1pm, more of the same from people in future please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

First ever A4 race and really enjoyed it. Speed in and out of corners caught me out but is a learning curve for me.